BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/2012

Pace Payment Systems, Inc. (Headquarters)

Find a Location

(818) 700-310030 Burton Hills Blvd Ste 100, NashvilleTN 37215-6392 Send email to Pace Payment Systems, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers merchant services to business nationwide, including credit and debit card processing, check processing, e-commerce solutions, gift and loyalty programs, and other related merchant services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/2012

BBB has determined that Pace Payment Systems, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Pace Payment Systems, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Pace Payment Systems, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
09/12/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was told when I signed the contract that it was a one year contract and when I tried to terminate after one year I found out otherwise.
I was told when I signed the contract that it would be for one year in length. I have a witness to confirm this fact. After one year I attempted to terminate the contract and was then informed that I had signed a two year contract. The original paperwork was misleading and since I have tried to terminate, they (pace) have added additional charges to the services. I have no longer used their services as of May 14, 2014.

Desired Settlement
I would simply like out of the contract and I think I should be refunded any fees that have been charged since May 2014.

Business Response
September 9, 2014


Re: Case ID #: XXXXXXXX
Merchant Name: ***** *****

To whom it may concern:

This letter is in response to Mr. ***** *****' complaint against Pace Payment Systems regarding his merchant account.

These matters are important to us and we are making every effort to ensure the complaint is properly handled. Our investigation of the alleged claim shows Mr. ***** was given a 30-day trial period to use our new USB Magtek reader and Iphone reader products to process credit card payments.

After the trial period, Mr. ***** entered into a contract with Pace Payment Systems on May 13, 2013. Attached are the following documents:

Merchant Application
Signed Merchant Agreement
Confirmation that Mr. ***** read and understood the terms and conditions

On these documents, there are no signs of tampering and there is no note from the agent specifying the agreement would be limited to only one year. Our standard agreement is three (3) years. However, we have decided to make an exception in this case for Mr. *****. We will close his merchant account and waive the termination fee of $399.00 provided he sends us a written request to close his account. The letter must contain the same signature that appears in the original agreement, merchant agreement and confirmation document. He may fax it to 818.332.9920, attention *** ******, or scan the request and email it to notifications@paceps.com.

We hope this will settle the matter amicably.

Sincerely,


*** ******
Director of Marketing


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


06/25/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Fraud and forgery complaint
I currently process payments through ignite payment systems for my business. A week ago we received an overnight package from pace payment systems containing a credit card processing machine. We never received a new contract or any notice that a new machine was coming in. We immediately contacted our CC processing rep, *********, to see what was going on with our account. He said that ignite payments was terminating our account because we sold tobacco. We contacted ****** and they informed us that our account was fine and they were NOT terminating it. ****** also advised that we file a police report declaring fraud against our sales rep and pace payments. He directly lied to us about our account in order to receive a sign on bonus from pace payment systems. I spoke with ***** at pace payments ************ ext. ***** and requested all documentation on Monday (including the contract that none of us have actually seen!) I still have not received it. I spoke to him again this morning he said he would send it over, but he hasn't, and is no not answering his phone. I am filling a police report if this matter does not get taken care of immediately. This is fraud!

Desired Settlement
take back the machine sent to us, correct the fraud that has been committed against our business

Business Response
***** ******* sent a copy of the requested documents to ***** *** and a confirmation that the merchant account has been closed.

The agent who allegedly committed fraud is being counsel and being monitored.

There's no monetary damages involve in this account. We have done our due diligently in our part.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

03/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company took payment totallly over $4200 and has not deposited it to our accounts. They will not return any calls or emails to advise where our $ is
My company uses Pace Payment Systems to process credit card transactions. Once the credit card is run, per our contract Pace should deposit funds to our bank within 24 hours. This rarely happens. I am filing a complaint bc they currently have over 4,000 of my money. We processed a credit card charge from our customer on 2/18. Pace has NOT deposited the funds to our account and all attempts to inquire where
Our money is have gone unanswered. This is unenthical
And we need your help getting our money from
This company.

Desired Settlement
Appropriate settlement is for Pace to deposit OUR money in to
Our account.

Business Response
Pace Payment Systems takes customer complaints very seriously and appreciates the opportunity to respond. These are the timeline of events along with a brief description of what transpired in regard to Mr. ****'s complaint:

2/20/15 - Transaction settles - Pace placed call to Mr. ****'s place of business and Mr. **** was advised that the large sale processed the previous day was being held in order to verify with the cardholder. Mr. **** agreed to provide invoice/cardholder information so that Pace could contact cardholder and verify product/services were provided to customer's satisfaction. Documentation was received in the afternoon on 2/20/15.

2/23/15 - **** from Mr. ****'s place of business called Pace in order to confirm documentation had been received. Pace personnel confirmed receipt and advised **** that the verification process had begun.

2/24/15 - Pace confirmed with cardholder that sale was valid and that services had been rendered to satisfaction.

2/24/15 - Pace released funds via ACH to Mr. ****'s bank.

2/24/15 - Mr. **** called in at 10:45 a.m. and was advised that funds had been released.

It is Pace policy to verify/confirm large sales and at times to withhold funding until completion of this process.

Mr. **** agreed to this process - referring to page 5 of his application ".....Pace assumes certain risks by agreeing to provide you with card processing. Accordingly, we may take certain actions to mitigate our risk, including....holding monies otherwise payable to you".

Pace works diligently to ensure this process is efficient and that funding is provided as soon as possible.

Thank you.


01/08/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Their Sales Rep ****** ****** gave false and deceptive statements to entice me to sign a contract for their services.
RE All my Account #s ending in:XXXXX,XXXXX,XXXXX,XXXXX,XXXXX.

The disputed accounts with fees are XXXXX and XXXXX

On Sept. 28, 2012 I entered into a contract to change my current credit card processor to Pace Payment Systems. I have 5 different accounts due to various businesses and the sales rep, ****** ****** had contacted me and offered a better discount rate then I was paying to another provider. I had asked him repeatedly if there was going to be any long term contractual agreement and if I would be able to cancel at any time if I became dissatisfied with Pace. This was particularly important as I had previously run across that problem in the past with other providers. He promised there were no cancellation fees and because their rates were so competitive they would meet any other competitors that I may run across in the future. Also, they were to loan me 2 sets of credit card machines for my stores that I would be responsible to return in the future. I agreed and was faxed all the documentation for my FIVE accounts.
I read all the documents for one of my accounts which did NOT have any cancellation fees and since there were so many numerous pages, I signed ALL the docs for all the accounts and faxed them back. After the first few months of being a Pace customer I became very dissatisfied with their reporting system. When credit cards are batched every day and sent to them, they send the money to MY bank in a very haphazardly way. One day they may submit a total of some of the credits, the rest over the next few days. Over the next few days they submit the totals of some of the debits. Over the next week, the American Express gets submitted. This ALL makes it almost impossible to reconcile my bank account with their statements. It was taking me DAYS to track down each customers payment to compare it to what they were actually putting in my bank.
I complained to their customer service department and they have my complaints on file. I was told by customer service that YES this was a problem and I could call them any time if I had a Particularly difficult time deciphering sums of deposits that I couldn't figure out on my own. I went back to trying to balance my checking account and over the next month or two I realized that this was almost an impossible task and the little bit of money I was saving on my rate was not worth the week of time it cost me to balance my accounts. I switched to another provider and now am being told I must pay $199.00 each for TWO of my accounts for early termination fees. I complained to ****** and was told that there is now NEW management and to read my contract on those two accounts because yes, they are different than the other two and they do include these fees. ****** admits that he indeed tell me that there were to be no fees on any of my accounts but he can do nothing about waiving these fees and I must pay them when I terminate. This is totally unethical. ****** says he has tried to help me but his boss now won't let him waive these fees

Desired Settlement
I wish to cancel the two accounts and not incur fees. I was never told how nearly impossible it would be to reconcile customer charges with my bank account. I was promised there would be NO charges!

Business Response
The sales rep reached out to the merchant and the merchant had agreed to leave 2 of the accounts open with Pace Payment. Pace Payment will not charge any term fees on the other 2 accounts that will be closed.

I believe that the merchant is pleased with the outcome.

11/19/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company continues to send personal email to me after my repeated requests to cease.
I received correspondence from a young lady in the company's Texas office named ******* ****** in response to an employment inquiry I had made.
After a telephone discussion with her, I determined that it was a company with which I did not want to be associated.
She continued to send me emails requesting that I continue their screening process for employees.
I called her and emailed her in order to request that she stop sending the emails which have become a distraction. Their email has been sent every other day for the last three months. I would like it to stop.

Desired Settlement
I want them to cease with their emails.

Business Response
I am writing with reference to the complaint filed against Pace Payment Systems on November 5, 2013 by ***** ********.

First of all, we apologize for the inconvenience created by this incident.

We take great care to ensure that important matters such as this are properly managed and processed. We addressed the matter with ******* ******. Mr. ******** will no longer receive any calls and emails from Ms. ******* ******.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/20/2012Business started: 06/30/1999
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 2009, DE

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Paul Christians (CEO)
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Cathy Herring (EVP of Operations)Ms. Fil Bitton (Customer Service)Mr. Edgar Jiminez Mr. Scott Scherr (President/CEO)
Business Category

Credit Card - Merchant Services

Alternate Business Names
Century Bankcard Services

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Pace Payment Systems, Inc.

30 Burton Hills Blvd Ste 100

Nashville, TN 37215-6392

To | From

LocationsX

4 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Pace Payment Systems, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Credit Card - Merchant Services

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.