BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/25/2007

Tennessee Tire & Auto Clinic

Phone: (615) 452-8855Fax: (615) 452-2204View Additional Phone Numbers461 South Water Avenue, GallatinTN 37066 Send email to Tennessee Tire & Auto Clinic

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/25/2007

BBB has determined that Tennessee Tire & Auto Clinic meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Tennessee Tire & Auto Clinic's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Tennessee Tire & Auto Clinic

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
04/04/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Called Tenneessee Tire they advertised to me that it would cost nothing to look at my vehicle and diagnose the issue. They charged me anyway!
I called Tennessee Tire and the receptionist answered. I asked how much would it cost for them to look at my car so that I could get it to pass emissions? The receptionist said it would not cost anything to look at it. We were unaware of the future charge because nothing was discussed with us before they decided to do it on there own without letting us know. The owner of the company said it was probably a mis-communication but that is on there end. As a company they should be up front with all pricing and information as we are still under the impression that there wasnt going to be a charge. I even got into my car to leave before I was approached by the owner who said "you still owe us for today". I was charged $70.00 bucks plus tax for a service that was said to me would be free.

Desired Settlement
All I want is my $70.00 plus tax back due to the incorrect information the owner's employee and himself gave to me. I run a business and I have to be up front with my customers about any associated cost before work is rendered. All my customers know up front so they are aware. We live paycheck to paycheck as most people do and cannot afford this. He did give us finance papers to fill out but I can't even afford to get another bill.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** - Owner
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *************@comcast.net
On March 7, 2014 a phone call was received by Tennessee Tire and Auto Clinic from Mrs. ******. When the call came in, she inquired about having her vehicle (2006 Chevy Trailblazer) looked at. She never mentioned having a check engine light on, or needing to pass emissions. She simply said "I have a problem with my vehicle. How much would you charge to look at it?" She was told that just briefly looking at the vehicle would not cost her anything. As long as no lengthy time was spent looking at her vehicle, there would be no charge. When she arrived she said she had a check engine light on and needed it checked out, never mentioning she had previously called into the shop or talked to anyone. The standard charge for diagnosing a check engine light is $70 and has to be performed by plugging up to the vehicle's computer with our diagnostic scanner. Over an hour, to an hour and a half, was spent diagnosing her check engine light issue. We gave her an estimate for the cost of the repairs, and also offered her financing to help with the expense. When she got in her vehicle to leave, she was approached for the cost of the $70 diagnostic. She then came back in and paid the diagnostic fee, at which time she was advised that if she chose to do the repairs here she would receive a full credit for the $70 diagnostic fee. After she left, we received a call from Mr. ****** as he was upset that she had been charged the diagnostic fee. He then advised that they had previously been to another mechanic shop and had been charged a diagnostic fee but hadn't had the problem fixed. It appeared at this point that they were after a second opinion. Had Mrs. ****** explained exactly what she needed on the phone prior to coming in, she would have known the potential for the charge. Over an hour was spent looking at and diagnosing her vehicle's issues, which consisted of 5 major computer codes and over $1500 worth of repairs. Well worth the $70 diagnostic charge.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I don't accept this response but I know I will not get anywhere with this company. I am surprised the BBB supportds them. As I stated prior to this if someone had mentioned to us first that there would be a fee associated with the diagnostic we would of understood. But Tenneessee Tire receptionist said "there would be no cost" that is it none of the other stuff mentioned above. It is not our fault that their employees did not understand what the comapny offers. I understand equipment and time cost money but someone should of said "oh i see they are needing the computer to run trouble codes, I should let them know that this will take additional time and cost will be involved." Instead your company just did it without discussing cost up front. I am surprised they are even BBB accredited. I see that nothing will come from this though and this is kind of a joke. Not worth the time. I will make sure everyone knows about this and hope that nobody else get's ripped off.

Final Business Response
Everything was explained, as it is to every customer that we deal with. We have been doing our trade for 30 years, so I'm sure that by now we truly understand how to handle our job. We are not perfect by any means, but we must be doing something right somewhere. Furthermore, the issue here boils down to the financials. Their vehicle needs way more work than was expected, and since this is a true disappointment to them they are upset. I can't say that I blame them, but we are only here to help people with their situation. God will only bless businesses like ours when they are treating people "right." We are building a legacy here that speaks for itself, and will always strive to provide excellent service to the best of our ability. That being said, we will be glad to refund the $70 diagnostic fee in good faith that we are only interested in making people happy with our services. Please come by the shop during business hours to collect your refund.

Sincerely,

***** ******


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Thank you, and we will be by your business before the end of the week. I don't doubt that you all have had many issues in the past but communication from your employee to the customer is what had happened here. I appreciate you taking the time to make sure that we are still a happy customer and you have done so with your resolution. Thank you!

11/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I took my vehicle to this place to get an estimate cost and see about financing the work, 3 days later I called they said vehicle was done.
I took my vehicle to a shop to get an estimate to fix it, this shop said it was around $970.00 dll for new A/C compressor and valve cover gaskets,that is was what I needed, but they did not finance. So I took my vehicle to the TN Tire to get an estimate cost on a new A/C compressor and valve cover gaskets and see about financing the work. They called me the same day Tuesday September 16, saying I was approved for $2000.00 and they were gonna check my vehicle. I called them on Friday Sept. 19, to see what was going on, and they said "we are done, and we are testing the vehicle, and that they called to the finance company to get authorization for $200.- more"". When my Dad and I got there I told the guy that he was supposed to call me and give me the estimate of the cost for the repairs, and I was going to decide if I was going to have them to do the repairs and financed but I was never given a choice,while We were there I was going to look into the invoice to see why it was that much but My Dad and the manager got into an argument about them not calling and ask for permission. The guy was really rude and said that he made a mistake about not calling but still they were arguing, I was afraid that something happen to my Dad or something happened to my vehicle if I leave it there. So the manager told me to sing the paper for the finance company and just gave me an invoice, and no copies of the papers that I singed. I had no idea how much the finance company was going to charge me. When I got at home I looked at the invoice and noticed they put a junk yard A/C compressor and did about a $1,219.85 + tax of work that it was not related to the air compressor or valve coverts such as, A/C condensor, receiver dryer, expansion valve,(the big surprise were) belt tentioner, belt idler,water pump, timing cover gaskets, thermostat and gasket, antifreeze coolant, and lube oil filter. AND all that I ask for, was the estimate on a New A/C compressor and valve cover gaskets.I back to TN tire to get copies of the papers that I signed and he told me that he did not have the papers for the Finance company and still did not give me a copy of the papers that I signed from his shop.So I went to the Finance company to get the papers because I wanted to get an attorney but it was going to cost me $200.- just to talk to them and I don't have the money for that. That is why I am contacting you. I feel that TN tire and the Finance company ********** ******* ********* *** **** **** ** Gallatin TN have a scam going but I am not sure that they know about what TN tire is doing. I felt that I had no choice about the work or the financing and that I was bulling in to signing the papers. I am afraid to go back to the shop and have them to put a new air compressor on my vehicle. I do not believe that I should not pay for the unnecessary and unauthorized work on my vehicle and and I think they should pay for someone else to put a NEW compressor, because I am afraid to have them to do any work on my vehicle or even back there.Plus we noticed on Saturday Sep 27, when I was driving during the day time that the A/C is not cooling properly, I was sweating and it was cooler with the windows down even though the A/C was on max. I was not given a choice on a used or new compressor. Since I was going to financed I wanted a new one. I really hope you can help me with this situation and give and advise on what to do, and I hope we can help other people not to get taking advantage of like I was. Iappreciate your time. Sincerely ***** ******

Desired Settlement
Not pay for the unnecessary and unauthorized work $1,219.85 plus tax, and to have them pay for another shop to fix and put a new A/C compressor.

Business Response
Mr. ****** called inquiring about the price to repair his vehicle's A/C system, and to find out if we offered financing. After being advised of the estimated cost of the repair and advised of our financing options, Mr. ****** visited Tennessee Tire & Auto Clinic on September 15, 2014 to fill out an application for credit for repairs to his vehicle. At that time, he advised he also had an issue with some oil leaks, and antifreeze leaks ("other fluid leaks" as he called it) that he would like to have repaired. He advised that his wife drives the vehicle, and he wanted to have everything repaired. The amount on the application that he signed was $3000, which was a "worse case scenario" estimate that covered a new complete A/C system (Compressor, Condenser, Receiver/Dryer, Expansion valve, and freon charge), repairing ALL oil leaks (Valve Cover Gaskets, Timing cover gaskets, and oil change), antifreeze leaks (Water Pump, Thermostat & Gasket, and Antifreeze/Coolant), and anything else that may need to be addressed. With his consent, we submitted his application to the finance company. After being approved for only $2000 of financing, Mr. ****** brought his vehicle via trailer on September 17, 2014 to have the repairs done that his financing limit would allow. Once again he referenced the oil leaks and "other fluid leaks" with his desire to have them repaired. He was advised that it would be hard to squeeze all the repairs into the $2000 limit, but we would do our best to make it work for him. He was also advised that it would be at least 1 week before his vehicle would be completed. He was satisfied with the estimate as well as the time frame given for the repairs and gave the OK to repair his vehicle. After getting into the repairs, we learned that the vehicle also had a bad belt tensioner, idler pulley, and serpentine belt. With these extra parts and repairs, the finance company extended his financing limit to $2200 to help him out. We were able to repair everything as estimated except for the most expensive part - the A/C compressor, at which we installed a good used one with a warranty. We had to do this in order to complete all of the necessary repairs. Mr. ****** contacted Tennessee Tire & Auto Clinic on September 19, 2014 to check the status of his vehicle. At this time he was advised the repairs were completed and his vehicle was ready for pickup, after only 3 days, instead of the estimated week. When he came to retrieve his vehicle, he stated several times that he was satisfied with the repairs and the short time that it took to complete the jobs. His father came in with him and seemed irritated, which was not understandable. We had completed the work requested by Mr. ******, and he stated that everything was OK. He then was advised if he had any trouble at all with anything that we had repaired to give us a call and we would be happy to take a look at it. We never heard anything else, so we were shocked when we received the complaint and accusations that were made. We are a 30+ year blessed family owned business. We obviously have been able to stay in business as long as we have by treating people right and doing the right thing. Since we have a warranty for our work, we are willing to check into any concerns that Mr. ****** has if he is willing to let us do so.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I can't believe it, This people are not telling the truth, They never ever told me how much it was going to cost to put a new A/C compressor and valve cover gaskets, Like I said before, I called them and they were already done working on my truck and testing it.
Let's use common sense, Do you think that if I did not have $970.- that The other shop was going to charge me for fix my truck, I was going to be agree to pay $2,200.- that this guys said I accepted to pay? I mean, with that money I could by another car. Don't' play that card, that he wanted to help me out, this is so wrong, If He really wanted to help me out, they would have give me the estimate like I asked for, not doing the work with out permission and charging me for work that was not even discussed.
The finance company approved for $2,000.00 and they with out asking me called the finance company asking for $200.00 more. Now the Finance company is charging me $2,983.22 if I make payments, when TN tired told me It was going to be 6 months no interest payments.
I thought since I was already approved for $2000.00 it was going to be the same price or at least a little bit more than the estimate that I have gotten previously. That is why I was waiting for them to get me an estimate on the work to see if I was going to have them do it or get a third estimate.
Like I said in my previous letter I don't want to pay for the stuff that I did not asked, and I want they pay for a New A/C compressor, because the one that they put on, was a junk yard and is not working properly, and is not telling how long it gonna last, and if it breaks, the vehicle will not work like the day I took it to his shop. If he would not have done all the unnecessary work He would have had more than enough money to put a new one.
If just because you have been in the business for 30 years, does not mean that you are doing a good job. Just like you said that day to me and my Dad, You made a mistake by not calling me and asked me my permission, and YES you did a mistake and now you want me to pay for it. Why don't you man up and take responsibility for your mistake.

Final Business Response
Please read very carefully our first response, and recognize that it is very much the TRUTH, accurate, professional, and courteous as well. Might we use some "common sense" when we learn that Mr. ****** brought his vehicle to us nearly an hour away from home, on a trailer, to have it repaired. This was two days AFTER he signed the finance application, in which the amount to be financed was $3000(copy available on file). My question would be, WHY would he have brought it to us if he could have it repaired somewhere else for $970? COMMON SENSE?? Furthermore, after dealing with our customer and his Father, it is very evident the complaint is not from our customer, but his disgruntled Father. At the time of completion, our customer stated multiple times, that everything was OK, and he was happy with the short length of time that it took. As previously stated in our first response, all work performed at our shop, comes standard with a parts and labor warranty. Therefore, we are STILL willing to warranty our work for our customer.

Additional Information

top

According to information provided by the business consumers needing after hours towing or service should call 615-207-7249.

BBB file opened: 10/01/1992Business started: 01/01/1984
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris Walker (Owner)Mr. Joe Morton (Sales)Mrs. Jennifer Towe (Bookkeeping/ Administrator)
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service, Wheels, Auto Services, Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto, Towing - Automotive, Road Service - Automotive, Brake Service, Auto Repairing - Foreign, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Customizing, Auto Air Conditioning, Tire Dealers, Shock Absorbers, Clutches, Batteries - Storage-Retail

Products & Services

According to information supplied by the company, it offers new tire and custom wheel sales, automotive repair and service, and towing automotive and light truck.

Alternate Business Names
Tennessee Tire
Industry Tips
Automobile - Repair

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Tennessee Tire & Auto Clinic has received 3.7 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Tennessee Tire & Auto Clinic

461 South Water Avenue

Gallatin, TN 37066

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 461 South Water Avenue 

    Gallatin, TN 37066

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Tennessee Tire & Auto Clinic is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (615) 207-7249
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service

Automobile - Repair
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.