BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/19/2011

MPD Community Credit Union

(615) 782-72202711 Old Lebanon Rd, NashvilleTN 37214-2516 Send email to MPD Community Credit Union

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/19/2011

BBB has determined that MPD Community Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised MPD Community Credit Union's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on MPD Community Credit Union

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
12/28/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My account became negative around 10/02/15 I bought my account current 11/02/15 during this time frame my account had been closed and charged off.

This is the letter I wrote to MPD Credit Union.

Ms. ******,

I am writing regarding my account being closed and charged off. I feel as though I was treated unfairly and would like to resolve this matter. I have always kept my banking history in good standing, I have never had a bank to close my account and charge me off. I used my courtesy pay because that was an option available to me. I was aware of the time limit that I had to bring my account current. The very day I returned from my vacation I read a letter from MPDCU that my account was being closed. I called ****** **** immediately to explain that I had been out of the U.S and had not received her messages. I was told that I could just provide that proof and I did that when I came to make a deposit to bring my account current. I was then told that I had to pay a $100 lawyer fee by the drive thru teller. I then went inside to speak to someone about this and was told by ****** **** that since my account had been closed and charged off (which was done to protect me as stated by ****** ***** I would have to pay the $100 lawyer fee and also a $100 deposit would be needed to reopen my account. I was not happy about this and felt as though I was being treated as trash. Even with feeling this way I remained positive and respectful to your staff. I asked if I could talk to someone over her and ****** **** left and returned to tell me that you were busy. I asked for your boss since you were unable to talk with me and I was told that "you are it" and that you have been there over 40 years and the board goes with your decisions. I asked for board member names and phone numbers because I really wanted to get this resolved that day. I was never given any names or numbers and was told I needed to email you. I asked several times if you would just come out to acknowledge me and just let me know that you are aware of this situation and I was told again that you were busy and that I needed to email you on this matter and was given your card. I sat in your lobby for a few minutes trying to make since of these feelings of hopelessness and hurt. It took everything in me to fight back my tears as I left. I knew that I would not be able to get anything resolved for a while since I do not have a computer at home and I was going to be off work for another week. So, as if this wasn't enough to deal with...when I returned to work on November 10, 2015 I had a paper message to call MPD Credit Union. I could not believe that messages where left on the work phone that is available to all staff in the office. I never authorized that. I explained and provided proof that I was off work and out of the U.S on a cruise. I have never abused my courtesy pay and this was my first time using it for this amount. This was not something I did every month. I did stop my direct deposit but that is not a crime. I was still going to keep my account with MPDCU. I was told that it was close for my protection. ????? How? If it was a concern about something being wrong why not suspend it until you talk to me. I have never ignored phone calls from any bank. I feel as though I was treated unfairly and would like to have my account back. I am respectfully asking that you waive the $100 lawyer fee and reverse this charge off. I appreciate any help that you can render to me regarding this matter. Also, Ms. ****** will you please email me my bank statement from 10/01/2015 until close date and the dates and time ****** **** called my job? I was told by ****** that you would have this information and that I would have to get it from you.



Desired Settlement
Well, after being told that my account was close to protect me and that I can have a second chance account with them but it will require a $100.00 deposit and I must pay this $100.00 lawyer fee for a letter written by their lawyer to me. I provided the proof that I was out of the U.S and off work. I never authorize anyone there to leave personal message on my work phone because this phone is used by everyone in the office and my personal messages were hear by co-workers. It is clear to me that I am not wanted there so I am respectfully asking that they waive the $100 lawyer fee and reverse this charge off.

Business Response
As a matter of confidentiality, member account information cannot be discussed.

When someone joins the credit union, they sign an account card that states they agree to the terms and conditions of the Membership and Account Agreement. Number 21 of this agreement deals with legal action brought against an account. The credit union does take legal action against any account that has a negative balance that is not cleared in a timely manner to protect the interests of all members.

In general, if a member is called at work on a number provided by the member to the credit union, it is only to inform the member the credit union would like to speak with them. If a member informs the credit union not to call them at work, then a message will be put on their account so all staff will know not to call them at work.

In general, if any member clears a charged-off negative share balance and any collection costs are incurred, the collection cost must be paid.

In general, a Second Chance checking account is the only checking account a member would be eligible for if another checking account was charged off, even if eventually cleared. There is a $100 fee to open a Second Chance checking account. Also, general membership requirements must be met to open a Second Chance checking account.

In general, disputes concerning accounts are handled in writing and mailed to an account address on file.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/21/2006Business started: 11/07/1966
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Non Profit Corporation

Business Management
Customer Contact: Ms. Stephanie Sessum (Assistant Manager)
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Nancy Walker (CEO)
Business Category

Credit Unions, Child Support Enforcement, Mortgage Brokers, Loans

Products & Services

This company offers a member owned credit union open to anyone who lives, works, worships, attends school in or any legal entity in Davidson County providing full financial services.

Industry Tips
Credit Unions
Advance Fee Loan Brokers
Mortgage Loans

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for MPD Community Credit Union

2711 Old Lebanon Rd

Nashville, TN 37214-2516

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2711 Old Lebanon Rd 

    Nashville, TN 37214-2516(615) 782-7220

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*MPD Community Credit Union is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.