BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/30/2008

Wade's Automotive Repair

(615) 451-10262048 Scotty Parker Rd, GallatinTN 37066-8171 Send email to Wade's Automotive Repair

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/30/2008

BBB has determined that Wade's Automotive Repair meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Wade's Automotive Repair's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Wade's Automotive Repair

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
06/11/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
**** has had my truck for several months to fix a problem and $1500 later its still broken and he refuses to refund defective part money back.
I took my truck to **** for a track bar repair called the Dodge Death Wobble. He had my truck for a week to assess what needed to be done to fix it. When you would hit any kind of a bump, the truck would shake uncontrollable and swerve all over the road. There is currently a class action suit in regards to it. **** contacted me and said my truck not only needed a new track bar, but needed several other things due to the track bar being defective. $800 later and another 2 wks and my truck is supposivley fixed. The first bump i hit going down the road it starts to shake. I call **** the next day. He does another $400's worth of repairs which takes 2-3 weeks. I get my truck back, hit a bump, and it shakes so bad this time i almost lost control going down the road. Then the axel starts to make a popping sound every time I turn the wheel. I took it back again to ****. He then took 2 weeks doing "research" to determine what it is going to take to fix the problem. He then tells me he found a different track bar that if we paid for the part, he would do the repair for free labor bc of what we had already spent. I agree. We pay $420 for this new track bar. It took him 2 1/2 weeks to complete the repair. Yet again, I hit a bump and the truck shakes. I then had my truck towed to a diesel mechanics in Franklin, Tn for a second option. They contact me the next day and say that the track bar that was just put on was not made for this type of truck not was it properly installed and adjusted. I immediately call ****. It took him 2 days to call me back. I explained to him what I was told. He promised me if i would give him one more chance, he would make it right and fix the truck, and if he couldn't, then he would give me my money back on the track bar. Come to find out, he charged me double the price of the track bar, bc I contacted the company that made it and they told me the price. I had it towed back to **** for "one more try" just because I had used him in the past with little trouble and bc I knew he would give me my money back if this didn't work. He had my truck another 3 wks!!! Then I call him to find out what was going on. He tells me I need ANOTHER part to stabilize the stearing and that this would make the track bar he put on work. So I bought the part on my own, took it to him 2 days later. A week later, I call and they tell me I can get the truck. I drove it 4 miles down the road from my house to work and when I get to the parking lot, there was a loud POP, and the track bar snapped out from under the truck. At this point I couldn't even drive it! The tires were no longer attached to the frame. I call ****, very upset. I could've DIED! He was in a meeting, but he did call me back. At this point, I paid a wrecker to pick up the truck and take it to another mechanic. **** called me back angry that I was not bringing it to him. I told him I wanted the money back on the track bar, but he could keep the labor i had paid. He said NO and that unless I brought the truck back to him, he wouldn't give me the money back and hung up on me.

Desired Settlement
I want the $95 it cost me to tow the truck and the $420 for the defective track bar. He can have the broken track bar back.

Business Response
Well lets fill in the blanks first.Mr ****** contacted my shop in November 2014 about his issue on THE DEATH WOBBLE .The truck was at the local dodge dealer with a estimate that he thought was to high.At this time he brought truck to my shop and we found the parts that were worn was correct.We repaired truck at a cheaper price.THIS TRUCK IS MODIFIED WITH A LIFT KIT ALSO.In December 2014 we installed dual stabilizer.In January 2015 we installed adjustable track bar.All of this is basic things when someone tries to modified trucks.All of this is info off the web. In a few weeks he called and said bushing came apart.He removed bar instead of bringing it back to shop and during his installment he left spacers out of trackbar that lead to another issue from the customer.Mr ****** was told to bring back for alignment.There are specs for the alignment that are different from the basics when you change things on a lifted truck, He decided to take truck somewhere else for second opinion.As you see he has a issue with what people tell him.Not once has my shop not worked 100 percent to fix the issue.These trucks have all kinds of issues when you start changing factory specs as anyone can see if you check the web.All parts and labor come with a warranty with my shop.Last time we talked I told him I would have truck towed to my shop at my expense to see what happened he declined,I ask Mr ****** on phone was he bring truck back and he said no. At this I told him I couldn't warranty part if someone else worked on it. Mr ****** has lots of issue on getting story straight and telling the hole truth.Have a great day.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
**** is correct in saying that my truck had been modified. He knew that the moment i spoke with him on the phone and the hundreds of times that he was under it! He is incorrect on it having a "lift kit". It has a leveling kit. I had the kit professionally installed by a liscenced mechanic in White House and then took it to Dodge in Gallatin (where I purchased the truck) when the tie rod recall occurred shortly after purchasing my truck brand new. Dodge approved the kit and the install so that they could record that on the service paperwork because I have a life time power train warranty on the truck's engine and transmission, so any modifications have to be approved in order to maintain the warranty. **** knew this up front. The leveling kit is why HE suggested the more expensive track bar. He stated that due to the modification on the truck that this special bar is adjustable to fix the fact that the truck had been modified. He handed me a stack of papers indicating his "research" showed that this was the one we should go with on the truck. As for him saying that it was not properly installed and missing a spacer; that is incorrect. He had installed the bar initially, and I (per his request) had to install it the second time bc I couldn't drive the truck to him for the alignment until the bar was reinstalled. He, being a mechanic, should know that you can't drive a vehicle without a track bar or the frame shifts under the truck causing it to not be functional and he was not going to drive to my house to do the repair. How many times do I have to put my family and myself at risk before I took my truck somewhere to have another opinion?? Ultimatley, **** never fixed the truck! I paid him well over $1000 and still had this "brand new" track bar that should be under warranty that he installed NOT WORK! He had the truck to many times and I gave him to many chances and enough is enough. I still had to pay another dealership $500 to fix what I paid him to fix!!!! Ultimately, the track bar was faulty. Im not asking for the labor that **** put into the truck, I want my money back on the defective part that he installed.

Final Business Response
I have no other statement to give except what was given on 6-2-2015.****** ***** was ask to bring his truck back to my shop to repair under warranty and he refused to.CAN NOT TAKE CARE OF ISSUE IF NOT BACK IN MY SHOP FOR REPAIR.THIS IS LAST RESPONCE THAT I WILL BE GIVEN TO THIS ISSUE THANK YOU **** ***** OWNER

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/07/2008Business started: 01/01/1988
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Harold Wade Lyles (Owner)
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Truck Repair & Service, Tire Retread & Repair, Tire Dealers, Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto

Products & Services

According to information supplied by the company, it offers the repair and service of trucks and automobiles.

Industry Tips
Automobile - Repair

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Wade's Automotive Repair

2048 Scotty Parker Rd

Gallatin, TN 37066-8171

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2048 Scotty Parker Rd 

    Gallatin, TN 37066-8171

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Wade's Automotive Repair is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service

Automobile - Repair
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.