BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/18/2012

Supreme Builders, LLC

Phone: (931) 296-6819Fax: (931) 296-6820615 E Main St, WaverlyTN 37185-1737 Send email to Supreme Builders, LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers construction and remodeling services of vinyl, carpet, hardwood or laminate flooring, decks, shingles or metal roof, drywall, paneling, painting in addition to custom wood work of all kinds.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/18/2012

BBB has determined that Supreme Builders, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Supreme Builders, LLC's rating include:

  • 7 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Supreme Builders, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues5
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Supreme Builders, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)
05/25/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We hired this company to build a covered porch, after months of delays the porch was completed (shoddy) work. The roof has leaked and no repairs done.
Leaky roof on newly constructed porch by this company. We agreed to pay $4945.00 on 10/14/2014. We are now in May 2015 and repairs have not been done after numerous calls to Supreme builders. There are many gaps where daylight can be seen between wood thus not bug free as promised.

Desired Settlement
Would just like leaky roof repaired.

Business Response
When we did the work they were very, very pleased. Yes, there was a problem how the metal tied in with the roof and we do agree with Mr. ***** on the area that is leaking but it is very minimal and due to the weather we have had in this area we are backed up and trying to remedy all problems as we go forward. We will send a crew within 7 days to fix this problem and do our best to provide the services we promised. But all other comments about the shoddy work never arose until we weren't able to go immediately and fix this leak. I understand the frustration of Mr. ***** and we will solve this problem within the 7 day period. I am not aware of daylight showing anywhere from our work because this is a porch roof but we are willing to fix anything that needs to be fixed to please Mr. *****. In our line of work it's extremely hard to employ workers qualified in all the areas of work we perform. We are diligently seeking qualified employees to do the work that we commit to. Thanks you so much.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I cannot tell if the roof leaks unless it rains. I appreciate the quick response from Supreme builders. I fit doesn't rain within the 10 days just go ahead and close the case. Thank you

Final Business Response
We did our part and went to Mr. ***** and fixed the leak. And of course if it leaks again we will go back as our contract calls for a 1 year workmanship warranty.

10/13/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Uneven floor, damage to kitchen floor, damage to bedroom doorknob, refusal to respond to phone calls after repair, and inferior floor repair.
My bedroom floor was getting a hole in it so I called Superior Builders for an estimate. I was quoted an amount for 8 hrs work. I was also charged for a sheet of Plywood they would use for the repair. They did a great job last year on my bathroom repairs so I did not hesitate to let them do my bedroom floor. I should have insisted on the same son doing the second job. I wish I had. He sent his second son and the job is so bad I can't believe it. They used cheap partical board and had to use a piece of lumber I had here for another project because they did not come prepared to install cross pieces under the floor where it was breaking. They wasted 3 pieces of my lumber by cutting it wrong the first time he tried. There is a gap between the original floor and the repair section. I have almost turned my ankle three times on this difference in level of the floor. The floor is creaking where the repair was made and it is getting worse. My kitchen floor was cut when he was trying to loosen it from the carpet and when he left promising to return with a strip of metal trim to cover the mess he made of the carpet. At the time I did not realize that he had also messed up the kitchen floor. When I lifted up the piece of padding he had left sticking out from under the carpet I saw that the flooring was cut and that explained why he had left it sticking out over that section of the floor. In the process of moving back the things they had to move my doorknob was broken off of the bedroom door. I now have to replace the doorknob, the kitchen floor because it will start to curl and I do not need to trip over it.
I have called them 4 times with no results except being told the third time that they had other jobs to finish that were more important than mine. They charged me for 8 hours labor and only worked two hours. They insist on being paid half of the amount for the repairs up front and do not give receipts unless you insist on one. They do not want checks made out to the company, they have to be made out to the owner personally. I do not like to pay up front for services because this is the problem, once you pay them they forget about you. It took 2 days for them to fix my bathroom floor and I was charged a lot less. And as I said the job was perfect unlike the bedroom floor. I am very upset.

Desired Settlement
I want my money back because I am going to have to call someone else to repair the mess they caused. The floor is going to break again where it was supposed to be repaired correctly and wasn't, I have to replace the doorknob on my bedroom door and replace the kitchen floor that was cut and buy a strip to repair where the carpet is loose in the doorway. They didn't even offer to refund overcharged labor hours not used.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Janie ******* CFO
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******************@att.net
Thank you for contacting us about the problems ***** ****** presented. We appreciate BBB because they are ready to represent both of us. Our company counts it an honor to be represented by BBB. After reading over Ms. Loudin's complaint I shared it with another office manager and James *****, the owner. I find several discrepancies in Ms. Loudin's complaint. First of all we do NOT charge by the hour. All our work is done by the Job. The only complaint we ever received from her was we needed to bring a threshold to cover where the kitchen floor and the other room joined. We had 5 roofs that had to be done. some were leaking. We never told Ms. Loudin that anyone else was more important than she. We would never do that. We just needed to get the roofs on before going to her as we knew nothing of the other things she found wrong.
Customer satisfaction is our goal. Also she mentioned she had almost broke her ankle 3 times. Ms Loudin uses a hoveround . Our crew says they have never seen her out of the hoveround. We do require 1/2 payment up front to buy materials and the last 1/2 when the job is finished. And that's how she paid us. She was not overcharged. Thank You for your time and consideration.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First off I never said I almost Broke my ankle, I said I almost turned it. I was told by Carrie who answered the phone and I heard her tell James it was me, that they had other jobs to finish first that were more important than mine. If someone had bothered to return my calls they would have heard about the other problems. If some one had bothered to take 15 minutes to the finish what they started then they would have seen and heard about the other problems. I do Not have a hoverround, but I do have an electric wheelchair that I use in the kitchen. And at the time they fixed my floor it was not working and hadn't been working for about 6 months. I was using a walker to get around at the time and I am now walking on my own most of the time now. My sister and I both heard James say he was charging for 8 hours work. Since I never spoke to the preacher lady who answered this complaint when I called then how does she know what was said between me and Carrie or what James told Carrie to tell me??? The point is I called 4 times and No One bothered to call me back. If they have time to stand around in the office then they have time to send someone to finish my job, and it would not kill James to do it himself if no one else is available. I know what James said to us when he was here, the preacher doesn't. The kid that fixed the floor told the other guy he was with that he was "Fixing to find the nearest fishing hole for the rest of the day." He could have finished the job that day since he wasn't too busy to go fishing, but I never heard from them again. If you have a business then you should have enough money to pay for supplies and not have to ask for the customer to pay for them beforehand.

Final Business Response
Our company had a business meeting consisting of James, Kari and myself before I ever sent the first response. I am the preacher woman Ms. Loudin is speaking of. James and Kari leave very good notes and what was put in the response I answered on the first complaint were words that Kari & James both told me to write. I talked with James earlier this morning and he plans to go to Ms. Loudins within the next few days and take the threshold piece that we need to place. If there are other problems related to our work that we were supposed to fix on this job then we will take care of it and make sure the work is done. We want our customer happy.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I'll accept it if and when he shows up. And the name is ****** not *******

01/28/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
no invoices or paperwork, poor workmanship
I live in CA and bought a house in Bon Aqua TN to use as a rental on 2/28/15. I hired Supreme Builders from Home Advisors to do some renovation work. I signed (my son was authorized to sign the contract for me) on 4/07/15. The total was $5,720 with a check of $2,860 given on 4/8/15. Checked with Supreme Builders on 4/28/15 the start date thru an email. Start was delayed due to rain. The 1st invoice sent on 5/6/15 showed total amount of $5,720 with the check received of $2,860. No other invoice or paperwork was every sent. Check for $1,670 on 5/6/15, and a check for $1,655 were for the extras I added. Then he received a check for $1,050 on 5/27 and the last check on 6/19 when work was completed and he was paid in full, totaling $ $8,285. I decided to have siding put on the house. That's when we discovered Supreme Builders made a lot of errors. Like the outside door they added didn't have a header, they removed some of the termite damaged between the foundation in places, but not everywhere. Did I call them back to fix all the things that were wrong. NO I did not. I hired a handyman for $15.00 an hour and he finished the repairs in 2 days. I didn't trust Supreme Builders to finish the job properly or in a timely manner. This will be a rental, so I need it done right for insurance purposes, if I should ever have to file a claim. I could of saved a lot of money if I had gone that route. I realize that the weather there played a large part in the delays, but only the electrical, a/c and outside door were outside work. Most extra work was inside. I still haven't received invoices or the a/c unit warranty. I would not recommend this company to anyone. I told them I was unhappy with the workmanship and their business practices, but all I got was a sorry.

Desired Settlement
I want my invoices listing all the work they did on my house. I want the a/c unit warranty, and nothing more to do with them.

Business Response
First of all, our company, Supreme Builders LLC has never discussed any work or process of work on this property in Bon Aqua, TN. with Ms. ***** ******. All of the work discussed to be done on the property was instructed to me and my crew by a gentleman named ****** **********

The job when it was started was a very complex and unordinary job due to the fact that Mr. ********* had a serious conflict with his neighbors, to the point of threatening to do physical harm; up to the threats of shooting my employees. Every day that my men arrived on the job site there was a conflict with Mr. ********* and his neighbor as to where we parked our vehicles and equipment with serious threats.

We did everything we were instructed to do by ****** ********* on all the work and process of work. I have never discussed any work or description of work with ***** ******.

Mr. ********* instructed me to give him all of the paperwork required concerning this job. We have already provided all the documents she has requested to ****** **********

As far as the header over the door I explained to Mr. ********* that this wall needed to be replaced. He instructed me by saying he was a carpenter himself and by putting the door in would be fine as it was. It seems there has been a continuous misunderstanding as to what Mr. ********* wanted or didn't want from the very start of this job.

As I look back from the very beginning, I should have never accepted this job. If you will note in Ms. ******'s complaint she never gave us any opportunity to ever correct any issue concerning our work. If she had contacted my company, regardless of the threats and instructions to what work needed to be done and how Mr. ********* wanted it done.

As noted on the contract Mr. ********* is the signaturee. He has all warranty papers, work description or invoices provided to him. He instructed me to give him all these documents that Ms. ****** is requesting to him for his own reasons.

If any proof is needed to the serious threats that my employees and I incurred on this job I am sure the ******* ****** ****** ********** have reports that can be made available between Mr. ********* and his neighbor.

We have an excellent record of correcting any mistakes that we make on any jobs. Please note again there was never a complaint about any work that was not done per the contract signed by Mr. ********** When we completed every step he was VERY pleased and had no complaints and he was very much aware of the door being put where we removed the window. The problem is that he said he did not want the wall to be repaired; that the door would be fine because of the structure being solid oak and has been there with a window in it for several years.

This house is very old and has termite damage in lots of different areas but we repaired only the areas instructed by Mr. **********

Mr. ********* had requested a price for us to do all the siding and I verbally quoted to him a price on the property. He said any damage due to termite or rotted wood would be repaired when the old Asbestos Siding was removed.

I instructed Mr. ********* that due to the serious health hazards of the asbestos siding we did not do any of the work. I do pray that Ms. ***** ****** or Mr. ****** ********* follow the proper, legal requirements to properly remove and dispose of all this hazardous material. This is a serious health hazard to anyone involved in removing. Mr. ********* hinted to me that no one would ever know if we gave him a good price to install new siding and remove this hazardous material. I denied his request.

It seemed everything went down hill from that point. I personally feel that this situation concerning this hazardous material should be investigated, but that is not my job.

As the owner of Supreme Builders LLC my intent and still in good faith to do what is simply right. But again, as noted in Ms. ***** ******** complaint she never gave us the chance to correct any problem. In my opinion I believe all of the miscommunication was between Mr. ********* and Ms. ******; not Supreme Builders LLC. We did all work instructed by Mr. ********** I regret that I did the process of work per his request.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
All statements made by Supreme Builders are lies and I can prove it. *****, owner of Supreme Builders did know my son, ****** ********** and did know that I knew and was authorizing every thing ***** was told to do. I also talked to *****, ***** office manager, and ***** himself, many times over the months he worked on my house, about updates and how the work was coming along. When I bought this house on 2/28/15 I did my due diligence by having a home inspection done before hiring a contractor. Then I would have a better understanding of what work would need to be done. As stated on the only invoice I got from ***** was the first one on 5/6/15 stating: total job $5,720, check of $2,860 paid on 4/8/15 with a balance of $2,860 due. This did not show any additions I made after the contract was initially signed. Neither my son, ******, or I have EVER received any paperwork, invoices or warranties after the 1st invoice on 5/7/15. All I have are my cancelled checks to prove my payments. I'm sure ***** would of complained if he didn't get paid in full. As for anything else ***** has said in his response to my complaints they are all lies. He or his employee on my house job were never threaten by my neighbor, ****. There has never been a police report by ******* ****** ****** ever. I can provide ***** name and address if you need it. I will say **** at first was very concerned about having to use his yard as a turn around for trucks to get to my property, but when my son explained to him how necessary it was and would make sure **** knew when deliveries would be arriving, **** was ok with it. He said when I improve my property, it also improves his. As for the door ***** put in the small bedroom at the back of the house, he removed a window and replaced it with a door. But he did not put in the door correctly, by adding a header over the door. ***** never told my son the whole wall should be replaced when the new door was installed. When ***** installed that door to the outside, there was termite damage where the door sill meets the foundation. ***** did replace a small section of old termite damage wood, for the door to open and close correctly. When I had my home hung with new siding, they only found one other section under the kitchen windows with old termite damaged wood at the foundation. When *****, employee, **** cleaned up the yard, he carted away all excess material, boxes, etc. Some was the old termite damage wood, debris, and some old siding. ***** did not say anything about asbestos. But I had it checked out for asbestos, before starting the new siding. I was aware of it being an old house with the chance of asbestos but there was no asbestos at all. The old siding was removed, then house wrapped before new siding was put on. I brought in a 20 yard dumpster from Waste Management in Dickson to haul it all away. Don't you think someone from Waste management when covering the dumpster for transport would of said "this can't go the land fill". I also had to rekey all my door as ***** did not return my keys. One more thing to mention is the electrical work ***** did in my house and my sons trailer was not done by a licensed electrician. His employee, ****, who did the work, was not a licensed electrician. **** just called ******* ******** and said he was going to install a new box and needed the new codes to do the job. I don't know if he told them over the phone, he was licensed or not. When ******* ******** came out to sign off on it. It passed *********** I can prove everything I've said about ***** and Supreme Builders. I can call my ******* phone carrier and request my phone records from April 2015 to August 2015 so you can see just how many times I called ***** office and cell phone. I kept getting the run around time after time. Nothing ***** has said is true. All small or large jobs did for me at my house had to be redone. Why in the world would I trust him to repair anything? I keep excellent records for tax purposes and need proof of payment and warranty of the a/c unit from *****. I have had trees cut down, I have insured my property for liability, I have brought in 4 truck loads of gravel to help with the mud situation. I'm doing my due diligence to my home, and resent the accusations ***** has said about me and my son. I would never refer him or his company to anyone.

Final Business Response
I am sorry Ms. ****** feels the way she does. Our crew worked ******* that property and we feel we did a good job.

The signed contract, AC warranty and all the invoices for the HWY 70 property and the **** **** property are attached.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I cannot printout any attachments they sent me thru ADOBE READER. I have Adobe Reader on my MAC but all I get is garbage. Why can't they send these attachments via email to me. I am requesting these attachments via my email account "**********@comcast.net. When they do this and I can print them out I will consider this matter closed.

05/15/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Job
Job not complete, billed for finished job to ins co without my consent, Billed me for more then estimate.

Desired Settlement
Finish job as required

Business Response
In response to Mr. ******'s complaint:

In the beginning the agreement was he pay us 50% down and at the completion of the job he would give us the remaining 50%. Mr. ****** told us he would be paying us a personal check as the Insurance company had already paid him. ***** said, "So you've already filed a claim and received your money?" He said, "Yes." ***** looked at his policy and said to him, "You know when we finish the job that you have more money coming from the insurance." He was not aware of that. ***** told him we would be happy to help him fill out his paper work to receive what he had left coming from the insurance.

When the job was completed I drove to Buchanan, TN. to pick up our final check. BTW it is a 100 mile round trip from our office. When I approached him I told him that I had come to pick up our final payment. He used some bad language and told me he did not have any money. That we would have to wait on the insurance check. I told him that was not the agreement in the beginning as you did not know you had insurance money coming until we told you.

I left and filed the final papers with his insurance. When he decided to make this an insurance job on his own, that changed the whole picture. His contract states that any insurance check must be signed and forfeited to Supreme Builders LLC. It's his responsibility to get all said parties listed on the check to sign and hand that check over to us. The names listed on the check included his name, his X-wife's name, his mortgage company and Supreme Builders LLC.

In the meantime he decided there were a few little things we needed to fix. There were a few loose screws. ***** and a crew went this morning to finish what he said was wrong. Before ***** could get ready to do the job he comes out and sticks the check in *****'s face and said, "here you sign this check." (Using more choice curse words than I care to write on here.) ***** told him he did not come to sign the check but to fix whatever he felt was wrong with the roof. ***** did get to tighten the loose screws but was then ordered to leave his property calling ***** an SOB and called the crew the 3 Musketeers. Our contract states that we give a 1 year workmanship warranty on our work. So he had no worries there because we would fix anything that was a problem.

***** has made a total of 6 trips to his home to collect and I made 1 trip. We have documented pictures of his roof showing that it is good workmanship. Also the last 3 times ***** has been to the property, one of our office girls recorded the conversation. We have several pages of documentation from ***** ***** his insurance company concerning our final payment. I am attaching a copy of his signed contract. Also, I am attaching a copy of the check that ***** **** sent to us for our records.

Our attorney has all the documentation including our correspondence with ***** **** as well as the recorded conversations, and a copy of his signed contract.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
On 01/27/2015 ***** **** wrote me an estimate for wind damage to my roof and wrote me a check for $6,294.93 with the balance due on completion of roof.
On 01/30/2015 I signed a contract with Supreme Builders for roof at $13,500 50% down and 50% on I paid supreme builder $6,750.00 up front. $455.07 out of my pocket.
On 03/30/2015 supreme builders took in on themselves to tell SF the job was complete. It is not.
They Received a check from SF on 04/04/2015 for $7,222.97, $473.97 more then I owe. Check made out to me, my wife. ******** ******* bank and supreme builders.
On 04/06/2015 supreme builders told me they had a copy of check. They had the check. After several calls from supreme builders asking had I received check, I called *** they cancelled original check and mailed one to me. Supreme builders refuses to sign for more ten I owe or complete job.
Supreme builders contract is with me not SF.
They will be paid $6,750 when they sign check and job is finished. 90 days is about enough.

Final Business Response
I did file the ***** **** Claim but Mr. ****** must have forgotten that he gave me his ***** **** claim number and the 800 number for ***** ***** After he would not pay us and said we would have to be paid from the insurance money, ***** **** had me send them a signed contract between Supreme Builders LLC and *** ******. Since it changed from *** ****** paying us, and now ***** **** is paying, that changed the whole picture. As stated in my first response according to his contract he has to relinquish the signed check to us. If there is any more work that needs to be done on his roof he needs to let our crew come over and finish. We went the first of this week and he ran our crew off. We have exhausted all efforts with Mr. ****** and it is apparent that he is trying not to pay us. We have turned everything over to an attorney and this will be going to court soon. Our attorney has all correspondence from ***** ***** as well as the signed contract. In the beginning if *** ****** had handed ***** a personal check for the balance he would have accepted it and in turn signed the check and left happy. But Mr. ****** would not have it that way.

02/05/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
***** **** Ins.issued a check to supreme builders and ****** *******. No services were rendered and the monies have not been returned.
A check from ***** **** Ins. was issued to ****** ******* for tornado damage that occurred 7/26/2014 for $5475.69.The insurance company issued the check with ** bank,Supreme builders and ****** ******* as endorsers. Supreme Builders was never authorized to be do any work on the domicile,only to put in a non-binding bid. There was no dollar amount on the bid and no contract was proffered. The check arrived on 8/17/2014 at which time they were informed that I would be going to another firm to do the work.Supreme builders cashed the check on the 19th of August and deposited it in their account. They wrote a check to ****** ******* and instructed him to deposit it on the 22nd of August.The check they wrote was NSF at which time they were informed of the matter. As of 1/14/2015 only 1000.00 dollars have been returned despite numerous attempts.The excuse offered is that they had capital funding withdraw money out of their account which made them short. I neither believe this nor is it an excuse for not refunding the bulk of the insurance check. Currently the roof on the home has two gaping holes in it that cannot be repaired without these funds.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking $4475.69 that is owed plus a reasonable amount of interest on the debt.

Business Response
I am responding to the above complaint. I am the contractor that met with the adjuster from ***** **** Ins. last July. I spent almost 1/2 day at the property. The adjuster was not going to approve the claim at all. I spent several minutes on the roof with the adjuster showing him different areas where there was storm damage. After much time with the adjuster he finally approved the Insurance Claim. Had I not been there, my client would not have received a check from ***** ***** We do have a valid contract. It was signed the on 07/31/2014. I attempted several times when talking to this client to let us come do the job. So far he has not let us do the work we are contracted to do. He demanded $1000.00 to cover his roof so no more damage would happen to his house. We gave him that much to get his roof covered. The rest we are holding until we can complete the job.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The document the defendant had me sign was a non-binding agreement that was witnessed by my niece who was one of his employees. There was no meeting of the minds and I never agreed for him to do the work.There were no figures on this document for me to consider and I could not possibly agree to it in that the adjuster did not make a final claim till 8/5/2014. I signed that document for a non-binding on 8/4/2014,so for him to make this claim is ridiculous.The defendant has not even returned my calls since the end of February. I wouldn't have agreed to 5475.69 to put a roof on a 1632 sq ft. roof anyway and the bulk of the insurance check had nothing to do with repairs on the roof.As far as the 1000 dollars mentioned,they had issued a NSF check for the total amount and I pressed them on payment to cover that ******** Bank in Dickson can verify this. That check for $1000 wouldn't begin to cover the roof and there was no talk of any repairs on the roof.***** the owner wanted me to allow him to give him a chance to put a metal roof on my home.but when he suggested putting the roof over damaged decking I was not going to give him the opportunity. I have multiple witnesses to the facts I just stated and I had already made arrangements for **** ********** and his crew to do the work. The company does not have the money to return and that is why I did not receive the rest of the money that was owed from the insurance check. If I do not receive the rest of the funds,I am going to pursue legal redress to resolve the matter as well as legal fees court costs and compensatory damages.

Thanks,
****** R.*******

Final Business Response
In response to this client; we do have a binding contract. How does he think ***** **** listed our name on the check? ***** **** has to have that info or otherwise only his name would be on the check. I told him I would use lathing strips to place the metal on with. If there was damaged decking we would replace that before a roof went over it. He needs to let us come and do our job. The only reason we gave him back $1000.00 he kept calling and complaining his roof was leaking. That money was for him to get the roof stabilized to prevent any further damage since he wouldn't let us come and do the job. Not put the metal on. There is no way he could metal for his roof for $1000.00. I am attaching a copy of his signed contract.

12/15/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
supreme builders was paid in 5/14 to put on new roof. Work is still not completed and further damages were caused due to improper workmanship.
In agreement was made between myself and supreme builders in May 2014. The agreement stated that I would sign my insurance check over to them and they would have the work completed within one month. It is a simple metal roof on a small residential house. According to supreme builders they got behind. It is now November 24, 2014 and the roof is yet to be completed. During the course of the work on October 13, 2014 major water damage occurred to my home due to a rainstorm and improper workmanship. Supreme builders had taken some of the rain boots on the roof off to put down the metal roof. They did not Seal up the new metal roof around the vent pipes. This led to massive water damage and mold forming.

Desired Settlement
In May 2014 I hired supreme builders to put a new metal roof on my home. I signed over my insurance check to them. On October 13, 2014 major water damage occurred due to improper workmanship. Supreme builders was still working on my roof at this time and when it started raining they had not sealed around the vent pipes on the roof. This led to major water damage and mold forming in my back bedrooms upstairs and downstairs. I contacted ***** the owner and informed him of the damage. I was told that they had insurance for these reasons. It is now November 24, 2014 and my roof is still not completed and no insurance claim has been filed to fix the damages inside the home. They have sealed the roof so no more water damage can occur. However,I am still awaiting the completion of my roof and the claim on my damages. I contacted ***** today to ask for an update and was told that they were still behind and will get back to me as soon as possible. In my experience so far, this could be at any point they feel like getting to it. It is taking way too long to get my roof completed and I don't believe that any insurance company would be okay with them filing the claim months after the damage occurred.

Business Response
Ms. ****** roof has been completed other than 4 corners. This is a special color metal that we have had to order. As soon as we get the corners her roof will be complete. The absence of the 4 corners will not cause leaks. As for the major water damage she is speaking of, her ceilings already had major water damage. I have 3 witnesses that heard her say that the damage was already there. There was a small leak around a pipe boot that was not sealed. We were still working on the roof when the rain came and this happened but has since been fixed. Around the spot where water leaked around the boot we will stain block but as far as the rest of her house that is old damage. Mold and mildew will not occur in a month's time. Ms. ****** still owes Supreme Builders LLC $1000.00 for her deductible.

NOTE: We noticed this house was in dire need of preventive maintenance and care. The ceilings all through kitchen and hallway, upstairs and downstairs was old damage and had been there for years. Their old roof was a shingle roof with no felt paper under it from original installation and was missing shingles all over. Mr. ***** spoke with Mr. ***** and agreed to come by and investigate the little bit of damage that was caused by the leaking pipe boot. It appears that Ms. ****** is attempting to make Supreme Builders liable for all the old damage that was already there. We are not liable for any old damage. If you have any questions please call Mr.***** at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

11/12/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The job was never properly completed and after months of phone calls, they have still not been out or even attempted to contact us.
We had stairs added onto our deck back in February and since have noticed several problems with the work done. There is an entire section that was never properly attached and is a serious safety hazard. There are also certain places that have come unsecured and now are hanging on by single nails. These, as well as several other problems, have been photographed, videoed, and mentioned throughout countless phone calls. When someone does answer the office phone, we are met with excuse after excuse as to why they cannot come out to correct the issues. I have been calling at least once a week since the end of June. It has been three months and there has still been nothing done. The problems would take minimal effort to correct, yet the owner, ***** ***** refuses to answer my phone calls and will not return any of my voicemails. He has contacted me once since the problems were brought to his attention back in July, set a date to come by to look at things, and never showed or called to reschedule. This has been a battle since day one. I simply want what was paid for and to be done with the poor excuse for a company.

Desired Settlement
We just want what we've paid for. Come finish the job, and do so properly.

Business Response
We received this complaint this morning that ******** ******** has filed. I am thankful for BBB as this is why we need you as members. Ms ******** has called our office several times and we have talked with her. She mentioned James ***** never answers or returns her calls. Most of the time James is out on a job site where he does not have a signal on his phone. That's why we have an office to receive complaints such as this.

The job was finished in February of this year. Our policy is we require 1/2 payment up front and the other 1/2 when the job is finished and client is satisfied with our work. All Christie has ever mentioned when she called was her dogs have been running up and down the stairs and have knocked some of the pickets loose. This is the first we have ever heard about one section now being properly attached. I also asked the other office manager had we received any pictures from Chrisie as I have never seen any. She said she has not seen any pictures or videos.

James will be going to the ********'s today and fix what needs to be fixed.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Not only is the respondent blatantly lying about never having heard about all of the problems found, they also came to my home without my knowledge or permission to "fix" things. I am still unsatisfied with the work done and very disappointed in their approach.

The reason we paid the second half after the project was finished was out of shear frustration to begin with. We were told that the job should take about three days to complete, yet it took about two weeks. Not only this, but oftentimes, I would have to call to see if they even planned to show up that day. I understand that things come up, and I fully respect this, however, we were never shown the courtesy of a phone call or explanation in these cases. The problems were not noticed until later and Supreme Builders was notified immediately, they chose to ignore it.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/04/2012Business started: 07/02/2010
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Business Management
Customer Contact: Ms. Janie Burkett (CFO)Ms. Kari Rochelle (CEO)
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James K. Hedge (Owner)
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services, Contractor - Remodel & Repair, Carports, Building Contractors, Outdoor Kitchens, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling

Products & Services

This company offers construction and remodeling services of vinyl, carpet, hardwood or laminate flooring, decks, shingles or metal roof, drywall, paneling, painting in addition to custom wood work of all kinds.

Alternate Business Names
James K. Hedge
Industry Tips
Home Improvements

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Supreme Builders, LLC has received 4.3 out of 5 stars based on 2 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of B+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Supreme Builders, LLC

615 E Main St

Waverly, TN 37185-1737

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 615 E Main St 

    Waverly, TN 37185-1737(931) 296-6819

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Supreme Builders, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Construction & Remodeling Services

Home Improvements
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.