BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/26/1999

Middle Tennessee Auto Mart

Phone: (615) 884-3060Fax: (615) 884-3064View Additional Phone Numbers3429 Lebanon Road, HermitageTN 37076 Send email to Middle Tennessee Auto Mart

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/26/1999

BBB has determined that Middle Tennessee Auto Mart meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Middle Tennessee Auto Mart's rating include:

  • 6 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Middle Tennessee Auto Mart's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Middle Tennessee Auto Mart

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
09/29/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was approved for an auto loan to buy a vehicle at middle,tn auto mart. All of my paperwork was signed and finalized and i drove off lot with the car
Getting refund back

Desired Settlement
To recieve down payment back

Business Response
WE SOLD MR. **** A VEHICLE ON SAID DATE AND LOAN WAS APPROVED, PENDING ALL VERIFICATIONS WERE MET UPON THE LENDING INSTITUTION DOING IT VERIFICATIONS, WE WERE INFORMED THAT MR. **** AND FALSLY STATED THAT HE WAS A FULL TIME EMPLOYEE WHEN IN FACT HE WAS WORKING FULL TIME FOR A ACTUAL COMPANY NOT A TEMP AGENCY WHICH IS AN AUTOMATIC TURN DOWN. MR **** WAS ASKED SEVERAL TIMES TO RETURN THE CAR WITH NO RESPONCE FROM HIM. A REPO AGENT WAS SENT TO RETRIEVE THE SAID VEHICLE AND FOUND BODY DAMAGE TO REAR PASSENGER ***** BECAUSE OF THIS DAMAGE MR **** forfieted his down payment because of damage to the vehicle....

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


05/17/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Poor service. I was given false information pertaining to having a co signer, as well as I was offered information to call another cadealership.
On the second(2ND) of May 2016, I spoke with an employee name Micheal who said to call him "Mo", whom I had spoken with a couple of times that day. I was told by this employee "Mo" that I would have to have a co signer fax their information to the dealership, which I did. I explained that the third party lived out of state and "Mo" said that was perfectly fine. The Co signer, ****** ***** also spoke with this employee and we were both told in a conference call that the applications would be submitted and we should expect to hear from the bank later that day or the next. On the third(3rd) of May I called and spoke with "Mo" who said he would call me back in 15 min. Unfortunately he never called and from that point on I was unable to speak with anyone at all.I was put on hold several time during my attempts to contact someone preferably a manager who sent me to voice mail. The last time I called I spoke with another employee who referred me to another dealership. I had that point I had enough. I feel my father's information may be compromised which is why I contacted the BBB.

Desired Settlement
I just want to make sure my father's information isn't compromised and all info is shredded.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: JOHN ***** FINANCE DIR
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ****************@GMAIL.COM
The customer was advised that he needed a co/x and to have them fax the info to so that we would have authorization from them to fun their information as you can see by the customers own admission that he called in again but what he didnt say was that they called in every 15 to 20 min wanting answers when he was previously to that it would take a day or so to hear back from the bank because this is an out of state deal and we have to triple make sure everything was correct. the customer wes being belligerent and disrespectful to everyone when he called in. evenn after all of that we called and told him we had a final approval on him and he said ok he was coming and then declined to come.....

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept their response because I never spoke with a John *****. This is an obvious attempt to discredit my claim. Considering the level of bad business practices from Middle Tenn Auto Mart, my request to have all information shredded is all I ask. In the future if any suspicious activity appears on ****** ****** credit report legal action will be taken as stated in the original complaint.

04/14/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My wife's signature was forged on loan documents and was charged more than agreed.
My wife and I went to middle Tennessee auto mart to purchase a vehicle. We found one that we agreed on and signed all loan paper work on the cwhicle. We didn't take possession of the vehicle that night. Our insurance agent was closed so we waited til the next day. One of the car salesman delivered the vehicle to me place of business in ky. Upon arriving I was told that there was some paperwork that we forgot to sign. Upon signing some of the paperwork found out the price had went up $4000 over night. When I asked why I was told it was an over sight and it would be fixed. My wife refused to sign the paperwork until it was fixed. We have called numerous times and am now being ignored. We got paperwork from our county attorney and my wife's signature was forged and we were over charged on sales tax, and the county was lied to about the sales price of the vehicle. We are contacting law enforcement agencies and Lawyers over the forgery and theft.

Desired Settlement
To fix there lie that they were caught in and all responsible in the forgery are to deal with law enforcement. And to refund all money and expenses.

Business Response
Let me first say Middle Tn Auto Mart is in no way involved in any type Illegal acts such as forgery or theft...when a customer comes in and purchases a car not every time will they the approved depending on the time of day we may not be able get the approval. the next morning the numbers that we signed the customer up at may change because its at the banks discretion and guidelines as to what the term of approval are. When the salesman was sent to have the customers sign the new numbers yes the sales price was different because those were the terms of that particular bank. When the salesman arrived at their home not place of business Mr. ****** signed his part of the paperwork and advised the salesman that Mrs. ****** was in the bed and he would take the paperwork the the bedroom to get her to sign Mr.****** then brought the paperwork back to the salesman and the salesman returned to work.... as far as the sales tax whatever difference in taxes are refunded by the state. We Middle Tn Auto Mart did nothing wrong but followed the rules so if anyone forged Mrs ****** signature it was Mr.******

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
None of what is said from the dealer is the truth. I have camera footage of there salesman showing up at my office not my home. I also have the forged documents in question and have involved the heritage police dept and the District attorney and am pursuing legal charges. The finance company is also getting involved because of the fraud issue we have here. I feel that this byissness is scrambling to cover up their acts. But there is hard cold facts with paperwork and cameras from my place of business that show their employee at my place of employment. I'm glad to get there response on this matter because it was just added as their position in the law suit and criminal al charges that are being brought forth.

09/11/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was told I was approved for a car loan. Loan fell through I was promised a refund on deposit and never received it.
I purchased a 2012 Chevy Impala silver colored with tinted windows approx 50000 miles. I was to make a 1000.00 dollar deposit of which was to be broken into 2 payments. I purchased the car on a Thursday and my first payment of 500.00 was drafted from my bank account the next day. After this payment was processed and 3 weeks later I was told I was unable to be financed without a co signer . My father was to co sign but was given the run around and spoken very rudely to by ******* ******** I then spoke to the "owner" after about a week of this finance game and he requested I return the car. I asked him if upon return would I receive a refund on my deposit. He said yes. I returned the car to the lot and asked who I needed to talk to about getting my money back. Mr Mohamed had me talk to **** ***** who in turn told me I had talked to ****** who was the owner and gone for the day with the cash. The next day which was a Saturday I recieved a call from Mr ******* and he said they were working with another bank to get me financed but for a different car which was. 2008 Ford Tarus with 173,000 miles on it but I would need an extra 1000.00 dollars bringing the total down payment to 1500.00 dollars including the 500.00 they already drafted from my account. I declined that offer. They then refused to give me my money back or to speak to me again. Mr Mohamed refused to answer my calls or return my texts. ****** was never in. II was told daily for about a week that he was at the auction. The last time I talked with Mr ******* I was told by him that I would not get my money back according to policy. I then requested my documents from the purchase that were left in the car and was ignored . After giving up and deciding to take this as a loss I receive a call from the person that' bought the impala after me actually just a couple days after I returned if. She found my paperwork from the sell and contacted me. She too was experiencing something similar to what I went through .We discovered they were running a scam on her. She had the car for almost 2 months they then call her and tell her they need to put a tracking device on the car atfter 9 on a Sunday night . She agreed to meet them they kept the car and her personal belongings .

Desired Settlement
I want my money back.

Business Response
Mrs. ***** was approved and the deal was fine until the bank did a residence verification with the bank and the Land Lord told them that they were 2000.00 behind on their rent which is a red flag to any Lending Institution. So, The customer advised that her Dad wanted to put the car in his name which is again against the law which we advised to the customer so it wasn't the run around we just do things on the up and up....Even if the father wanted to buy the car and give it to his Daughter he refused to give us any information for us to be able to try to complete a loan package so we were not able process the loan...Mrs. ***** down payment was kept because of the many attempts at her bringing her car back and mileage put on the car when the first attempt for her to bring the car back.....


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The information that they have submitted is incorrect. I never once asked that the car be put in my dads name. They told me that my dad could co sign which was what he originally agreed until Mr ******* which is who I was dealing with agreed to send him copies of the original paperwork for the loan. They told me that had they known about the rent situation which was unknown to me being that my husband and the landlord had an agreement for work to be done in place of cash payments being that he is a client of my husbands , they could have made up an address and landlord in order for the loan to go through. So as far as them being on the up and up offering to fake a landlord and address proves that is not true. They only asked me to return the car after my father would not give them information due to being given the run around about being emailed the information he requested about the loan via fed ex or email which I provided to ****** and ****. Once I did receive a call from ****** to return the car after I told mr ******* my dads would not proceed without looking over documents I asked if they were going to give me all or at least a partial refund of my down payment and ****** told me yes and we could talk when I got there . I returned he car that thursday afternoon before 6pm as he asked and he was not there. I gave the keys to **** and asked to see ****** about my refund . **** told me that he was not there and he was the one who had the money and I like call the next day and speak with him. The following I called and was told ****** was at an auction and that my name and number would be left for him to return my call. Mr ******* sent me a text to all him because he could work something out. Mr ******* told me that he could get me financed for a loan on a 2008 or 2009 ford with ove 170,000 miles on it but I would have to give them an extra $1000.00 dollars and use he $500.00 I put down already which would have meant I put $1500.00 down.. I refused that offer and then was told it was against policy for them to issue a refund .I find it strange that they were willing to use that toward the purchase of an older high mileage vehicle. It's also strange that the same car was sold to another lady who they lied to about financing and told her they need to put a gps tracking device and then took the car back along with her possessions. I asked them to send me my copies of the paperwork which I left in the car and they continued to ignore me. The lady who purchased the car had my paperwork which means they didn't even clean out the car and felt no responsibility in protecting the consumer which could have been really bad had this lady been some type of sociopath . The practices of this business is unfair and unethical .

Final Business Response
WE TELL ALL OF OUR CUSTOMERS THAT IF FOR ANY REASON THE DEAL IS DECLINED BECAUSE OF SOMETHING ON THEIR PART AND THE CAR HAS'NT BEEN RETURNED WITH IN 24 HOURS THAT THEY WILL INCUR PENALTIES INCLUDING KEEPING DOWNPAYMENT MONIES FOR MILEAGE... WE ARE WILLING TO REFUND HER 200.00 ON GOOD FAITH AS LONG AS SHE REMOVES THE COMPLAINT.... THANK YOU

08/07/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
car loan fraud//lemon law scam//falsification of MVR
I have a written and oral agreement with a car lot. That was agreed upon to put zero down and 460 for 6months with the guarantee if I purchased a car from them i will be refinanced in 6mos to lower my monthly payments provided I make all my payments on time. One week after I drove off the lot and signing the documents for the loan the car lot contacted me and informed me I had to put 1500.00 down and that will allow my car payments to decrease by 26.00. I provided all proofs of income to this car company before I was even given the offer to put zero down. Also looking at the documents carefully after getting home I noticed that the mileage had been altered from the true mileage on the car and that it falsified that I actually gave them a down payment which I did no such thing. It further falsified that they would fix an issue with the car but when i call or arrive they decline to fix it with various excuses. I have been constantly harassed until I threatened a lawyer.

Desired Settlement
To completely cancel and void the written contract//and to pay back any moneies put into the vehicle. or to lower monthly payments along with considerably lowering the apr no greater than .06%/// and fixing the issue with the car that was promised that was discovered before leaving the lot

Business Response
Ms. ****** Loan application was preapproved w 0 down pending verification of all information then we input the info and once we received a final approval with the car and all the correct information from her to the bank the bank gave us a final approval with stipulations because we deal with banks and are not a buy here pay here we are not responsible for A.P.R we can only give what the banks programs are allowing us to do.We would love to do business with Ms.***** but as i stated we don't make the payment nor the apr is ultimately at the bank's discretion.

Thanks, **** ***** Finance Director


08/10/2015Advertising / Sales Issues

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/30/1998Business started: 01/01/1998
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Tennessee Motor Vehicle Commission
500 James Robertson Pkwy., 2nd Floor
Nashville, TN 37243
(615) 741-2711
http://www.tn.gov/regboards/mvc/index.shtml

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jerry Bowers (Owner)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

According to information supplied by the company, it offers the sale or pre-owned cars and trucks.

Alternate Business Names
Middle TN Auto Mart
Industry Tips
Automobiles - Buying Used
Automobile Financing

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Middle Tennessee Auto Mart

3429 Lebanon Road

Hermitage, TN 37076

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Middle Tennessee Auto Mart is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (615) 884-3063
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Automobiles - Buying Used
Automobile Financing
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.