BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/20/2002

Smyrna Ready Mix Concrete, LLC (Headquarters)

Find a Location

Phone: (615) 355-1028Fax: (615) 355-8419View Additional Phone Numbers4472 Hickory Grove Road, MurfreesboroTN 37129 Send email to Smyrna Ready Mix Concrete, LLCView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Smyrna Ready Mix provides ready mix concrete services to contractors, professional home builders, and do-it-yourself home owners to include material hauling and concrete pumping services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/20/2002

BBB has determined that Smyrna Ready Mix Concrete, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

All Locations are BBB Accredited
Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Smyrna Ready Mix Concrete, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Smyrna Ready Mix Concrete, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
08/30/2016Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have ordered 6 yds. Concrete based on given dimension, paid for 6 yds. but received about 4 yds. they denied crediting me for the two yds.
On August 5, 2016, I call Smyrna Ready Mix of Hermitage to order delivery of concrete for my basement.
I had provided the dimensions (length, width, and depth) they suggested I needed 6 yards. I ordered 6 yards, but I received only about 4 yards. I spoke to them several times but they were not willing to correct the problem. I have already paid for 6 yards, I have not been provided any receipts and no work order or invoice. I had to dispute on my credit card for the amount of 2 yards, which is $240. This the summary of my complaint. But the detail description is as follow:
08/05/XXXX XX:XX AM - I called Smyrna Ready Mix Hermitage at (XXX) XXX-XXXX and I spoke to individual by the name of ****** who was covering for ***** who had time off. I gave the dimension of 33' X 14.5' X4" to order the concrete in Yard. ****** said it is just below 6 Yards and for 6 Yards he gave me the estimated cost of $773. Some change. I said I would call him back to see whether I can order the pump service before placing my order.

After I secured the pumping service, from Concrete *************, I called and place my order for the concrete and this time ****** gave me a price of $882. And some change. After I question the price difference, he totaly denied the $773 price. I went ahead and ordered it.

08/06/XXXX X:XX AM - the truck arrived and the form has been contracted to cover only 28'X12'X4'' which is equal of 4.14 yards. When the truck driver announced that he had delivered the completed loaded (6yrd), we realized we were already short and my concrete layer team, the pump workers were present at the site with me and they claimed that it did not appeared to be 6 yds. Based on the actual formed area. I called Smyrna Ready Mix Hermitage at (XXX) XXX-XXXX and I spoke to ****** explaining the situation that I did not received the 6 Yds. He claimed the computer mixed 6 yds. on the truck. Bottom line he was arguing and he even claimed base on the dimensions (28'X12'X4") 4.6 yards would have covered. By stating that he even confirmed that the 6 yds. was not delivered. I went ahead paid the amount for the 6 yds. with my credit card the amount was $808.45. He asked me if I like someone from the office to call me on the following Monday. I told him absolutely. I also went to Home Depot and bought 20 bags of 80lbs. concrete mix to finish the remaining beyond the form and we worked the delivered concrete with a slope to finish the basement floor before it set as unfinished floor.

08/08/2016. No one contacted me. I called them and ***** answered and he gave me ***** Freels's Number. I went ahead and called ***** and after we talked I encourage him to come and see the basement and judge it for himself.

08/09/2016 ***** stopped by and measured the area that I was supplied with their concrete and he himself claimed that based on that dimension 4.5 yrd. would have covered. I shared the receipt from ********** to make sure that the beyond the form was not what he delivered. I ask him to refund only $200 (less than 2 yds.) we would be good to go. He said he will go to the office and let me know once he checked with his owner. At the end of the day called me and claiming that my depth was 6". Basically he denied to make it right and he said he did not believe the folks who were there at the time of service. But yet he expected me to trust his delivery and not my own eyes and ears.
That is when I decided to contact BBB and stopped payment on the 2yds. Someone is pocketing or tricking the consumers like me.
I would like for BBB to look into this and I am willing to do anything required to prove this case.

Desired Settlement
The accept the disputed amount of $240 on my credit card.

Business Response
Mr. ************,
In reviewing your claim and talking with our dispatcher, salesman, and reviewing our batch weights for the 6 yards that we sent out to you, we sent exactly what you ordered to your job. Our batching process is completely automated, and if the called for materials didn't weigh up appropriately then we would have known immediately. If your grade was deeper then you thought, then it affects how much material is needed. Our salesman spoke with the pump operator and our driver. Both said that your grade was at least 6 inches deep. Therefore, it takes more concrete. On another note, the plant your concrete came from that day serviced dozens of other jobs that same day, and we had no other complaints. We strive every day to make our customers happy and we stand behind our product 100%. We take offense to someone saying that we would "trick" or "pocket" from our customers. We have built our business with integrity and honesty and will continue to do so. If you are not going to pay for the concrete that you received, then we will take the necessary steps to insure that we don't get taken advantage of.

Best Regards,
**** ************


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response from Mr. ************ was not satisfactory. I understand he relies on his automated process, but we know computers can have glitches, therefore I would not blindly trust a bunch of figures on a computer printout. I only believe in my own eyes and the witnesses that were present at that time. In fact, I also take offense when someone is insinuating I was a liar while they try to change the pump operator's word while I was present in their conversations. Since I consider myself a man of moral and integrity, I will like to offer the following suggestion to be gentle and courteous to either side who may be at wrong. This will give the benefit out of the doubt that an honest mistake or error in the process has occurred and necessary action needs to take place to rectify this issue for both sides:

I am willing to conduct a couple of drilled holes about 2 inches in diameter randomly in my poured area. If the grade was 6" or deeper then I would send an apology message to SRM and I will withdraw my complaint from BBB. However if the grade was 4" or less then I will request for the BBB representative to observe the result in person and have them follow their proper procedure including my cost and time for drilling, repairing the drilled holes, as well as the credit for the 2 yds. concrete mix, and finally some justification from SRM why and how they had sent 6 yards and I had only received 4 yards. This would insure their integrity for their future and happy customers as well as truly and literally stand behind their product 100%.

I am positive that this would be the most civilized manner to resolve the dispute versus ruffling feathers and threatening each other. I am willing to have blemishes on my basement floor for the truth to prevail. Or if BBB has a better suggestion, I am open to hearing that.

Regards,

****** ************
The Consumer

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
That makes sense and I will withdraw my complaint. I appreciate the explaination from the business and I also thank the BBB representative for their assistance.

Final Business Response
I would be more than willing to come out and look at your pour. When you figure your square footage with 6 yards you would have come up short by at least 1/2 yard. When you pour on gravel there is always a loss of concrete and no grade is a perfect 4". If you log onto Smyrnareadymix.com and go to the concrete calculators, plug in your dimensions, it will tell you that if you were pouring on top of a perfectly smooth surface, then 5.91 yards would get it but the calculator recommends 6.5 yards. As a rule of thumb, most finishers, myself included, takes the total square footage and then divides by 75 if the grade is supposed to be 4''. This allows for the uneven surface that you are pouring on.
6 yards would not have completed your project you should have come up 1/2 to 1 yard short. That is before you include a pump. When you pump concrete you have to prime the pump and you lose concrete their also. I don't know what kind of pump was used but depending on the pump you could have lost anywhere between 1/2 to 1 yard. Any pump company will tell you the same thing as far as loss of concrete. Drilling holes won't represent the entire grade.
I have attached our batch weights showing that we shipped 6 yard of concrete, and a screen shot of the concrete calculator.
Feel free to give me a call at the office to discuss further if you would like. The number is XXX-XXX-XXXX
Regards,
**** ************

04/20/2015Problems with Product / Service

Additional Information

top

Smyrna Ready Mix is headquartered in Middle Tennessee. BBB serving Middle Tennessee and Southern Kentucky handles all complaints for this company's 38 locations across Tennessee, Kentucky, Florida and Indiana. The complaint activity for all locations is reflected in this BBB Business Review.

BBB file opened: 08/28/2002Business started: 04/01/2001
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Business Management
Customer Contact: Mr. Jeff Hollingshead (CEO)Mr. Mike Zagula (COO)
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Hollingshead (President)Mr Gordon Bone (President)Mr. Steve Herron (President)Mrs. Melissa Hollingshead (Co-Owner/Secretary)Mr Gypsy Schwendimanl Ms. Martha Vaughan (President)Mr Terry Weatherly (Operations Manager)
Business Category

Concrete - Ready Mixed, Concrete Curing & Treating Materials, Concrete Aggregates, Concrete Additives, Concrete Reinforcements, Concrete Products, Concrete Blocks & Shapes, Concrete Block & Product Molding Machine, Concrete Pumping Service, Concrete Contractors, Buildings - Concrete

Products & Services

Concrete
Decorative Concrete
Performance Concrete
Stone sand materials
Crushed lime stone
River rock
Natural sands
Aggregate products
Concrete reinforcement
Concrete accessories
Concrete curling, sealing & repair
Concrete precast products
Masonry product
Steel Fabrication
Waterproofing products
Form lumber
Sand blasting equipment
Concrete & masonry tools
Concrete retarders
Landscape products
Metal driveway culverts
Insulated concrete forms
Decorative concrete supplies
Concrete pumps
Concrete pumping

This company offers ready mixed concrete products.

According to information supplied by the company, it offers ready mix concrete supplies.

According to information supplied by the company, it offers the manufacture and delivery of ready mix concrete and related masonry products.

Alternate Business Names
SRM Concrete

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Smyrna Ready Mix Concrete, LLC has received 4.0 out of 5 stars based on 2 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Smyrna Ready Mix Concrete, LLC

4472 Hickory Grove Road

Murfreesboro, TN 37129

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Smyrna Ready Mix Concrete, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (615) 223-9500
  • (615) 898-1900
  • (615) 255-1900
  • (931) 670-8339
  • (615) 746-0098
  • (615) 206-9942
  • (615) 206-9941
  • (615) 444-5080
  • (615) 220-1900

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (615) 242-3064
  • (615) 445-7253
  • (931) 796-7406
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Concrete - Ready Mixed

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.