BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/31/2012

Kroll Cyber Security & Information Assurance

(615) 320-9800View Additional Phone Numbers100 Centerview Dr Ste 300, NashvilleTN 37214-3455 Send email to Kroll Cyber Security & Information Assurance

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/31/2012

BBB has determined that Kroll Cyber Security & Information Assurance meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Kroll Cyber Security & Information Assurance include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Kroll Cyber Security & Information Assurance

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
01/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Kroll Cyber Security allowed my personal identity monitoring application to be lost or stolen from their Minnesota outsourced data entry mail center.
I requested a paper application to submit my personal identity information to begin credit monitoring on November 5, 2014. I returned the completed form via USPS delivery confirmation on November 13, 2014. The USPS confirmed the application delivery as November 15, 2014 to the correct Minnesota P O Box required by the application.
I made several attempts to find out why a confirmed delivery of USPS mail had not been processed. I was told that I had been transferred to and spoke with a Minnesota Office representative when in fact I had been transferred to other employees within the Nashville TN office. Worst of all, I finally learned that the Minnesota office was an outsourced data entry contractor office where no Kroll employees are ever working.
Someone within the outsourced data entry contractor office is responsible for the disappearance of my personal identity information and Kroll offered no help except to send another application form complete.

Desired Settlement
I expect to know who was responsible for the disappearance of my personal identity application with Kroll Cyber Security and what legal action is being taken against the individual(s).
Also, I would like to know what action is being taken against the individuals that misrepresented the Minnesota Outsourced Data Entry office as being a Kroll Cyber Security Customer Service Center.

Business Response
Dear Ms. ********

We have received your correspondence in regard to **. ******** *******, Case ID XXXXXXXX, and have completed our investigation into this matter.

Our investigation revealed **. *******'s enrollment form for credit monitoring services was received on November 17, 2014, via the U.S. Postal Service, and placed into enrollment processing. However, **. *******'s enrollment was not completed due to a system technical error that inadvertently suspended the processing of the enrollment request. Upon review and discovery, the system error was corrected, and **. *******'s enrollment request was fully processed. As a result of our investigation, we can confirm that **. *******'s paper enrollment form, and the information it contained was neither lost nor misplaced. We take the protection and proper use of consumer information very seriously, and can confirm the enrollment form submitted by **. ******* remains secure and confidential.

We have been in contact with **. ******* on multiple occasions as we investigated this matter. On December 19, 2014, we contacted **. ******* by phone to tell her the situation had been resolved, and left a voice message. On December 22, 2014, we spoke with **. ******* in person, and we will also mail a letter to **. ******* to confirm the resolution in writing and to apologize for the processing delay, as well as for any inconvenience or anxiety this may have caused.

Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions or concerns.

Sincerely,
**** ******

**** ******
Manager, Consumer Investigations
Kroll
*** ********** ****** ***** ***
********** ** XXXXX
************ Tel
********@*********

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I am satisfied at this point to close this complaint since I have heard that my application was verified as being held in outsourced office of Kroll Cyber Security during the time it was missing. I have per my request received a Kroll letter cancelling my service with them as well as my original application form.
I have not to date received an explanation about the misrepresentation of the Nashville workers being in the Minnesota office. It should also be noted that my application was not verified as being found until I received a call from Kroll in after my BBB complaint requesting my USPS tracking number for delivery confirmation of my original application form.

02/08/2016Advertising / Sales Issues
02/08/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
********* a health care company I was a member of in the past was hacked and confidential information dating back to 1999 was stolen.
******** hired Kroll cyber security and information assurance company to monitor my bank accounts,e-mail addresses,medical ID numbers,drivers license, credit/debit card, phone numbers,social security number and passport numbers. Two days ago, I applied for a credit card and was accepted. When I checked the Kroll web site, they made no mention of the application and me receiving the credit card.So I contacted them and was told that they only deal with one credit reporting ****************** and if the application for the credit card wasn't sent to them that they were under no obligation to ask me if I was in fact the person that applied for the credit card.These people are suppose to be looking out for my financial well being and they're telling me they only monitor black chat websites whatever they are! Excellus health care hired these people in my name to look out for me for a period of 2 years to make sure I'm not ripped off and after explaining this to the customer service rep I was connected to I was told that she had just about enough of the conversation we were having and if I didn't like the way they were looking out for me hire another credit monitoring agency like ******** and hung up on me. Someone could take out a credit card in my name, and spend thousands of dollars right under Kroll's nose and I would never be aware of it using my social security number. And they call themselves a financial protection agency. I also plan on contacting ********* a nonprofit independent licensee of the **** ***** **** ****** health care association and let them know just exactly what their paying for.

Desired Settlement
I personally will talk to the ******** people and let them know what a fly by night outfit they hired!!!

Business Response
On 1/21/2016 Mr. * contacted Kroll to find out why he had not received a monitoring alert for a new credit card that he had opened two days before. The Kroll representative explained how the credit report monitoring service Kroll provides to Mr. * monitors his ************* credit files and how the service reports the activity to Mr. * once it is reported to *********** It seems that his expectation was that he would be notified immediately upon the submission of the credit application to the creditor. Also, based on this part of his complaint, "and if the application for the credit card wasn't sent to them that they were under no obligation to ask me if I was in fact the person that applied for the credit card," that he may have confused Kroll's services with what occurs when a fraud alert is in place. A fraud alert would have caused the creditor with whom he applied to take extra reasonable steps to verify his identity and that he applied for the credit. Credit monitoring and a fraud alert are completely different things.

The credit monitoring alert caused by his application for a credit card was sent to Mr * on 1/29/2016. Our service performed as it should have by notifying him when the activity was reported to TransUnion.

If Mr. * would like to have fraud alerts put in place with the three national credit reporting agencies so that he would be called if a creditor received an application for credit in his name, we would be happy to assist him with that.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I also carry ******** as a backup cyber security service and they informed me the " next" day about the credit card in question. Why, because they deal with all 3 credit monitoring agencies at the same time which is what a good cyber security firm is suppose to do. If someone else had gotten hold of my intimate information, they could have gone on one **** of a shopping spree before Kroll got around to informing me that my private information may have been used to obtain a credit card by someone other than me. This firm (Kroll) as far as cyber security is concerned moves at the speed of wood!!! Thank God I have ******** as a backup as it took Kroll quite a few days, 7 to be exact to respond to the credit card situation after I was initially informed by ******** that there may potentially be a problem. The only reason I didn't file a complaint with the State Attorney General's office in *** **** ***** is that this mickey mouse service(Kroll) was provided by ******** ********** free of charge after they were cyber attacked dating back to 1999. As this service was afforded to me at no cost, I didn't feel the need to talk to the authorities as it didn't cost me any money out of my pocket. As far as Kroll's response time to a situation such as this, I feel sorry for the people that depend exclusively on them for their cyber security needs because their service is the worse and could cost someone big time. And Kroll's claim that there's a difference between fraud alert and credit monitoring being different things are ludicrous. Credit monitoring alerts an individual to the fact that fraud alert in their name may be happening. When I hear a line of thinking like that it reminds me of spending an evening with a life insurance salesman whom is trying to get more money out of my pocket. Is that what Kroll meant when they said in their response to my complaint that if I would like to have fraud alerts put in place with the 3 national credit reporting agencies so that I would be called if a creditor received an application for credit in my name, they would be happy to assist me with that(FOR HOW MUCH MONEY), that's a bunch of garbage. They should already be doing business with all three credit reporting agencies to be doing their job properly and provide comprehensive coverage for their clients and not just deal with only 1 credit reporting agency. *************

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/31/2012Business started: 09/08/1995
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 2012, DE

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian Lapidus (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Harris Gilbert (Senior Director of Marketing, Identity Theft)Ms. Angela Applegeet (Senior Director of Operations)Ms. Francesca Wolf (Legal Counsel & Compliance Officer)
Business Category

Computers - Network Security, Identity Theft Protection & Prevention Services, Computer Consultant, Computers - Forensics

Products & Services

This company offers cyber security, computer forensics, and incident and data breach response services.

Alternate Business Names
Kroll Cyber Security, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Kroll Cyber Security & Information Assurance has received 4.0 out of 5 stars based on 2 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Kroll Cyber Security & Information Assurance

100 Centerview Dr Ste 300

Nashville, TN 37214-3455

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 100 Centerview Dr Ste 300 

    Nashville, TN 37214-3455(615) 320-9800
    (866) 419-2052
    (866) 825-4605
    (855) 205-6951

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Kroll Cyber Security & Information Assurance is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 419-2052
  • (866) 825-4605
  • (855) 205-6951
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Computers - Network Security

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.