BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 07/29/2011

Eurofix of Murfreesboro

Phone: (615) 900-3460

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Problems with Product / Service7
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints10

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (10)
11/02/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Manager **** lied to me to scare into getting services completed at his shop.
Better Business Bureau
530 Uptown Square, Murfreesboro, TN
Edit your review
Sort by:

I have had the WORST experience with EUROFIX in Murfreesboro, TN - on the corner of Thompson Lane. Just a warning - these people and liars and are out for one thing - MONEY !
I took my BMW to have them check it out on Monday 10/19/15 because my car had a light come on that read TRANSMISSION MALFUNCTION. I took it to **** the Manager and he called me back the next day and said they first needed to put a Crank Shaft Sensor on the car - the sensor and labor was 832.00. I spoke with my husband and he said we will check around for comparable prices on the sensor. I told **** that I was coming to pick up my car - he told me there would be a charge to put the car "back together and he would start the clock on his mechanic started" Yes, I am a woman and thought they had to " take my car apart to figure out what was wrong with the car" Needless to say as I called around I found out that there was no putting my car back together - they just ran a diagnostic test on my car. It was sitting outside the garage when I pulled in the parking lot. I was charged for the diagnostic test and the rental of the car. I was ready for the receptionist to try and charge me twice - one for taking my car apart and one time for putting it back together. I can not believe that he was going to charge me twice - Where are all the honest people in the world these days ?? I went to a competitor and the sensor was 95.XX - XXX.00 for labor. **** also quoted me at 392.00 for spark plus replacement - the spark plugs cost 12.00 a piece ! Go figure !! WAY OVER PRICED AND NOT TRUST WORTHY !!!!!

Desired Settlement
I think a dishonest Manager only has trouble written all over it. He needs to be fired. I feel he is very dishonest and would lie to me as well as the next customer - word spreads fast. Get a Manager in that location before he runs more people away.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****, CS Admin
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@eurofixonline.com
We are very disappointed our customer felt we were trying to take advantage of her in any way and apologize for any frustration we may have unknowingly caused. The accusations by our customer was very concerning, so in response we have completed a thorough investigation into this matter including speaking with staff, inspecting the paper work the customer signed, and listening to recorded calls between the customer and the store. We respect and take seriously the customers concerns, but we feel these serious accusations of mistreatment were not warranted and seem to have arisen from some serious misunderstandings which we would like to clarify and apologize for. We hope this explanation helps our customer understand that despite the misunderstandings, we never tried to take advantage of her. After reviewing this explanation, if our customer still isn't satisfied, we would be happy issue a refund for any charges they still feel are invalid.
To address the first concern about the Diagnostic Charge itself, we show the customer signed an approval at drop off for up to 150.00 dollars in diagnostics & testing time (this document has been submitted to the BBB). However the actual invoice (also submitted to the BBB) shows we only charged the customer for 60 dollars' worth of testing time because it took less time than expected. The signed invoice explains the detail of what the 60 dollars was used for This testing time included various tests using a technique called "Guided Fault Finding" which in this case included: live data analytics and testing using diagnostic tools, looking up known issues in technical publications, and a test drive which was all used to determine what was causing the Transmission Warning Message and other trouble codes stored in the customer's car. If other shops state this type of testing would not cost anything or was unnecessary, then they are most likely referring to simply pulling the codes, which takes almost no time, and we do not charge for either. A simple code check however, could not have provided enough information to confirm the root cause of the fault in this case.
Regarding concerns about the disassembly of the vehicle for testing, we have concluded there was a misunderstanding from the manager regarding if the testing time included disassembly. The technician confirmed that though this testing took time because of the tests he had to run, none of those tests required actual disassembly. We sincerely apologize for the miscommunication, and hope it's understood that it was not intentional. We show however the invoice had the correct explanation of what the diagnostic covered. Again, we apologize for the confusion here, but there was no mischarges which arose from the misunderstanding as there were no charges billed to the customer for assembly or disassembly and this is confirmed on the invoice itself.
Regarding the rental charges, the rentals are provided free with approved repairs or 35 dollars a day if repairs are declined, which is stated in the rental contract which the customer signed (submitted to the BBB). During a recorded phone call on 10/20/15 at 3:20pm between the customer and **** the manager, she stated she couldn't get a hold of her husband to see if they wanted to proceed with the repair or not, and that she wanted to pick up the vehicle and then later decide what to do. **** did suggest she wait until she gets a hold of him, so that if there was a chance they would approve the repair, they wouldn't be charged for the rental by default. It was not stated that if they did still decline the charges, that the rental would be free.
Finally, to address the concern about the cost, our repairs may not be the cheapest in town, but we absolutely provide the best value: All of our repairs are completed by experts, using high quality parts, backed by a 3 year, 36,000 mile nationwide warranty and include amenities like free Loaner cars (with approved repairs). It's always possible to find a cheaper repair, but often these cheaper repairs end up being a very poor value as they often use very cheap parts and usually include only a 12/12,000 warranty and can end up costing much more in the long run. Finally, regarding the cost of the spark plugs, again to prevent misunderstandings, we always quote repairs and services by their total cost which includes parts, install, and taxes. The difference between the cost of the spark plugs themselves and the grand total of the replacement quote was the install cost and taxes. We attempt to keep things simple in our billing to ensure a customer doesn't have a surprise bill when they pick-up there car.
Again, we are so sorry for any frustration we have caused our customer and we welcome any further feedback on how we could have done better or other questions regarding this matter. We hope to earn the customers trust back and continue a relationship being their shop.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


05/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have had my car back for just over a day and it is in worse condition than before due to faulty repair.
I brought my 2001 Audi A6 Quattro 2.8L in for repair on Tuesday (X-XX-XX). It had a massive active oil leak and the CEL was on, both of which were my primary concerns. They charged me an exorbitant amount of money ($2,148.26), but assured me all would be in working order for me to commute to work without worry. I got it back Friday evening (X-XX-XX). On Saturday (X-XX-XX) at around 8 p.m. the RPMs began jumping all over the place and the engine was vibrating violently. A friend of mine and I took a look immediately following the incident only to find that it was a vacuum leak. Both the short term and long term fuel trims were running 25%. The vacuum and ventilation hoses were in bad condition prior to the repair due to the oil leak. Therefore, Eurofix assured me that they, and I quote from the documentation I received, "removed and replaced all braided vacuum hoses and ventilation hoses". After popping the hood and taking a look, I could see off the top of the engine several hoses and vacuum lines that were in very noticeably poor condition-some of the hoses were the very same that had been repaired by a friend of mine before I visited Eurofix. I was blown away that I was blatantly lied to, both to my face and in fine print. Furthermore, when reflecting on the amount of money I'd spent, I read in my documents that $674.24 of my bill went to a quantity of 4 bulk hoses. This didn't seem at all plausible, but the part numbers were not listed so I was unable to check for myself if this price is correct, and the hoses weren't even replaced! To top it off, they sealed the massive oil leaks (there were 2) but did not bother to seal the smaller leaks found. Considering the oil leak was the cause of the CEL and my primary concern, you would think they would fix the ENTIRETY of the problem. It just so happens that in the description of the vacuum hose repair, it was stated by the mechanic: "Should the smaller oil leaks become more problematic and ruin the newly installed hoses & tubes they can not be considered warrantiable". The irony of this is that the hoses and tubes are NOT new, and the smaller leaks were left purposefully so that the lack of repair would not be suspect.
I would argue that I have been taken for a fool, due to my age and my gender. For that Eurofix is sadly mistaken. I would not recommend this business to anyone, as they will take advantage of you and every dime you have to spend (wouldn't even let me have my car back until I left the lot and topped off the gas in the "free" rental, even though they used a quarter tank of my gas). I cannot stress enough that their kindness is a facade-customers are dollar signs to them, not people.

Desired Settlement
I fully expect for Eurofix to replace the damaged vacuum and ventilation hoses, as is documented in my printout of repairs, and I would like a refund. I have pictures of the damaged hoses, as well as pictures of the reads from the scanner regarding the vacuum leak. I have also researched the prices of the parts they supposedly replaced, including 1 tensioner gasket kit, 1 camshaft seal, 1 cam plug, and 1 ignition wire set, and the price does not match the amount I was charged, which was $1,233.18 (for this portion, not including the $674.24 I was charged for the "replaced" vacuum hoses). The prices don't match even when I subtract the amount charged for labor and tax. I would not expect a refund if it were not for this poor workmanship and being lied to directly.
If I am denied a refund, legal actions will be taken.

Final Consumer Response
Original Message
From: **** L ****** (mailto:*****@mtmail.mtsu.edu)
Sent: Wednesday, May 27, XXXX XX:XX AM
To: *****@gobbb.org
Subject: BBB Complaint

Hello,

My name is **** ******. I placed a complaint online for the Better Business Bureau in regards to a concern about Eurofix of Murfreesboro. If at all possible, I would like to completely revoke my complaint. Although a small mistake was made, these guys truly did a great job correcting it and communicating the misunderstanding very clearly to me. It is my belief that my complaint was made impulsively and in a much more harsh manner than was necessary. I am not interested in tarnishing the reputation of Eurofix or their dedicated workers in any way. Thank you for responding to my complaint as it is greatly appreciated, however my position is no longer in the offensive. Please send my regards and condolences to the staff at this location if possible. Have a blessed day.

Thank you for your time and consideration, **** ******

06/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Car was towed to location because it would started. Failed to do diagnotics on car. Car towed to **********.
X-XX-XX My car was towed to this location because it wouldn't start. Rep from Eurofix, *****, called my fiance and told him that it was out of oil and the engine had no compression and engine would have to be replaced. When asked if it had been hooked up to the diagnostic machine, he said no. When asked what was done to determine what the problem was, he stated that the dip stick had matalic oil on it. He stated that there was no oil in it and the engine was blown. We had just put oil in it a week because it was a little low. Told Eurofix that the car was running the night before but the engine was running rough so we shut the car off and that the engine couldn't be blown. Eurofix insisted that the engine was blown. Had car towed to ********** in Murfreesboro and they diagnosed it as needing a timing belt and not a blown engine.

Desired Settlement
Cost of towing to Eurofix $40.00
Cost of towing to ********* $45.00

Business Response
We want to thank our customer for taking the time to let us know about their visit. We strive to give amazing customer service, so we cherish feedback, even when it's not positive. Based on this feedback however, it seems we do have a bit of a misunderstanding regarding how we came to the position we did. Our records indicate that after our initial inspection we found the engine to have no compression, very low oil on the dipstick and metal fragments mixed in with the remaining engine oil. These all point to a catastrophic engine failure that will require major engine work or engine replacement (sometimes is cheaper). Once we made our initial discover, we show that we recommend performing a diagnostic test called a "Leak-Down" test which would have determined what specific components of the engine's internal components needed replacement or repair. We show this next step was declined by the customer. Even though this testing was declined, we did have enough information to know that major engine damage occurred and that the engine would need at minium major refurbishment or replacement which is why we provided the information we did. If the customer had approved us to move forward with repair, we would have insisted on the testing to determine the exact extent of the failure and what specific items needed replacement - at that point we would have been able to provide an exact to-the-penny quote for what it would take to restore the vehicle. Our ultimate goal is for our customers vehicles to be fixed correctly, so if the timing belt was actually all that was needed and no engine damage had occurred, then we would be happy to refund the towing costs. To process that refund, we just need a copy of the customer's signed and paid-for ********** Invoice showing the timing belt was replaced and that it resolved the issue. This can be faxed to XXX-XXX-XXXX, ATTN: ******. We will be reaching out to the customer by phone to personally address this matter as well.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
There was oil in the engine. Oil was just checked 3 days before and was at the correct level. Car was running fine the day prior to towing. No other dianostics tests were offered to us. We were told that the engine was blown and needed to be replaced repeatedly. We were also told the cost would be a minimum of $5000.00. At which time we had the car towed to **. As soon as the we have an invoice from **, it will be faxed. I have several friends who own European cars and recommanded that they do not take their cars to your business.

04/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 12/10/2013, I traded in a2010 lnfiniti G37 for a 2009 MB E350. To date Euro fix has failed to submit payment to **** to payoff the trade-in.
Since 12/10/13 purchase, I have called Euro fix monthly in an attempt to resolve this issue. I am now receiving late and non-payments letters from **** for a vehicle I do not have. Please help as my credit history is being tarnished.

Desired Settlement
For Euro fix to send payment to **** immediately to resolve this matter.

Business Response
We are very disappointed and sorry that this customer has had so much frustration because of this payoff issue. We had an employee who contributed to this issue who has now been separated from the company. We are now working with the customer to get this resolved.

Consumer Response
This matter has been resolved.

03/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Neglect to change the proper parts and did not properly installed correct original part.
On 2/18/2015 I took my 2009 BMW 535I with 92K miles to Eurofix for an oil leak. Eurofix suggested that the foundation of the leaks were because of a defective Oil Cooler Seal Housing and Oil Filter Stand Gasket. The repair costed me $1239.48. Four days later and after driving the vehicle for less than 70 miles, all of the belts were torn and shredded. I was unable to turn the steering wheel. I took the car back and the Assistant Manager ************* informed me that the Belt Tensioner Assembly along with the Crankshaft Seal need replacing and the repair would cause and ADDITIONAL $1639.64! I believe this is major NEGLIGENCE on Eurofix for failing to properly install the bolts to the belt tensions and failing to professional advise to replace the oil soaked belts from the previous repair. This in turn caused a chain effect with the belts deterioration and shredding.

In additional the Assistant Manager suggested that 'in worse case scenario" Eurofix may have to remove the oil pan seal and remove belt debris. If this is the case, it will cost a total of $3,400 for the repair. This type of practice and false diagnostic and advice is not an ethical or moral practice. I just don't want potential customers to deal with this nightmare I am going though. Especially for any minority individuals who may have a communication barrierr or the elderly.

Desired Settlement
I would like a full refund and take my business to a more reputable and ethical repair business or have Eurofix repair the damage on their expense and ensuring the repair will not cause a chain reaction on other mechanical issues related to the latest repair.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****, Mgr. of CS
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@eurofixonline.com
We have been working closely with our customer since this incident has happened. We inspected the vehicle with the customer present and shown how the parts which failed hadn't been removed as part of the previous repair. Based on the mileage of the vehicle, we see pulleys fail which is what it looks like happened in this case. We also inspected the remaining belt sheds and found no oil or signs of advanced aging to be present which further shows the pulley had been the culprit rather than any condition created by the previous repair. Though evidence shows we didn't cause this second failing, we have offered to cover 50% of the costs associated with the repair as a good will gesture. The customer accepted our offer and the repairs are currently under way.

03/12/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The car I purchased had frame damage that I was not made aware of and I paid for a car that was in "Excellent" condition per KBB.
When I purchased a 2007 Audi A6 from ****** Motor Co. I was not made aware of the "Announced Frame Damage" on the vehicle. I discovered the issue when I went to the dealership to trade in the vehicle after a life change of mine requiring a bigger vehicle. The manager of the store, ******, even commented that he was not aware of how/why I paid this much for the vehicle. I paid the KBB purchase price of a car in great condition (approx $20,000). Had I been made aware of the damage that the vehicle had, I would not have paid that amount. He stated that he would try to figure something out to make both parties happy. This did not happen. I discussed the issue with ****** and Eurofix Corporate office and finally was offered $11,000 for the vehicle as a TRADE IN ONLY. They would not offer any money to buy the vehicle back without me purchasing another vehicle through them. They admitted to the misleading advertising and advised that they would "make it right" and pretend that there was not frame damage, ONLY if I traded in the vehicle. The problem with this resolution is that it forces me as the consumer to continue to do business with a company I have no trust in. There are numerous problems with this business practice and believe that something should be done to prevent this from happening to others.

Desired Settlement
I actually discussed the resolution with them but they were unwilling to work with me unless I did additional business with them. I would like the company to make it right and buy the vehicle back from me at the remaining cost that I owe the bank so that I can start my car buying experience over again. I was mislead from the beginning and have yet to get any type of resolution other than to continue to do business with a company that I feel did not represent the vehicle properly.

Business Response
From: **********************@gmail.com (mailto:**********************@gmail.com) On Behalf Of ****** ****
Sent: Wednesday, March 04, XXXX X:XX PM
To: ***********
Subject: Response to Mr. ****'s Claim

*******

Below is our response to the BBB complaint by Mr. ***** ****:

"This vehicle was purchased in May 2013 AS-IS (except for a 30 day power-train warranty). Our records and employee testimony indicate the customer was aware of the reported Frame Damage as reported on the CarFax prior to sale. As a stipulation prior to the sale, a body Expert was hired to inspect the frame as the customer was concerned about what was listed on the Car Fax report. The inspector performed the inspection on 5/5/13 and the customer purchased the vehicle 5/13/13 as indicated on the documentation in the customers Sale File. When the customer stated he wasn't made aware of the frame damage a couple of months ago, we offered to allow a trade-in value towards another vehicle of $11,000 as a good will gesture (even though further investigate shows he was aware).The offer was declined by the customer at that time."

Thanks,


****** J ****
Business Development & Support \ HR Generalist
EuroFix Corporate Office

Office: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Mobile: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Fax: XXX-XXX-XXXX



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did not accept the offer at that time and I still do not except the offer because the offer is contingent upon me spending more money with EuroFix. Not to mention at this point euro fix has absolutely no inventory for me to choose from from based on this "trade in". I don't think I should have to do additional business with the company for them to make up for an original error.

Final Business Response
Further investigation has proven that our customer was fully aware of the Car Fax report prior to purchasing the vehicle. This vehicle was purchased AS-IS nearly 2 years ago and we were totally transparent during his purchasing process and even paid to have a frame inspector ensure there to be no actual frame damage prior to his purchasing the vehicle. While we are sympathetic to his current frustration with his vehicle, we feel it's unreasonable to help further with this transaction as it's been nearly 2 years since it occurred and because all evidence shows our customer made his purchase with all facts present.

05/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bought a used car and it broke down within a 1200 miles.
I made a mistake of buying an old (XXXX) Jaguar from Eurofix which had only 84,000 miles on it. The only reason I bought it from them as they have a service place and they assured me that they have checked the car and THERE IS NO PROBLEM what so ever. With in three months (I had driven only 500 miles) there was a power steering leak (Rack and Pinion) and when I showed them they gave me a repair bill of $1500. Off course I got it changed for $1100 from its competitor. After that, I drove for another 600 miles, the transmission broke making the car useless. They told me that once you take the car out of their lot, you are on your own. Off course they told me that they will give me a "discount" and charge me $3200 for changing the transmission. How can a car simply break down with in 1100 miles of driving. They were very nice to me till I had not bought the car and their tone changed completely once they found that the car they sold had problems. They knew about the car and still they sold me a lemon. I am extremely disappointed and I am WARNING every body that they should NOT BUY CAR from them. They are fooling people like us. Now I know why they do not sell cars in Nashville.

Desired Settlement
They sold me a "LEMON" and I am stuck with the car

Business Response
We are very disappointed that our customer has not been satisfied with our response to his concerns with his purchase, but we feel that we have made good effort to provide resolution to our customer. The Salesman who sold him the vehicle, our Sales Manager, and the Service Manager have all been working with our customer for months attempting to provide resolution for his concerns. To clarify, when the customer made us aware of the transmission issue, we offered to replace it at our cost (the $3200 quote), despite that the unit was purchased AS-IS, and without a warranty. We made this offer to be helpful to the customer. We would also like to explain that initially when the customer purchased the vehicle, that he explained to the salesman that he was looking for a car that would be for a teen driver. Our salesman states that during the purchase inquire of the Jaguar that he actually recommend a different vehicle to the customer that would be a better fit for his needs for low-cost, reliable transportation, but the customer still expressed desire to purchase the Jaguar despite our efforts to help him find a vehicle that may have been a better fit. Our records show that the customer understood that this vehicle was sold AS-IS and with no warranty based on his signature on the AS-IS Buyers Guide document. In regards to what claims the salesman made about the Jaguar, he informed the customer at the time of purchase that it was currently in good working order to our knowledge, but we reiterated it was an older Jaguar with high miles and that anything could happen in regards to its reliability. Again, we again are very disappointed that he has not been satisfied with his purchase, but we feel that we have been very fair in attempting to resolve this for our customer.

03/14/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Eurofix sold my car. It has been almost 60 days & they have not paid off the car. They have not made the monthly payments, resulting in late fee's.
Euro fix sold my car on December 29, 2013. The car has not been paid off as of yet(18th Feb 2015). Resulting in 2 missed payments and late fees. I have repeatedly called asking why they cannot make the payments plus why has the car not been paid off yet. They said they made a payment on February 6 but two days later the payment was not made because insufficient funds. Once again there is a late fee and no payment has not been made. My credit report could be affected by this company's inability to do their job. I feel legal actions may have to be taken to protect myself and my credit.

Desired Settlement
I want this transaction completed. The last time I spoke with them they said that would be 10 business days. 19 February will be 10 business days. If my credit report is affected by this transaction then I will be looking for monetary compensation for the effects of my negative credit report.

Business Response
We are very sorry that this transaction has been so frustrating for our customer. We have confirmation that this loan is now closed with the customer's bank and have confirmed that the missed payments have been processed and all late fees covered. We have been made aware of some issues with staff in that we found out contributed to this situation and once we found out about these issues, we made the necessary changes to our staff and put procedures in place to ensure this situation doesn't happen again. We know that this situation has caused great stress for our customer and we again apologize for the frustration. The customer's bank was aware the vehicle was traded-in, so there shouldn't be any issues with the customer's credit. We have privately reached out to the customer to ensure there are no further issues surrounding this transaction.

01/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This has been the worst car buying experience! Very disappointed!
I purchased a 2010 Chevy Camaro from this company on October 19, 2013. I spoke with **** & ***** about purchasing the car. I decided to pick the car up at a different location (Memphis, TN). I traded my 2002 Nissan Maxima. My biggest problem with the company was receiving my tags. Notice that I said I purchased the car in October & I'm just now receiving paperwork for the tags in January. I was told that the tags & sales tax would be paid for by the company. When I went to my local revenue office, I was told that I had to pay $653.48 to receive my license plate. I've went in circles with this company since I purchased this vehicle! None of the employees had answers! I spoke with ****** in customer service & he did at least try to give some kind of answer. I am tired of this company! Paying $653 unexpectedly is a big problem for me! If I would've been informed then I probably wouldn't have purchased this car. This has been the worst experience ever!!!

Desired Settlement
I want a refund. This cost was totally unexpected & I do not think I should have to pay it! I also have to replace all the tires on the vehicle. Another unexpected small fortune! This company is big on the quality of their vehicles and customer service, but I believe I missed out on that part!

Business Response
We strive to ensure our customers always have a great experience, but in some situations, there are things out of our control that can cause an experience to be poor. Unfortunately, this is one of those situations. Even with the things out of our control, we apologize that we weren't able to make this an easier experience with things we could control which in this case was our communication with the customer. Based on this feedback, we have changed our policy to provide more frequent and proactive updates to customer affected by these types of delays to help minimize the frustration of not knowing the status of their tags and titles.
Regarding the long delay receiving the tags - indeed, this process took much longer than normal, which we know caused our customer much frustration. The delay was caused because the Camaro this customer purchased was actually a recent trade-in to our dealership that had a loan on it from the previous owner. After this customer purchased the Camaro, we sent a payoff for the vehicles previous loan to release the title so that that the new owner would be able to register it. The problem in this situation was that the bank had a problem locating the account the payment was for, but failed to tell us until nearly a month later. We called the bank several times before they notified us of the issue, and during those calls we made, they failed to provide us with any indication there was a problem other than the payment just taking a long time to process. When we finely received a letter from the bank with the original check stating they couldn't determine which loan the check was supposed to go to. We inspected our original payment and we confirmed we did in fact have the correct information (leading us to believe this was ultimately a clerical error with the bank). We re-submitted the payment with the same information and it was finally received and processed. If the bank had accepted our first attempt to pay off the lien, the customer would have had the tags much sooner.
Regarding the taxes - we absolutely understand that having to pay unexpected taxes was frustrating. Based on the complaint, it seems there is a misunderstanding about whose responsibilities are the taxes, which we would like to clarify. When we sell a vehicle to a customer who is out of state, then we have to estimate what the taxes will be for the state the customer lives in, this amount is then either collected from the customer, or if possible, rolled into a car loan. We then take this take money we've collected from the customer or through the loan and pay it to the state on behalf of the customer. While we do our best to estimate the correct amount, it can be very difficult to get this amount exact. In situations when we over-estimate, we will always refund the difference to the customer, but in situations where we under-estimate, it's the customer's responsibility to pay the difference in the taxes with their state. It seems this wasn't made clear to the customer on the front end, but we don't have a way to refund this difference because it's not something we charged her, but rather her state.
Regarding the tires - We aren't sure the circumstances as to why the customer replaced the tires so soon because our records show that during our pre-sale inspection, we found the tires to be safe and not in need of replacement at that time. At the time of sale, we pointed out to the customer that based on the current wear, that we believe the tires had about a year of tread left, but also pointed out that this would depend on driving habits. Given this is a performance vehicle, there is a greater opportunity for an owner to deplete tire tread faster because of the capabilities of the vehicle.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The company did not state to me that the tires had a "year" of tread left. When I purchased the car, I called the company back to complain about the tires. No calls were returned! This car has not been driven over a week or two. Due to the fact that I didn't have tags! As far as the tags go, the company should have stated to me that out of state taxes would be left for me to cover. Before I even made the purchase or signed a paper I made sure that I asked if they were going to cover the taxes plus tags! They stated yes. This company is truly pitiful and I wouldn't advise anyone to deal with them. This has been the worst car buying experience.

Final Business Response
Regarding the tires, I apologize as it seems I was under a misunderstanding about what specific statements had been made to the customer. Regardless, this vehicle was purchased AS-IS from out of state but when we delivered the vehicle to the customer, they were given the opportunity to inspect the vehicle to ensure they understood the condition of the vehicle. Though the tires had been inspected and determined as safe, as stated before, it's very hard to determine how long tires will last, especially on a performance vehicle.

Anytime there is a delay in getting the tags completed, we always ensure our customers have valid Temp Tags so that they can always drive their new vehicle. We confirm we sent this customer 3 additional temporary tags during the delay of their permanent tags and can confirm they always arrived before the customers current tags expired - at no time was our customer without a valid temporary tag per our records from FedEx. The first tag was issued at the date of sale on 10/19/13, the second was delivered by FedEx on 11/13, the third was delivered on 11/14, and the fourth and final tag was delivered on 12/09/13. We show the title work for the permanent tag was sent to the customer's clerk office on 12/26.

As for the taxes, we would like to clarify that we do in-fact pay the taxes on behalf of our customers as a convenience, however the money that we use to pay these taxes is collected from the customer first, either through the bank loan or through a direct payment of the customer. We have inspected the customer's Bill of Sale and we confirm that the Bill of Sale the customer signed does include estimated state taxes, tag and title fees. We also show that the back of the customer's bill of sale also states that the taxes are fully the customer's responsibility.

Page 1 of 2

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.