BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/08/2004

NovaCopy, Inc. (Headquarters)

Find a Location

(800) 264-0637View Additional Phone Numbers1 Vantage Way STE B105, NashvilleTN 37228-1528 Send email to NovaCopy, Inc.



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the sale of copiers, document scanning systems and office supplies.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/08/2004

BBB has determined that NovaCopy, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

All Locations are BBB Accredited
Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised NovaCopy, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on NovaCopy, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
04/08/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Novacopy purposefully invoices its customers in a way that the customer doesn't know if/when they're late so they can charge outrageous late fees.
I have been a longterm customer of Novacopy. Somehow I missed a payment in December but was unaware of it.
Instead of invoicing me the next month with the previous month's balance and the new balance, so I'd have a larger bill letting me know that something was wrong.
Novacopy purposefully just invoiced me the standard monthly rental fee for their copier BUT they were counting the days until 45 days had passed since the December invoice so they could tack on TWO monthly late fees for $29 each on a $55 bill!!
Not only is that an OUTRAGEOUS late fee assessed on a small bill, its more than HALF the monthly balance. BUT, they also never sent me an invoice reflecting that I HAD missed a payment.
NOR did they invoice me with a late fee showing so I could find out there was something amiss with my bill.
Their Accounts Receivable Director could NOT CARE LESS about their customers or resolving a problem. Her emails are rude and condescending and she cares not about working something out with their customer if there has been a problem.
She could not work for my company for a week before I'd have fired her.
I've contacted her to try to figure out what was wrong and how we could resolve it.
The above story is how they handle it: They don't let you know that you've missed a payment; they don't send you the next invoice SHOWING there's been a late charge AND they don't even show the late charges until 45 days have passed so they can, THEN, charge for TWO LATE CHARGES!!
This is a total scam by Novacopy to bilk their customers out of money and it's obvious that it's set up that way for a reason.
I tried to reason with the dumb woman I mentioned before and she doesn't give a lick about what's fair or honest. All she wants to do is shoot a page full of "legaleze" to the customer and show them when they became late (some three months after the fact and after they've started charging the customer).
Once my contract is up, I will NEVER do business with Novacopy.
Their owners or ownership group should be ASHAMED of themselves because this is obviously approved of from the top!

Desired Settlement
I'd simply like the FAIR AND JUST thing done on my bill and I'd like these insane late charges taken off my bill.
I TRIED to reason with ******* *****, their Accounts woman and she could NOT CARE LESS about helping their customer nor understand where the customer is coming from.
She has no interest in treating the customer with any common decency or respect. I'd fire her in two seconds if she tried to work at my business.
She reflects EVERYTHING I do NOT want my business to stand for.

Business Response
We apologize for any misunderstanding. Invoices have a due date of net 10 days. Late fees are not accessed to an account until an invoice is 45 days past due. We have voided one late fee prior to receiving this notice on April 6, 2016 and we are waiving the second late fee dated March 24, 2016 in efforts to assist the customer. We value Mr. *****'s business and hope this resolution will alleviate his concerns. We look forward to working with Mr. ***** in the Future.

Thank you,


Kristen R****
Credit and Accounts Receivable Manager



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I am NOT usually one to file a BBB complaint. I do take that seriously before taking such actions. I'd just like to stress that the current way that Novacopy invoices is not the way I am used to seeing an invoice. I DID accidentally miss one payment in December, it was just an oversight. HOWEVER, I never received any notice that I'd missed a payment. AND, when my next invoice arrived, instead of having the missed payment total on it along with the new total, all the next invoice showed was that current invoice amount.
THAT is not how customers are used to seeing an invoice if a payment it missed.
IF the invoice sent to me after the missed payment would have had the missed payment total added to the current total, THEN I'd have KNOWN there was something wrong!
Instead, my next two invoices didn't reflect any payment problems. SO, before I ever knew I was late, I had two late fees of $29 added onto that next bill!!
THAT was the reason I was so frustrated with Novacopy on this issue.
******* ****** (I THINK?) ended up helping a little bit once I'd sent her SEVERAL emails about this issue and explained numerous times WHY I was upset.
MAYBE that's the way Novacopy WANTS her to treat their customers, I don't know. BUT, she didn't seem to give two cents on whether I was satisfied with her responses and didn't offer to do one thing to work with me!
I definitely felt like I wasn't a valued customer and she didn't care if I was a happy customer or not. She kept just repeating things by the book without ever once acknowledging that she could understand my frustration. OR that she'd possibly mention to Novacopy's administration about how your billing actually comes across to your customers.
If a customer never knows they've missed a payment and, for two months, the invoices don't reflect it by adding that missed payment total to the customers' invoice, HOW THE **** is the customer supposed to KNOW they've missed a payment? That's just plain stupid in my book.
THEN, by the time the customer KNOWS there's been a missed payment, Novacopy has very conveniently tacked on an INSANE late fee of $29 per month!!

That's my last complaint. Don't you think that a $29 late fee on a $55 monthly rental fee is a little outrageous? That's a FIFTY THREE PERCENT LATE PAYMENT PENALTY!!! I STILL think that is totally beyond the pale of being even remotely fair or equitable. It just REEKS of greed and gouging of the customer!!
I felt totally taken advantage of AND SET UP by the whole "system" (if one could call it that, I think MY word would be SCAM) of how this whole missed payment machination works.
I still have a bad taste in my mouth about it but I am glad you attempted to correct my complaint.

I DO have to be honest here. IF someone were to ask me right this minute about Novacopy, the FIRST thing that'd come to mind and that I'd tell them would be about this whole billing fiasco and the outrageous late fee gouging of the customer. MAYBE it IS all about the dollar for Novacopy so what's seen as fair or right doesn't matter to your company's administration. I know, personally, I'd feel "DIRTY" if I was doing that to MY customer.
Maybe, since your customers sign contracts and you HAVE them for however long their contract is, the fact that you allow these things to be done to them is of no importance to you.
That's the ONLY thing I can think of on why you'd have some of these policies. I find all of it VERY DISTASTEFUL and underhanded. That's this one man's opinion.
Thank you, though, for clearing off the two late charges though.

05/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I signed a contract with Nova Copy in 2012, I thought the contract was for 12 months, but it was for 60 months. I feel they broke the contract.
My office continued having problems with the copier, the repairman would come out and work on it but it would break down AGAIN in 1-2 weeks. This happened 4-5 times. This was very frustrating to me and I contacted them but they would not budge. I finally bought my own copier/fax machine and it works fine.
I wrote them a letter saying I would stop payment in Oct 2013 and spoke to a rep who said I could not get out of the contract. I then hired a lawyer who only made 1 phone call to them. I hired another lawyer who yesterday told me that she could not get anywhere with them. ( I had told her I would accept a settlement of 1/3 or even 1/2 the total cost). She also said the person she talked to was very well versed on the law leading her to think that this has happened before. Now the Novacopy machine sits in my front office collecting dust and I would like them to come get it. The sales rep name is ******* ****** and the person my lawyer (****** ******** talked to is ******* ******** Sincerely, ********* ******, NP/ Owner of NPC Clarksville

Desired Settlement
I agree to pay 1/2 of what is owed and return all equipment.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ** *********** **
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***********@***************
My office represents NovaCopy and we have been asked to respond to this complaint. It is my client's position that all of the customer's complaints are bogus and are being raised as an effort to breach the contract between the parties. The customer is severely delinquent in the payment of its required monthly payments and thus is in default. The term of the lease was explicitly discussed during the period of negotiation of the contract. The customer asked specific questions prior to execution re: the term of the contract. The customer has stated that it has purchased its own machine, we simply believe this is a case of "buyer's remorse." The customer directed my client, in writing, to pick up the leased equipment, stating that it was "in the way." The customer now refuses to release the equipment and is refusing to release it, without any authority to do so. The agreement between the parties clearly states that NovaCopy has a security interest in the equipment, and that NovaCopy retains the title and right to repossess the equipment for a breach of the agreement. With that said, my client wishes to work this matter out amicably if possible or promptly file a lawsuit to protect its rights. In furtherance of working this matter out I phoned the customer on April 29, 2014 and the owner of the business made an offer that I have communicated to my client. My client in considering the offer and will respond promptly. Attached please find a copy of the contract between the parties. Please do not hesitate to contact me with any questions, document requests such as the contract entered into between the parties or concerns.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/05/2004Business started: 12/01/1998
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 1998, TN

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Darren Metz (CEO)
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Tara Robertson (Customer Service Director)Mr. Jason Leukulich (Director of Marketing)
Business Category

Copiers & Copier Supplies, Office Supplies, Mailing Machines & Equipment, Fax Equipment & Systems, Copy & Duplicating Service, Toner Cartridges, 3-D Printing

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for NovaCopy, Inc.

1 Vantage Way STE B105

Nashville, TN 37228-1528

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*NovaCopy, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (901) 388-6699
  • (214) 276-0720
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Copiers & Copier Supplies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.