BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/1984

Mathews Nissan

Find a Location

Phone: (931) 552-7555Fax: (931) 552-7634View Additional Phone Numbers185 Highway 76, ClarksvilleTN 37043 Send email to Mathews NissanView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/1984

BBB has determined that Mathews Nissan meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Mathews Nissan

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)
03/19/2015Advertising / Sales Issues
07/11/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Work not performed to satisfaction. Told car was OK to drive when it wasn't. Extreme damage done to car from unsatisfactory work.
On June 15, at 11:30 am, I took in my car for service. Just routine maintenance, a timing belt replacement and a valve adjustment. The tech was having problems adjusting the valves. The service manager told me that my camshafts were pitted and needed to be replaced. He said if we did not replace them, it would be OK to drive, it would just be noisy. Since we were thinking of trading in the vehicle in the fall I told him not to replace the cam shafts. They did offer us a rental car since the job was taking so long.
I was called on Friday, June 2 at 4:00 pm stating the car was ready for pickup. I returned the rental and picked up my car and drove it home. On the way home, the car misfired, stalled and the check engine light came on when stopped at an intersection up the street from my house. I coasted it down the road to my driveway and I immediately called the service manager and had to wait on hold for 20 minutes. While I was waiting, I popped the hood and found that the timing belt inspection cover was not on the timing belt cover. There was also a bracket lying on the top of the firewall that was not reinstalled from wherever it came from.
When the service manager came on the line, I told him what had happened and he told me the service tech was about to leave for the weekend and to bring in the car on Monday morning. I explained to him how we had to go to the airport on Saturday and take my kids to camp on Sunday and needed the car on the weekend. The service manager again told me it would be OK to drive over the weekend. My wife took her sister, our kids and her kids to a movie that night and the car did the same thing twice before arriving at the theater 2.5 miles away. I sent the service manager an email Friday night saying that the car had done the same thing again.
The service manager was working on Saturday but did not respond to the email about the car stalling again. We were driving to airport in Nashville when I heard a chirp, the power steering jerked and the engine died. We coasted to the side of the road where we had to contact **** to get my sister-in-law and her kids to the airport. I contacted the service manager telling him the car had died and that my wife and I and three kids were stranded on the side of the interstate. He gave us the name of a tow truck company to call. We called the tow company and they arrived two and a half hours later. It's not the greatest thing to be stuck on the side of I-40 with your wife and three kids for that long in 90 degree weather.
A friend picked us up and took us home. The car was towed back to the dealership and opened up again on Monday, June 20th. I was told that the new timing belt was trashed and that one of the camshafts had seized. The valves were damaged and there was probably some internal engine damage as well. They recommended that I pay for a used engine that they would install. Telling me they could do that job for me for $5,000 plus tax.
I paid nearly $1,400 for a routine maintenance job which was done wrong. I was told it was OK to drive my car with the camshafts as they were, it would only be noisy. I informed them of an issue immediately after I got my car. Again, a second time, I was told it was OK to drive my car. I sent an email saying the issue was continuing. I received no response. My car never had a mechanical issue in 246,000 miles. An alternator, power steering pump, half shafts and other normal wear and tear items, brakes and tires, etc. Now Mathews Nissan is not taking any responsibility for this issue.

Desired Settlement
I would like for them to replace my engine since the work they did caused catastrophic failure and I was told on two separate occasions it was OK to drive. I also sent an email with no response which also tells me it was OK to continue to drive.

Business Response
Our Service Manager, Mike F*****, was on vacation when this incident took place. He and the dealership are very sorry he had to experience all the troubles he did.

Mike spoke with Mr. **** yesterday. He was told by our service advisor that Mr. **** declined further repairs during his first visit when we recommended the camshafts be replaced. At this point, Mr. **** has brought his vehicle back to our service department. We are replacing the engine with his approval. All money paid during his first visit is going toward the cost of the engine. Mike has also provided Mr. **** with a complimentary rental car while the parts are being ordered and the engine is being replaced.

We appreciate Mr. ****'s business and patience with us through this misunderstanding. At this time, Mike and the service department are working diligently to help Mr. **** and hope to continue working with him in the future.

12/18/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

No tags for my vehicle.
My husband and I purchased a used truck from this dealership on approximately September 22, 2015. It is now almost 60 days and our second temporary tag is getting ready to expire. When my husband stopped in to check, since our cell phone numbers changed he was told that the tags are still not in. We do not know what is going on or why we are so far out and still do not have tags. This dealership charges you to register your car but in our cases they evidently have not done so. We have made our first payment which was scheduled 45 days out and are about to make a second one put we have a temporary tag on the truck. Another thing that I would like to add is that the finance company almost denied our loan because the dealership never got my pay information so I had to send that to them myself. This entire contract has been mishandled by the personnel of Matthews Nissan and I would not recommend them to anyone ever. The only reason we are keeping the vehicle is because we paid $4000 down on it and did not want to go through all of the hassles of the refund because Matthews Nissan told us that our finance company would charge us if we did but the finance company said that was untrue since they did not have a valid loan since my pay information was missing. So, to make this short Matthews Nissan has lied about our deal and still has yet to provide us with tags which now has me questioning information from our contract on the truck.

Desired Settlement
First, we would like our tags so that we can stop riding with a temporary plate so we would love to have tags. Secondly, we would like a refund because of the tags not being delivered.

Business Response
We regret Ms. ************ is not satisfied with the purchase process at Mathews Nissan, as we are any time a customer is unhappy. She and her husband **** ***** purchased a used Dodge truck from us in September. Initially they wanted to trade in a vehicle in addition to making a $4000 down payment. At the last minute, they chose to only make the $4000 down payment. A few days after purchasing the truck, Mr. and Mrs. ***** wanted to return the truck. At this point, the deal had already been completed and they would forfeit their $4000 down payment. They financed the Dodge with ****** ********** who required additional information, including proof of income in the form of a phone interview with them. She did not bring the needed stipulations to Mathews Nissan. The customers were responsible for completing the phone interview. It is our understanding Mrs. ************ has since provided the needed information to the financial institution. Now that this is completed, the tags for the truck should arrive soon. In this instance, Mathews Nissan was unable to "speed up the process" because we were waiting on the customer to complete the phone interview with ******* We apologize any inconvenience.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Everything about this response is incorrect. First the salesman Mr. ******* never asked for my pay information so I assumed that my husband's income was the only one used. We did not know that my income was needed until ****** ******* notified us that they needed my income which I had to send to them via email myself, which proof of this has been attached. Because of this paperwork issue I did not want to do business with Matthews Nissan but my husband said otherwise. The other thing is that we only were putting $1500 down and trading in our other car. My husband decided otherwise so we paid the $2500 that they were giving us for the car in cash so that we no longer had to trade the car. As for the reason my tags are not at their offices is because the woman that does the used car tags, I believe her name is *****, said that they, Matthews Nissan, did not send the proper payoff for the previous finance company, ************ Because of this last week when I filed the claim I spoke with her on 11/19 and she said that they had to overnight another $30+ to finish the payoff and then they would receive the required information to send off for our tags. The problem that I have with Matthews Nissan is that they are not telling the truth. It is not my fault that they did not receive the proper documentation because they never asked me for it. The other thing is that as a car dealership they should know how to payoff a loan. In closing, I have shown how Matthews Nissan has not been honest and how they will not just simply accept responsibility for their employees not doing their jobs properly. At this point, we still do not have our tags and we are now on the third temporary tag on our truck. So, buyer beware that they will not properly handle business nor accept responsibility when they do anything wrong. I just hope we can get our tags.

Final Business Response
We truly regret that Ms. ************ feels this way. Clearly, there was some sort of miscommunication on our end and/or misunderstanding on hers. We, in no way, intended for this kind of confusion. Our title clerk ***** has confirmed the payoff amount was short when sent to the lender of the truck's previous owners. She spoke with Ms. ************. This payoff shortage was not the fault of our title clerk, but it did cause a delay. With that said, Ms. ******* ******* tags arrived Monday, but we have been unable to reach her to let her know. Her sales person thinks she has a new phone number that we do not have in our records. She is welcome to pick up her registration, or we will be happy to mail it.

02/05/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

I went to Mathews Nissan on December 18th, and they tried to get me financed for a vehicle without my permission after I told them not to.
I went to Mathews Nissan on December 18th, 2013 and was looking into buying my husband a truck. The sales Rep name was ****** ****** I bought my sentra from him two weeks before this date. I asked him not to run my credit and told him I was not planning on financing through them if I chose to purchase the truck. He said okay not to worry about and that he understood. I spent eight hours there that day just looking at trucks for my husband and trying to discuss a reasonable amount. Once we agreed on a price I told him I was going to call my financial institution to try and get my loan approved. I ended up not trying to finance at all and decided I would pay cash. I told him I would be back the next day with cash and we would buy the truck. He said okay but he seemed mad that I didn't buy the truck that same day. The night I got home I checked my credit report because I had a feeling he had tried to get me a approved for a loan without my consent since he was so desperate in trying to get me to buy the car that same night. I was right, he did run my credit through two different banks that night. The next morning he calls me to tell me he has found a bank that is willing to finance me and gave me monthly payments and everything with interests rates too. I raised my voice and got mad and asked him why he did that and how he did that without my permission after I told him not to. He said i wouldn't affect my credit score or show up as hard inquiries on my credit report. It ended up showing up four hard inquiries on my credit report. I was livid. I was not responsible for any of these four hard inquiries. And the worst part was that the second last two were done on December 19th, 2013 when I wasn't even in the building. This was the day after I had left the dealership. I spoke to his boss ****** and he tried to justify what ****** Did. I spoke to the manager there, ***** ******* and he gave me the run around. ignored my emails, and refused to give me what I need which was a letter saying that them running my credit was a mistake. I need this letter form him so that I can send it to the three credit bureaus and get it taken care of and he nor anyone else in that dealership would help me out. Neither would ****** ******* the finance lady. Aldo when I told ****** ***** that I was not interested in buying the car anymore and went in there the next day to get my car fixed he called me a spoiled bratt, because i threw a fit for him funning my credit without my permission and he also told me that I wasted eight hours of his day. He told me that he didn't care who I contacted to complain about him because know one would care about a spoiled bratt like me and he threatened me. He told me that I was an unhappy costumer who was dumb and didn't know what she wanted. He yelled at me and humiliated me in front of everyone that day at the dealership and this was on the 19th. No one thought to help me out or intervene. He had me crying so bad that I couldnt even talk my friend had to talk for me. I think it is very sad that he couldnt even respect me as a customer and simply admit he ran my credit and tried to get me approved for a loan without his permission. He does not care. Ineed a letter from their dealership so that I can send that to the three credit bureaus so they can remove it form my hard inquiries. I have talked to the head of Nissan and he didn't even do anything about it. I feel helpless in this situation and highly mistreated. I can not believe this has happened to me.

Desired Settlement
I want a letter typed from their dealership indicating that it was a mistake that they ran my credit on December 19th, 2013 and that I have their permission to remove it and so do the three credit bureaus. they need to include the date that the inquiry was made. which is the 18th of December 2013, the fact that it was not me who inquired about it and that I never wanted a loan from Mathews Nissan finance department, that it was a mistake and to please remove it form my hard inquiries on my credit report.

Business Response
After careful research and review, we have compiled factual information pertaining to Ms. ******'s complaint. Ms. ****** did come into Mathews Nissan on December 18 and allowed her credit to be checked for the purchase of the truck she mentioned in her initial complaint. When she left the dealership on that day, she was aware her credit had been submitted. She had an app on her cell phone that allowed her to check her credit. Upon checking it that day, she commented that Mathews Nisan had already submitted her credit and made no objection. In addition to this, Ms. ****** never told her salesperson ****** ***** not to run her credit.

At that point, Ms. ****** discussed possible terms concerning the purchase of the truck for her husband. She chose to contact **** ******* ****** ***** to determine if she would be able to obtain better financing through them instead of financing through Mathews Nissan.

On December 19, Ms. ****** returned to Mathews Nissan with a friend. She complained that the Nissan Sentra she purchased from us a couple of weeks prior was having an issue with the door. At this point, she wanted a new Nissan Sentra to replace hers since she was having an issue with the aforementioned door. We explained that this was not a possibility but could explore other options. Again, she never mentioned her credit being run the previous day.

Ms. ****** was scheduled to return to our dealership on December 20, 2013 to take delivery of the truck. She came and told ****** she had changed her mind about the truck and wanted ****** to "know what it feels like when someone doesn't do what they say they're going to do." It must also be noted that again on this day, she did not make mention of her credit being run.

Under the circumstances that Ms. ****** presented on December 19, 2013, and on subsequent visits, she was treated with the utmost respect in a businesslike manner. As far as her request to rescind the credit pull, Mathews Nissan did not make a mistake by submitting ******** ******'s credit on December 18, 2013.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did go and pick up the credit application from December 18th, 2013. I apologize for the trouble I do not remember signing it at any point in time on the 18th I clearly remember saying I didn't want my credit pulled so as to why I would have signed it I guess we'll never know. But once again do apologize for the confusion. But I did not get the credit application from December 19th, 2013. My credit was also pulled several times by several different creditors through Mathews Nissan on this date. Mathews Nissan informed me that they did not have a credit application for me for the 19th of December 2013.

Therefore, I am asking that they please help me remove the hard inquiries from my credit report that were made on December 19th, 2013 by writing me a letter giving me their permission to remove those so that I can send those to the creditors to remove them from my hard inquiries and get some pints back on my credit score.

Final Business Response
The customer was correctly informed: Once a customer has contacted the Better Business Bureau, we prefer keeping all lines of communication open through them only until the case is closed. This is in the customer's best interest and allows everyone involved to have a documented correspondence trail. With that stated, we are more than happy to provide Ms. ****** with a copy of her signed credit application. She may pick it up at our dealership.

We still maintain our position that no wrongdoing was committed by Mathews Nissan. The customer acknowledged we submitted her credit and did not object.

01/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Taken advantage of by this dealership!
We looked to trade in the dodge we had purchased a while back. It was a great truck but thought a Nissan would be a better fit for my wife. We went to the dealership, talked some numbers and none of them fit our needs. We were looking at a 2013 Nissan Titan. They called us back saying they would give us wholesale value for our trade in (30,000) plus the rebates. They were extremely busy, we were constantly waiting and they finally brought the truck around for us to look at it. I liked what I saw and requested to test drive it and never got the chance to because the salesmen were so busy. They called us back to sign the papers and they were so busy we felt rushed to sign them. We brought the truck home and after a few days realized this truck was not for us. We tried calling to get our truck back and explaining why and no one would help us. We decided to take a look at our contract and realized they only gave us 26000 for our trade in! I went in and the slimy guy told me that with the rebates included it added up to 29000 and that was the moment I realized my family and I have been dooped! There was a verbal agreement with my wife as my witness of 30,000 for trade in as well as the rebates! We do plan to seek a military attorney. We were lied to and rushed out and felt my family has been taken advantage of. I can only hope they do not do this to other families.

Desired Settlement
We want our trade-in back or our money back!

Business Response
I personally spoke with the customer when he was here. He and his wife left the showroom and called back a short time after. They had decided they were interested in purchasing the truck. We gave them the military VPP discount which is $1500 under invoice. I explained we could offer them $29,000 for their Dodge truck with the available rebates on the Titan included. This is common practice with any dealer. Broken down that is $26,505 trade in allowance plus the $2,500 rebate, totaling $29,505. The customer agreed to this and came back in. They did test drive the truck with another salesman, as theirs was not available. They liked the Titan and requested we add a remote start to the truck. Since they had so much negative equity that was carrying over from their trade-in, I had to contact the bank to make sure they would allow this addition to the truck. The bank approved the remote start. They took delivery of the vehicle that day.

A few days later, the customer called back to say the truck grabbed when they drove it in four-wheel-drive. A salesman ****** explained that you are not supposed to drive a vehicle with the 4X4 setting for everyday use on regular roads. As one knows, this is meant for off road driving or treacherous road conditions. He told them to bring the truck in to service if there were any problems.

I have not heard from the customers since then. If they have decided this is not the truck for them, we can help them trade. Since a contract has been done and money exchanged with the banks, we cannot simply refund them. I am willing to help with this in any way I can. I, myself, am former military (a Staff Sargent in the US Army) and would not take advantage of a fellow military family nor would I want that reputation for this dealership. I have worked for this company for 21 years helping military and local families purchase vehicles and offering military assistance, including discounts, whenever possible.

**** ******
*** *** ***** *******

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Being verbally told one thing and putting something different on paper is a very grimy thing to do. It's apparant you aren't willing to fix this. We'd like to know how you could help us trade it in?

Final Business Response
The customer had a great deal of negative equity on the truck he traded in, the Dodge truck. That negative equity carried over onto his new loan. This is not due to a "bad deal" on our end. We worked diligently to get him approved with the bank to begin with since he had to carry that over.

According to the service records from 12/26/13, the automatic selector and shift cables had to be adjusted. We truly regret he was inconvenienced, especially on Christmas. This was a minor fix and was covered by warranty. We also regret the customer is unhappy with his purchase. Again, we are unable to simply refund him because he no longer likes the truck. Funds have been exchanged, his trade in paid off, and his current contract locked in with the bank. We are willing to work with him to trade it in.

11/09/2015Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 10/14/1988Business started: 10/01/1972
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Tennessee Motor Vehicle Commission
500 James Robertson Pkwy., 2nd Floor
Nashville, TN 37243
(615) 741-2711

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Business Management
Principal: Mrs. Brittnye Tranberg (Business Development Manager)Mr. Chris Bagwell (General Manager)
Contact Information
Mr. Gary Mathews (Owner)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers - Online, Auto Dealers - New Cars

Products & Services

This company is engaged in the sale and service of new and used vehicles.

Industry Tips
Automobile Financing
Automobile - Repair

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Mathews Nissan

185 Highway 76

Clarksville, TN 37043

To | From


2 Locations

  • 185 Highway 76 

    Clarksville, TN 37043Fax: (931) 552-7634

  • P.O. Box 1106 

    Clarksville, TN 37041

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Mathews Nissan is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 268-4962
  • (877) 342-4381
  • (931) 522-7555

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (931) 552-7313

Additional Web Addresses


Additional Email Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Automobile Financing
Automobile - Repair

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.