BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/2008

Heritage South Community Credit Union

Find a Location

(615) 217-2226View Additional Phone Numbers839 W College St, MurfreesboroTN 37129-2718 Send email to Heritage South Community Credit Union

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/2008

BBB has determined that Heritage South Community Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Heritage South Community Credit Union's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Heritage South Community Credit Union

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
11/18/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Clearing practices allow for the collection of fees and not for the benefit of the customer.
It has happened before and we do our best to keep our account balanced in order to avoid unnecessary fees however the practices in place by this financial institution are devised to collect the maximum amount of fees possible.

The account representatives tell me that the computer clears and posts items in the order that they are received. This *** be true but it leads to excessive fees.

In addition, the bank allows debit cards to be run if there is insufficient funds in the account due to soft-posted items. This also allows for fees.

This weekend I have paid over $150 in fees and since the bank is closed until Monday and my account is negative due to the fees, I fear that by Monday morning I will incur another $100 in fees.

Friday I had soft posted items in my account one of which included my direct-deposit which has posted in that account every week without fail for 7 years. The debits were allowed to clear first, each taking a $25 fee with it before the direct deposit was allowed to credit the account.

Again, this is not a regular occurrence as our accounts are usually kept track of pretty well. However as life happens so everyone gets overdrawn from time to time. But boy when we get behind by a single transaction, it snowballs into a nightmare.

The representatives are quick to tell us that it is our own fault and where we bear the blame for being overdrawn it is incredibly clear that the practices at this credit union are designed to capitalize on mistakes to the financial benefit of the credit union.

Desired Settlement
We seek to be refunded our overdraft fees incurred on the day of the deposit of our paycheck and any other fees incurred throughout this weekend until we can get funds into the account.

Business Response
We appreciate the opportunity to respond to BBB Case #XXXXXXXX:
Heritage South Community Credit Union does offer a "Discretionary Overdraft Privilege Program" and follows the Best Practices guidelines provided by federal regulators: The Office of the Comptroller of the Currency (OCC), Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System (Board), Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC), and National Credit Union Administration (NCUA), collectively "the Agencies".
We clearly disclose and explain to our members the operation, costs, and limitations of an overdraft protection program to enable responsible use of overdraft protection. Our disclosures are designed to minimize potential consumer confusion and complaints as well as foster good customer relations.
Our discretionary overdraft privilege program is a customer service that *** cover inadvertent consumer overdrafts. We identify for consumers the consequences of extensively using the overdraft protection program. We educate our members on their overdraft protection program's features, costs, and terms, including how to opt out of the service. In communications about overdraft protection programs, we clearly disclose the dollar amount of the fee for each overdraft that *** apply.
We clearly explain to consumers that debit card transactions are processed when the merchant processes them for payment, and that the checks written on the account are posted in the order in which they were written on the day they are received by the Credit Union and processed.
We clearly disclose that overdraft fees *** be imposed on transactions such as ATM withdrawals, debit card transactions, preauthorized automatic debits, telephone-initiated transfers or other electronic transfers, if applicable, to avoid implying that check transactions are the only transactions covered.
We obtain affirmative consent of consumers to receive overdraft protection. At any time, members are permitted to "opt out" of the overdraft privilege program. Members who "opt out" from the program and overdraw their account will experience purchases being declined at point of sale due to insufficient funds in the account or checks being returned to merchants for them to collect from the member.
Our system does not have any "soft post" features. Direct deposit is posted to member accounts based on the date to be paid provided by the payor. Any direct deposits to a member account are posted in accordance with the law, and funds must be made available for withdrawal on any business day by the later of 9 a.m. local time of the branch or the time the credit union's branches open and are available for customer account withdrawals.
Heritage South Community Credit Union strives to provide members financial services that meet or exceed the guidelines and procedures established by the federal regulators referred to in paragraph one of this document. We welcome the opportunity to discuss any other questions you *** have in regards to this matter.



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It's not the fee structure - it's how they collect those fees by processing debits first (largest to smallest) and then processing credits.

Final Business Response
We appreciate the opportunity to respond again to BBB Case #XXXXXXXX:
We regret that our member has had this misunderstanding about the order items to his account and all members' accounts of the credit union are processed. Perhaps this will help:
1)Debit Card transactions are processed when the merchant processes them for payment. Obviously, the credit union has no control over this timing since it originates with the card processor where the credit union member made their purchase.
2)We do have control over the order that checks post to an account. The board and management of the credit union have deemed the most fair and equitable way to post checks is by check number, which is the order in which they were written. Obviously, this is determined by when the payee presents the check for payment. Since multiple items *** come in per day, the credit union posts in the check number order. We pull these checks once per day in the late afternoon when they are applied to the account. This gives members more time throughout the day to make deposits that are credited to the account at the time the deposit is made in our branches (mobile deposits do not credit immediately).
3)When automated clearing house items are presented for payment (direct deposits and electronic debits other than those initiated with a debit card), we have our system set to post the deposits before the debits.
The person filing this complaint has had this issue addressed in a manner that we would also address for other members who have in the past made every attempt to maintain a positive balance in their accounts. Prior to this complaint, the NSF charges were refunded to this member as a one-time courtesy of our branch manager.
At this moment, we can offer these suggestions since we cannot change our system or policies to accommodate his personal requirements in the future:
1)Our credit union offers a variety of ways to access account history so members can verify if sufficient funds are available to pay debits: a 24/7 automated phone balance inquiry system, online home banking, mobile banking, and text alerts that notify members if an item clears or when a balance drops below a certain amount. We continually try to educate our members on the use of any or all of these services so they are aware of their account balances in order to avoid overdrafts.
2)Our Overdraft Privilege Program is optional for members who qualify. If this member qualifies but chooses to OPT OUT of this program, that would help reduce NSF charges for items that overdraw his account. This means that if the balance in the account will not cover the purchase or debit to the account, the item will be denied and returned to the merchant. The down side to opting out is that some retailers charge much more for a returned check than our current NSF fee.
3)If this member finds these options and our processing procedures to be insufficient for him, we recommend that his banking needs might be better served via another institution who can assure him that his personal account requirements, including when funds are insufficient, will be met.
It is the position of Heritage South Community Credit Union that we have done everything possible to make our clearing processes as fair and equitable for all members. If an overdraft occurs on a member's account due to credit union error, it is and has always been our policy to refund any fees that *** have been incurred by the member.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/15/2008Business started: 02/01/1957Business started locally: 02/01/2006
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1957, TN

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Marvin McBee (CEO)Customer Contact: Ms. Laura Parham (COO)Ms. Darlene Robinson (Manager)Ms. Mary Beth Wilson (Director of Marketing & Business Development)
Business Category

Credit Unions, Mortgage Brokers, Financial Services

Products & Services

According to information supplied by the company, it offers credit union services, mortgage lending and financial services.

Industry Tips
Banking - FDIC
Credit Unions
Mortgage Loans

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Heritage South Community Credit Union

839 W College St

Murfreesboro, TN 37129-2718

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 839 W College St 

    Murfreesboro, TN 37129-2718

  • PO Box 330838 

    Murfreesboro, TN 37133-0838

  • 763 North Main Street 

    Shelbyville, TN 37160(931) 680-1406

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Heritage South Community Credit Union is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 852-5136
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Credit Unions

Banking - FDIC
Credit Unions
Mortgage Loans
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.