BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/08/2013

Sugar Creek Carriages

(615) 983-2303208 Broadway, NashvilleTN 37201-2108 Send email to Sugar Creek Carriages

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers horse drawn carriages, special services for weddings, special occasions and sight seeing tours.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/08/2013

BBB has determined that Sugar Creek Carriages meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Sugar Creek Carriages' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

8 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Sugar Creek Carriages

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 7
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 8 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
06/05/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sugar Creek Carriages failed to honor my *******.
When I tried to make a reservation for Saturday the 16th of May I was told by the lady who answered the phone that the *******s were not good on Saturdays. So I made a reservation for Sunday the 31st which was the day that the ******* expired. When I got the there I was told that they didn't make ******* reservations on Sunday, only on Friday and Saturday night. I explained what I had been told over the phone and even though there was a carriage there with nothing to do they still would not honor the fact that I had already paid for the carriage ride. Both of the men that I talked to were rude and uncooperative.

Desired Settlement
I wish to get my money back. I'm also in contact with ******* and I will be contacting my credit card company to dispute the bill.,

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Johnny S****
Contact Phone: owner
Our ******** for Sugar creek carriages are sold under these conditions: they do not expire, we require a 24 hour advance notice for reservation, they are only valid on Fridays & Saturday. The customer that made this complaint is lying, my wife takes every reservation. He was not told that we do not honor ******* on Saturdays and he was not told that we do honor ******* on Sundays. Our last sale did have a deal expiration date of may 30th 2015 and this customer did show up on Sunday May 31st 2015 demanding a tour to my ranch manager which he was explained that we require 24 hour advanced notice for reservations and he's deal had expired but we could reserve him next Friday but he would have to pay full retail on his ticket he was belligerent towards my manager. We have been with the bbb on and off for around 10 years we have never had a complaint. We also have been with ******* for 3 years and have not ever had tickets redeemable on Sundays and always required 24 hour advanced notice. I will accept this customers voucher at full retail on Fridays and Saturdays with a 24 hour notice. Our office hours are Monday thru Saturday 9am till 6 pm, all this information is also reflected on our Web site sugarcreekcarriages.com and also on our deals that ******* sales under carriage rides Nashville tn and since this customer (**** *******) lives in Goodlettsville tn should be willing to except the deal requirements and call to our office and reschedule he's tour my ph#*** *** **** sincerely Johnny & brenda s**** thank you

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have no intention of ever using this company's services. I will pursue other avenues to get my money back. I would have never scheduled a ride for that Sunday if I hadn't been told that. I had to reschedule activities that I already had planned for that day. If I had been told that Saturday was an option I would have made a reservation for the day before. This explanation is not acceptable to me and I don't wish for this complain to be closed.

Final Business Response
You (**** *******) did not schedule a ride on Sunday may 31st 2015 and we did try to provide service for you according to your purchase agreement with our ******* tickets as Sugar creek carriages or ******* have done you no wrong we at sugar creek carriages hold customer safety and customer satisfaction as our number one goal sincerely ****** & ****** ***** DBA Sugar creek carriages

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/16/2009Business started: 01/01/2000
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Business Management
Principal: Mrs. Brenda Smith (Owner)Customer Contact: Mr. Johnny Smith (Owner)
Business Category

Carriages - Horse, Wedding Supplies & Services, Sightseeing Tours


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Sugar Creek Carriages has received 4.84 out of 5 stars based on 8 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Sugar Creek Carriages

208 Broadway

Nashville, TN 37201-2108

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 208 Broadway 

    Nashville, TN 37201-2108(615) 983-2303

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Sugar Creek Carriages is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Carriages - Horse

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.