BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 09/26/2011

Tommy's Quality Used Cars

Phone: (270) 483-0386

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints7

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
09/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Tommy's sold me a truck in "good working condition" and the truck was not at all in good condition.
I live in North Carolina and I needed a truck for my farm. I found one for sale online from Tommy's Quality Used Car's in Guthrie, Ky. I pulled a carfax report on this truck and it showed no previous damage. I made the 470 mile trip Sat. July 7th 2012 to Ky. After looking the truck over and test driving it. I decided to buy knowing there was no warranty that came with this truck. The truck is a 2002 F-250 Lariat 7.3 L engine with 134,000 miles on it. I drove the truck back home(470 miles). Two days later I found major transmission issues with this truck as I was performing routine maintenance. The truck had a crack on top of the transmission and all the transmission fluid had leaked out causing the gears to rub and damage the inside of the transmission. I truly believe ***** sold us this truck knowing something was wrong. I paid ***** $15,000 cash for this truck. When I looked at it I saw the overload springs were broke and I was willing to let that slide. I also notice a small amount of oil leaking from what I thought was an oil pan leak or gasket, I let that slide as well.But after finding this I immediately called Tommy's and after months of numerous conversations with ***** and the lead mechanic ***** sent me a $1700 check to pay for the transmission to get rebuilt. I was satisfied. The universal joints had previously been broke as well and welded back together but did not approve of the welding job. I had the transmission place fix that while the transmission work was being performed. I also paid the labor for the transmission as ***** only would pay for a rebuilt transmission. I ended up paying $1300 out of pocket. The truck I thought was fixed after this. But no it continued to smoke more and more. I have put a new exhaust pipe ($400) on the truck due to the high temperature the motor was reaching. I have some motor knowledge and thought the smoke was a bad injector. After digging into the motor I found it was the turbo that was leaking. So I replaced that ($1400). Drove the truck around and it still continued to smoke just as much as it did before. I then took it to a diesel mechanic which put it on a computer. The computer read that cylinder #8 was bad. I told the mechanic to fix. After the mechanic dug deeper into the motor the piston is bad and a ring is bouncing around in the motor which has caused a lot of damage and the motor will now have to be rebuilt. The estimate is $4,00-$4,300. I am furious that I paid cash money for this truck and got a piece of junk. I just keep investing money into it and at the same time I'm out of a truck too. Which was the main reason I bought the truck to begin with I needed to use it for work purpose. I cant use it the condition that its in and cant afford to replace it and shouldn't have to after paying ***** $15,000 for it. ***** told me that he did not know anything was wrong with the truck. I think he lied. He saw someone out of state interested in one of his vehicles and took advantage of me!! The grand total I will spend on this truck for all the repairs is $7,100. I have all the receipts for proof and would like ***** to reimburse me back what I have had to pay out of pocket for this broken truck he sold me.

Desired Settlement
I would like ***** to pay the $7,100 I have spent on the truck for repairs.

Business' Initial Response
The only issue he had call us about was the transmission. We sent him a check for 1700.00 for transmission. After that we have not heard about any other problem with the vehicle. Customer was offered a warranty. We feel we have been more than fair on a as is used vehicle. We are sorry that he is having problems with the vehicle that is beyond our control. We had no knowledge that anything was wrong with this vehicle.

Consumer's Final Response
I was told by ***** when I called him about the transmission that he was only going to send me $1700. It was so difficult (took 2 months) to get that out of him I knew there was no point in contacting him again. This is why I have took this issue a step further and went through the BBB. The company said in there last reply that I was offered a warranty. That is a lie. I was not offered a warranty, I was told the truck is "used" and does NOT come with one. I was NOT offered a warranty. When I talked to the mechanic and ***** they told me the truck was bought off an auction. I believe they bought this truck cheap because of its condition and sold it making a profit knowing of its condition. Like I stated before I was told this was a good working truck and it has been nothing but a headache since I bought the truck. When I arrived the guys went out on the lot and cranked it without me present. Looking back now I see why. They knew it had problems, they hid the fact that it smoked a lot when cranking it due to the injector and turbo issues. If I had of seen where it was parked on the lot I probably would have seen a lot of fluid under the truck which would have also been a dead giveaway that something was wrong. Looking back now I see a lot of things that happened that should have been clues for me. I would like ***** to pay me the repair bills which have totaled up to $7100. I have all the paperwork to prove this amount. How would he like to pay $15,000 cash for a vehicle that he cant use?

Business' Final Response
Mr. **** knew when he brought this vehicle it was as is, he even sign the bill of sale that said as is, no warranty. Mr. **** was offer a warranty to purchase just like all of our customer is offered.
Mr. **** has had this vehicle for over a year. We do not make it our policy to sell vehicle with problems and we know it. We sell a 100 cars a month we wouldn't be able to do that if we sold vehicles with problems. I am sorry that Mr. **** got a vehicle that he thinks that we know it had a problem. We do make it a policy to bring the vehicle up to the customer to test drive so that they don't have to walk over the lot. Most of the time we have to move many vehicles to get one out. We have 400 vehicles. We wasn't trying to hide anything. You have to remember he drove the vehicle from Guthrie, KY to Yadkinville, NC. That Tis many miles and the only problem we knew about was the transmission and we paid for that. Mr. **** test drove vehicle before he brought it. He was very happy with the vehicles performance. I think we have done what we supposed to do.

08/05/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Misrepresented the truck we bought.
My husband and I bought a 2001 4dr 4wd truck from Tommys 7/2011.We want to trade to get our pmts lower( 466.35).Went to a reputable dealer in Clarksville a week ago. They wouldn't touch the truck.Wanted basically give us scrap value for it. We couldn't understand this.This is a nice truck.Book value says its worth 5900.-7200. They offered us 3 grand. They then told us the reason was the carfax. The truck had been in a front end collison! The air bags were deployed.And to top it off there is a discrepency with the mileage! Looks like the odometer was rolled back.My husband says he thinks Tommys wrote down our trade in trucks milage.They didnt care. They have to go by the carfax and that shows it was a rollback. We had NO idea of any of this. NO ONE EVER offered us a carfax and more importantly, they NEVER disclosed the accident!! We would NOT have bought the truck if we had known. No one will take this truck now. Not with the carfax as proof of a accident, air bags & mileage wrong with it. We are stuck. WE ARE NOT HAPPY. We have bought 2 trucks from Tommys and will as you can guess NEVER go back. To say we are very very angry is an understatement. We paid way too much for a truck that has been in a front end collison , not to mention the rollback problem. *** 1FTRW08L81KDXXXXX.

Desired Settlement
A different truck would be nice. What are we going to do with this truck? The carfax has changed everything. We are stuck and this is Tommy's fault. They consealed info from us.

Business' Initial Response
This vehicle was one we had brought and sold and then it was traded back in. The finance person put it in on the wrong stock number which made the miles come up wrong. It was a honesty mistake. As far as the vehicle being wreck we had no ideal of it. The finance company that they went through would not allow a vehicle that has frame damage done on it be financed. They are very strict on that. The customers never ask for a carfax so there was one never pull. We have it posted all over our business to ask for a carfax and we will give them one. We did not hide any information on this vehicle what so every. That is not how we do business. Tommy is welling to take the truck in on trade for something else. We don't know why they didn't come back to us in the 1st place.

03/04/2013Problems with Product / Service
07/06/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
04/16/2012Problems with Product / Service
06/19/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was told the purchase price was $10,700.00. I found the sale price at $9,900.00. I was charged $13,261.00 as purchase price.
Saturday the 11th of May my spouse and I went to Tommy's Auto Sales and saw a truck we wanted. We asked the price and was quoted $10,900.00. We then proceeded to see if we qualified and what the down payment would be. I saw the sale paper that stated the same truck was for $9,900.00. I was excited. When the contract papers were all done, I saw a price, or thought I saw the price, for 10,966.07. When I questioned it I was told the cash price was $9,900.00 (cash in hand) and they charged me more since we did a loan on it. Now mind you I expected the $10,900.00 price since that was quoted to us and I expected the high interest rate since my spouse has bad credit. I did not however expect to be charged $13,261.00 as the purchase price and I was never told that was the purchase price. I called 13May13 to have this fixed thinking it was just a clerical error and was told it was not a clerical error and that I was told they would be charging me more because I financed this vehicle. The KBB value is 9100-9900 dollars. They have refused to give the vehicle to me at the price quoted. I noticed the error Sunday night, 12May13. I have sent two emails and had one phone conversation with ***** ******, with no luck to resolution. I bought a 2004 Nissan Frontier Crew Cab, 4door. Vin number is 1N6ED27TX4CXXXXXX. I am very displeased. I want the vehicle but I want it for the price quoted or for the sale price but not the price they "decided" they wanted. I was told they had to boost the price so they could get their money out of the vehicle because that would be all they get out of it. When I saw my payments I figured it was for 3 or less years. Boy am I wrong all the way and I have been taken. I am not happy and would like some help fixing this please. I want the vehicle but for the right price. ***** ****** is the one who did the paperwork. My payments are $474.69 a month beginning June 11, 2013. We put $800.00 dollars down. The Odometer read 124,568. the color is White and the interest rate is 23.99% which I did expect since it is my spouses and my name. The credit agency is ****** ********** ***** Also I just noticed that I only have 2pages of 5pages of the retail installement contract.

Also My spouse is worried about me reporting this mess to you because he does not have the actual tags as of yet, just the drive out tags, and he is worried they will take their sweet time getting the tags because of this.

Please help me.

Thank you
********* ****

Also the account number I found is XXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I want the truck for the price I was quoted, $10,900.00 dollars or for the actual sale price of $9,900.00.

I would like an apology in writing.

Business' Initial Response
********* **** AND ***** **** COME INTO OUR LOT TO BUY A VEHICLE. MS ****'S CREDIT SCORE WAS HIGH ENOUGH TO PURCHASE A VEHICLE THROUGH A BANK BUT HER HUSBAND WAS NOT SO WE HAD TO GO TO A SPECIAL FINANCE. THE PRICE THE CUSTOMER WAS QUOTED WAS A CASH PRICE, NOT A FINANCE PRICE. THE CUSTOMER WAS EXPLAIN THAT UP FRONT. THEY WERE OKAY WITH THAT AND SIGNED THE PAPERS. WHILE HERE THERE WAS A CONFLICT OF INTEREST BETWEEN THE HUSBAND AND WIFE. AFTER LEAVING THE LOT IT SEEMS TO ME THAT THERE IS STILL A CONFLICT OF INTEREST. I EXPLAIN AGAIN TO HER ON THE PHONE THE SAME THING I EXPLAIN TO HER AT THE TIME OF PURCHASE.

Consumer's Final Response
Just to be clear, I am not confused on what transpired on the 11th of May 2013 at *****'s Auto Sales when I purchased a vehicle. I was told a price and the vehicle was sold to me at another price that I was never told about.

Business' Final Response
Mrs. **** was explain at the time of purchase what she was paying for the vehicle, she knew how many payment she had and how much they were. Nothing was keep from them. Mrs. **** made her own impression of how much she was paying for the vehicle, not what was on paper. I made sure that they had time to read their paper work before signing the papers. If she is this unhappy with this deal why did she sign the papers? If she is so upset with this deal why didn't she bring it back the next day?

04/17/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
i PURCHASED A VEHICLE FROM TOMMYS IN JANUARY OF THIS YEAR AND A MONTH LATER THE TRANSMISSION WENT UP. NEITHER TOMMYS OR THE WARRANTY COMPANY WILL PAY.
i TOOK THE VEHICLE PURCHASED FROM TOMMYS TO THE REPAIR SHOP THEY REQUESTED I TAKE IT TO BECAUSE THE WARRANTY COVERED THE REPAIRS. A WEEK AFTER DOING SO THE SHOP INFORMS ME THAT THE WARRANTY REFUSES TO PAY FOR ANYTHING THE TEAR DOWN AND DIAGNOSTIC, MY RENTAL FEES OR NOW AS THE UNREPUTABLE AUTO SHOP STATES STORAGE FEES. I HAVE SPOKEN TO THE MANUFACTURER AND THEY ARE WILLING TO REPLACE THE PART FOR FREE. tHE AUTO SHOP WILL NOT RELEASE MY VEHICLE TO HAVE THE REPAIRS DONE UNTIL THEY ARE PAID FOR THE DIAGNOSTIC. I WAS NOT AWARE OF THE PRICE OF THE DIAGNOSTIC BEFORE THEY TOOK IT APART IT WASN'T UNTIL AFTER THEY TOOK IT APART THAT THEY STARTED QUOTING THREE DIFFERENT PRICES. SINCE THIS IS A COMPANY THAT TOMMYS IS AFFILIATED WITH THEY SHOULD BE ABLE TO RECTIFY THIS SITUATION WITH THEM AND THE WARRANTY COMPANY. INSTEAD OF LEAVING ME WITH NOTHING AT ALL BUT ALOT OF MONEY SPENT ON RENTALS AND HOSPITAL BILLS BECAUSE OF THE STRESS.

Desired Settlement
aLL I AM ASKING TOMMYS TO DO IS BE THE REPUTABLE COMPANY THEY REPRESENTED THEMSELVES AS WHEN I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE. i WOULD LIKE FOR THEM TO TAKE CARE OF THE BILL AT ASHWORTH AUTOMOTIVE SO I CAN HAVE MY VEHICLE REPAIRED AT FORD. I WANT THE WARRANTY COMPANY TO DO WHAT IT SAYS REIMBURSE ME FOR MY RENTAL.

Business' Initial Response
The customer has a warranty through a nationwide warranty company.Also the repair that is needed is a factory recall from the FORD dealership.We are not partners with with the auto repair shop the vehicle is at.Her complaint should be with the ford dealership about the repairs.If she would contact the dealership and explain the situation,then they are liable for the repairs,Not TOMMYS USED CARS.We should not be responsible for the bill at the repair shop since its a ford recall and nothing too do with the type of vehicles that we sell.we are sorry for her inconvience at this time.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have had problems with this vehicle since purchase. The warranty is no good to me if they will not pay for anything. I understand it is a factory recall but i never received a carfax letting me know that the problem existed. Therefore i believe it is ******'s responsibility to.correct the.situation since.i have had problems before this and asked to bring the vehicle back in exchange for.the Ford i traded in. It has become more than an inconvenience to me it is affecting my health. Ashworth my not be a subsidiarie of ******'s but you refer your customers to this business for warranty work and they will proceed to harass and over charge the customers because they feel they can. My resolution to this situation is still the.same. Give me.my trade.in and get.you vehicle from Ashworth. Its.only fair.because Im losing out all the way. I was told.if.i.had any problems.i could always.come.back there. So ****** i have a problem.that i would like to solve in respectful and expedient matter.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.