BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/01/1983

Southeast Automotive

Phone: (615) 255-7000Fax: (615) 242-12252800 Nolensville Road, NashvilleTN 37211 Send email to Southeast Automotive

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/01/1983

BBB has determined that Southeast Automotive meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Southeast Automotive's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Southeast Automotive

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
06/24/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Southeast installed the incorrect grade and quantity of oil in my car
I took my car to Southeast for an oil and filter change. The car, a 2007 Jaguar XJ6, is a car that is only driven on occasion.

After returning home, I realized that the wrong grade of oil had been installed. The oil was also filled above the recommend level. I called back and spoke to *** *****. He agreed to replace the oil and offer me free oil and filter change for my trouble. I made the 2nd trip to their store which was a 40 plus mile trip.

*** gave me one of his business cards with "1 free oil change" written on the back. He told me to come back anytime for the free change


I called the company in late October schedule the service. I was directed to the "service line" via a prompt. I never received a return call after leaving 2 messages. I called back, pressed a prompt for sales and then asked for the service department. I was then told that they had closed the service department. I told them I had a free oil change coming and wanted to take advantage of it. I was told that they had arrangements with another company for the service.

I then asked for someone in management and was told I could speak to ******* *****. I was told Mr. ***** was the owner. I have left no fewer that 4 messages with Mr. *****'s voice mail and member of his office requesting a return call. My ***** has ignored all of my calls.

I am requesting the free oil change I was promised

Desired Settlement
I am requesting the free oil and filter change i was promised

Business Response /* (1000, 23, **15/01/**) */
Mr. ******* is more than welcome to call me and I can give him instruction on where to take his vehicle for the oil change XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 38, **15/05/11) */
Consumer advised the company finally resolved the complaint after multiple attempts, but he remains dissatisfied.

02/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Southeast promised to repair the console and top interior cover when I purchased the vehicle 06.19.2014 and to date I'm still waiting for the repair.
When I purchased my car on June 19, 2014, which is the second car I purchase from Southeast since the first one had to be returned for damage, I pointed out repair issues it had. At that time and before I had paid my down payment I was told by **** at Southeast that the issues will be taken care for in the next few days. It has been now 3 months and I'm still waiting for the two specific fixes to take place. I have called **** every day and the latest I heard from him was to bring the car to **** *** of Nolensville where a Technician told me they had the parts needed for the repair but **** had not paid them yet to carry on with the work. I have gone back and forth with **** and his answer is "I'm stopping by **** *** today to leave the check" and yet no payment has been made to authorize the repair. The two repairs pending are the interior console/arm rest and the broken panel between the two visors.
Any help will be appreciated. I should have learned a lesson from the lemon they first sold me and just ran away from the dealership. Thank you.

Desired Settlement
I want Southeast to pay **** *** / **** for the parts needed to perform the repairs of the car.

Business Response
The part the customer requested was ordered and is in stock and he has been notified of that on several occasions.

07/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased 2013 Ford Escape March 1st. I had problems first week of purchase.
I purchased 2013 Ford Escape March 1st.I was told to take to Marta Monday. Monday the check tire pressure light came on. The Ford didn't pass ***** Monday there was a piece missing inside the truck where they put the instrument so it couldn't get tested.I took the suv back to the dealership to inform them the tire pressure light was on & that the suv was missing something to where it couldn't get checked. *********** took the key & came back an hour later stating that the tire light was just the senser messing up because it's cold its now off they also took the vehicle back through marta for me & that it passed. Tuesday the check tire pressure light came back on. I called *********** she told me to put air in my tires. I now have driven the suv for a week the brakes didn't feel as though they was stopping properly I once again spoke to *********** about my issue because when she sold me the vehicle she said that is was a very good car and had already been check out. But when I took the vehicle in to get the brakes checked by them they said it was the rotors. Which at that time they flipped. Vehicle brakes still doesn't feel right. March 20 my engine light comes on me & my family is out of town.The car continued to cut off on us & jurck really bad. I called & spoke to Miss.Huerta March 20 she told me to take it to any Ford dealership near me. They wanted to charge me to look at my car & also drop me & my kids off where we was staying. I decided to wait and take it back to the dealership I got the vehicle from. March 24 I took the car back to Southeast where they wanted to charge me $98 just to look at it & find out what's wrong. I explained to her that I didn't feel as though it was right for me to give any money & what I would like is for them to give me my down payment back of $1,300 & keep the vehicle. She then went & spoke to the mechanic.I went to speak to **** *** about taking the vehicle back I didn't feel comfortable with it being 2013 & the engine light is on. He said I had to talk to the bank not him. I had no idea who I even got financed through. I had no numbers. Not even the name. He told me it was in my paper work which was in the car. *********** came back & let me know that my car was fixed it was just the senser.I took the car the engine light came back on March 25 around 8pm.I called US bank that night to speak to them about the vehicle I got the information from the **** for the vehicle they sent me. I was informed that they had nothing to do with the dealership taking the car back I had to talk to the dealership about that.March 26 I took the vehicle back and once again informed Mr.*** I didn't want the vehicle the engine light was on again he informed me he wouldn't be taking the car back nor give me my down payment back because it's a 2013 & its a good vehicle. But the engine light is on again its not a good car. He once again stated its between me & the bank I informed him I had already talked to them & they said it wasn't so has I was calling them again he told me to get out of his office very rudely. I spoke to them again they said the same thing it's between me & the dealership & that they really should take it back. And that if they did that the dealership would have to send them there money back for the vehicle the bank also stated that the dealership could call them & they would explain that to them. I informed him of what was said he once again refused to keep the vehicle but instead they would fix it again. They kept the vehicle I was told they would call me Thursday March 27th they never did I call Friday at that time I was informed it would be it would be $700 to fix. And that I could come pick up the vehicle with the engine light still on while they order the part for the engine. I went to the dealership to speak to Mr.*** about why I was being told how much it's gonna cost. He said he couldn't get intouch with the Mechanic & would call me Monday he never did and it's April 1st & still no call

Desired Settlement
I have made my first car payment of $429 March 31st on a vehicle that is broken down. On April 1st I made my first insurance payment on a vehicle that is broken down. I want them to keep there vehicle give me my $1,300 down payment back my first car payment $429 and insurance money back $100

Business Response
I have looked into this complaint and can offer the following:

Ms. *********'s vehicle is out of warranty on miles from the manufacturer on this repair. She did purchase a limited coverage extended service contract at the time of sale. The vehicle was purchased on an As-Is basis form the dealership as is standard practice.

As for the air pressure sensor indicating tire pressure issues that is fairly common in all models. It is directly connected to weather conditions and is not a problem with the vehicle just a maintenance item everyone has had to deal with since that items is mandated on all vehicles now.

As for the check engine light we have taken the vehicle to Mid Tenn Ford for a diagnostic service to determine what the issue is because our scan tool would not read the code. That diagnostic service cost 201.95 and we have covered that expense as a good will gesture. The diagnosis is for Canister Vent Solenoid, remove and replace, clear codes and re-test, perform adaptive re-learn/drive cycle. The estimate for those repairs are $975.88 plus tax.

As I mentioned earlier this vehicle was sold on an As-Is basis, however we have always tried to be a good partner in the community and understand that Ms. ********* probably feels the vehicle should have not had any issues at this early date and time of ownership. While technically we have no obligations to have even paid for the diagnostic service we did and while technically we have no obligation to offer any assistance on the repair we will cover a portion of the expense for this repair as another good will gesture. The total expense is $1177.83 plus tax and my offer is Southeast will cover up to $800 of the repair. That would make Ms. *********'s share of the expense $412.78 including tax.

Ms. ********* again has purchased a used vehicle and not a warranty but a limited extended service contract. This is not a vehicle that we manufactured or warrantied in any way. We did inspect the vehicle for defects before offering it for sale as we do with all of the vehicles we offer to the public. As with any mechanical or technical piece of equipment they can and do malfunction from time to time, without notice. Used vehicles are less money because they have miles and use and usually an expired or partially expired warranty. The purchaser of a used vehicle must assume responsibility for the repair and maintenance of that vehicle not the dealership that sold it.

I think we are making a very fair offer to help and look forward to hearing back from you on this complaint. The parts are here for the repair so as soon as we have an agreement we can have the repair done.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Southeast dealership and I had already spoken about the cost of the repair of the vehicle which if Ford was fixing it the cost would be $900 Southeast said they would fix it for $700 my concerns that I spoke to the manager about several times was me paying $700 for a 2013 vehicle I've only had 3 weeks. Yes anyone in there right mind would be upset. I thought I was buying a better car than I was driving thinking that it would be a long time before it would need some work on it.Now the price of the car went way up to get it fixed our very first conversation was that it was getting fixed for free. Since I really just felt as though I'm going to continue having issues with this vehicle I wanted a refund and not get it fixed at all let them keep there vehicle. It should still be $700 to fix and I still shouldn't have to pay any thing to get it fixed. I wasnt offered nor even told that I could purchase an warranty. Yes I understand that the car is used i didn't really get a cheap price on the vehicle you can get the same car same year same color brand new same price and with warranties. Please inform me of when and where my vehicle will be getting fixed. For my car as been on your lot since March 26th 2 weeks I really need my vehicle before Easter. Thankyou very much to Southeast for giving me your good well gesture.

Final Business Response

10/30/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We basically got played out if a car when we already had one. So we ended up with no car dealing with them.
Hi, my husband and I recently got a car from southeast automotive. We only had it for a month and when we got it they told us that I was financed and everything went threw. But this past Monday, they called us back telling us that we needed to come sign some more paper work. When we arrived there, one of the guys name **** told us that that they had to take the car back from us because it wasn't financed. In the beginning it was but now it isn't. We don't understand. We had a car that was messed up and we gave it back to the car lot we received it from thinking that southeast automotive was a good fit for us to start over with a brand new car. We basically got played and ended up with no car when we had one to begin with. We're trying to understand if it wasn't financed in the beginning how were we able to leave the lot with the car and drive it for a whole month. My name is ****** ******** and my husband name is ****** ********.

Desired Settlement
The resolution that my wife and I both are looking forward to is getting a car. We have 2 smalls kids one which is a newborn. And they've basically left us with no car.

Business Response
From: **** ******** <*****@************.com>
Date: Mon, Sep 16, 2013 at 11:22 AM
Subject: Re: BBB Complaint Case#********(Ref#XX-XXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXX)
To: Better Business Bureau <*************@bbb-email.org>
Cc: **** ***** <*********@aol.com>


*****,

I have reviewed the above referenced transaction and offer the following for your review.

I spoke with the sales manager involved and the finance manager involved as well as have attached the "Conditional Delivery Agreement" signed by the customer. As I understand it we made several attempts to obtain financing for this customer but in the end it was not possible. We do review the conditional delivery status of every transaction that we deliver prior to obtaining finance approval and funding.

After talking with the managers involved they were in communication with this customer throughout the process.

If you require any further details please feel free to contact me any time.

Thanks,

**** ********



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Their still not telling me anything that's worth hearing. They haven't owned up to the fact that they left my family and I without a car. If they don't respond with the right response we'll be taking further action. We're just trying to get this resolved.

07/20/2015Billing / Collection Issues

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/01/1983Business started: 09/01/1983
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Tennessee Motor Vehicle Commission
500 James Robertson Pkwy., 2nd Floor
Nashville, TN 37243
(615) 741-2711
http://www.tn.gov/regboards/mvc/index.shtml

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 1990, TN

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William J Pratt, Jr (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Joey Huffines Paul Cox (Used Car Mgr)Mr Lane Davenport (Body Shop Manager) Tim Joyce (Service Mgr)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Body Shop Equipment & Sup

Alternate Business Names
S E Automotive (OLD INFO), Southeast Automotive (OLD INFO), Southeast Body Shop, Southeast Chrysler (OLD INFO), Southeast Collision Center (OLD INFO), Southeast Hyundai (OLD INFO), Southeast Jeep (OLD INFO)
Industry Tips
Automobile Financing

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Southeast Automotive

2800 Nolensville Road

Nashville, TN 37211

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2800 Nolensville Road 

    Nashville, TN 37211Fax: (615) 242-1225

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Southeast Automotive is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Automobile Financing
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.