BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Advantage Home Improvement, Inc.

Phone: (615) 890-8463 (Disconnected)Fax: (615) 849-8463View Additional Phone Numbers610 W Burton St, MurfreesboroTN 37130-3615http://advantagehi.com

! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

On 01/20/2016 this company's accreditation in BBB was revoked by BBB's Board of Directors due to failure to respond to one or more customer complaints filed with the BBB and recent government action involving the business's customer relations which indicates a significant failure of the business to meet standards of conduct expected of a BBB member.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

As of March 16, 2016 this company's website (www.advantagehi.com) is claiming BBB membership. This company is not a BBB Accredited Business, and our policies prohibit such a reference. The name BBB/Better Business Bureau, its logos and service marks are federally registered trademarks owned by the Council of Better Business Bureaus and may not be used by any company other than the BBB itself (unless specifically authorized in a licensing agreement).

On March 16, 2016, BBB sent certified correspondence to Advantage Home Improvement, Inc requesting their voluntary cooperation in removing all reference of BBB until a licensing agreement could be obtained.

As of April 15, 2016, this company has failed to cooperate with BBB in discontinuing the use of BBB's registered trademark. Misuse of the BBB trademark constitutes trademark infringement and is a violation of trademark rights of the Council of Better Business Bureaus, Inc.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Advantage Home Improvement, Inc.'s rating include:

  • 12 complaints filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 9 complaints filed against business.
  • Unauthorized use of BBB name or trademarks

This company has a pattern of complaint alleging contract, refund or exchange issues and service issues. Specifically, consumers allege the company received money on contracted jobs but failed to return and complete the work. One consumer paid for work to be completed and when it was not, asked for a refund. The refund check was issued; however, it has been returned as insufficient funds.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 11 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues3
Problems with Product / Service9
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Advantage Home Improvement, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (12)
12/08/2015Problems with Product / Service
12/04/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
3 months to complete a 4 hr job. total lack of communication (with exception of call to collect bal due)after repeatedly asking for call from owner.
We signed a contract with****** our "sales rep" on 7/20/15. the contract $800.00 - VERY small job (repair dormer). we paid 400.00 earnest money and our check cleared within two days. we were told it would take 6 weeks to get to us. that's fine - we were expecting that. by 9 weeks with no word I started calling them and our sales rep. the pat answer was trying to catch up from so much rain - and both the sales rep and office lady say "have to ge3t with the owner" ok - tell the owner to CALL me. I repeatedly asked for some communication and status updates from anyone! I left numerous calls for the owner that went un-returned. I finally went to the office during business hours with no one in the building. after sitting on the front porch for 1.5 hours I was told by the lady in the office that the owner would call me, she would call me and that the work would be completed within a week. two weeks and another frustrated call on my part and was told they would come on Saturday (which they did). they were not able to paint because of a light sprinkle - so they left bracing boards attached to the roof. three and a half weeks passed **** no communication from the company. an employee passed ** to get a paint sample this week (10/20) - what happened to all the paint samples you took down to do repairs? the nice man returned and painted but left the bracing boards still on my roof. 10/21 - someone came and retrieved the brace boards. 10/23 - the office lady called me to get the remaining balance!!!!!! the ONE and ONLY call I recvd from this company and it is to collect. I told her I would pay in the same amount of time it took to complete the job. OK!!

Desired Settlement
this company states on their contract that 5% will be added to the bill if not paid upon completion....we were told (my bad its not in writing on the contract) that we would be done (or at least started) in 6 weeks. it took 8 weeks ABOVE the 6 I was expecting....so a 5% per week reduction is in order. I am requesting an adjustment of 320.00 reduction for LACK OF COMMUNICATION and length it took to complete such a very small job. if I had been communicated with at least a little my outrage would not be as high. totally unprofessional customer service.

Business Response
We apologize about any inconvenience this has caused. We try to have our project managers set expectations at 6-8 weeks. Do to the weather this schedule has been affected and the project manager should have explained it better and been in better contact. The project in question took multiple trips due to multiple coats of paint and caulking performed as well as the install itself. Between the install and the painting trips the weather did not cooperate as well as we would have liked. The workers left the safety boards were left attached between trips and should she been removed. We apologize for the inconvenience and will do whatever is required to satisfy your issues.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I DO accept that communication should have been MUCH better and hopefully your future customers will reap the benefit of me bringing it to your attention !!! You did not address my request for a discount on our bill. Our bill was 800.00. We prepaid 400.00. I do NOT want to be charged the 5% late fee.... And I request a 10% discount equal to $80.00. I do not think that is unreasonable request due to the extreme stress and inconvenience.

02/23/2015Problems with Product / Service
03/21/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Major water leak and damage unable to contact Advantage Home Improvement.
This company was hired to remodel bathroom in Nov 2013. Had to come back twice and then developed a major water leak that was just discovered on 02-14-15. Tried to contact company phone disconnected, went by office, office closed. Paid $8500.Homeowners insurance came out denied claim due to leak was behind shower wall and stated that it was leaking more than 14 days. They stated bathroom has to be gutted, wall removed, mold remove, kitchen cabinets have to be removed and a lot of the kitchen floor and most of the sub floor.

Desired Settlement
I want them to honor their warranty and contract. I want them to pay to have all the damages fixed.

02/26/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Insulation not replaced in attic when work was done on my home
In July 2014 i signed a contract with advantage building to do repairs on my home due to a tree falling on it and doing damage. The work was covered by insurance. However last year i had a stroke and lost my sight so i did not go in the attic.this year when i did go up there the insulation over the roon/area they done is not there it never was repalced. It was removed due to rain entering where the roof was damaged. The contract says i have a life time guarantee on all repairs. I have called them since early november, once they did set an appt to come replace but called and canceled. They did reschedule however they didnt show up. I have called and left messages every week since and can not get a return call to getthis resolved. Now i ask for your aassistance.

Desired Settlement
I would like this to be corrected and the repairs done. If not i woulde like a refund to hire another contractor.

02/26/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bathroom remodel has loose caulk remodel was finished on 4/15,painting and wood floor installed on 11/15, painting issues and wood floor scratched.
The company did a master bath remodel finished on 4/15, shower has caulk that is loose. Painting done in master bedroom, living room and hall with wood floor installed in master bedroom on 11/15. Baseboards in master bedroom need retouching, paint damaged during floor install, also wood floor was scratched during threshold install. ***** the owner was contacted, left message on his cell phone on 11/21/15 requesting repairs. On 11/24/15 spoke with ******** at the Advantage office, left message she was to forward to *****. Week of 12/21/15 called office spoke with **** or ******, she identified herself as *****'s Mother and co-owner told of repairs issues, she was to have a worker call and set up repairs. Called office 1/16 spoke with *** told again of all previous calls and repairs needed, was to forward message to *****. Called office 1/20/16 left message yet again as to repairs needed done, told them I didn't think it was fair to take people's money and not do the work. Told if no response by 1/21/16 would file with BBB. No call back from Advantage to address issued was made to homeowner

Desired Settlement
Would like repairs made to shower, master bedroom baseboards and master bedroom floor.

01/29/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Horrible experience with a siding and window replacement.
I have complained before through the BBB on this company and my complaint was "blown off" and closed by the BBB.
Now maybe that they messed with a customer who is going to hold them accountable my complaint will be taken more seriously.
The window manufacture came out to my home and told me AND Advantage Home Improvement my windows were not installed properly.
I got a constant run around by Advantage Home Improvement and the end result was these windows are still giving me constant problems.
On my siding job - their contractors put a nail right through the concrete foundation of my house and INTO my drain line for my kitchen sink.
They came out to "inspect" what I said was true with my contractor also on site. My contractor even showed them how their siding nail fit perfectly in the hole they made through the concrete and into my kitchen drain line.
This was a very costly repair to me and despite them seeing it was their fault they denied any responsibility to this.

Desired Settlement
NOW - maybe my complaint will be taken seriously and my window install will be done PROPERLY and if their is damage to my home from these windows being improperly install then they will fix it too.
Again - I want ALL of my windows replaced and installed properly AND I want to be reimbursed for the damage caused to my kitchen drain line. That repair cost me $800.
Maybe I will get backing from the BBB instead of hearing from the BBB "this company has been with us many years and we don't have any issues with them"! I battled not only with this company but also with the BBB in having my complaint handled properly.

Final Consumer Response
From: Leanne Welsh (mailto:LMWelsh13@comcast.net)
Sent: Tuesday, December 29, 2015 6:45 AM
To: Terrie Page - BBB
Subject: my pictures

Ok, here they are.

The picture of my foundation - you can see the "staining" below the repair where the water ran down my foundation for sometime before the repair was actually made. I didn't notice it until my boyfriend pointed it out. Then I had the contractor come out and found out what the problem was.


On the window picture - my living room is bowed out where the two windows meet. Advantage's solution to that was to put these two screws in my window.

Leanne Welsh

01/29/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unfinished contract job. Verbal.
In April,2015 I had contact Advantage Home Improvement to replace my roof on my house. They were prompt in coming to my house to evaluate. Mr. ***** was the sales individual I dealt with. He stated he would get an estimate and get back with me. There is a side porch on my house that does need the plywood replaced before it can be shingled and is difficult to reach. This is and was part of the estimate. He also stated I needed some replacement windows and siding on this side of the house and would get me a separate estimate.
I waited several weeks and called them again they finally got this estimate for the roof 9750.00 for a 1800 square foot house. The additional work would be 8800.00 which I declined at that time. I asked again to make sure that the side roof was included in that estimate and Mr. ***** said yes. I called for many, many, weeks left messages and called with no return calls after paying half down (XXXX)to have my roof done. Finally after requesting my deposit back in September 2015 as no work had been done yet the company finally called and started work on 9/26/15. She stated to me they would be done in 1 day which I thought was too quick.... The secretary for this company called me and request the balance of payment 4950.00 day of service and came to my place of business before I even got to view the work to make sure it was acceptable (as I thought I could trust this company.) When I got home the workers were finishing up and I asked if they were coming back to finish this side porch and they said yes......I called the company again several times with no answer. It is now 1/6/16 and still not finished. I unfortunately do not have a written contract of this as Mr. ***** never provided me with one.....I am very disappointed in this company and will never recommend them to anyone else or ever use them again. I used them several years ago for replacement windows and had no issues what so ever. I don't know if they are under new management or what but they're service has deteriorated to very poor.......

Desired Settlement
Refund for the calculated amount of the side porch so I can contract someone else to finish it.
As I do not nor will never trust them again.

Final Consumer Response
No I haven't heard from them at all. I have had several other contractors look at the unfinished roof and am planning on having them finish it. I am having it finished and will never do business with this company again. Thanks.

Page 1 of 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/12/1991Business started: 01/02/1957New Owner Date: 01/29/2010
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 2010, TN

Business Management
Principal: Mr. James Hines (Owner)
Business Category

Contractors - General, Contractors - Flooring, Garage Doors & Openers, Solar Energy Equipment & Systems Supplies & Parts, Solar Energy Products - Retail, Solar Energy System Design & Installation, Solar Energy Equipment & Systems Dealers, Storm Damage Restoration, Windows, Storm Windows & Doors, Shutters, Screens - Door & Window, Doors, Awnings & Canopies, Sunroom & Solarium Design & Construction, Windows - Installation & Service, Construction & Remodeling Services, Skylights, Siding Contractors, Roofing Contractors, Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures, Deck Builder, Hardscapes, Patio & Deck Builders, Home Improvements - Additions, Home Improvements, Home Builders, Gutters & Downspouts, Garage Builders, Carpet Installation, Contractor - Remodel & Repair, Outdoor Kitchens, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling

Products & Services

Advantage Home Improvement is a full service contractor specializing in roofing, siding, windows, kitchen and bath remodeling, decks, bonus rooms, additions, garages, patio covers, all phases of new construction, and more.

Alternate Business Names
Advantage Builders & Roofing
Industry Tips
Home Improvements
Home - Roofing Contractors
LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 610 W Burton St 

    Murfreesboro, TN 37130-3615(615) 890-8463
    Fax: (615) 849-8463

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Advantage Home Improvement, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (615) 849-8463
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Contractors - General

Home Improvements
Home - Roofing Contractors
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

On December 14, 2015, BBB received a copy of a warrant from the Rutherford County General Sessions Court Clerk's Office indicating James Hines was arrested on December 11th, 2015, for Theft of Property over $1000, General Sessions Warrant #387127, stemming from the failure to provide windows and installation after receiving payment. The court case is still pending and is set for February 17, 2016, at 8:00 AM. BBB will update this information as it becomes available.

As of March 16, 2016 this company's website (www.advantagehi.com) is claiming BBB membership. This company is not a BBB Accredited Business, and our policies prohibit such a reference. The name BBB/Better Business Bureau, its logos and service marks are federally registered trademarks owned by the Council of Better Business Bureaus and may not be used by any company other than the BBB itself (unless specifically authorized in a licensing agreement).

On March 16, 2016, BBB sent certified correspondence to Advantage Home Improvement, Inc requesting their voluntary cooperation in removing all reference of BBB until a licensing agreement could be obtained.

As of April 15, 2016, this company has failed to cooperate with BBB in discontinuing the use of BBB's registered trademark. Misuse of the BBB trademark constitutes trademark infringement and is a violation of trademark rights of the Council of Better Business Bureaus, Inc.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.