BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Grayline of Tennessee

Find a Location

(615) 883-5557View Additional Phone Numbers2416 Music Valley Dr Ste 102, NashvilleTN 37214-1012http://www.graylinetn.comView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

The company offers bus charters, shuttle services, and sightseeing tours.

BBB Accreditation

Grayline of Tennessee is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Grayline of Tennessee's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Grayline of Tennessee

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
05/27/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 5/18/16, I and 4 people in my party gave our credit cards over the phone for the Nashville nights and lights tour with Gray Line for $49 each scheduled for 5/19/16 when the charge posted to my account. The company neglected to pick us up for the tour on 5/19 after waiting for an hour-no call, no confirmation, and told us at 6:15pm someone would be to us in 2 minutes and 15 minutes later said their system was down all day and made a mistake, that we were in the system but it wasn't caught? I requested an immediate refund which she said she put through and I verified all five of our names with her. Still waiting for contact after 2 emails and still no refund that she claims to have authorized on 5/19.
Product_Or_Service: Tour of Nashville

Desired Settlement
Refund my money, $49, and that of my co travelers for failing to provide the services I paid for.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** - GM Retail
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@graylinetn.com
This customer has been refunded on 5/19/16. Our Manager tried to call her twice on Monday and Tuesday. The error on our part was regarding a tour on 5/19. We have a computer failure for 6 hours and some how we missed picking them up for their scheduled departure. We told them we would refund and we did on 5/19. We tried returning Ms. *****'s call twice and left her two messages but she never returned our calls. We certainly apologize but this was taken care of on 5/19/16. I'm afraid we are unable to control when the credit card company posts the credit.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The credit has posted to my account 5/22/16 and was sent 5/20/16 but they had left a message 5/23 stating that they couldn't find the name on the account information for the refund but they figured it out at least for my refund. I do not know about the other 4 people in my party.

05/20/2016 05/22/2016 Return GRAY LINE OF TENNESSEE MC -$49.00

02/15/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We were completely unsatisfied. The office promised to have a manager call back to resolve the complaint. We have had no call and no results.
Being big fans of the TV show Nashville, my wife and I were excited to book a tour of the filming locations on August 22nd. The bus was late picking us up and we were the last on. Not only were we unable to sit together, my wife was packed in the middle seat at the back with no view of anything, while I was forced to sit beside a larger woman which allowed me only 1/4 of the seat. I was uncomfortable but could at least see out the window, but my wife at the back was only able to see out a window by half standing and leaning over 2 strangers on either side. When we voiced our complaint to the driver he was sympathetic and said that he had complained himself about the company booking the middle seat at the back as he had had others complain, but couldn't do anything about it. We called the office immediately after the tour to voice our complaint and asked that at least 1/2 of the ticket price be refunded. The woman said that there was no manager available but promised to have one call us the next day. As of today we have heard nothing.

Desired Settlement
We feel that refunding at least half of the ticket price would be fair.

Business Response
Please know we are refunding the party of ***** for their Gray Line Tour. I spoke with ***** ***** this afternoon and certainly understand their complaint. The complaint file from the BBB was going into a spam file here but I have it now and have responded. Please call me if needed - ***** ***** XXX-XXX-XXXX
2/2/2016,

09/30/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We paid for a round trip and they did not show up when I got home I called & followed with an email I was told I would get a full refund
They tool our money in advance and did not show up to take us back to the airport.

Desired Settlement
$50.00

Business Response
Dear Ms. **********,
We pride ourselves on top notch customer service and experience. I am sorry to hear your report.
As I mentioned to you during our phone conversation, you should see a credit to your account in the amount of the tickets that you purchased.
We do hope to show you a much better experience upon your return to Nashville.
Kind regards,
**** *********

09/16/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Advertise comfort, ride and relax on bus to casino, but delivered a nighmare ride to the casino instead.
on Sat July 7 , I rode to the depot to go to the casino as I normally do on the weekend. On this day because of appx 70 people had tickets to go (which was not unsual because they on several occasions take 2 buses) They only loaded 40 people on the 1st bus and sent them on. After that bus left it was annouced that the 2nd bus going was an intown type shuttle. Because I made the mistake on going on that shuttle bus before , I immediately said I could not possibly go because my last trip on that small bus a (few years ago) still left me with terrible anxiety. Unfortunely I personally was stuck because I was not in my car and the driver wanted to go other wise I would have just left and went home.

The problem with that small shuttle bus is:

Its not designed to go 2 1/2 miles away with 30 people on a 33 passenger tour bus , but best for intown tours. It had no bathroom, the bus was either freezing or very hot. The bus started shaking when it would get over 60 mi and hr. The seats don't reclined making it very uncomfortable. The tv did not work.
It was forecasted and did rain cats and dogs most of the way. Before we left it was reported to the driver that it was water coming in from outside ( the drive tried to tell the managemen people but it feel on deaths ears )The driver said he had only been driving a few weeks and it was at night. That was the most miserable ride I have ever been on and I was almost reduced to terror tears.

But the worst part of my encounter was not the ride but being treated so coldly like cattle by the management people that loaded the bus.

When management was asked why there were 2 or 3 regular size buses parked at the same location and we could not get on one. Also why did they
let 40 people leave in comfort and punish the 30 people left, because 16 of us could have gone on
the 1st bus. They only aswered "IF YOU WANT TO GO, GET ON THE BUS , IF NOT LEAVE!"

If I had my car I would have definely gone home instead of being humiliated and the **** scared out of me.........



Desired Settlement
An apology, assurance that will never happened again, management people reprimaned !!!!

Business' Initial Response
First, we would like to directly apologize to the customer for this inconvenience. There are very limited times during the year when we do have to use a non coach to the Casino. It's a 33 passenger bus with no bathroom. We only use this a handful of times all year. We are unaware of any leaking issues or non working televisions on this vehicles. As far as the treatment of the customer, and being treated like "cattle" comments, this is unacceptable in every way. We investigated this event and took internal steps to ensure that if this did happen the way the customer described that it would not happen again. We move thousands of people every year safely and take all complaints seriously. At customer's request, we would be happy to offer complimentary rides to and from the Casino as requested.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/10/2002Business started: 07/29/1977
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Business Management
Principal: Ms. Kelly Field (Director of Sales and Marketing)Mr. Chuck Abbott (COO)Ms. Anita Holland (Executive Assistant)
Business Category

Buses - Charter & Rental, Shuttle Bus, Sightseeing Tours, Transportation Services

Alternate Business Names
RLCL Acquisition, LLC

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Grayline of Tennessee

2416 Music Valley Dr Ste 102

Nashville, TN 37214-1012

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 186 N 1st St 

    Nashville, TN 37213-1102

  • 2416 Music Valley Dr Ste 102 

    Nashville, TN 37214-1012(615) 883-5557

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Grayline of Tennessee is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (615) 883-5555
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • www.graylinenashville.com
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Buses - Charter & Rental

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.