BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/16/2007

Rivergate Toyota Scion

Phone: (615) 868-7990Fax: (615) 860-18111520 North Gallatin Pike, MadisonTN 37115 Send email to Rivergate Toyota Scion

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/16/2007

BBB has determined that Rivergate Toyota Scion meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Rivergate Toyota Scion's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Rivergate Toyota Scion

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
07/23/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
DRIVER SEAT BELT NOT WORKING, BRAND NEW CAR & WARRANTY, MY LIFE IS ON RISK, BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE
DRIVER SEAT BELT NOT WORKING SO I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER IN RIVERGATE TOYOTA IN MADISON TN JULY 20, 2015 SO THEY COULD CHECK IT AND THEY CHECK IT FOR ONLY 10 MIN AND SAID THERE'S A COIN INSIDE AND WOULDN'T FIX IT SO I TOOK IT TO ANOTHER DEALER AND TOLD ME DIFFERENT SAYING TO ME THERE WAS NOT A COIN INSIDE OF THE DRIVER SEAT BELT SO I WENT BACK TO THE TOYOTA DEALER AND WANTED TO TALK TO THE MANAGER AND WE WAITED FOR 2 HOURS. THEY TREATED ME WITH A BAD FORM. THE CAR IS BRAND NEW TOYOTA CAMRY BOUGHT IT LAST FOUR MONTHS AGO AND IT STILL HAS WARRANTY AND I PAY $419 INCLUDED 3 YEARS OF WARRANTY.

Desired Settlement
JUST TO FIX IT BECAUSE I HAVE A WARRANTY AND LEARN TO TREAT A CUSTOMER

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Jay A. J***** Sr. CS Mgr
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@rivergatetoyota.com
We did NOT tell Mr Sanchez he had something stuck in his seat belt latch. We told him we did not have the part in stock. We would rush order it. Once we install the new part, we will take the old one apart. What we told him was, "If there is something stuck inside the latching mechanism, it is not a manufacture defect. There for, it will not be covered under warranty." "If there is nothing stuck inside, it will be covered by warranty." We can not make that call, until we take the old one apart. We will not take the old one apart without a replacement to put on. His part arrived. He has been notified that it is here. We are waiting for him to come back in. He wants us to tell him it is covered under his warranty. We can not help him, until he brings it back in for us to install the new part.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


05/09/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My wife and I have been having problems with the blower motor and oil leaks on our 2015 Toyota Camry.Vin.# *****************
My wife and I went to Rivergate Toyota in March 2014 and bought a new Toyota Camry because of past purchases from Toyota and the quality of the cars.But since we purchased this auto it seems like we have had nothing but trouble from this auto as it started out as the air blower would just stop working during the cold winter weather which caused a safety hazard to my family due to no defrost or heater working and when we took the car to Rivergate Toyota it started working and we had to settle for the answer that it is working now so we left the dealer and in about three weeks it quit blowing again and so we went again to Rivergate Toyota and that was when Rivergate Toyota did check the blower motor and found it to be faulty and replaced the blower motor, and for our ongoing problem now we took our auto to get the 15,000 mile multi point inspection an and oil change and that is where the problem is now.After having the oil changed we have had a oil leak from under the car since 03/10/2016 and we have taken this auto back to the dealer for them to check it out and fix the problem, we have had it back out on Three(3) different Saturdays and they tell us that the oil o-ring was bad and that was causing the leak and the last time was on Saturday 04/16/2016 @ 07:00 and we was there until 09:25 and that was when the service manager (MIKE) put the car on the rack and found the oil leaking from the oil mounting system canister and o-rings which we were told that that system would be replaced so we trusted him to do his job but only to find out that on Sunday 04/17/2016 when we moved the car that we still had new spots on our driveway from oil leaking from this auto which seems like to me that nobody from Rivergate Toyota can fix or repair.On Saturday @ 09:25 I asked Mike for a copy of the paperwork for the repairs done to this auto and was told that it would not be necessary due to the repair that was done,so all we have is our word and a tank of gas due to the extra trips we have made to the dealership and a free car wash so the oil would be washed off the underside of the car.

Desired Settlement
If Toyota can't fix or repair the problem with the oil leaking from this auto from which Toyota changed the oil the first time then we would like to have a replacement car issued to us to take the place of this one which fits the Tennessee Lemon law

Business Response
When the customer brought the car in because the blower motor wasn't working, it was working. Toyota will not warranty a part replacement for a part that is working. They require that we send all warranty replacement parts back to Toyota, for inspection. There is no way to diagnose a blower motor that is working. We did replace the motor when it went out, under full warranty. We do not change the oil on a 15K service. Their car has synthetic oil. It only gets the oil changed every 10K. The 15K service is a tire rotation. There were no problems created by an oil change we did not do. When the car came in and they said it was leaving a few small drops in their driveway. We inspected it. There was oil at the bottom of the oil filter. We replaced the O-rings that holds the oil filter. It was covered under warranty. We ran the car for almost an hour there was no leak. When they came back it had oil on the filter again. We changed the complete oil filter housing this time. This was NOT covered under warranty and we ate the cost of the repair. That is why there was no paperwork. Once again we ran the car for almost an hour. No leaks. The customer called back and said there were a few small drops on there driveway again. We contacted the customer today. We drove a rental car out to the customers house. We let them have the rental while we brought their car back here to be worked on. We cleaned off the filter and ran the car for several hours. We found that the oil pan gasket next to and in front of the oil filter had a very minor leak. We replaced the motor pan gasket. WE have ran the car for another couple of hours. There is no more leak. We are going to take the customers car back to him. The service manager has been in contact with the customer all day. The oil leak was so small it was hard to detect. WE only found it after several hours of running it.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This was on a brand new Toyota Camry and loyal customers with more than twenty years of Toyota autos bought from rivergate a customer should not be expected to have this much trouble with a new auto from any car company.Quality was what my wife and I expected from Toyota and at this time we just don't fill like Toyota shares the same.Rivergate Toyota Service Department Has Been Very Nice About Fixing The Problems We Have Had After Taking The Car Back Several Times.I don't know how many more problems we have to have before we have to file the paperwork with the State Of Tennessee for a replacement of the car under the Lemon Law.I hope this does not have to be done.

Final Business Response
I spoke with Mr. ******. His car is run fine now. No problems. He is very happy with Rivergate Toyota. He buys all his cars here. He gets all his cars serviced here. He said he will continue to do all his business with us. He said he he has issues with Toyota. That two things have gone wrong with his car, since he has bought it. One was the blower motor. The other was the small oil leak on the oil pan. I have assured him that Toyota still makes the most reliable cars on the road still. These were just minor things, that were taken care of by warranty. He was concerned that none of his other Toyota's had ever had any issues ever. He is happy.

04/07/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company has refused to settle the terms of the sale.
Feb 19 I purchased a 2006 Toyota Camry with 186 K miles. The vehicle had plastic covers over the floor mats. When I got the vehicle home and realized the driver side floor mat was missing I contacted the sales person Dax.

He advised the mat was at the dealership and I could pick it up when I returned.

After reviewing the sales paperwork, I noticed the removal/repair/replacement of the drivers side floor mat is listed in the "Repair" section of the shop.
When I returned to the dealership, "Dax" only had a different color (grey) floor mat that is not the correct mat for the 2006 model Camry.

When I pointed out the difference in color (the original was tan/brown) and showed him the work order for replacing the original, he only shrugged and said "This is the only one they had".

I didn't pay $9,000 for a 10 yr old car with 186 K miles to NOT get the correct floor mat.

Desired Settlement
Very simply, replace the correct, factory driver side floor mat for the 2006 Camry I purchased and replace it with the correct color.
Correct size. Correct color. Correct model.

Business Response
Mr ******* bought his 13 year old 186K car AS IS. When we did the safety inspection, we removed the old worn out mat. It was not safe. We have since been in contact with Mr. *******. We are good willing Mr. ******* a set of floor mats. We have ordered the replacement floor mats for his car. They will be in Monday. He is completely satisfied.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No, Mr. ******* is NOT completely satisfied he had to file a complaint with the BBB to accomplish something that should have and could have been accomplished with a simple phone call.

I do completely understand what a "AS IS" vehicle purchase is and at no time during the sales process was it mentioned to me that this was a "AS IS" purchase nor was I EVER provided any documentation that would lead me to believe this. In fact, based on the information I was told during the sales process, I was led to believe otherwise.

Furthermore, I am not completely satisfied that two days after filing this complaint regarding the floor mat, the transmission on the car began to slip and 5 days later the cars "CHECK ENGINE" light came on.

I reside in Davidson County and I will not be able to obtain plates for the car until it can pass the Emissions Test and it will not pass with the "CHECK ENGINE" light on.

I do not know what deceptive mechanical tricks were done to this vehicle to assure it was sold and gotten off the lot but I am most certainly not completely satisfied.

It's clear that I purchased a "LEMON" from the Rivergate Toyota "LEMON LOT". It will cost me $100's, and possibly $1,000's of dollars to fix and repair this vehicle I have owned for less than 30 days and I am not satisfied about that but I am sure the owners of the Rivergate Toyota Lemon Lot are completely satisfied they have taken advantage of another trusting member of the public.

04/05/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sales Team Misrepresented Warranty Information to Make a Sale
I first came to this dealership last weekend on Saturday, February 14, 2015 when looking for a new family vehicle. My wife and I were looking at a Toyota Sienna minivan and we saw a used one on the lot. I had done my research, so I knew exactly what I was looking for and how much I should spend for a particular vehicle make and model. I found one that possibility fit the bill and that we liked, but I wanted to look around before making a purchase decision.

With the ice storm that has hit Nashville all week, the first opportunity we had to visit the dealership again was this weekend, Friday, February 20, 2015. Unfortunately the van I was looking at the previous weekend had been sold. The salesman ****** **** told me about a new trade-in that would be ready if I wanted to come back in the morning (Saturday) to see it. That night when talking to the general manager, I was given a price of $21,900. When comparing other vehicles, I wanted to get a Toyota certified to Toyota certified comparison. Another dealership had offered me a complete wrap, a bumper to bumper comprehensive policy, up to 100,000 miles. The GM stated for the $21,900 price they offered that they would also add the certification and the complete wrap to the vehicle to make the sale. I agreed to come back in the morning.

Saturday, my wife and I ventured out in the bad weather, ice and rain, to go look at the van at the dealership. ****** **** confirmed the previous price of $21,900 while we looked at the van in the service bay. My wife and I then drove the van and made an offer on it of $23,000 out the door. The sale team came back to my wife and I and said that there was a mistake and the sales price was actually $22,900. My wife and I thanked them, told them that this was not what we agreed to and promptly left the dealership and got in our car.

On our way out the driveway of the dealership, **** and ****** came outside and flagged us down. Both stated that they made a mistake and the price was actually $21,900 and not $22,900. We again offed the dealership $23,000 out the door for the vehicle. The dealership countered with an amount that was approximately $1,200 more than we offered. I countered with only an additional $1000. The dealership agreed to the total $24,000 out the door certified with a wrap warranty and we had a deal.

The whole time we were filling out the application and the sales contract with ****** ****, I asked about the certified warranty and wrap coverage. ****** gave us a book and told us that the finance person would go over the actual wrap warranty. I asked if he could write it down on any of the sales documents specifically about the wrap, but he said to trust him and the finance guy would take care of it.

My wife and I went to the finance person and we were approved for the loan, however the dealership then proceeded to add the cost of the wrap warranty onto the out the door price we negotiated just a few minutes prior next door. After a brief discussion with the finance person our sales person was called in to verify the conversation. Our sales person ****** **** verified that the wrap warranty was what we talked about, but the finance person stated that **** (or the GM??) would not make the deal with the wrap warranty included. They went on to say that they would make the deal if we agreed to the original purchase price for the vehicle. We already had a signed purchase agreement. My wife and I got up and left without completing our purchase. No vehicle is worth a dishonest transaction and that is exactly what this was.

****** **** stated in his last email to us that "sometimes customers negotiate there way out of great deal". This type of misrepresentation should not be tolerated.

Desired Settlement
This dealership has demonstrated a complete lack of integrity and respect for their customers or potential customers in this sales process. I honestly don't know what the dealership could do to completely repair the relationship. This type of action is a real hard pill to swallow.

My wife and I have already had our credit pulled and have filled out 90% of the paperwork with the dealership. We had an agreement. I feel they should do the right thing and honor our original agreement. That is just the right thing to do.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ** ******* *** CSM
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@rivergatetoyota.com
Mr ***** came in to buy a our Sienna van Friday. It was internet (lowest price) priced at $24,977. Before tax, title, and fees. Mr ***** came in knowing that was a good deal. Our van was loaded. He talked to the GM about lowering the price. Due to the weather, our GM lowered the price to $22,977. Mr ***** then asked if we could "include" the Toyota Certification AND a full 7 year wrap warranty. Those two items cost the dealership over $1500. Mr ***** is now $3500 below the price he came in to buy the van at. He agreed on the deal. He said he would be back Saturday to buy the van. He came back Saturday and offered us $21,732 (another $1,245 less). That now puts the van at $4,745 less than the internet price. The GM said he would give him that price, and the Toyota certification, but not the 7 year wrap warranty. He said he would offer the 7 wrap warranty at dealer cost to Mr *****. To top it off, Mr ***** only offered us $24,000 out the door. The original agreed price with all the warranties was $22,977. The out the door price would be $25,333.74. He was looking to knock off $1,333.74 on the agreed price of the car. We are in the business to sell cars. We are willing to work with customers on the price of the cars. We are not in the business to lose money selling cars. We were willing to give the customer his original requests. We agreed on his final price, with him paying the dealer cost of the warranty he wanted. Mr ***** is the one that changed the agreed upon price.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The dealership has their facts wrong in their response. The agreed upon price was $21,900 with the Toyota certification and wrap warranty. This was what we agreed to on Friday night. This is what they did to earn my business from a competing dealership. I came in on Saturday with my wife and test drove the vehicle. After the test drive I confirmed the price again was $21,900 with the sales person with the Toyota certification and wrap warranty. He agreed. When we went into the dealership to write up the deal, the sales team came back with the $22,900 price. This was not what we agreed to. I find it funny that the response from the dealership does not include the following information. My wife and I thanked them for their time and left the dealership not agreeing to the $22,900 price. My wife and I got in our car and began to pull out of the driveway. The salesman and the sales manager came out into the parking lot and flagged us down before we pulled out onto Gallatin road. They said it was their mistake and the price was actually $21,900 like we originally agreed. I again asked if this was certified with the warranty and they said yes. I did this from my car. Only then did my wife and I agree to pull back into the dealership. We wrote up the sale. The whole time I requested our salesman ****** **** write the terms of the warranty down. He said trust me and handed us a certified Toyota brochure as some type of reassurance. He said it will be taken care in financing. I asked again to write it on the sales paperwork. He said it was not necessary. We filled out the application and they ran our credit. Then they drove us over to their financing office and that's where they changed the terms of the deal to add the warranty to the terms of the deal. There is no integrity in this type of transaction. My wife and I got up and left the dealership.

This whole situation is why people do not like car dealerships. Rivergate Toyota could have just declined the deal in the first place. This would have been the honest and right thing to do. You have to ask yourself a question. How did they get my wife and I back into the dealership? They want to spin this story to make it sound like we negotiated with a low ball offer and the deal fell through and we just left. That's a good spin, but that's not the facts happened. Again, how did they get my wife and I back into the dealership? They agreed to the terms of the deal as stated.

Since leaving the dealership, I have had the opportunity to connect through social networking and ask others if they have had similar experiences. I received 1500+ responses within 24 hours.

If the dealership does not want to do the right thing and honor our agreement, its on them. However, they will not spin this story to their advantage and I will make sure others know the facts and do not make a similar mistake.

Final Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ** ****** CS Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@rivergatetoyota.com
There are two sides to every story. You were negotiating the vans price over and over. You left the dealership again. We sold the van. You were upset because it was a great deal. We in the business to sell vehicles. It was a used van. We sold it. Our General sales manager sent you the above E-mail. You never responded. We will be more than happy to sell you a van. We need you to please come in and see our general manager. Tell him what you want. We are buying and selling vans daily. We will find you what you are looking for. We can not get you another van, unless you tell us what you want. We are here to serve you.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept the dealership's response. Here are the undisputed facts of this issue.

1. I went to Rivergate Toyota on Friday, February 13, 2015 and looked at a 2012 Toyota Sienna XLE minivan. It had just been taken in on a trade and it was still in service. I asked for the price of the vehicle and was told it would be sold for $21,900 + TTL with a complete WRAP warranty. I agreed to bring my wife in to look at it in the morning.

2. My wife and I went to Rivergate Toyota on Saturday, February 14, 2015 to look at the van. The weather conditions were treacherous due to the ice storm, but we still went out to the dealership.

3. My wife and I looked at the van and asked the dealership to write up how much the final cost would be on the vehicle.

4. The dealership came back with the final number, the minivan base price was $22,900 and not $21,900 as we previously discussed.

5. My wife and I thanked the sales people and left the office. We got in our car and started heading out of the dealership. The sales manager and our salesman came out into the parking lot and told us they made a mistake and the price was actually $21,900. My wife and I went back into the dealership.

6. The dealership made the deal to sell the 2012 Toyota Sienna XLE with a wrap warranty for $24,000 out the door.

7. We filled out all of the paperwork with our sales person and went to financing.

8. The finance person disclosed to us that the deal had changed and that the $21,900 now did not include the wrap warranty.

9. We asked to have our salesman come to the financing office. ****** our sales person came to the sales office and confirmed the original deal of $24,000 out the door with a wrap warranty. The finance person stated that **** would not approve the deal with the wrap warranty. The sales person agreed that that was not the deal.

10. My wife and I left the dealership without completing the purchase.

If the dealership wants to dispute the facts as I have stated, then let them dispute the facts. I have an email from the GM stating that this was clearly confusion on the part of their staff. At no time after this issue has the dealership contacted me to rectify this situation (which is what you do if you want to keep a customer) or stated anything in their response (through the BBB or on the Internet) that would justify their actions for changing the deal after it was agreed to. This is why I filed the complaint. If you make a deal or if an authorized representative from your dealership makes a deal, then you should stick to it. The customer is not at fault for your actions. You could have held you head high and declined the deal in the first place. That is acceptable. Coming back after the deal fell through and blaming the customer (i.e. two side to every story) so you have a good PR story is not good business practice and justifies to me why I filled the complaint in the first place.

08/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Went to have an oil leak fixed. Car still leaks oil.
My husband and I own a 92 Toyota Camry. We had an oil leak and took it to Rivergate Toyota to have our rear main seal fixed, this was June 16,2014. After the tech looked at our car a *** ***** **** proceeds to tell us that we needed a list of other things done and that we didn't need to worry about the rear main seal at the moment, these other things needed to be fixed first. They agreed to do all these things including: replace the valve cover gasket,cam seal,crank seal,oil pump oring,oil pump seal and rotor kit, and the timing belt, for the price they quoted us to replace the rear main seal.This was $874.45. So we agreed only after they assured us these things were more important. At 4:27 pm we pick up our car. When we get home( which is only 2 mins.away) we notice the car has oil dripping out of it. My husband took it back right away, they told him they would keep it over night to check it. The next day it still was not ready, we were told the tech. was busy with other work. On the 19th of June we go to pick up our car, they tell us that the oil pressure was rising back to normal and that's what loosened somethings around the engine, but that he had fixed it and we were ready to go.That same day my husband was on his way to work and the car died on him. He checked the oil and it was all gone. He tried adding oil and it ran right through the car(I have a video of this). At this point my husband calls and spoke with ***** **** and he said they would have the car towed back to Rivergate Toyota. When my husband got there they told him it was in fact the rear main seal. After dealing with the service manager **** ******* we agreed to have them fix the rear main seal for $200.00. They said they fixed the problem. And my invoice says"NO LEAKS DETECTED AFTER REPAIR." The car is still leaking and I have pictures to prove this. My question then is why is my car still leaking oil and in worse shape than it was before we took it in to have work done. After they "worked" on it, THE CAR WILL NOT RUN!!!And we can see where nothing was removed. This is our only vehicle. We feel as though we were taken advantage of because of the age of our car. We are not the only ones who have had problems with Rivergate Toytoa. Several of our friends have also. I contacted the headquarters and they told me a MR.*** ****** *** (Customer Relations Manager from Rivergate Toyota) would contact me by the end of business on Tuesday, July 8,2014, he did not. They have been no help what so ever.

Desired Settlement
I feel like we are entitled to a full refund of what we paid. I also am seeking the amount the car is worth or for the car to be fixed the right way. I would even settle for a different car that has low miles and is in good running condition.After all we have no vehicle do to the work we had done from their company.

Business Response
This is the third responds on the same issue. They brought their car (with 231,889 miles on it) to us. They told us a not Toyota person said they needed a main rear oil seal replaced. Yes it was leaking oil out of the rear main seal. After we inspected it, it was determined that there were several more important areas leaking. ALL of the gaskets, hoses and seals were rotted. The normal maintenance had not been kept up on that car for a long time. Many things needed to be done. We advise the customer the cost of bring the car up to good running condition would cost a lot of money. He said he like his car and wanted it fixed. We would have gladly fixed everything that needed to be fixed. Do to the cost, the customer decided to fix only what needed to be fixed first. We showed the customer everything that needed to be repaired on the car. Including the rear main seal. We told him why everything needed to be repaired. The CUSTOMER decided not to fix all the problems. We also advised the customer that the car had low engine oil pressure. We told him it was probably do to internal engine wear. Because the car was so old and had so many miles on it. The cost of replacing a rear main seal is $889. After the rear main seal went out, the car was towed to us. We had never touched the rear main seal. We paid for the towing and $669 of the repairs. The repairs were only done after the customer approved them. This car was repair only at the customer request and customer approval. We have done nothing wrong. We back ALL of our work for one year unlimited miles. If the customer would like to come back and show us any work that we did, that is not working or has gone bad. We will do that work at no cost to them.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept this response . We were never told we had low oil pressure actually we were the ones that asked why we had no oil pressure after they worked on the car.They told us we didn't that we actually had good oil pressure!!! And today the 15th of July 2014 at 8:00 am my husband and father took the car in to Rivergate Toyota where the service manager informed my husband and father that they would NOT be doing anything for us to fix the car. My father asked them "what they were going to do for us ?" and the service manager said," we aren't going to do anything for you."So no I do not accept this response.

Final Business Response
We stand behind every repair we do. We did NOT repair ALL of the things that needed to be repair on this car. We did explain everything that did need to be repaired to the customer. The total cost was almost $3000. We did tell him that it may not be worth what the repairs would cost. Since it is a 22 year old car and had not been maintained. We were told by the customer, fix it. I like this car and can not afford a new one. He then told us that he could not afford to have everything fixed. He asked us to fix the most important things first. We took him back to the car. We showed him and explained to him, what we were going to fix, why we were going to fix these things. We also showed him and explained to him what we were not fixing. But that those things we did not fix, still needed repair. He gave us his blessing. He was the one that did not want everything fixed. Not one repair we have made has broke or gone bad. Every problem that has happened to that car was not touch by us. Not one. They want us to give them a car (a newer good condition lower mile car)? Or give them all their money back (for repairs and parts we did, that are still good), and repair everything that we have not yet touched for free? Not one thing we have repaired has broke. Everything that is breaking, is and was bad, when we originally looked at the car. They may the decision not to repair them do to cost factors. Once again, we stand behind every repair we have done to that car. We warranty all of those repairs and parts for one year unlimited miles. They will not be getting a car from us. Nor will they be getting money back for repairs and parts that are still working and good. We will not be fixing things we did not fix for free. Yes, they were asked not to come back. They have raised their voices and made untrue accusations. They have done this to the service writer, service manager, the mechanics, customer service manager, and anybody within shouting distance. They have done this more than once. Through out the whole dealership (the service lane, repair area, the customer service office, and outside the customer lounge). This is a place of business. We have never treated them like that. We always treated them fairly, with respect, and dignity. After so many times, they were asked not to return. If any of our repairs breaks or goes bad (within a year), we will fix them for free.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/29/1986Business started: 12/01/1983
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Tennessee Motor Vehicle Commission
500 James Robertson Pkwy., 2nd Floor
Nashville, TN 37243
(615) 741-2711
http://www.tn.gov/regboards/mvc/index.shtml

Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
Customer Contact: Mr. Pat Campbell (Controller)
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jay Jerome
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Repair & Service - Equipment & Supplies, Auto Services, Auto Repair & Service, Truck Dealers, Tire Dealers, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - New Cars

Products & Services

According to information supplied by the company, it offers automobile sales and service.

Alternate Business Names
Rivergate Toyota, Rivergate Motors LP
Industry Tips
Automobile Financing
Automobile - Repair

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Rivergate Toyota Scion has received 3.7 out of 5 stars based on 3 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Rivergate Toyota Scion

1520 North Gallatin Pike

Madison, TN 37115

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1520 North Gallatin Pike 

    Madison, TN 37115(615) 868-7990

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Rivergate Toyota Scion is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Automobile Financing
Automobile - Repair
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.