BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/06/2011

Epic Building & Design, LLC

Find a Location

(615) 405-7840View Additional Phone Numbers2159, N Thompson Ln Ste 9, MurfreesboroTN 37129 Send email to Epic Building & Design, LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers new home construction, home remodeling and repairs.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/06/2011

BBB has determined that Epic Building & Design, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Epic Building & Design, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Epic Building & Design, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
12/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Installed new roof in 2011.I paid almost $14K &the insurance nearly $7K.leaks occurring now. Report from independent appraiser flashing,etc reused
The invoice from ***** ******* Construction General Contractor is dated 6/10/11 and shows the material and labor cost to me $13,585.37...invoice # 1010.

Desired Settlement
leaks fixed and interior damaged repaired at no cost to me. Leaks in 4 places. I paid $13,595.37 from my private funds for this new roof and State Farm insurance paid almost $7K. Roofer told me that since it was an insurance claim that he did not have to replace flashing, vents and pipes. I have been told that any roofer work his salt knows to replace the flashing. I was under the impression I was getting a whole new roof. The house was built in 2001 and I had already had several roof repairs filed on my State Farm insurance. I now have Farm Bureau insurance. Owner ***** ******* phoned this morning, after not hearing from since 10/29/14 saying he has been sick. When I first contacted him about the roof, he told me "we don't do roofs anymore." Today Mr. ******* told me he would come out and go on the roof sometime this week. However, I have been told by him before that he would come and it would not be done timely. Farm Bureau has issued a check for the interior repair, minus my deductible, but I do not see having these repairs done when the roof leaks! I want the leaks fixed and the interior damage repaired and no cost to me. I want to return Farm Bureau's check for $1,755.85. When I told Mr. ******* I want this stress removed from my life, he laughed and said "some people don't have anything to eat." I felt this remark to be unprofessional and uncaring.

Business Response
***** *******'s construction repaired Ms.**********'s shingles in 2010. Ms.********** was satisfied completely with the quick response and craftmanship of ***** ******* const /Epic building and design preformed. Ms.********** contacted us in oct. 2014 with some damage to the interior of the residence. We agreed to look at Ms.********** shingles out of the principle to see if there was something we could do for Ms. **********.
After inspection of the shingles we informed Ms.********** that all work proformed by ***** ******* construction seemed to be undamaged.
Ms. ********** had the insurance company look at the damage and also confirmed that the shingles were intact and no visible damage was detected.
We provided Ms. ********** with the contract for her repair from us and the insurance company list of repairs.
We preformed 100 % of our obligation to Ms.********** and provided a 1 year standard warranty that expired in 2011.
We stand behind all work proformed by ***** ******* const / Epic building and design. Ms.********** , ***** ******* const. & state farm agreed the work was complete and paid the remaining balance.

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 01/06/2011Business started: 01/01/2001
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kenny Johnson (Owner)
Business Category

Contractors - General, Fire Damage Restoration, Fire & Water Damage Restoration, Remodeling Services, Construction & Remodeling Services, Home Improvements - Additions, Home Builders, Construction Estimates

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Epic Building & Design, LLC


Murfreesboro, TN 37129

To | From


2 Locations

  • 2159
    N Thompson Ln Ste 9 

    Murfreesboro, TN 37129

  • PO Box 10796 

    Murfreesboro, TN 37129-0016(615) 405-7840

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Epic Building & Design, LLC is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (615) 225-0642

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Contractors - General


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.