BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/13/2012

MotorCars of Nashville, Inc.

(615) 773-9200View Additional Phone Numbers203 Athens Dr, Mount JulietTN 37122-3784 Send email to MotorCars of Nashville, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers the sale of new and pre-owned vehicles.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/13/2012

BBB has determined that MotorCars of Nashville, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on MotorCars of Nashville, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 5
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 6 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
06/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Saw ad for a car online. Placed a $500 deposit on our credit card to hold the car from 4/28 - 5/2. Didn't like car. They refuse to return our deposit.
We were required to put a deposit to hold the car for viewing and driving until we could come to from Toledo, OH to Nashville, TN. As soon as possible we drove to Nashville to view the car on 5/2 and test drive it. We were not satisfied with it and concluded that it was not the car for us. It was actually in two prior accidents even though the ad only said "fender bender." The accidents had created major problems with the car that were evident only upon highway test driving. The salesman, **** said that was OK and he would refund our deposit. It has still not been done

Desired Settlement
We simply requre that our deposit of $500 be returned to us by crediting our credit card account. They all say (the sales person **** and the office manager *****) that they cannot do that simple transaction and claim that only the owner **** *********** can process a credit card reimbursement and every time we call he is not available and not responding to emails ********@********* or phone calls XXX-XXX-XXXX

Business Response
Dear Sir/Madam, Mr. ***** ******* placed $500 non refundable deposit per add to hold the 2011 Camry Hybrid after looking at other Camry Hybrids we have, they wanted to buy another with less mileage and more future for the same price, which was not acceptable for us. Before they left they said the were in rush and will be back on Monday 5.05.14 and never did and requested deposit back. He had been told immediately deposit was non refundable, but we can request managers approval to refund as goodwill gesture, since he is on vacation will be two days to get approval and process the refund. On May 7th 2014 full refund was processed as promised and credit was issued to buyers credit card, Buyer called and asked for immediate credit to his car on May 8th and did not want to understand that may take 2-3 business days for his Credit Card company to process the refund and show on his account. In that case there was nothing we can do to expedite his Credit Card issuer. Everything we promised was done on time and 2-3 days refund time is normal for any credit card issuer. Thank you for your time.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

01/26/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Company sold me a car that was supposed to have a XXXXX mile powertrain warranty only to find out the engine warranty was voided through Nissan.

Dec 10, 2015,

On May 7,2014 I bought a 2011 Nissan Sentra from at motorcars of Nashville, vin# ***********XXXXXX I paid $13,166 total which I am financing through flowers ****** ******. The only reason I bought it was because it had a manufacturers warranty with it. **** and the lady that was there who finalized the paperwork both told me it had a 5 year XXXXX mile powertrain warranty and a XXXXX mile four-year bumper to bumper warranty. I have the paperwork to prove this along with my contract. . The car has been making noise coming from the lower end. On Monday December 7th I took the car to a Nissan dealer here in ******* ***** ********** Both mechanics told me it was a lower end noise ... the wrist pin that connects to the connecting rod. As I was standing there the Service Advisor approached us telling me that there was no engine warranty. She then stated that she had called Nissan and the car had been flagged. Apparently whoever had owned the car before me did something that voided the warranty. Nissan had told them engine sludge, improper maintenance. It was a nissan call center so I don't know the exact reason. So later that day I had left a message for **** at motorcars of Nashville and he returned my call. I had told him what happened and he said he did not know the warranty was voided. I told him that that was not my fault and you guys should have checked that before selling me the car and you as a responsible, not me! He agreed and said he would do everything he could to help me, getting the engine fixed or replacing the engine or whatever he could do. He said he would get ahold the owner. Today Wednesday Dec 9th **** called me back telling me that the owner, **** did Not take me seriously about filing complaints with the BBB, Consumer Affairs, and of Motor Vehicle Commission and also legal action, stating that the owner refuses to do anything about the problem. This is not my fault, they should have checked and make sure the cars warranty was valid before selling it. This is Fraud, it was their responsibility to make sure of this. I was lied to and this is not acceptable!

Desired Settlement
I want motorcars of Nashville to either pay for this engine to get rebuilt or get some kind of engine with the same mileage on it that was not laying around in a junkyard or trade me something even up and pay off the remaining balance on my car.

Business Response
Thank you for giving us the chance to explain our side of the story. The vehicle ******* purchased was a 2011 Nissan Sentra and was sold on 05/07/2014 with 17,195 miles. He called us a couple of weeks back and was complaining about the warranty issue. According to ******, the vehicle now has over 56k miles and Nissan refused to perform the warranty work on it due to lack of maintenance records. Per written contract, which will be attached to this letter, clearly stated "we are not responsible for any warranty issues" it is impossible for us to provide any previous maintenance records since we purchase a majority of our inventory through auction like any other dealership. Prior to purchase, warranty details were not discussed with Mr. ***** as he states and was provided on the federal buyer's guide form only. We are attaching buyers guide and sales contract along with this letter, our management always happy to assist with any type of repairs after the sale to any of our customers to keep them satisfied with their purchase, however using language Mr. ***** used calling one of our owners Sleazebag, liar and crook without even talking or dealing previously with him personalty I believe is incorrect and that was main reason he was declined in any help. Even in a situation like that we are willing to offer help providing him with similar mileage or less engine at no cost if it makes him satisfied. Thank you for your time.

Consumer Response
Obviously these people are nothing but liars. They're going to say that warranty details were not discussed? Why do I have the paperwork from them clearly stating there is a warranty? They specifically told me there is a five year 60,000 mile powertrain warranty with this car. In fact they made that clear before I even decided I would sign the paperwork. **** and the lady who wrote up the contract and both told me about the powertrain warranty, so whoever is claiming warranty details were not discussed is nothing but a complete liar. It is clearly motorcars of Nashville's responsibility to make sure of what they're selling before they sell it but instead they claim they buy their cars from auction so they're not responsible. They want to talk about me calling the owner a sleaze bag and a crook? All I can say is if the shoe fits. Besides, that was in a review of their delearship. I want to make other people aware of what this company is really like and that was after two weeks of no response from them after my initial complaint. They didn't even say anything about helping me until I filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. I did speak with the owner two different times, only after they were contacted by the BBB. According to them they want to get me a used motor and want me to pay for the installation. I told them that if the warranty would have been there like it was supposed to have been Nissan would have had to completely rebuild of this motor. Now they are just screwing me around. They say one thing and then never even bother to call back so I am consulting different attorneys around the Nashville area. I am going to file a civil lawsuit against motorcars of Nashville. I have been trying for the last month to work something out with them and they just refuse.

06/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Undisclosed damages and undisclosed faulty repair work by dealer. Several issues with auto.
Purchased thru ebay auction. Picked up 04/18/14. I addressed a few mechanical issues with **** and he stated he repaired. As I was driving vehicle home from Nashville to ********* **** several errors flashed on panel. I took the auto to ********* Volvo. The following problems were found. 1, Vacuum Pump oil leak. 2, Wrong battery -acid could have leaked. 3, Headlights go out. Found defective headlamps with wrong bulbs jammed into socket. 4, Tire pressure sensor broken. 5, Oil cap (inside drain)broken into several pieces, had to be removed by tech. Total I had to pay was 878.29. I contacted dealer about issues and **** stated he would look for headlamps but he couldnt do anything until owner came back from ******* I have called and emailed several times and get no response. The headlamps are 1200.00 a piece. The dealer misled or withheld information about known defects of the car, yet still sold the car as good. The car was unsafe to drive and if I had known about these issues I would not have bought it. Shame on the dealer for ignoring its obligations to the buying public. These issues could have been repaired at their facility before hand.

Desired Settlement
I am asking for what I spent be refunded and new headlamps be sent to me.

Business Response
Dear Sir/Madam, the mentioned above vehicle was sold on **** with Moneyback Guarantee and was clearly mentioned on the description with all the details for the warranty and 3rd party inspection was offered through **** add just like any car we sell to prevent this type of situation. All cars we sell used which means there previously were driven and may have some hidden issues which is very hard to notice without professional look also was mentioned in Buyers Guide which was signed by buyer. This car offered for sale with 1 month or 1,000 mi Powertrain Warranty only and buyer personally inspected this vehicle prior the purchase. I can guarantee headlights was working like designed and tire pressure monitor light was on at the time of purchase and can not be covered. Any repairs done to the car without our authorization can not be covered per contract. We will be more than happy to work with buyer to resolve headlight issue as long as it is on reasonable side. Made few attempts to call and resolve no respond so far. Thank you for your time.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This dealership has not contacted me once either by phone or email. I was told there were no mechanical problems with this car which was a lie. The Volvo dealership in ********** ** discovered an obvious oil leak, headlamp issues and obvious cover up attempts. The car was misrepresented. The owner of the dealership was out of the country and I was told by the staff that they had no authority for repairs or reimbursements. I have filed complaints with ***** BBB, and TN Motor Veh Comm. I have absolutely no trust or confidence in the whole process especially with the shadiness of this dealership.

Final Business Response
Dear Sir/Madam, the buyer was told only there is no known issues and we have 3rd party inspection showing no issues. As we said previously we are going to work with every customer we have to show how valuable there business is to us. However we can only work with reasonable requests. Also want to mention there was return policy on the car within first 30 days and buyer did not use that option either. We apologize for any inconvenience we caused but buying a used vehicle comes with risks for both parties, and when a customer sign an AS IS, a customer agrees and acknowledges that they are buying the car with any known or unknown issues to them and/or the dealer.

02/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Motorcars of Nashville has not issued a refund on a returned vehicle.
I have purchased the vehicle from Motorcars of Nashville through ebay. The vehicle condition was not as described in the auction. Both rear seat belts were not working, car had damage from smoke, tires were rotten, carpet was burnt, rear bumper was damaged, scratches on the roof, and number of other items that were not described in the add. I have offered to have the vehicle repaired locally and have called to get a quote. Motorcars of Nashville did not want to cover the expenses and have asked me to return the vehicle. The vehicle was shipped back and received by Motorcars of Nashville on 1/23/2014.

I have contacted them number of times asking about the refund and never got a straight answer. Accounting is saying that the owner needs to approve the refund. Last I spoke with the owner, ****, was two days and ago he promised he would call me within 30 minutes. I have called twice since, but he is not answering the phone.

I have also asked for the shipping refund as the vehicle was not as described in the advertisement, but have not received an answer.

Desired Settlement
Refund of the purchase price plus the shipping cost.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ***********/ Owner
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ********
Per item description and all documentation showing this sale is final and can not be returned with only 1 month/1,000mi Powertrain Internal lubricated parts warranty. As goodwill gesture we agreed to take this car back from buyer, car was returned with Check Engine Light and some other mechanical issues. Customer complained about seat belt which was clearly was pulled very hard to get stuck and was not working until it was reset by Mercedes Dealer. Full amount refund was issued and mailed to ***** **** to pay off the loan. Per request we can provide all documents signed by customer acknowledging this is final sale and transportation cost is buyers responsibility. Thank you for your time.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The dealer was fair when he accepted the vehicle back. But at the same time vehicle had too many issues that were not disclosed in the ebay posting. I have all the pictures of the status of the vehicle and none of items ware mentioned. It is illegal to sell a vehicle with non working restraint system, which this vehicle had, so the dealer decided to take it back instead of having the dealer replace them. Most of the money was returned, but not all. There was a deposit of $500 that is still outstanding and the shipping of the vehicle ($400 + $370).

Final Business Response
Proper refund has been issued and sent to ***** ***** Please contact us for copy of the check and tracking number.

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 04/06/2009Business started: 08/01/2005
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Tennessee Motor Vehicle Commission
500 James Robertson Pkwy., 2nd Floor
Nashville, TN 37243
(615) 741-2711

Type of Entity


Incorporated: January 2009, TN

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Odil Ostonakulov (General Manager)Ms. Dianna Ryumina (Sales Manager)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Dealers - Online, Auto Dealers - New Cars

Industry Tips
Automobile Financing

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

MotorCars of Nashville, Inc. has received 4.8 out of 5 stars based on 6 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for MotorCars of Nashville, Inc.

203 Athens Dr

Mount Juliet, TN 37122-3784

To | From


1 Locations

  • 203 Athens Dr 

    Mount Juliet, TN 37122-3784(615) 848-4441
    (615) 773-9200

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*MotorCars of Nashville, Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (615) 848-4441

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Automobile Financing

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.