BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Nelson Mazda Nashville

(615) 868-8100View Additional Phone Numbers1212 Broadway, NashvilleTN 37203-3118http://www.nelsonmazdatn.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the sale of new and pre-owned vehicles, service and parts.

BBB Accreditation

Nelson Mazda Nashville is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating because it is out of business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Nelson Mazda Nashville

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
09/04/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Nelson Mazda is refusing to give back my $1800 they said was to "hold" a used vehicle as financing for a new vehicle didn't work out.
August 16th, 2013, I went to nelson mazda; they tried to get me into a 2013 Mazda 5. I only had $1800 to put down; however, they said the financing company needed $4000. We signed paperwork for the sale with the understanding that we could return the vehicle within 3days if we could not obtain the $2200 more to make the $4000 downpayment. After adding my full coverage insurance to the Mazda 5, I left their dealership after 9pm the 16th in the 2013 Mazda 5. I brought the car back and ask for my money back August 17th, after having the vehicle about 14-16hours. I was unable to get the loan for the rest of the $4000 downpayment required. They ignored my wishes to return the car, return my $1800, and part ways; instead they tried to explain to me how getting a vehicle with them would help my credit and put me in a better purchasing position within 12-15months. I sent my husband, also purchasing the vehicle with me, inside to get our money back. They convinced my husband to let them transport a 2010 Mazda 5 to their dealership by August 19th or 20th, and told us to keep driving the 2013 Mazda 5 until then. I called on the 19th and the 20th and both days was given the run around about where the 2010 Mazda 5 was. It had not arrived to the dealership yet. I called again, August 21st, and ask to speak with a manager. They put me through to ***** in accounting; he spoke with **** in sales and called me back informing me the 2010 Mazda 5 would arrive August 23rd. I told ***** at that time I just wanted to get my $1800 back if they vehicle didn't arrive Friday the 23rd. On the afternoon of Friday the 23rd I called, and was told the 2010 Mazda 5 was there, but needed to be serviced. At that point I demanded to have my $1800 returned, and informed ***, in the sales department, that I no longer wish to do business with them and had felt I had been given to much of the run around and made too many calls to keep myself informed. After another conversation of him explaining how this purchase will help my credit, he finally said they couldn't get me a check that day, as it was after 5:30pm and there was no "check writer" there. *** told me to call Monay, August 26th. I called today, August 26th, *** has not arrived at work so I was put on the phone with **** in sales. When I explained I was calling about getting a check for my refund of $1800 because I no longer wanted to wait for the 2010 Mazda 5 after so many changes from them as to when it would be avaiable, he told me that's not how they do business and I cannot have the $1800 back. He informed me that it was nonrefundable because it was placed to hold a vehicle. He was rude when I continued to demand it back, and went on to tell me he had other vehicles on the lot he could show me. I am completely dissatisfied with the service they have provided; I did use their 2013 Mazda 5 this whole waiting period of 10days; however, as stated before I tried to return their 2013 and be done with them the following day of the original visit. I feel they are pushing me around and bullying me into a vehicle that I do not want! I have not signed any paperwork for the 2010 Mazda 5 and I never signed paperwork stating they were keeping my $1800 to hold a vehicle for me! I want my money back and I want to take my business anywhere but there as they have ignored my wishes, not held up to their original offer, and finally today, been rude and arrogant!

Desired Settlement
I want my full $1800 that I paid in cash returned to me immediately.

Business' Initial Response
I have been in contact with Mrs ****. She is currently in the 2010 Mazda 5 she purchased from us. I am looking to see if I can find a bigger vehicle for her as this one is not big enough. I will try and satisfy her as we do not want any unhappy customers.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I have talked with the manager, *****. He did offer me a different vehicle; however, I felt it was best to take my $1800 back and look for something else. The Mazda 5 was too small for my family and our needs, but what really turned me away to begin with was the customer service. *****, I was very pleased with. He was very courteous and attentive. He never once raised his voice or became rude or irritated (as **** did). I appreciate his attentive and timely response, and I am satisfied with the outcome. Thanks!

04/21/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I went to Nelson Mazda to see about turning in my leased Ford for a Mazda 6. I asked for the same monthly payment with no money down. Could they do it
I had already gotten my payoff for my leased Ford on 2/2/15. Nelson knew that when I came in, because I gave them the computer printed document. They said they could get me the car at the same price I was paying, with nothing down, and would pay off my car in full. They assured me of this many times. When signing papers, I questioned **** about the part where it said I would pay the difference, if there was any. He said it would probably only be about $400 for various fees, and again, that my car would be paid off in full. The payoff document from Ford was for $16520.00, and was good until 2/12/15. I assumed that was the final payoff, and Nelson Mazda told me it would be paid off within 10-12 days. I assumed it would be taken care of, but when my next payment was due on 2/24, I checked my account online, and it now had me down as a late payment. I called Nelson Mazda on 2/25 and was told, by ******, that Mazda will be paying off the full amount. She said they couldn't pay off my car until mine had been funded, which was not true, because I had already received the 1st bill, and it's dated 2/19/15. I said if they can't pay my car off in full, as promised, I will bring the car back, since it only has 300 miles on it. That's when she said it was out of her control, and somebody would be calling me directly. Nobody did! 2/26/15, 11:00AM called again, and asked if I should just come in, and again, I was told somebody would call back. Nobody did! 11:30AM, and left a message.Called again at 11:45, and I was given to ***** ******* He told me they were going to talk to a former employee, ***** *******, who now works for ****/******* in Franklin. He said everything will work out. They have a courier taking the check over now. It will be paid in full, and that my account should be resolved in about 48 hours. He said they called Ford and got the payoff, and wrote a check for it, but "he couldn't remember the amount" when asked. "If it is not the whole amount or if it's different, ***** ******* will pay it, and Mazda will pay Ford back." He said, there should be nothing extra out of my pocket that I should have to pay. 3/4/15 called Ford, ***** said that "Mazda tried to pay it off, but it was denied because of no odometer reading". 11:00AM, called and left message with ***** ****** concerning what's going on. 3/6/15 called ******** ****, and ******* said I need to come into the ******** ****, with Mazda's check, and pay it off. She said this was explained to Mazda 3/3/15. She would call ***** ****** and call back. Nothing. Called again at 4:28 with message. Nothing! 3/7/15, called Nelson Mazda 10:40AM, ****, who is under *****, said the non-payment to Ford for Feb. won't go on my credit report until it is 30 days late, and that ***** had JUST walked in, and he JUST got a text from Ford from ***** *******, "Everything is getting taken care of". 3/17/15, again I ask to talk to ***** ******* and told he would call me, NO CALL! Now it's 3/23, a late payment goes on my credit tomorrow, so I call ***** ****** again. Now he tells me I gave them the wrong payoff, and I owe them $3,228.12. I did not! I showed them the payoff I received from Ford on a computer print out. I found out, TODAY, if a dealership pays off the car, the price is higher. I didn't know this, but I know they knew this from the beginning. They handle leases all the time, and for them to pretend they didn't know this is ridiculous! If I knew I would have to pay an extra $3228.12 for the car, I would never have leased it. They knew it! They lied to me through this entire process, and have been stringing me along until now, when they have to pay the extra amount for the car. so they are sticking it to me. If I had $3228.12 to put down on a car, I would have done that and bought one. They have been in business for a long long time, and they knew exactly what they were doing. I have never leased a car before. I'm a retired teacher, and I believed what they told me. Shame on them!!

Desired Settlement
They agreed to pay off my Ford in full, and assured me nothing else would have to come out of my pocket. Now they are asking for $3228.12. I don't think I should have to pay this. They knew perfectly well what they were doing. They strung me along for 2 months when I had concerns about the payoff of my Ford, and why it wasn't happening, and now they are accusing me of giving them the wrong payoff. I didn't! I gave them MY payoff, straight from the computer of Murfreesboro TN, Ford dealership. They knew this, but now want me to pay the difference between a dealership payoff, and my payoff. I didn't know there was a difference! They knew exactly what they were doing! I should not have to pay this difference of $3228.12. That's what I think is fair, and that's what I want. Again, I want to say, that the Nelson Mazda, knew exactly what they were doing when I came into their dealership. I am a retired teacher, and I guess as a teacher, I expect others to be honest. I trusted them to be telling me the truth. They didn't!

Business Response
I spoke with the customer on 3/27/2015 in efforts to find a solution. We are requesting a meeting with Ford to either reduce the payoff or return the check we sent them so the deal can be canceled. We will continue to work with Ms. ******** to resolve this issue.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did speak with Nelson Mazda on 3/27/2015, but nothing was resolved. I was told again that they were working on it, and that more than likely, I would be bringing the Mazda back, and getting my Ford Escape back. **** ******, said they are waiting for Ford to return their check, so that they can proceed. I told ****, that I am now 30 days late on my Ford payment, this is ruining my credit, and which payment should I make for April? Mazda or Ford? He told me, "100 percent to make the Ford payment, not Mazda." So I did that today. I don't want to drive the Mazda, in case something happens to it, nor do I want to put on miles. I feel like a prisoner with a car, but I can't drive it anywhere. I just want this to be done! There is no timeline Mazda can give me, because **** said they are just waiting on Ford. I'm really worried, my lease is up on my Ford on April 24, 2015, as is the registration! **** ****** said it shouldn't drag out that long! I sincerely hope not, but "NO", as of now, nothing has been resolved, and I see my good credit going down the tubes!

Final Business Response
I have been in continuous contact with Ms. ******** about returning her vehicle and unwinding the deal because of the $3,000 excessive fee imposed by Ford Finance due to Ms. ******** decision not to purchase another Ford. The only way Ford will hone the payoff that was originally give to her is if she purchases another Ford.

We contacted ***** ******* ******** and ask for them to reverse the contract, returned Ms. ********'s trade-in to her today 4/8, and released her from any commitments to the new Mazda. I hope that Ms. ******** is pleased with our effort to resolve this issue and wish her the best as she begins her dealing with **** *******

09/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought a Mazda RX8 end of last week , after some starting issues and them looking at it. They said it would be ok to drive home.
The Rx-8 that I bought and was told would need some work because it had trouble turning over, after asking multiple times would it be ok to drive home and being told yes. It barely made it back to cookeville and at least died where it could be looked at. It started with low coolant light flashing, transmission heat going up to the shift knob, hit heavy traffic that was crawling at 15- 35 mph for awhile all the while the car idled very low and came close to dying multiple times . If it had stalled plus the problems with it turning over in heavy traffic I would have got run over by a semi that was behind me. About thirty miles from my exit the radio that was not working came on with no sound, lights on the dash came on and what really got me was the fuel gauge went to empty with the fuel light on, so possibly damage to electronics from heat. What I was very disappointed in that looking online yesterday I found the 04 Rx-8 has had recalls and problems I would think that someone at a Mazda dealership might have known or might have mentioned this to me since they took it back to look at it when it had the problems turning over after being driven. If I had known before I would have asked for it to be checked for recall notices or even had the compression test for the engine recall because the last thing I need is to buy a new engine plus any other problems it had or now has. I don't know many people in good consciousness would sell a car with problems, allow them to drive it home with the consideration it might fail causing harm to the driver and potentially others. I do not believe anyone would be happy and I'm almost certain Mazda would not be happy that a dealer under them would sell a car with their name on it and allow it to be driven off their lot like that and then unable to be driven before the next day. If you would like to contact the mechanic ***** who has the car now the number is (XXX) XXX-XXXX ***** auto care. I don't know if he has even looked at it yet, but my points are be responsible don't allow a car with problems to be driven off your lot, if you do feel the need to sell make your people really inspect the car and inform the buyers it could fail/ breakdown while driving home not it will make it there, fail to mention might cause more problems by driving it home, I would stick to my first point and finally not everyone has thousands of dollars to put into a car they just bought . Do you know how long it would take the average person to save for major repairs such as engine, transmission, cooling system /radiator or electrical system not including labor. Thank you for your time

Desired Settlement
I don't know the problems yet, or by driving it 100 + miles right to the shop I took it to hurt the car even more, they should still have the info of the car and vin number to check for recall information. If they feel inclined to do something or at least call the ctigo auto care and let ***** know of any recalls,problems they noticed already, because there is no Mazda dealership anywhere close to where I live. So beyond that I will leave the decision of what they feel doing up to them.

Business Response
We operate our business with complete transparency and ethical practices. I am sorry to hear that Mr. ****** vehicle is having mechanical issues, but this is not new news. We disclosed this information to Mr. ****** before purchasing the vehicle were very clear that it needed engine repairs. I have attached one document that shows where he signed and acknowledges the repairs needed. We also have the as-is form along with the public before wholesale disclosure form which he signed both of those as well. I hope this helps. I am still confused about what changed in Mr. ****** mind after he left our dealership from the transparent conversations we had while he was purchasing the vehicle.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They did say it needed repairs later on and that it was OK to drive home. They did not however say it wouldn't be safe to drive home knowing it needing repairs and allowing me to continue to drive the vehicle which may have caused harm to it even further. Complete transparency which might of included what they found wrong when they took it back to be looked at. I was assuming that it was only electrical, battery, starter, alternator, wires, since they hooked a battery box to it and it started. They could have been transparent as to the findings or assumptions of what it might have needed. I would not have bought the car knowing it might be one of the cars recalled for engine failure or any other problems. Also yes any car could need a new engine or anything, as is , what changed my mind was the problems it started having even before I got home and the recalls. This complaint is about selling a car like this at a dealership that should know these cars, have more information and qualified people to work on them. They knew it had problems, they allowed me to buy it and drive it away. They could have not sold it to me, could have been responsible enough to say they would be happy to fully look it over and give me a quote for repairs but I shouldn't drive it home, they were nice enough to lower the price from almost $9,000 to almost $5,000 before ttl and $400 doc fee and offer a warranty for around $3,000. I did go to car gurus which Nelson's Mazda internet sales said is a great way to find out if the car I'm looking at is a great deal. According to car gurus it was about $14-1500 over fair market value already. So back to the complete transparency, what were the problems found when you looked at the car, what was actually looked at, did anyone that looked at the car know about the recalls, was the car I bought under a recall , what is the cost of a compression test on a Rx8, what is the cost to rebuild that engine, what is the cost of a new engine and your price to install it? It's nice to see all dealers are the same, we give them money, sign the papers and once it goes off the lot, all they seem to care about is protecting themselves that's very disappointing. I need information about if the car I bought is worth fixing, did I waste $5,888 and some change on a nice lawn decoration ? I understand I signed your papers and you want to wash your hands of me and the car. That is great customer service, so when you feel the need to actually be transparent and answer my questions, I will be waiting trying to decide should I buy parts and have the car fixed only to have to make a major repair $1,500 + put more money then it's worth in it.

Final Business Response
It sounds like this customer has buyers remorse. He has stated and acknowledged that he was told and required to sign that the vehicle needed engine repairs and that is why the price was reduced drastically as he states in his last response. We have been completely transparent and upfront about this purchase and not really sure how to proceed at this time. We have also fulfilled every obligation to complete a legal and fair transaction.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/25/2002Business started: 02/04/2002
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Tennessee Motor Vehicle Commission
500 James Robertson Pkwy., 2nd Floor
Nashville, TN 37243
(615) 741-2711
http://www.tn.gov/regboards/mvc/index.shtml

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chad Custer (Managing Partner)Mr. Scott Dahlberg (Controller)Mr. Robert Nelson (President)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Nelson Mazda
Industry Tips
Automobile Financing
Automobile - Repair
LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1212 Broadway 

    Nashville, TN 37203-3118(615) 850-3710

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Nelson Mazda Nashville is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (615) 850-3710
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Automobile Financing
Automobile - Repair
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.