BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Perfect Smiles Dental Care, PLLC

Phone: (615) 459-0566Fax: (615) 459-05681210 Hazelwood Dr Ste A, SmyrnaTN 37167-3964http://www.perfectsmilesdentalctr.comView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers dental services including cosmetic procedures, preventative and restorative services, and the treatment of gum disease.

BBB Accreditation

Perfect Smiles Dental Care, PLLC is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating because it is out of business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Perfect Smiles Dental Care, PLLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
10/09/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

High turn-over staff previous worker said Dr. would put white out on x-rays to create dental problems, quality of materials, crowns fall out quickly.
recent crown fell out on 9/18/2013,appt on 9/19/2013 repaired with post, next day 9/20/2013 entire crown with post came out. I have been an patient since 2009 with total of 6 crowns completed with 2 partials had to revisit for 4 or all crowns falling out or broken. Dr. stated that I had tissue structure bone loss, but I have other crowns from previous dentist with no problems falling out that lasted over 10 years or more, should have gotten second opinion. Dr. root canal/crowns last only 6 months or before then advised to get partial done. The dental material very cheap quality or unnecessary work done unsatisfactory in creating other problems. In my opinion the dentist is an fraud, in order to make funds from patients, insurance companies or private companies. The teeth that I had crowned #8, 9, 7, 10, 25, 29. Very frustrated would like to get second opinion also x-rays copy's. Dr. have redone the work but it is unnecessary to keep going back on problem creating another problem. Dr. has waived charges also tried to fix problem, also contacted emergency to schedule appt immediately when office is open.

Desired Settlement
crown teeth fixed without falling out. second opinion done by my dental choice at no charge to me. Dental supervison by alternate dentist to watch work done correctly by dentist also assistant.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* ****
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *********************
I personally saw ***** ********* on September 22, 2013 on a Sunday in my private practice and she didn't inform me of any complaints to the BBB. I pride our establishment on customer service and providing solutions to all issues arising at our establishment. I will respond to all complaints on the BBB report as follows:
1. All of our staff have been here from 1 - 3 years and we can't control nor do we discuss the employers personal reasons why they have chosen to
find alternative employment. For example our last assistant that was with us for 2 years, found a job closer to home; she was driving an hour and half away from Manchester and we have a very good relationship with her til this day.
2. We cannot use white on xrays, all of our xrays are digital and generated on the computer so this may be a misunderstanding.
3. I informed Ms. ********* on 9.22.2013 on her sunday visit with me that I understood her frustrations. I printed out all copies of her xrays and went over them one by one. I also went over her medical condition and that her medications may cause dry mouth which could lead to rampant caries (tooth decay)by the gum line which she agreed. I also printed her literature stating the same. I explained to her that we used the latest state of the art materials and don't use "cheap materials". We buy all of our materials from a dental supply company recommended by the ADA. Ms. ********* is on a program that pays for her treatment up to a certain amount and every time she presented to the office, it was because a tooth we had not worked on had broken. I explained to her that she came in only for emergencies and treatment planned only the particular tooth that she came in for. I also gave her a copy of her bill, where her program would not pay for a particular treatment and showed her that we did it anyway because she needed it, writing off of a total of over $900.00 that we could of collected. The crowns that Ms. ********* stated in her complaint that she got over 10 years ago ALL have decay underneath them and they will break in a matter of time as well. I showed her the decay under her other crowns that I did not do and also printed out a copy of her xrays to take with her as well. Out of 6 crowns, Ms ********* has had 2 have failed, treatment is not guaranteed and she has consent forms stateing this as well.
Her program has informed the office that there are only a select number of dental facilities that now take her insurance due to budget cuts and we are not one of them. I informed her that she will be using another dentist if she needs new work done according to her program, but if she needs anything at all to feel free from me to look at it. When I talked to ***** in the office on Sunday, September 22, 2013, she was very appreciative of me explaining her treatment plans again and her billing. I told her to call me anytime if she had a problem and she stated she would be coming back for a cleaning. I am unaware of any new issues as of 9.22.2013.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Of course I had emergency appointment on Sunday Sept 22, 2013. I did not mention of following complaint to Dr. **** only mention of the agrumental experience with billing representative ********, Dr. said that she only told staff to tell me to call her on personal cell number but ******** did not relay information also of the HIPPA violation from staff *****. Dr. **** apologize for ******** aggressive conversation, stated she wasn't there to hear conversation but it is known for her unapproachable language also stated she will talk with ***** in regards to violation that she will call to apologize. I did receive an voicemail on Sept 24 from ***** stating apologizing and she understands that I was offended of what she said in front of another patient about my private dental history. For the complaint there is turn over in staff, but the internet explained how dentist puts white out on x-rays (example) I worded it incorrectly in complaint was very frustrated. Dr. **** overall explained that medications also family history of partials/dentures plays an role with loss bone tissue structure, stated overdue for cleaning also went over previous x-rays of dental work she performed also from other dentistry, showed me that cavities is underneath old crowns from previous dentist. Out of the 6 root canals done at Dr. ***** office, 4 of the entire crowns came completely out, including partial had to be performed due to broken tooth damage. Dr. **** repaired tooth #10 with post installed also recemented crown, Dr. stated she contacted alternate dentist from MCHARRY that she knew, they advised her to use steel post & cement but she explained after going over x-ray that the tooth will not hold long due to not enough tooth structure to hold it in place. I thanked Dr. **** for previous balance charges waived also explaining dental issues in details. Advised Dr. **** that funds are not available from program agency and that I could use my job dental insurance for cleaning, she advised to make appointment next week also bring previous top partial for adjustments, I said okay.

Final Business Response
***** ********* has been an excellent patient of ours and I am convinced that her complaints and questions have been answered to her satisfactory. We have reached an agreement and she will call back to schedule her appointment for her cleaning.

06/05/2013Problems with Product / Service

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 12/18/2009Business started: 09/10/2007
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Business Management
Principal: Dr. Sarah Mekonnen (Owner)
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Nichole McCray (Office Manager)Ms. Michell Miller (Insurance Coordinator)
Business Category

Dentists, Cosmetics & Perfumes - Retail, Dentistry - Cosmetic, Dentistry - Children, Teeth Whitening Services

Alternate Business Names
Perfect Smiles Dental Center

1 Locations

  • 1210 Hazelwood Dr Ste A 

    Smyrna, TN 37167-3964(615) 459-0566

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Perfect Smiles Dental Care, PLLC is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Web Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Dentists


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.