BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/22/1999

Hantel Construction Company, LLC

Phone: (615) 292-3070Fax: (615) 292-8119View Additional Phone Numbers2914 Berry Hill Drive, NashvilleTN 37204 Send email to Hantel Construction Company, LLCView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/22/1999

BBB has determined that Hantel Construction Company, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Hantel Construction Company, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Hantel Construction Company, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
09/12/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Did not finish work as described in the contract.
Wanted to charge me again to complete what should have been done upon completion.
I signed a contract with Mr. ** ****** on July 13, 2013 to do renovations to a downstairs room. Adding a bathroom and a closet. I paid half down as the contract required. And the remaining before the work was completed. When Mr. ****** said the work was done there still things that he had not addressed that was part of the contract but he wanted me to do change order for $75 and charge me the cost of finishing those items. There is a hole in the wall of the closet, no rod in the closet for hanging clothes, the bathroom had glue oozing from the tiles, to which he told me soap and water would remove it. There were paint spots on the carpet, as well as other red spots, one of the closet doors was loose, and old switch plate was put back on when the rest of the room had some new ones. I am very unhappy with the way things were left. I want a refund of 20% of the final $1,979.00 that was paid before completion of the job. If I had not paid that up front I would have held it back until he honored every thing he was to do. I would not recommend his to any one because he does not complete or finish the work as he is contracted to do. He also left no baseboard around a portion of the room.

Desired Settlement
I want a refund of $395.80 which is 20% of the $1,979 that was part of the final cost which I paid before the work was complete. I have someone that will take that as payment to complete what Mr. ****** and his company did not do.

Business' Initial Response
Thank you for the feedback. While we at Hantel Construction Co always want to have happy customers, in this case apparently we have let our customer down. Please note that the customer paid the final balance due of her own accord before the job was completed and therefore, before it was required per the contract.

In order to restore our customer's 100% satisfaction, we are currently working with her to resolve the issues. While we maintain that the baseboard and the closet rod were not part of the contract, we have agreed to provide them to the customer at no charge as a good faith measure. We have removed the spots from the carpeting as well as have performed other minor tasks that the customer added when we met with her this week. The customer had already resolved the hole in the wall, the tile glue and the switch plate before we returned to her home. We will also be replacing the loose closet door for her next week once a new door has been received.

As far as we are aware, we have addressed all of the issues that the customer has to her satisfaction. Therefore, we will not be issuing a refund.

Our objective at Hantel Construction Co is to provide every customer with 100% satisfaction. We have found that our customers are our best advocates and we appreciate when a customer returns or refers other business to us. Every employee, from design to installation, works hard to accomplish this goal.

Consumer's Final Response
On September 11, 2013 Hantel Construction Co completed all unfinished work that I had requested in a satisfactory manner. Thanks.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/13/1997Business started: 08/01/1977
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Edward G. Hantel (Owner/Manager)Customer Contact: Ms. Laura Duddy (Office Manager)
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services, Appliances - Installation, Appliances - Major - Dealers, Tile - Non-Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Tile & Marble, Hardwood Floor Contractors, Floors - Laminate, Floor Materials - Retail, Floor Coverings & Installation, Lighting Fixtures - Retail, Lighting Consultants, Contractor - Remodel & Repair, Kitchen & Bath Design, Home Builders, Home Improvements - Additions, Marble & Granite Installation, Stonework Fabrication, Granite, Countertops - Concrete, Countertops, Cabinet Equipment & Supplies, Cabinet Manufacturer, Cabinet Hardware, Whirlpool Bath Equipment & Supplies, Bathroom Remodeling - Walk-In Tubs, Baths - Equipment & Supplies, Bathroom Accessories, Wine Storage Equipment, Bathroom Remodeling, Outdoor Kitchens, Kitchen Remodeling, Kitchen Accessories, Baths, Contractors - General, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling, Kitchen Cabinets & Equipment - Household, Cabinets, Home Improvements

Products & Services

The company offers complete residential remodeling as well as specializes in kitchen and bathroom remodeling. They have been in business since 1979 and have a showroom and design center near the 100 Oaks medical/shopping center in Nashville. They are a full service design/build remodeling company whose full time staff are certified building professionals. Every aspect of the customer's remodeling project is well thought out during the planning process in order to minimize the delays in the implementation process.

Service Area

Service Nashville and its surrounding counties in Middle Tennessee

Alternate Business Names
Hantel Kitchens & Baths
Industry Tips
Home Improvements

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Hantel Construction Company, LLC

2914 Berry Hill Drive

Nashville, TN 37204

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2914 Berry Hill Drive 

    Nashville, TN 37204

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Hantel Construction Company, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (615) 478-5038
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Construction & Remodeling Services

Home Improvements
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.