BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Polly's Service Center

Phone: (615) 297-7624Fax: (615) 297-65833200 Belmont Blvd, NashvilleTN 37212-6006

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Polly's Service Center is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Polly's Service Center's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Polly's Service Center

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
07/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Automobile was taken to poll's for repair. Auto still has same problem. Have been told for almost 6 months that I would be refunded. Not happened yet.
This is my daughters car. I own it, she drives it.Invoice #XXXXX. Total charge $632.98. Took auto on 5/22/13 for intermittent skip in motor. *****'s read computer code and replaced spark plugs and 1 coil. Code list other issues may cause skip in motor. Picked up auto still with skip. Returned auto and was told coil Pollys put in was bad. Replaced coil again (allegedely).Daughter was told all is good and drove car from Nashville to Macon, Ga. intermittent skip all the way. I would not let her drive it back. Called ***** ***** Monday after 5/22/13 and was told since the auto was in Macon he could refund me the parts portion of the invoice. He would talk to his accountant and they would send me a check. He would call me by that Friday and confirm. Never called me. I called him, said he had forgot. He would call his accountant and call me back. Never called again. I called him on a weekly basis for the next several months and was told basically the same thing. He did change that his refund would be for the labor because he could not re-use the parts. I called him 12-15 times and he always was on the verge of sending me a refund but never did. I called him 3 weeks ago and he was going to write me a check,(did not mention his accountant)he even got his assistant to get my address and assured me my check was on the way. Still no refund was sent. I called him today(12/2/13). Now he says he can't refund me for my parts unless I send the parts back to him. I said fine and told him to send me my parts because the car will not run without them. He said he has thrown away my parts but wants me to make my car inoperable to get my refund.I want a full refund from *****'s.
I have been calling him from 5/22/13 until today. this is ample time for this to be resolved. I will even take the auto to ****** ****** here in ***** to verify the repair work was not sufficient. If they tell me that the repair work was done properly and the auto runs fine, you can drop this complaint. If they tell me that it was not the plugs or coil and it still needs one of the other parts replaced that the computer codes pointed out, then ***** ***** can pay them up to the amount I paid him for the work that I did not need.The auto still skips, has skipped since he worked on it. I sold the car to my brother, but can certainly get it over to ****** ****** for an assessment of the repairs. I feel that a better diagnosis of the problem would have alleviated all of this. It is very expensive (for me) for *****'s to throw parts at a problem and hope they get it right. As of right now the car still runs exactly as it did on 5/22/13. As of right now I have paid $632.98 for unneeded repair work. I have tried to work this out for several months. Not one time did ***** call me back when he assured me every time he would be back in touch in a couple of days.Not one phone call. When you talk to *****, I would like him to know that he put my daughter on the road for a 5-6 hour road trip (alone and at night) in a unsafe vehicle that was brought to him twice for repairs

Desired Settlement
Full refund. See above. Will take to reputable repair shop for evaluation. *****'s to pay for repairs out of $632.98 I gave him for unneeded repairs I can't understand why ***** ***** would assure me on so many occasions that he was sending me a refund knowing that he was not really going to do it.

Business Response
This consumer had the option of returning the auto to *****'s for further diagnosis or having the auto repaired elsewhere. He did neither and shows no proof the auto has a problem. If the auto is or was not drivable as he states, he would have a receipt for the repairs. We feel he is trying to take advantage of *****'s. A refund would have been sent with proof of other repairs or return of parts.
***** *****

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
If you read my complaint it states I would like to take the vehicle to a"reputable" repair shop and if they say the correct repairs were done, then I will drop this. Not once did I state the vehicle was inoperable, just that it has the same problems that I paid about $700 to have repaired. Again he states he will refund if I send him the parts. The auto will not operated without the parts. Can he send me my parts back to me with my refund? He has my $700 and I have a vehicle that is not repaired. Who is taking advantage of who? None of the issues were adressed.
(1)Is *****'s willing to reimburse me for uneeded repairs if the shop here states they were not correct procedures.
(2) Will he send my parts back in exchange for their parts along with a reimbursement for the parts.
(3) What would make me think,even if he agrees, that any of this would happen. I have listened to 6 months of empty promises and now it has taken him 70 days to offer the response to the BBB. I am under the impression that the whole idea here was that we come to some kind of resolution. *****'s keeping my $700 for doing the wrong repair is not a resolution .He,again, offered nothing.

Final Business Response

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 09/28/2004Business started: 02/01/1959
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Kenny Polly (Co-Owner)
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service, Towing - Automotive, Tire Retread & Repair

Products & Services

According to information supplied by the company, it offers automobile repair services including towing.

Industry Tips
Automobile - Repair

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Polly's Service Center has received 3.68 out of 5 stars based on 2 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Polly's Service Center

3200 Belmont Blvd

Nashville, TN 37212-6006

To | From


1 Locations

  • 3200 Belmont Blvd 

    Nashville, TN 37212-6006

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Polly's Service Center is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service

Automobile - Repair

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.