BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/10/2005

A+ Driveways & Patios

Phone: (615) 895-9993Fax: (615) 217-72602432 Armstrong Valley Road, MurfreesboroTN 37128 Send email to A+ Driveways & Patios

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/10/2005

BBB has determined that A+ Driveways & Patios meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised A+ Driveways & Patios' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on A+ Driveways & Patios

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
04/17/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My $5,000.00 concrete driveway was improperly laid. 14 ft across, anything over 12 ft is to have a center support/break line. Drive falling apart.
My driveway was the first driveway that Brian did on his own,working out from under his father in law. He told me it should never have large cracks in it, ever, if it did, to let him know and they would correct it. 5 years later, the entire driveway and back concrete area has broken down the center and is crumbling apart. I had an engineer to look at it and I was told that whomever did this, didn't know what he was doing. Anything over 12 feet is to have a center support/break line in it. I paid $5,000 for a driveway that was done incorrectly. I have had 3 different concrete contractors to my house that can fix the driveway, but they all told me that the person that did the driveway, no matter how long ago it was, should correct it for free since it was faulty work. Here are the dates/times I have tried speaking with Brian:
Wed 8/1/2012
Called Brian with A+ driveways
3:33 pm..said to call monday and he would be out next week

Mon 8/6/2012
Called Brian with A+ driveways
(615) 649-5608 ----11:16 am

Tue 8/7/2012
Called Brian with A+ driveways
said he would be out today or this week...7:20 pm

Sat 8/11/2012
Called Brian with A+ driveways
said he was busy, would get by this week...11:20 am

Thu 8/23/2012
Called Brian with A+ driveways
6:32 pm left voicemail

Desired Settlement
I want the repair done on my entire driveway-center support added-for free.

Business' Initial Response
Our company offers a 1 year warranty on all flat work. However, the driveway in question was installed correctly 5 years ago. We pour 30+ driveways each month and do not have this problem. Any cracking could have been caused by many variables: Excessive rain, blasting, exceeding the weight limit on the concrete, or a lack of integrity of the ground beneath the concrete, etc. We regret that Mrs. ****** is having this issue, but due to the length time since the install, we feel it is outside of our obligation to correct it.

Consumer's Final Response
Brian told me he would come look at the driveway, and if it was laid improperly, he would correct the problem. He has yet to look at it. I have had an ENGINEER to look at it. It was LAID IMPROPERLY. Doesn't matter if it was 5 years ago if it was FAULTY WORK it should be fixed. Brian even told me that on the phone when I talked with him. The phone calls are documented on the initial complaint. No one talked to me or came to see the driveway before closing the case. I would like it reopened and have Brian to come look at his faulty work.

Business' Final Response
In regards to Mrs. Manier's driveway.
As I stated before, we only give a 1 year warranty, which is due to the fact that there are unforeseen circumstances that may occur. For instance: Ground settlement, overweight vehicles, or improper use (as was the case on day that I drove by). At Mrs. Manier's request, I drove by on Friday, April 12, 2013 to view the driveway and took pictures. I found that there was a vehicle parked half on and half off the driveway. It's my assumption that this is the way this driveway is used on a regular basis over the last 5+ years. Regardless, the crack that she is referring to is minor and should be expected as the driveway ages over the years. Mrs. Manier has been satisfied with the driveway over the past 5+ years and I believe that her complaint now is only instigated by our competitor. Regardless of her feelings, the driveway is structurally sound and warrants no repair. I would gladly put my name on this driveway, as one that I did 5+ years ago.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/26/2005Business started: 02/01/2005
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian Clontz (Owner)
Business Category

Concrete Contractors

Products & Services

According to information supplied by the company, it offers concrete services including driveways, sidewalks, patios and curbing.

Alternate Business Names
A Plus Driveways & Patios

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for A+ Driveways & Patios

2432 Armstrong Valley Road

Murfreesboro, TN 37128

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2432 Armstrong Valley Road 

    Murfreesboro, TN 37128Fax: (615) 217-7260

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*A+ Driveways & Patios is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Concrete Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.