BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
45 counties of Middle Tennessee and Southern Kentucky

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/13/2000

Murfreesboro Electric Department

Find a Location

Phone: (615) 893-5514Fax: (615) 893-8375205 N Walnut St, MurfreesboroTN 37130-3621 Send email to Murfreesboro Electric Department

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/13/2000

BBB has determined that Murfreesboro Electric Department meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Murfreesboro Electric Department's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Murfreesboro Electric Department

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
10/21/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Murfreesboro Electric illegally failed to return my $300 deposit. They had no right to do anything but refund it and mail it to me.
I had a rental house at *** Leaf Avenue, Murfreesboro, TN XXXXX. It is located next to MTSU and is rented to students. I turned the utilities off when the semester ended and listed the house to be sold. A buyer wanted to inspect the house and on July 1st, I paid Murfreesboro Electric $357.91 to pay the last portion of the bill and a $300 deposit. I protested having to pay a $300 deposit just so that a buyer can inspect the house before buying it but Murfreesboro Electric said I would get it back.

On July 11th, 2013 the house was sold and closed. It was no longer in my name. I had the utilities turned off for account # XXXXX-XXX and asked for my deposit. less whatever the bill would be for 10 days of electricity in an empty house.

The customer service person at Murfreesboro Electric said that it would be a few days but they would mail the deposit to me at my Chattanooga, TN address that is on file for account # XXXXX-XXX. I asked them to hurry up since that is alot of money to be out. They said it would only take a few days and I would have it.

Several weeks went by and I still had not received a check from Murfreesboro Electric for my deposit on the house that I had sold. I called and they told me I would not be getting the deposit back. They broke their word. They did not contact me (by e-mail, fax, USPS mail, nothing). They did not ask permission or inform me that they were not sending my deposit back. Nothing.

Murfreesboro Electric stole my security deposit. They failed to return it to me like they said they would. They failed to send my money back to me. They had no right not to return it without my expressed permission.

Desired Settlement
I want Murfreesboro Electric to send me the $300 security deposit, less the last bill, like they they said they would. They had no right to do anything but that. They had no agreement to anything but that.

Murfreesboro Electric stole my money and needs to return it immediately! They need to send it to my Chattanooga address that is on file with them. If they have any questions, my mobile phone number was provided earlier in this complaint.

If Murfreesboro Electric fails to return my deposit, which they illegally stole, I will file a lawsuit against MED General Manager ***** *** and Murfreesboro Electric Department.

Business Response
On July 11, 2013 at 12:25 pm, the customer contacted Murfreesboro Electric Department to pay the electric bill for one of his service addresses. After taking a check payment from the customer for the bill, the representative asked if there was anything else she could help him with. The customer indicated we sold a house and did not identify another address so the representative took an order to disconnect the service for this address.
When the MED service person went to this service address to disconnect, they were informed that the order to disconnect this service was in error and would need to remain active at this time. Since this account was closed due to the scheduled disconnect, the deposit of $350.00 along with interest of $3.64 was applied to the final bill for this service address leaving a credit balance of $151.18.
The customer also had service at another address from August 13, 2012 through June 14, 2013, when the service was disconnected for non-payment. The deposit plus interest was applied to the account leaving a balance owed of $77.37. This balance was applied against the credit of $151.18 for the other service address leaving a credit of $73.81.
The customer contacted our office on June 28, 2013 to connect the service back up for the service address that had previously been disconnected for non-payment. We did charge the customer a deposit on the account for this address. A partial bill from this address of $6.36 was also applied against the credit remaining on the other service address. The final credit on this account was $67.45.
The service address that was connected on June 28, 2013 was disconnected from the customer's name on the 11th of July when the new owner provided us with paperwork to reflect he was the new owner.
The deposit for this address was applied to the final bill and then the credit of $287.31 was transferred to the active account for the service address that had been scheduled for disconnection in error along with the remaining credit of $67.45 to set back up the deposit of $350.00 required for this address.
The deposit placed on the account was used to pay the bills on the two addresses with a deposit of $350.00 still on the one address that is active with us.
We would be happy to provide the customer with detail information on each account at his request.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The Murfreesboro Electric Company should not be allowed to move money around and not follow through on their word. One house is a personal residence. The other house was an investment in a self directed IRA. If a deposit is required on a certain address, the Murfreesboro Electric Company should send a notice and a bill for that address or account, not withhold money from an investment account that is in an IRA and use that money for a personal residence.

This creates tax issues and breaks the law regarding IRAs and receiving a benefit before the age of 59-1/2 years old.

Is that how the Murfreesboro Electric Company manages their books? We're not going to send a bill, we're not going to inform the customer, we're just going to keep his money.

Regarding the shut-off notice, I only talked about the account and the house that was sold. That was the only house talked about, the only house that I requested my name be removed from and the only house that I was told I would get the security deposit refunded from. The personal residence was never mentioned.

Final Business Response
During the phone conversation on July 11, 2103, the only residence mentioned was the primary residence account. The representative took a check payment over the phone for the primary residence and not the one identified in the customer's complaint as a rental property. The representative also placed an order to disconnect this service address since she was not provided a different address.
The other address which the customer identified in his complaint as a rental was disconnected due to the new owner providing ownership documentation and not from the customer calling Murfreesboro Electric so the deposit on the rental property was never discussed.
Customers who have multiple accounts with Murfreesboro Electric are placed under the same base account with different subs for each address or new account unless they specify that a new base account is necessary to keep their business and residential accounts separate.

10/02/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
BILLING CYCLE CHANGE IN APRIL, WILL NOT ALLOW ME TO CHANGE DUE TO FIT THE MY PAY SCHEDULE
MURFREESBORO electric does not allow more than 2 payment arrangements. I asked to have the cilling cycle change so that my due date will be the 26th of each month. I have asked for a payment arrangement and was denied. I am not even asking for 10 days only 4. dont know why that cant be granted especially if the billing cycle was changed.


Desired Settlement
asking to have a payment arrangement or my billing cycle changed.

Business Response
Murfreesboro Electric serves approximately 56,000 customers and consequently prepares billing statements practically every business day of the month. For logistical reasons Murfreesboro Electric has developed billing cycles which are based upon service in geographical areas of the city. For example, all of the customers' meters in the Indian Park area of town are read and billed on the same day and have the same due date. Murfreesboro Electric does not offer a fixed due date program.

The bill that customers receive provides a due date as well as a cutoff date. Since electricity is a commodity that is used and consumed prior to payment, the bill is considered due and payable anytime from receipt of the bill with no late fee accessed until close of business on the due date. After the due date, the bill is considered late and a late charge is accessed. Bills are due 15 days after the meter has been read and Murfreesboro Electric provides another 10 days past the due date before commencing termination procedures. By this time the customer has used electricity for approximately 60 days without making a payment.

Due dates can fluctuate by a day or two from month to month. Murfreesboro Electric tries to keep billing cycles to 30 days of services and ensures that due dates do not fall on week-ends or holidays. Therefore it is expected that the billing date is close to the same each month for budgeting and planning purposes.

Murfreesboro Electric offers two payment arrangements during twelve months of service for an additional 7 days past the cutoff date for emergency situations. This policy was adopted to take into consideration that unforeseen circumstances may arise where additional time is needed for the bill to be paid.

To ensure that equal consideration is given to our customers, we offer two arrangements. Murfreesboro Electric adopted this policy to ensure that all customers are provided with the same consideration.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response is not accepptable because the company choosed not to work with me on changing the due date. My family and I will be moving out of the area and disconnecting and as well posting on media websites as to what happen.

Final Business Response
As previously stated, Murfreesboro Electric does not offer a fixed due date program. We bill in cycles based on geographical areas of the city.

12/19/2012Problems with Product / Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/26/1998Business started: 01/01/1939
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Sax (General Manager)Customer Contact: Mr. P.D. Mynatt (Controller)Ms. Jean Ann Rogers (Board Chairman)
Business Category

Electric Companies

Products & Services

The company is distributor of electricity.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Murfreesboro Electric Department

205 N Walnut St

Murfreesboro, TN 37130-3621

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 205 N Walnut St 

    Murfreesboro, TN 37130-3621

  • PO Box 1139 

    Murfreesboro, TN 37133-1139

  • PO Box 9 

    Murfreesboro, TN 37133-0009

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Murfreesboro Electric Department is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Electric Companies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.