BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/26/2011

R.E.S. Automotive

(615) 591-41781741 W Main St, FranklinTN 37064-3461 Send email to R.E.S. Automotive

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/26/2011

BBB has determined that R.E.S. Automotive meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised R.E.S. Automotive's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on R.E.S. Automotive

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
07/18/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Installed engine and put PCV plug in Oil pan.
I had RES automotive install an engine on my 2010 expedition. The cost for them to do this was close to $3000.00. When I orderd the engine it came with an oil pan according to ***** at RES. Shortly after picking up my vehicle we noticed a small oil leak. I had a company repalce the drain plug but that did not correct the porblem. The leak become pretty significate and I called RES to see what it would cost to put a new oil pan on since it was leaking to bad. ***** quoted me a price around $250.00. I called another repair shop and they told me to bring it by for them to look at. What they discovered was when RES replaced my engine the was a side port which was for a sensor that told you when your oil was low. However my vehcile was not equiped with the wiring for the sensor. So RES decided to install a plumbers PCV screw plug in it (not made of automobile repairs) I had it repaired at the other shop who found the correct automotive plug and also said that the oil pan was dented. Now if it was my original oil pan they put on why was the plug missing and if was the new pan that can with the engine why was there a dent in it. I called RES and spoke with ***** and asked him if they had in fact instaled the PCV plug and he said they had and to send them a copy of the bill and they would refund me my money. It has since been 3 week since I mailed it and when I called to follow up on it (twice) I was told that he turned it in and I should be receiving the check within the week. Well, that did not happen. I wasn't even asking for them to pay for an oil change because it had to be done when the other shop did the repair. (and it was not due for an oil change. I have given RES Automotive a lot of business and even referred someone to them and really do not like the way they have handled this situation.

Desired Settlement
I would like them to follow through with what I was promised and that was to refund the money I paid the other repair shop to fix the oil leak that became bad over time.

Business' Initial Response
From: ***********@comcast.net (mailto:***********@comcast.net)
Sent: Wednesday, July 10, XXXX X:XX PM
To: **** *****
Subject: Re: Email for **** *****

We regret that Mrs. ***** had an issue. Mrs ***** supplied an engine purchased online and
was advised at that time that there was no warranty on the parts she supplied. She was ok with that because
she had a limited budget and it was cheaper than the engine we would purchase and use.
She just wanted R.E.S. Automotive to
install her engine. The engine came with an oil pan for a different model than her vehicle. The oil pan on her new engine had a hole for a sensor her vehicle did not have. R.E.S. Automotive recommended she purchase the
appropriate sensor for the hole. She said she could not afford the sensor and wanted R.E.S. Automotive to
plug the hole. R.E.S. Automotive plugged the hole. 13,099 miles later Mrs. ***** had a leak. The oil pan was not dented at R.E.S. Automotive. Road conditions and debris generally cause a dent in an oil pan.
Prior to receiving Mrs. *****'s BBB complaint, R.E.S. Automotive had reimbursed Mrs. ***** for the plug installed at a different shop even though our invoices state "that warranty work has to be performed in our shop" and Mrs. ***** was made aware of the fact that there was no warranty on parts supplied by the customer.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First of all RES DID NOT even contact me in regards to the hole for a sensor NOR did I refuse the purchase of the sensor. I had NO idea that the new oil pan even had a hole for a sensor nor did I tell them just to plug the hole with a NON automotive PCV plumbing plug. I had a small oil leak which progessively got worst. RES could have just put my old oil pan on and the dent I was told happen during shipping from one of RES's employees not road conditions and debris. So that is the second lie. I know that they do not furnish the warranty on the engine but they put in a NON automotive plug which the other automotive shop was able to find a automotive one. Yes the milage was 13,099 due to the fact that my husband was driving it back and forth to Geogia which is 984 miles round trip. I filed the complaint with the BBB and two days later the check was cut which I had been told was mailed twice weeks prior.Why would I take my vehicle back for warranty work to get this plug replace and have them possibly charge me again for something that they caused. ONCE AGAIN I WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE HOLE FOE THE SENSOR NOR WAS I EVER CONTACT BY RES UNTIL THEY CALLED ABOUT THE VEHICLE BEING READY FOR PICK-UP.

Business' Final Response
From: ***********@comcast.net (mailto:***********@comcast.net)
Sent: Thursday, July 18, XXXX XX:XX AM
To: **** *****
Subject: Re: Email for **** *****

******
Ms. *****'s request for a refund was made. The check to Ms. ***** was check number XXXXX and it cleared our bank on June 24th.

Please feel free to cut and paste this in as my response on her rebuttle. I have not opened
that rebuttle and I am not sure that it is necessary if this will close it for you.

Let me know if you need anything further.
Thank you.
****** *******
R.E.S. Automotive, Inc
XXX-XXX-XXXX

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/08/2003Business started: 01/01/1993
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Randy E. Simpson (Owner)Customer Contact: Ms. Athena Simpson (Owner)
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service, Shock Absorbers, Auto Lube & Oil - Mobile, Mufflers & Exhaust Systems, Truck Service & Repair - Mobile, Truck Bedliner, Truck accessories, Windshield Wipers, Wheel Align, Frame & Axle Service Equipment & Supplies, Speedometers, Radiators - Automotive, Starters - Engine, Engines - Rebuild & Exchange, Battery Repairing & Rebuilding, Auto Repair - Windshield, Glass Shops, Transmissions - Automobile, Brake Service, Truck Repair & Service, Auto Repairing - Foreign, Auto Services, Tire Retread & Repair, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Repair & Service - Diesel, Auto Electric Service, Auto Air Conditioning, Auto Accessories

Products & Services

This company offers auto repair, maintenance and service.

Industry Tips
Automobile - Repair
Automobile - Transmission

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for R.E.S. Automotive

1741 W Main St

Franklin, TN 37064-3461

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1741 W Main St 

    Franklin, TN 37064-3461

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*R.E.S. Automotive is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service

Automobile - Repair
Automobile - Transmission
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.