BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/03/2005

Hooper Fence Co., Inc.

Phone: (615) 394-9567Fax: (615) 893-2773View Additional Phone Numbers1503 W. College St., MurfreesboroTN 37129 Send email to Hooper Fence Co., Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/03/2005

BBB has determined that Hooper Fence Co., Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Hooper Fence Co., Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Hooper Fence Co., Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 6
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 6 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
11/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

The services of contract not completed ,deposit was paid to start services, also billed for final payment, incorrect dated invoice
I contacted the company for fence repair and received an estimate to place 2 sections of my PVC fencing the owner was very nice and stated "send the copy of the estimate and a 300.00 check for the deposit" Which I did on Sept 18,2014, they deposited the check on Sept 26,2014 as of that date I was informed supplies would be ordered and they would call once supplies received to repair fence. Four weeks went by and my husband called to see if supplies was there to fix the fence messages was left, phone call was not returned after a few days. So I contacted the wholesale company where the products was ordered from (Capital fencing wholesale in Nashville, TN) to see if there was an backorder on supplies since I was not getting an response from the installer and was told by the supplier "it does take a few weeks for orders but items are delivered every Wed"....Now, I'm a little puzzled why they still have not come to repair my fence. Finally, a returned phone call from the company he states "we will be there on Fri(Oct 5)to repair your fence"...Fri came and went still no fence left a message in a few days the person said we are very sorry, but we will have someone to repair the fence Friday at the latest on Monday. Monday about a week later one section of the fence was installed... but the contract stated 2 sections of the fence to be replaced. So another wait for the next section to be fixed. A phone call from **** "I'm sorry but my papers said just one section not 2 I will get this corrected and be back out there to finish the job. Well, it's Nov 9, 2014 still the second section is not completed but I did receive the invoice for the final bill for 600.00 dollars total the cost of the 2 sections that has not been completed with the invoice date of 9/24/2014 that I received on Nov 8. Every phone conversation has been nice and always do a good job of apologizing, being nice is not getting the job done

Desired Settlement
I would like for the company to finish the job and I will pay the final payment. Or for them not to come back and send me a payment adjustment because the section that was replaced was a very small section for 300.00 (1 pole and 4 to 5 pvc inserts)I would like to settle this and not have to take this any further

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *******, President
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****
First of all, the installer did make a mistake and only fixed one section instead of two. Mr. ****** called us about this and we agreed to return on the 11th to make the correction. He apparently did not notify his wife of this as she lodged this complaint with the BBB. We first looked at this job for repair on 6/19/13. It is unfortunate we did not remember all of the details from a year and a half ago. They decided to get this repair done during our busy season which is unfortunate for them having to wait, as we have many customers willing to wait 6 weeks for our services.As we know, October 2014 was the wettest October in history. We had many delays during this time span. The ******* also have mean Pitbulls, so we cannot just stop at this job when we have free time to repair it. Appointments must be made each time so that the dog can be put up.
As far as the Invoice dates go, an invoice is opened the day a check is entered into the system. We do not go deposit checks the day we get them. It would alarm me if companies did. So the day the check is entered is the day the invoice starts. WHen we are completed, that same invoice is mailed with whatever date the deposit was entered. We already have arrangements with Mr. ****** to meet at the home today at 3:30 to reslove this. It did not take Filing a complaint to resolve this. It only took contacting someone in management to resolve this. I have not had a complaint againt me since I became owner of this company in August of 2014. THis issue will be resolved by the end of the day 11/11/14.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I appreciate the quick response from Hooper Fence Company on my fence repair that took no more 45 mins to complete if the issue was rain related no one informed us of that or said this is why there is a delay for the fence to be repaired. Also the company agreed to use the estimate from last year and I sent the orginal document to that is incorrect about not knowing the details because it was sent to them when I sent the check. I feel the owner took this as a personal attack on his integrity. It was the miscommuncation of his workers that failed but reflects upon his company. He did not have to make up false information about pitbulls...because I don't own one I have a black lab, and told the company I need to know the arrival date because I would have to put my dog in the garage. Integrity is key in any business the owner was more upset about why I submitted this to the BBB than correcting the behavior of his workers. We would not have sent this infomation to the BBB if we had proper communcation of services. ..As he stated he became owner of this Company in August of 2014 so maybe that's when the problems started since this company has had an outstanding record until......COMMMUCATION is excellent customer service.

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 11/08/2005Business started: 01/01/1994Business started locally: 08/01/2004
Type of Entity


Incorporated: August 2004, TN

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kelly Johnson (President)
Business Category

Fence Contractors

Products & Services

According to information supplied by the company, it offers custom installed fencing, chainlink, vinyl (PVC), wooden privacy, aluminum and farm.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Hooper Fence Co., Inc. has received 5.00 out of 5 stars based on 6 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Hooper Fence Co., Inc.

1503 W. College St.

Murfreesboro, TN 37129

To | From


1 Locations

  • 1503 W. College St. 

    Murfreesboro, TN 37129(615) 566-4417
    Fax: (615) 893-2773

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Hooper Fence Co., Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (615) 566-4417

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Fence Contractors


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.