BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 04/16/1996

Import Specialty Service, LLC

Phone: (615) 242-6307

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
05/05/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On March 18,2016, I took my 2003 Jaguar for repair of radiation fluid leaking from the car.The car was picked up on March 21, 2016 stating the repair completed was for a leaking radiation hose and the service representative stated the radiator was replaced also. The bill paid was $556.67. I called the next day to tell the service representative that the fluid was down in the radiator. I as told there was probably a air pocket in the system and that can cause the fluid to be less than what was originally in the tank when car was picked up on March 21,016. I continued to drive the car but on April 22,2016, I had to take the car back to Import Specialty Services due to radiation fluid being well less than half full.On April 25,2016, I picked up the car and drove it for one day. On April 26,2016, the fluid was 1/4 less than it was when I picked up the car the day before. The car has been in one spot in my yard since April 26, 2016. The fluid is still being lost it is now well less than 1/3 gone. When car was picked up on April 25, 2016, the report stated, "upon check engine light inspection found codes stored for Catalytic Converter efficiency and Evaporation leak, advised customer at previous visit for spark plug replacement if codes returned catalytic converters will need to be replaced.Recommended Catalytic Converters be replaced and leak test of EVAPORATION System performed. Customer declined suggested repair at this time." The cost for the Evaporation System Diagnostic will be $105+tax and the Catalytic Converter: P&L $4,238=tax

Product_Or_Service: Radiation leak repair
Order_Number: #XXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like the car's radiator to be repaired and replace with all new hoses or a refund.

Business Response
We contacted the customer by telephone on May 2, 2016. We expressed our regret regarding the recurrence of the coolant leak and invited her to return the car to us for further inspection. We expressed our desire to have the car for several days so we can identify the source of the leak, correct the problem and then drive it several times to verify that no further coolant leak is present. The customer assured us that she would return the vehicle to us for further evaluation and repair when she is back in town. We are committed to honor the two year warranty that we provide on the parts that we replace. It should be noted that our warranty does not extend to other components of the cooling system which may fail and cause similar symptoms.

The check-engine light was on when the car was presented to us. The customer requested that we discover why it was on. We advised the customer on, September 2, 2015, when we replaced the spark plugs that if the catalytic converter code returns, that the bank 1 catalytic converter may need to be replaced. On April 25, 2016 we pressure tested the engine cooling system and inspected for leaks but did not find a coolant leak at that time. Also on the same visit, the customer declined completing the diagnostics necessary to isolate the source of the problem with the fuel tank evaporative lose system. We did not charge for these evaluations. Therefore, this information was given as a courtesy to the customer but is not related to the cooling system problems.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The business contacted me by telephone offering to resolve the problem. I was out of town at the time of the call but I told the business I would drop my car off at the business once I returned to town. I returned to town on May 4, 2016. I took the car to the business and I was told that they will pressure check the car to check for the coolant leak , drive the car around see if it had any problems and pressure check again. If they are still not able to locate the problem they will break it down to check for internal leakage.I was told I will be contacted of their findings. I am fine with the business working with me to find the problem.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.