BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/08/2007

Roberts Toyota

Phone: (931) 388-3006Fax: (866) 842-94731027 Nashville Hwy, ColumbiaTN 38401-2103 Send email to Roberts Toyota

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/08/2007

BBB has determined that Roberts Toyota meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Roberts Toyota's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues5
Problems with Product / Service5
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Roberts Toyota

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (10)BBB Closure Definitions
08/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After a suspension recall on2009 Rav4, had problems with noise in rear of car.
We had our rear suspension recall completed on our 2009 Rav4 in July of 2014. After we drove home we noticed a noise coming from the rear of the car. I call Roberts Toyota and make an appointment so they could investigate the problem. We arrived on July 31th, the service manager took the notes for the problem which I explained in detail. . After an hour or so the other service person said the Rav4 was ready, but explained to us that a rock was somewhere in the rear of of our vehicle and was causing the problem. Not only did a red flag go up, a ROCK ?? Also we did not get any paperwork saying we had a rock causing the problem. The next day we discoved you can still hear the noise, when you drive around a corner slowly or on a rough road. This problem did not start until after the recall was complete. We have been going to this dealer for the past three years or so and am very disappointed, without a better explanation about the rear end noise.

Desired Settlement
I would like a review of the read end of our Rav4 and fixed free of charge any problem found. This should avoid and problems down the line.

Business Response
Customer has not contacted dealer since 7/31 visit.
Dealer would gladly re-inspect vehicle at no charge.
On the 7/31 visit, technician confirmed recall repair not source of noise when he discovered clump of dirt/rock wedged in lower suspension, cauing noise customer was hearing when suspension moving slightly. technician removed this debris, test drove, noise was no longer heard.
Since there was no charge to the customer, and they had been waiting, Service advisor explained rock being wedged, that there was no charge, attempting to be repsectful of their time, allowed them to take the car without having to wait another 10/15min for technician and advisor to finish paperwork.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

06/09/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I paid the dealer to tag and register my vehicle. They issued a tag with the incorrect county and forced me to go to my county clerk to straighten it
I paid the dealer to tag and register my vehicle. They issued a tag with the incorrect county and forced me to go to my county clerk to straighten it. I paid for for their service and instead they sent a refund for the wheel tax for my county and continue to insist it is my issue to straighten out. I paid $750 in administrative fees to do the work myself

Desired Settlement
I just want a legal tag to put on my vehicle. One that has the correct county.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ********* *******
Contact Phone: (XXX) XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *********@robertstoyota.com
Dlr is currently awaiting refund check that customer declined. Dlr plans to mail refund check amount to Montgomery County for the purchase of a Montgomery county sticker. Dlr has been instructed by customer to take this action due to the customer not being able to do so, because of his work schedule. Title clerk for dlr has been in contact with customer about issue weekly. We always register our customer's vehicles in Maury County and tell the customers to take the tag to their courthouse to pay the wheel tax and get the appropriate county tag, if necessary. The $650 fee paid was the lease acquisition fee charged by Toyota Financial, not by ******* Toyota.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
******* Toyota has not been in contact with me weekly. I am going to check my paperwork again, but I am most certain that I was told by the finance guy that one of the fees was a fee so they could process my paperwork. In the meantime I will wait for a more adequate response from ******* Toyota.

Final Business Response
The other fee, to which she might be referring, is the dealer documentation (processing) fee. It is $398, and we are required by TN state law to charge that on every car deal.

04/15/2013Problems with Product / Service
02/22/2013Problems with Product / Service
02/11/2013Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
01/16/2014Problems with Product / Service
01/05/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The sale presented the 72 point inspection as a protection but items found in the inspection were not fixed before the sale or in the days after.
I purchased a 2009 Corolla on 10/24/14. During the sale the sales rep presented the fact that the car had gone through a 72 point inspection so I need not worry about any major parts. After buying the car I started having issues the next day. I spoke with the sales manager who assured me this would be taken care of. The sale manager later refused to repair the car. The alternator and water pump need to be replaced. I found out from the tech on site that the water pump and battery flagged during the inspection but sales didn't want to fix it. The sale manager is still refusing to repair the car even though they know about this issue and didn't fix it before I bought the car. They never once mention anything showing up in the inspection that wasn't fix.

Desired Settlement
I simply want ******* to repair the items that were faulty at the time of me purchasing the car.
The alternator and water pump need to be replace and at this point I feel the belt should be as well.

Business Response
The customer bought the car AS-IS. As a goodwill gesture, we are willing to pay 50% of the cost of the repairs to the vehicle, if the repairs are done in our service department.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not feel this is a fair offer. The way the car was sold was based on the understanding that the 72 point inspection was a garauntee against mechanical failures preseale. The issues found during the inspection should have been fixed based on the selling practice of upselling the inspection. Fraud was committed during the sale of this vehicle. I want the vehicle repaired to the state that it was represented as. No deduction was given during the sale to compensate for the repairs and I feel that it is the obligation of the fraudulent party to cover the cost.


Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/12/2002Business started: 01/01/2000Business started locally: 08/01/2001
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Tennessee Motor Vehicle Commission
500 James Robertson Pkwy., 2nd Floor
Nashville, TN37243
(615) 741-2711
http://www.tn.gov/regboards/mvc/index.shtml

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: September 1999, TN

Business Management
Customer Contact: Ms. Catherine Roberts-Slater (General Manager)
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Eddie Roberts (Owner)Ms Tabitha Ellison (CFO)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Tire Dealers, Truck Dealers, Auto Renting & Leasing, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Repairing - Foreign

Products & Services

According to information supplied by the company, it offers the sale and service of new and used vehicles.

Alternate Business Names
Roberts Motor Company, Inc.
Industry Tips
Automobile Financing
Automobile - Repair
Automobile - Renting

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Roberts Toyota has received 5.00 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Roberts Toyota

1027 Nashville Hwy

Columbia, TN 38401-2103

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1027 Nashville Hwy 

    Columbia, TN 38401-2103

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Roberts Toyota is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Automobile Financing
Automobile - Repair
Automobile - Renting
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.