BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/14/2014

Brentwood Express Lube

97A Seaboard Ln, BrentwoodTN 37027-2929 Send email to Brentwood Express Lube

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers auto repairs and related maintenance services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/14/2014

BBB has determined that Brentwood Express Lube meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Brentwood Express Lube

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
08/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I had my oil changed at this shop several weeks ago. A tech failed to attach the undercover or oil pan cover properly. Now, the cover is damaged.
The oil change occurred appx 7 weeks. I have the records on my visa and in my car. This can be obtained and confirmed. The shop should also have a record of my last visit.

As mentioned in previous statement. The tech did not install the oil pan cover properly resulting in damaged cover. I spoke with the owner ****** **** twice. She says she has this on video. I said great. Lets see what really happened. It has been 2 weeks since we last spoke and still no word. It appears this owner is hoping I will go away. I am not one for complaining but the fact of this matter is that the owners employee or tech failed to attach the oil pan or lower engine cover back the correct way. I left the owner my name and number is still no call back.

Desired Settlement
All I am is asking that the owner replace what has been damaged. The part cost ****** according to the dealer.

Business Response
The customer arrived at our shop on May 7 requesting an oil change. When the technician under the car went to remove the oil filter, he noticed that the engine cover was held on by zip ties on the front of the cover because the heads on the bolts had been broken off. The bolts were still intact on the rear of the engine cover. The front of the engine cover was crumpled from what appeared to be hitting curbs multiple times. There was excessive scarring on the engine cover and the original bolt holes had been torn rendering them useless. Someone previously had created new holes in the engine cover in order to attach the cover with the zip ties.

At that time, the technician under the car notified the technician up top about the zip ties and the condition of the engine cover. The technician up top informed the customer that the engine cover was held on with zip ties. The customer asked if it could be reattached. The technician up top told the customer that he would have to use zip ties in the same manner as when the car arrived. Once the oil change was completed, the technician under the car did reattached the engine cover with zip ties per the customer's request.

The customer returned to the shop six weeks later on June 26. He stated that the engine cover was hanging down. The technician under the car looked at the engine cover and found that it had been crumpled and that the zip ties were no longer there. The technician determined that the engine cover could not be reattached and removed it from the car at the customer's request. The technician placed the engine cover in a plastic bag so as to not get the interior of the car dirty and handed it to the customer.

The customer called the owner that same day and asked that the company pay for a new engine cover. The owner informed the customer that she would investigate the situation and see if there was video from the surveillance system. The surveillance system had not been installed on May 7. The owner purchased this business on May 16, after the incident, and installed the video surveillance system after the purchase.

It is unfortunate that this situation has occurred, but the cause of the engine cover damage was likely due to repeatedly hitting curbs while parking the car. The car is very low to the ground and hitting curbs can happen easily. The damage was not due to any action of any employee at the business. On the contrary, the employees informed the customer of the situation and followed his instructions to reattach the engine cover with zip ties on his visit on May 7. The owner would be glad to use her wholesale suppliers to find the lowest cost replacement engine cover at the customer expense.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Apparently we are not talking about the same car. I have owned this car for 11 years and to date have not any curbs. I would love to see the video. I did not notice how you folks reattached the cover until I was standing in my neighbors driveway and noticed something hanging down. This was the cover that was attached by your shop in a poor fashion. The reason the cover was damaged is because your tech failed to tighten the screws properly resulting in this cover being hit by the ground, etc, Not by a curb as you indicate. I would advise in having some business ethics instead of accusing me of hitting curbs which is not the case. If it was the case then I would have damaged wheels etc.. Grow some business ethics. I would like to see the video!!

Final Business Response
As previously stated, we did not own Brentwood Express Lube at the time of the initial incident, but the employees are the same and we have come to understand that they have high integrity with a focus on customer service. We believe them when they stated that they showed the customer the damage to the engine cover on his initial visit. The video surveillance system was installed after we purchased the shop and therefore there is no video to review.

Even though we do not believe our employees damaged the engine cover, in an effort to satisfy the customer and bring this issue to closure, we will honor his request and provide a new engine cover for his car. We will need the VIN number of the car to ensure we purchase the correct part. Once we procure the part, we will inform the BBB so that they may inform the customer that it can be picked up at the shop.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
To my understanding the General Manager did not point out this damage on my initial visit. I would encourage your techs to point out any concerns to your customers. I will except the owners offer for the engine cover replacement. Please advise where the VIN number can be e-mailed to.


Additional Information

BBB file opened: 11/17/2006Business started: 01/01/2002New Owner Date: 05/01/2014
Type of Entity


Incorporated: May 2002, TN

Business Management
Principal: Mr. David Wise (President)
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Wes King (General Manager)Mrs. Cheryl Wise
Business Category

Auto Services - Oil & Lube, Auto Lube & Oil - Mobile, Axles, Starters - Engine, Battery Repairing & Rebuilding, Shock Absorbers, Tire Dealers, Windshield Wipers, Auto Air Conditioning, Auto Accessories, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Repair & Service - Diesel, Auto Repairing - Foreign, Auto - Emissions Testing, Auto Repair - Vintage, Auto Repair - Suspension, Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension, Auto Repair - Shocks, Auto Repair - Tune-Up, Auto - Fleet Maintenance, Brake Service, Radiators - Automotive

Alternate Business Names
BMiller Investment Corp.
Industry Tips
Automobile - Repair

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Brentwood Express Lube

97A Seaboard Ln

Brentwood, TN 37027-2929

To | From


1 Locations

  • 97A Seaboard Ln 

    Brentwood, TN 37027-2929

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Brentwood Express Lube is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Auto Services - Oil & Lube

Automobile - Repair

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.