BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/10/2001

Interactive Security Systems, LLC

(615) 332-0093View Additional Phone Numbers539 Mainstream Dr, NashvilleTN 37228-1208 Send email to Interactive Security Systems, LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/10/2001

BBB has determined that Interactive Security Systems, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Interactive Security Systems, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Interactive Security Systems, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
12/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

My wife called thiis because they charged us twice this months, the lady who picked up the phone started agumenting with my wife . This is WRONG!
We have had issues with the customer service is the pass but what happen today is completely unacceptable, the lady on the phone started an argument with my wife and we have the bank statement which shows that the company charged us twice, then this lady passed the phone to other without telling my wife that she was putting someone else to attend the call, the next person just told her they will send an email, in our bank statement they charged 11/24 and 12/02 , just because my wife called 12/02 just to make sure the payment from 11/24 was correct since we switch banks accounts recently.
Later we decided to cancel the service with them , by the way I didn't mention that we have been customers for over 7 years and this is the service we receive... Unveliebable , we attempted to cancel the service they just said that we have to wait for 30 days ( company police... Even without a contract)
The lack of customer service and problem resolution of this company really don't deserve a A+ from the BBB.

Desired Settlement
Return the money charged extra to my account and cancel my service, I think that after 7 years I don't need to wait 30 days since my cancelation is due to a terrible service.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** **********, Account
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***********@**********************
The customer contacted a supervisor and explained the situation in detail. Upon review of our records, it was found that the customer called to update her banking info and her account was charged at that time in error. A refund has been issued to the customer along with an apology.

Our contract does require a 30 day written notice of cancellation. However, the customer has now been released with simply a written notice.

Additionally, our company will follow up with the involved employees to make sure that any future customer calls are handled professionally and with patience and sensitivity.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
We contacted interactive again from our side trying to get answers, we were waiting for their email since 12/05 and they never sent any .
On a positive note ***** ** Was very helpful first understanding the problem right away and second trying to solve the problem in a way that can help both sides but with a very strong customer oriented interest always apologizing for the incident .
As we are not longer customers we suggest taking very seriously what kind of person you use to address customer issues and how well trained they are.
As any other business you depend of your customers and making them angry and disrespecting people is not a good practice.
Thank you.

01/16/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

No installation fee was verbally promised at initial buying meeting. A fee of $120 for installation that took 15 minutes was charged.
Interactive pre-wired our house that was being built. We met with a sales representative (****** ******** and in order for her to have us buy more things that we were on the fence about she said if we bought everything from Interactive they would not charge installation of products. We returned to Interactive and ****** to buy a receiver after the house was built and to have them install this receiver that was purchased from them. I was directed to a different sales rep (****** sent me to **** ********** and I went through what was already installed and what I was needing. I explained about how we had been promised no installation. He was not willing to honor this. This was his response "I do apologize for the confusion. It is our goal to provide as much information to the 1000+ appointments the showroom works with through the year and be consistent in that delivery. We communicate the same message to try to eliminate any confusion. We encourage you to get additional quotes to have a comparison to what I provided." His way of resolving the issue was to try and up sell us on other materials and products that I did not want ******** "I really can't answer that question since I wasn't present during your meeting with her. I would need to refer that to her. She is currently in a demo but I did briefly speak to her about it. She may have been referring to a post-closing sheet where the products have labor built into them. For example the receiver I quoted is $599 but it is listed as $719 on her sheet, which includes labor for this device. The other $120 comes from installation of the ***** player and its apps on your smart phone." After numerous attempts of explaining why we purchased what we did in the first meeting he still was not willing to honor what was promised. We were quoted the $599 price but she said that it was subject to change because technology often changes. They charged $120 for installation of a receiver that took the technician 15 minutes to install. This was after he was 50 minutes late to the appointment and I was promised no installation fees if I bought everything from them. Going from a promise of no installation to $480 an hour was a rather large jump.

Desired Settlement
Interactive should not promise something that they are not willing or able to do just do get customers to purchase more products from them. I ended up spending over $1,000 more at our first meeting because of this promise. In the second order I ended up ordering less because I felt like I had been lied to and didn't want to support a company that operated that way. Interactive should honor the initial verbal promise of no installation fees if products were purchased from them directly. They should refund the $120 that was charged.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** A. ******, *******
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *******
I have interviewed all employees involved and reviewed our files and documentation associated with this case and have assembled the following response.
It seems the main complaint of the customer is that it was his understanding from one of our sales representatives that there would be no installation fee if he purchased products and service above and beyond the other products and services he selected thru his homebuilder as part of his new home construction.
This initial meeting between the customer and our builder sales representative, ****** ******** was held at our showroom on July, 13, 2013. The customer made their selections of products and services to be installed during the construction of their new home. These products and services are inclusive of the cost of labor, are billed directly to their homebuilder and becomes part of the total cost of their new home. During this meeting, we make the customer aware of other products and services we can perform after the construction phase is complete.
A little over four months later, on November 21, 2013, the customer was provided a quote for additional equipment by our AV sales representative, **** **********
On November 22, 2013, the customer responded and requested that adjustments be made to the quote. They also recounted a conversation with ****** and stated "One thing she had said was that there would be no labor charge because we had bought a lot of items with your company and spent a lot of money with you guys. Can you please confirm this?" **** responded a little later in the day with the revised quote per the customers' request and also noted to the customer that we do charge for labor as disclosed in the written quote.
From November 22, 2013 to December 10, 2013, **** and the customer were engaged in a series of back and forth email to refine the quote to the customers specifications. The customer AGREED TO THE QUOTE AND SIGNED the agreement noting the products purchased AND the installation charge CLEARLY itemized on December 10, 2013. The total amount of the agreement was $ 774.41 and we require an 80% deposit or $ 619.53 to proceed with the order. The order was installed by one of our technicians on December 18, 2013.
Consequently, as of today, January 10, 2014, the customer has yet to pay the remaining 154.88 due on the installation.
With respect to specifically the claim that we offered no cost installation, it is not our policy to make such an offer. Some simple services, like installing and setting up a receiver, are offered at a fixed fee price so that customers can know exactly how much to expect to pay for this service. Other more complex services are quoted on a time and materials basis. In all cases, including this one, the customer is provided a quote in writing before they commit to a purchase. We document their approval of products and services selected during both the construction and post-closing phases.
Also, ****** is one of our long time sales representatives and is fully aware that we do not have a "no installation fee" offer.
Building a home is a very exciting experience but it is also one that at times can be very stressful and confusing because of all the decisions that are required to be made in a very short period of time. Based on the facts as I understand them and our company processes, I can only assume that the customer perhaps confused their conversation regarding a "No installation fee" offer with another vendor with the one they had with ******. While there is a great amount of written documentation regarding this sale, the customer has nothing in writing from Interactive regarding a "No installation fee" offer.
In necessary, all our files and documentation with respect to this case are available for review
We regret any confusion the customer may have had in their experience with Interactive Systems.
We proudly served almost 2,000 customers in 2013 and will continue to provide the high level of service that Interactive is known for.
Thank you.
***** ** ******, ***
Executive Vice President/Chief Financial Officer/Chief Operating Officer
Interactive Systems

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Final Business Response
We have reviewed the customers counter to our response of January 10, 2014 to his initial complaint and have summarized our response and conclusion below:
With respect to their accusation that our sales representative, ******, lied to them regarding an alleged offer of no installation fee, it appears the relief the customer is seeking is an admission by ****** that she lied to them. Absence of any direct audio evidence, this is a difference that is hard to resolve but we offer the following facts:
1. ****** is a seasoned sales representative who holds hundreds appointments a year and thousands over the course of her employment. This is the first time such an accusation has been leveled against her. It is simply outside of her level of experience, professionalism or character.
2. After feeling they have been misled, it is unclear why the customer, after four months (from their July 13, 2013 appointment to their first engagement of sales representative **** on November 22, 2013) proceeded with a purchase of a receiver they were under no obligation to purchase from us. The customer agreed to purchase a receiver by signing the agreement on December 10, 2013 that CLEARLY itemized a $ 120 installation charge. As previously stated, these documents are available for review.
3. While we agree that misleading customers is an unethical practice nor do we engage in such practices, it would be equally unethical for us to admit to something we did not do. If the relief the customer is seeking an admission to something that we believe did not happen, then there is no resolution to this matter. Apart from the other facts we have submitted, it is literally he said-she said.
4. It has been, and still is our opinion, based on the facts outlined above and in our previous response, that this is simply a matter of honest confusion on the part of the customer.
The core objection by the customer seems to be regarding the installation fee which is something we can tangibly address.
The customer currently owes Interactive $ 154.88 remaining on the cost of the receiver and installation charge which he AGREED TO AND SIGNED FOR on December 10, 2013. In an effort to resolve this matter, we have written off this amount so the customer has no further financial obligation to Interactive. The customers' remaining balance has been wiped clean. Customer did contact us to pay this amount but was subsequently informed that his payment is no longer necessary. Please note the amount is in excess of the aforementioned installation charge.
This is the extent to which we can accommodate the customers' complaint and consider this matter closed.

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 10/06/1997Business started: 09/05/1997Business started locally: 05/01/2001New Owner Date: 05/01/2001
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. George Carter (President)Customer Contact: Ms. Vicki Turrentine (Complaint contact)Mr. Dwane Emanuelson (VP of Operations)Mr. Keith Thomas (CFO)
Business Category

Burglar Alarm Systems - Dealers, Monitoring & Service, Audio-Visual Equipment - Dealers, Home Theater, Fire & Smoke Alarm Systems

Products & Services

This company offers the sale and service of residential and commercial security systems.

Alternate Business Names
Interactive Systems, Interactive Security Systems
Industry Tips
Evergreen Contracts

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Interactive Security Systems, LLC has received 3.68 out of 5 stars based on 2 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Interactive Security Systems, LLC

539 Mainstream Dr

Nashville, TN 37228-1208

To | From


1 Locations

  • 539 Mainstream Dr 

    Nashville, TN 37228-1208(615) 332-0093

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Interactive Security Systems, LLC is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (615) 459-4899
  • (800) 476-2822
  • (931) 645-6490
  • (615) 627-3537

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Burglar Alarm Systems - Dealers, Monitoring & Service

Evergreen Contracts

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.