BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/10/2012

Putnam County Fencing

(931) 979-0090On File with the BBB, CookevilleTN 38501 Send email to Putnam County Fencing

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers fence installation services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/10/2012

BBB has determined that Putnam County Fencing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Putnam County Fencing's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Putnam County Fencing

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
01/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The owner said that he would build us a gate that could be locked from the inside. The gate he built could not be locked from the inside.
Putnam County Fencing agreed to build a fence for us, including a gate that could be locked from the inside of the yard. The fence was built with a gate that could not be locked from the inside. We hired another fence company, who built a gate that could be locked from the inside. When we asked Putnam County Fencing to reimburse us for the costs that we incurred to correct their error, the owner, ***** ******, refused.

***** knew we were unhappy with the gate so he took $150 off of the bill. The new gate cost us $200.

Additionally, we have since found that many, many fence boards did not have enough nails in them. We bought nails to correct this and installed them ourselves.

Desired Settlement
We would like $50 for the gate and $6.60 for nails to make up for our additional costs, for a total of $56.60.

Business Response
When we arrived at the jobsite we Putnam Co. Fencing talked with the owners about the gate,and the locking positions on both sides, I did tell them it would lock on both sides, I DID!!
when I order the materials from my supplier it comes all packaged up,they had sent me the wrong latches which would only lock on one side, my mistake. Im GUILTY. I Apologized to the owners that they had sent the wrongs latches and told them that I would make it right by getting the right ones in and coming back and switching them out.
And the response I got from them was:
(" Well thats ok because we want to build our on gate and do it like (We) want it, so if you could leave us some extra boards WE will take care of it, and I told them it was my mistake and I would correct it.. And they insisted that I just leave extra boards for them so again , THEY COULD BUILD IT THERE WAY... So I said I would..
And as far as the nails missing in the very few fence boards, again My Fault it happens from time to time I had a new guy on the job, I wished that they had called me and told me that there were nails missing in the fence, I would have been right there to take care of the problem, but did they call me NO!! they took it upon themselfs to do it themself and not tell me so I could fix the mistake I made..
It's my Job as a Fence Company, that when a mistake is made which happens from time to time, (NO ONE IS PERFECT) that the customer call me and let me know..
So as we finnished the job it was a couple of days before I could get back over there so I could collect the money owed on the job, and as I and the customer met I still felt bad about the latches and told the customer that I would knock off $150.00 off the bill, and they were happy about that. So Nothing else was said until two weeks later I get a phone call and they wanted 56.00 dollars more paid back to them for having someone else come out and rebuild the gate like they wanted them built???? I owed them a Latch that locks on both sides,those latches are $25.00 and I knocked off $150.00 to make them happy. It was the owners decision to rebuild the gate "The way they wanted it" The customer was fine and in (agreemant) with us on the gate when we were there building them . I will pay the $ 56.00 to make them happy, But I really feel like it's so unfair for me to have to do so when everything was in agreemant. They made that decision to rebuild them!!!
SO UNFAIR AND UNPERFESSIONAL ON CUSTOMER TO TURN THIS OVER TO THE BBB. BUT WHAT CAN YOU DO?

Final Consumer Response
Putnam County Fencing has not sent us the refund that they promised.
We filed BBB CASE#: XXXXXXXX on Nov 15, 2013. On Nov 21, Putnam County Fencing said they would pay us to resolve our dispute. We have not been paid.

We are still waiting for a refund of $56.60.

Final Business Response
OMG,yes my dear friends it's on it's way. Thank you so much for reminding me. such good people..
Have a Merry Merry Christmas.

Business Response
Omg Chill out it's been sent!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Talk to the mail people.

Complaint Response Date bumped because: Christmas Holiday


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
We contacted the BBB about our claim against Putnam County Fencing on November 15. On November 20, Mr. ****** said he would pay our claim. On December 5, he said "it's on it's way." Finally, on December 23, we received a check, postmarked December 21.

Not only did it take Putnam County Fencing 31 days to fulfill their promise and send us a check for our claim of $56, but Mr. ****** was repeatedly unprofessional and rude in his comments on the BBB claim.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/16/2010Business started: 01/01/2002
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chuck Martin (Owner)
Business Category

Fence - Sales, Service & Contractors, Chain Link Fence Sales, Service & Contractors, Fence Contractors

Products & Services

This company offers Residential & Commercial
Chain Link, Security Fencing, Vinyl Coated Chainlink, Steel,Aluminum, Vinyl, Pvc, Farm Fencing, Barbed Wire, High Tinsel, Woven wire, Wood and privacy fencing.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Putnam County Fencing

On File with the BBB

Cookeville, TN 38501

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • On File with the BBB 

    Cookeville, TN 38501

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Putnam County Fencing is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Fence - Sales, Service & Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.