BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/16/2014

Burks & Company, LLC

(615) 474-889085 Lewis St, NashvilleTN 37210-2774 Send email to Burks & Company, LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers general contractor services, new construction, custom home building, remodeling, fire and water damage restoration, renovations, new additions, flooring, decks, excavation and demolition.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/16/2014

BBB has determined that Burks & Company, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Burks & Company, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Burks & Company, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 6
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 6 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
09/05/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The work I was promised would be done was not completed.
I hired Mr. ***** for construction services within my home. Initially he started to job without requesting electrical or plumbing codes and upon discussion he finally requested which held up the job. A contract was signed and services were paid for each job but he would start another job without finishing. The issue continued as one of his workers stole money and items from my home. He continued to leave jobs unfinished and always had personal problems that kept him from finishing the work. The job was not supposed to take more than 3 months but lasted more 6 months. He said the job was finished and left an a lot unfinished work that he never finished. He kept sending workers here randomly to do jobs that were done incorrectly and eventually never reached out again for completion of the work.

Desired Settlement
I had to hire someone to complete some of the work therefore I would like a refund of paid services. If not a refund no contact please.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ***** owner
Contact Email: ************@burksandcompanyllc.com
Ms.********* was a model client. I would first like to apologize for any inconvenience or discomfort or disruption that I caused her or her family.And I would be more than willing to reimburse her for her lose.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I accept the apology but he has apologized many times and there was still no resolution. He has promised many times that the work would get done and then not show up. I don't feel that he is trustworthy. Once I receive the funds in the mail I will consider this complaint as resolved.

Final Business Response
I delivered the payment ms.********* request Friday the 26th

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I would want other consumers to be aware of such practices because I wouldn't want them to endure what I had to with this business.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/25/2007Business started: 08/02/2006
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Terrell Burks (Owner)
Business Category

Contractors - General, Contractors - Flooring, Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures, Deck Builder, Building Construction Consultants, Contractor - Sheetrock, Fence Contractors, Remodeling Services - Foreclosed Property, Drywall Contractors, Sunroom & Solarium Design & Construction, Roofing Contractors, Floor Coverings & Installation, Storm Windows & Doors, Fiberglass - Bathtubs & Showers, Building Contractors, Roofing Service Consultants, Floors - Hardwood, Windows & Doors - Installation & Service, Home Improvements, Construction Estimates, Home Builders, Floors - Laminate, Contractor - Remodel & Repair, Doors, Roof Structures, Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing, Building Restoration & Preservation, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling, Windows - Vinyl, Storm Damage Restoration, Concrete Contractors, Home Improvements - Additions, Siding Contractors, Garage Builders, Bathroom Remodeling, Fire & Water Damage Restoration, Baths, Windows, Contractor - Interior Trim, Remodeling Services, Deck - Repair, Basement - Remodeling, Kitchen Remodeling, Cabinets, Excavating Contractors, Mason Contractors, Countertops, Home Repair & Maintenance, Construction & Remodeling Services

Industry Tips
Home Improvements
Home - Roofing Contractors

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Burks & Company, LLC has received 5.0 out of 5 stars based on 6 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Burks & Company, LLC

85 Lewis St

Nashville, TN 37210-2774

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 85 Lewis St 

    Nashville, TN 37210-2774(615) 474-8890

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Burks & Company, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Contractors - General

Home Improvements
Home - Roofing Contractors
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.