BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/13/2012

Superior Automotive

(615) 449-6621View Additional Phone Numbers7790A Hwy 109 North, LebanonTN 37087 Send email to Superior Automotive

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers complete auto repair for Honda and Acura vehicles.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/13/2012

BBB has determined that Superior Automotive meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Superior Automotive's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Superior Automotive

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
01/26/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
they said water pump was the problem for not getting heat inside, and that did not fix the problem.

on the 8th of January I took my car because was not getting heat inside, they said water punp was the problem and they replaced it for 290.87 and then I picked up on Saturday and he said cooling system was stop up so I still didn't have heat, so the water pump did not solve my problem like he said, sounds to me like he was guessing at my expense.

Desired Settlement
I would like to get my money back,they can deduct the price of the water pump which I didn't think I need and not charging for labor since that didn't fix my problem.

Business Response
The customer complaint was that there was no heat inside vehicle. Upon inspecting the water pump, we determined that the water was not moving in cooling system due to the original water pump impeller being clogged with what appeared to be Stop-Leak. The water pump had to be replaced to function. This was the estimate initially given the customer. There was no way around that needing to be replaced, as it no longer functioned due to someone previously adding what appeared to be Stop-Leak into the car. The new water pump did fix the impeller problem. However, what we didn't know was that what appeared to be Stop-Leak had been used in the cooling system as well. When We tried to flush the cooling system, the water bypass tube to the throttle body was completely stopped up with what appeared to be Stop-Leak. Until that time, we had no way to know that the Stop-Leak was throughout the whole cooling system clogging it up. Until we took it apart we didn't know that was the root of the problem. We removed heater control valve & replaced at our expense to try to fix problem since original was clogged with what appeared to be Stop-Leak. Vehicle still didn't have heat. At this point, had to further research problem as this is not a natural occurring problem to have so we have try to figure out what has happened that isn't a normal occurrence. Removed heater core return hose and the return pipe to thermostat housing is completely clogged and needs to be replaced. Gave customer estimate of $351.77 to replace heater hose return pipe to thermostat housing. Parts include clamp, coolant, rear thermostat housing, pipe, and O-ring. Explained in depth to customer & took him into shop & showed him the old parts & explained that due to what appeared to be Stop-Leak being added into cooling system by someone prior to us working on the car that everything stopped up would have to be replaced. Explained how cooling system works and to function properly must be repaired as discussed and per estimate. If there had not been what appears to be Stop-Leak in the cooling system, there would not have been a cooling system problem. We had no way of knowing that what appears to be Stop-Leak had been added throughout cooling system, as Stop-Leak is not a naturally occurring problem so until we found it we had no way to know that would be the root of the cooling system failure. We cannot return his money, as we fixed the water pump problem since the impeller wasn't working. We provided 5 hours free labor to fully diagnose the problem, and have not made anything off that. Had we known on the front end when the customer brought the car in the first time that what appears to be Stop-Leak had been added to the whole cooling system, we would have known to look for it throughout the whole cooling system to determine all the parts that were clogged. However, we had no way to know that and had no reason to guess that someone had added Stop-Leak to the cooling system. Please call me if you have any questions, and I appreciate the ability to respond. Thank you, ** *****

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/21/2004Business started: 01/01/1996
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bo Sneed (Owner)
Business Category

Auto Repairing - Foreign, Auto Services - Oil & Lube, Auto Services, Auto Repair & Service

Industry Tips
Automobile - Repair

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Superior Automotive has received 5.00 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Superior Automotive

7790A Hwy 109 North

Lebanon, TN 37087

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 7790A Hwy 109 North 

    Lebanon, TN 37087(615) 449-6621

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Superior Automotive is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (615) 758-2719
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Repairing - Foreign

Automobile - Repair
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.