BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
45 counties of Middle Tennessee and Southern Kentucky

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/1984

Mathews Nissan

Find a Location

Phone: (931) 552-7555Fax: (931) 552-7634View Additional Phone Numbers185 Highway 76, ClarksvilleTN 37043 Send email to Mathews NissanView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/1984

BBB has determined that Mathews Nissan meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Mathews Nissan's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues5
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service6
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Mathews Nissan

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (12)BBB Closure Definitions
10/21/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Mathews Nissan sold me a used car that they knew needed a new transmission that costs almost waht the car is worth and did not tell me.
I purchased an 06 VW Beetle from Mathews Nissan on 19 July 2013. I test drove the car around the block and performed a visual inspection. I asked Mathews Nissan if there were any known issues with the car and they said "Only a scratch on the driver side and a small dent." The next day when my wife was driving to work (a 40 minute drive) the transmission started jerking and bucking. After doing some google searching I found out the many of these VWs with this transmission had bad valve bodies. The jerking and bucking doesn't start until 15-20 minutes of driving and the transmission fluid warming up. My problem with Mathews Nissan is that they had to know the transmission was bad in the car and they withheld that information from me. Now the car needs a new transmission that costs almost as much as the car is worth. I went back to Mathews Nissan iwth the car to see if they would try to make it right. They did not. The sales manager told me that they didn't not know that the transmission was bad and that "you never know when a car is going to break". I find it hard to believe that the car just randomly broke the day after I bought it.

Desired Settlement
Mathews Nissan needs to replace my transmission or give me what I paid for the car in trade for one that isn't broken.

Business Response
We regret that Mr. ****** is unhappy with his vehicle and has experienced problems with his pre-owned vehicle and certainly understand his frustrations. When Mr. ****** purchased the car, he was aware that it was pre-owned and sold "as is" with over 135,000 miles on it. We insist a customer test drive a vehicle and personally inspect it before purchasing. If there are any concerns, this is the time to discuss it with the salesperson. We never want to sell vehicles with mechanical issues. If there had been any mechanical problems with the vehicle, both Mr. ****** and our staff would have noticed at that time. Furthermore, Mathews Nissan does not intentionally purchase problematic vehicles for resale. Mr. ****** has been a valued Mathews Nissan customer for several years and has purchased several vehicles from us. He should know we do not knowingly sell vehicles with mechanical issues. If Mr. ****** would like to have the repairs done, we would be happy to do them discounted at dealer cost. He would just need to set up an appointment with our service department.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
A test drive was conducted. As stated before, the problem with the transmission only occurs after transmission fluids are heated up to operating temperature which is 15-20 minutes. A test drive only lasts 5 minutes. If Mathews Nissan conducted a thorough vehicle inspection on their used vehicles like they claim, then obviously they knew it had a broken transmission. The transmission didn't just happen to break the day I purchased the car. This means to me that they intentionally sold me a vehicle with a broken transmission or they do not thoroughly inspect their used cars as claimed. I will only accept a free repair or a trade in at the full vehicle purchase price as a solution.

Final Business Response
We do have the service records that show the used car safety inspection was performed on this vehicle in July 2013. All major components, including the transmission, were thoroughly inspected. This repair order with detailed repairs listed is available if Mr. ****** would like to see it. Again, we do not sell vehicles with mechanical problems. We are willing to perform the repairs at the discounted dealer cost, or our pre-owned car manager is willing to appraise it and determine if we can give him what he paid for it in trade-in value.

10/15/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On July 20, I purchased a vehicle from Mathews Nissan. Less than 30 later I expericed problems with the vehicle. I was unairly charged for repairs.
On July 20th of this year I purchased a 2009 Nissan Altima from this dealership.I was offered an extended warranty on the vehicle. I refused the warranty because of the low mileage on my car. However, less than thirty days I experienced a problem with the car. I called the dealership to explain the problem which I was having. They told me to bring it in the next day and that they would fix it up. Well when I got there I was later told that the problem which I was having was due to the break not reaching the right part. I told this to the service manager. He told me to take it the back and that they would get me fixed up. When the mechanic finished he came out to tell me about the break and the light and about how the battery was a problem with this. He then went on tell me that it would be &160 plus taxes. I told him what his service stated to me. He went on to tell me that the warranty did not cover this problem. My understanding is that it within the thirty day frame for any vehicle having a problem and can return the vehicle. So I wrote to the head department concerning my complaint. It has been over a month and I have not heard from them at all. My complaint is that I should not have had to pay for a problem with a care that I recently purchased, under 30 days.
When I was writing to the manager I really thought that he would consider my complaint and respond. We have not heard from him.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking the full amount paid which was (181.00*

Business Response
For pre-owned vehicles, we include a 30 day, 3000 mile warranty when an extended warranty is refused. This standard warranty is a powertrain warranty and does not cover the repairs needed on Ms. ********'s vehicle. Mathews Nissan, as with most all car dealerships, does not have a 30 day return policy on pre-owned vehicles. We are happy to help in any way possible, but we cannot simply refund customers who have repairs performed on their pre-owned cars outside the powertrain warranty regardless of the time frame. That is why we offer the extended warranty. We hope Ms. ******** understands this.

05/13/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Vehicles purchase and customer/sale service practice s and behavior.
On 04 April 2013,I purchased a 2005 Honda Accord Hybrid from this dealer. Unfortunately, this vehicle has some issues: passenger side lock does not work, Spare tire not there, after I asked if all safety features are good shape, the brakes sometimes jam, and a few more minor problems.

All these are cosmetic issues that can be fixed. After I signed contract, loan term and many other documents which I did not get copies after I requested them, You do not owe us anything(Also signed document stating that) according to the sales rep, just a copy of your orders and handed me keys and you are on your way.

On 12 April a Sale Reps contacted me demanding payment using threats and intimidation, I consider this harassment. If something was not disclosed clearly or was misrepresented, consumers should not be harassed.

I am very disappointed with Mathew Nissan methods of conducting business and their low class services.

Desired Settlement
To solve the problem, base on their customer service practices, use of threat and intimidation tactics I would like to return the sub-standard product I was tricked to purchase. I do not want this associated with this entity and/or tarnish my good credit score.

Business' Initial Response
Mr. ********* purchased a 2005 Honda Accord Hybrid from our dealership on April 4. He found this particular vehicle online and submitted an inquiry. After carefully examining the vehicle and the contract, Mr. ********* chose to purchase this vehicle and an extended warranty. He also agreed to pay $5,000 as a down payment.
That afternoon, Mr. ********* took delivery of the vehicle, along with a referral to a Honda repair facility and an offer from us to pay for additional repairs. Immediately after the customer left, it was brought to our Finance Manager, ****** ******** attention that the customer did not give her, the salesperson, or the sales manager the $5,000 he owed. ****** attempted to call the customer, but he did not answer. After several attempts over the next week, she was able to reach him from her cell phone. He told her he had paid the $5,000 but could not recall to whom he paid it. He did not have a receipt, only the Buyer's Order.
Later that day, our Sales Manager, ************, contacted Mr. ********* and explained that we had not received his down payment and that he needed to come in and pay it, as it had been agreed upon. **** explained that he would be forced to contact his Commanding Officer or even pursue legal action if necessary should the customer not pay the $5,000 owed.
A few days later, Mr. ********* came to dealership to obtain additional copies, as well as other copies of documents, from his purchase. We were happy to meet his requests. On this same day, Mr. ********* paid the $5,000 down payment owed.
Our dealership prides itself on maintaining a good relationship with customers, particularly with military personnel. In fact, a large portion of our customers in both sales and service are military personnel. We feel we exercised extreme patience with Mr. ********* in this situation and regret that he feels he was mistreated. We held up our end of the bargain and went beyond to ensure the vehicle the customer desired met his standards before delivery. All we expected in return was that the customer would honor his end of the deal, as well.
At this point in time, we have received everything needed from Mr. *********. He took ownership of the vehicle and is responsible for payments to his lender. While Mr. ********* will now make payments to the lender and no longer has to come to ******* Nissan, we would like to continue helping him with any future automotive needs should he so choose.
We hope this provides clarification for both the BBB and Mr. *********. We are here to help in any other way we can.

04/01/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
03/13/2013Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
02/05/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I went to Mathews Nissan on December 18th, and they tried to get me financed for a vehicle without my permission after I told them not to.
I went to Mathews Nissan on December 18th, 2013 and was looking into buying my husband a truck. The sales Rep name was ****** ****** I bought my sentra from him two weeks before this date. I asked him not to run my credit and told him I was not planning on financing through them if I chose to purchase the truck. He said okay not to worry about and that he understood. I spent eight hours there that day just looking at trucks for my husband and trying to discuss a reasonable amount. Once we agreed on a price I told him I was going to call my financial institution to try and get my loan approved. I ended up not trying to finance at all and decided I would pay cash. I told him I would be back the next day with cash and we would buy the truck. He said okay but he seemed mad that I didn't buy the truck that same day. The night I got home I checked my credit report because I had a feeling he had tried to get me a approved for a loan without my consent since he was so desperate in trying to get me to buy the car that same night. I was right, he did run my credit through two different banks that night. The next morning he calls me to tell me he has found a bank that is willing to finance me and gave me monthly payments and everything with interests rates too. I raised my voice and got mad and asked him why he did that and how he did that without my permission after I told him not to. He said i wouldn't affect my credit score or show up as hard inquiries on my credit report. It ended up showing up four hard inquiries on my credit report. I was livid. I was not responsible for any of these four hard inquiries. And the worst part was that the second last two were done on December 19th, 2013 when I wasn't even in the building. This was the day after I had left the dealership. I spoke to his boss ****** and he tried to justify what ****** Did. I spoke to the manager there, ***** ******* and he gave me the run around. ignored my emails, and refused to give me what I need which was a letter saying that them running my credit was a mistake. I need this letter form him so that I can send it to the three credit bureaus and get it taken care of and he nor anyone else in that dealership would help me out. Neither would ****** ******* the finance lady. Aldo when I told ****** ***** that I was not interested in buying the car anymore and went in there the next day to get my car fixed he called me a spoiled bratt, because i threw a fit for him funning my credit without my permission and he also told me that I wasted eight hours of his day. He told me that he didn't care who I contacted to complain about him because know one would care about a spoiled bratt like me and he threatened me. He told me that I was an unhappy costumer who was dumb and didn't know what she wanted. He yelled at me and humiliated me in front of everyone that day at the dealership and this was on the 19th. No one thought to help me out or intervene. He had me crying so bad that I couldnt even talk my friend had to talk for me. I think it is very sad that he couldnt even respect me as a customer and simply admit he ran my credit and tried to get me approved for a loan without his permission. He does not care. Ineed a letter from their dealership so that I can send that to the three credit bureaus so they can remove it form my hard inquiries. I have talked to the head of Nissan and he didn't even do anything about it. I feel helpless in this situation and highly mistreated. I can not believe this has happened to me.

Desired Settlement
I want a letter typed from their dealership indicating that it was a mistake that they ran my credit on December 19th, 2013 and that I have their permission to remove it and so do the three credit bureaus. they need to include the date that the inquiry was made. which is the 18th of December 2013, the fact that it was not me who inquired about it and that I never wanted a loan from Mathews Nissan finance department, that it was a mistake and to please remove it form my hard inquiries on my credit report.

Business Response
After careful research and review, we have compiled factual information pertaining to Ms. ******'s complaint. Ms. ****** did come into Mathews Nissan on December 18 and allowed her credit to be checked for the purchase of the truck she mentioned in her initial complaint. When she left the dealership on that day, she was aware her credit had been submitted. She had an app on her cell phone that allowed her to check her credit. Upon checking it that day, she commented that Mathews Nisan had already submitted her credit and made no objection. In addition to this, Ms. ****** never told her salesperson ****** ***** not to run her credit.

At that point, Ms. ****** discussed possible terms concerning the purchase of the truck for her husband. She chose to contact **** ******* ****** ***** to determine if she would be able to obtain better financing through them instead of financing through Mathews Nissan.

On December 19, Ms. ****** returned to Mathews Nissan with a friend. She complained that the Nissan Sentra she purchased from us a couple of weeks prior was having an issue with the door. At this point, she wanted a new Nissan Sentra to replace hers since she was having an issue with the aforementioned door. We explained that this was not a possibility but could explore other options. Again, she never mentioned her credit being run the previous day.

Ms. ****** was scheduled to return to our dealership on December 20, 2013 to take delivery of the truck. She came and told ****** she had changed her mind about the truck and wanted ****** to "know what it feels like when someone doesn't do what they say they're going to do." It must also be noted that again on this day, she did not make mention of her credit being run.

Under the circumstances that Ms. ****** presented on December 19, 2013, and on subsequent visits, she was treated with the utmost respect in a businesslike manner. As far as her request to rescind the credit pull, Mathews Nissan did not make a mistake by submitting ******** ******'s credit on December 18, 2013.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did go and pick up the credit application from December 18th, 2013. I apologize for the trouble I do not remember signing it at any point in time on the 18th I clearly remember saying I didn't want my credit pulled so as to why I would have signed it I guess we'll never know. But once again do apologize for the confusion. But I did not get the credit application from December 19th, 2013. My credit was also pulled several times by several different creditors through Mathews Nissan on this date. Mathews Nissan informed me that they did not have a credit application for me for the 19th of December 2013.

Therefore, I am asking that they please help me remove the hard inquiries from my credit report that were made on December 19th, 2013 by writing me a letter giving me their permission to remove those so that I can send those to the creditors to remove them from my hard inquiries and get some pints back on my credit score.

Final Business Response
The customer was correctly informed: Once a customer has contacted the Better Business Bureau, we prefer keeping all lines of communication open through them only until the case is closed. This is in the customer's best interest and allows everyone involved to have a documented correspondence trail. With that stated, we are more than happy to provide Ms. ****** with a copy of her signed credit application. She may pick it up at our dealership.

We still maintain our position that no wrongdoing was committed by Mathews Nissan. The customer acknowledged we submitted her credit and did not object.

01/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Taken advantage of by this dealership!
We looked to trade in the dodge we had purchased a while back. It was a great truck but thought a Nissan would be a better fit for my wife. We went to the dealership, talked some numbers and none of them fit our needs. We were looking at a 2013 Nissan Titan. They called us back saying they would give us wholesale value for our trade in (30,000) plus the rebates. They were extremely busy, we were constantly waiting and they finally brought the truck around for us to look at it. I liked what I saw and requested to test drive it and never got the chance to because the salesmen were so busy. They called us back to sign the papers and they were so busy we felt rushed to sign them. We brought the truck home and after a few days realized this truck was not for us. We tried calling to get our truck back and explaining why and no one would help us. We decided to take a look at our contract and realized they only gave us 26000 for our trade in! I went in and the slimy guy told me that with the rebates included it added up to 29000 and that was the moment I realized my family and I have been dooped! There was a verbal agreement with my wife as my witness of 30,000 for trade in as well as the rebates! We do plan to seek a military attorney. We were lied to and rushed out and felt my family has been taken advantage of. I can only hope they do not do this to other families.

Desired Settlement
We want our trade-in back or our money back!

Business Response
I personally spoke with the customer when he was here. He and his wife left the showroom and called back a short time after. They had decided they were interested in purchasing the truck. We gave them the military VPP discount which is $1500 under invoice. I explained we could offer them $29,000 for their Dodge truck with the available rebates on the Titan included. This is common practice with any dealer. Broken down that is $26,505 trade in allowance plus the $2,500 rebate, totaling $29,505. The customer agreed to this and came back in. They did test drive the truck with another salesman, as theirs was not available. They liked the Titan and requested we add a remote start to the truck. Since they had so much negative equity that was carrying over from their trade-in, I had to contact the bank to make sure they would allow this addition to the truck. The bank approved the remote start. They took delivery of the vehicle that day.

A few days later, the customer called back to say the truck grabbed when they drove it in four-wheel-drive. A salesman ****** explained that you are not supposed to drive a vehicle with the 4X4 setting for everyday use on regular roads. As one knows, this is meant for off road driving or treacherous road conditions. He told them to bring the truck in to service if there were any problems.

I have not heard from the customers since then. If they have decided this is not the truck for them, we can help them trade. Since a contract has been done and money exchanged with the banks, we cannot simply refund them. I am willing to help with this in any way I can. I, myself, am former military (a Staff Sargent in the US Army) and would not take advantage of a fellow military family nor would I want that reputation for this dealership. I have worked for this company for 21 years helping military and local families purchase vehicles and offering military assistance, including discounts, whenever possible.

**** ******
*** *** ***** *******


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Being verbally told one thing and putting something different on paper is a very grimy thing to do. It's apparant you aren't willing to fix this. We'd like to know how you could help us trade it in?

Final Business Response
The customer had a great deal of negative equity on the truck he traded in, the Dodge truck. That negative equity carried over onto his new loan. This is not due to a "bad deal" on our end. We worked diligently to get him approved with the bank to begin with since he had to carry that over.

According to the service records from 12/26/13, the automatic selector and shift cables had to be adjusted. We truly regret he was inconvenienced, especially on Christmas. This was a minor fix and was covered by warranty. We also regret the customer is unhappy with his purchase. Again, we are unable to simply refund him because he no longer likes the truck. Funds have been exchanged, his trade in paid off, and his current contract locked in with the bank. We are willing to work with him to trade it in.

06/25/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
**** at Nissan told me on Tuesday 5/7/13 that they would replace my windshield due to a crack. Nissan service says now they will not honor that.
I called Nissan on Tuesday, May 7, 2013 at 5:30 to ask about what windshield I need for my 2013 Nissan Altima. I spoke with **** and explained that I had just bought my car a month ago and the other day a rock had hit my window and cracked it across. Before I could even ask what kind of windshield I needed to replace, he told me to bring it in and service could get it replaced for me. I had asked him 3 or 4 times to clarify the information he gave me was correct (just to make sure). He then told me that service was closed for the night but to call back the next morning at 7:30. At that time I could tell them what I had told **** and they would order the window and I could set up a time to come get it replaced.

The next morning I called at 7:30 and the lady in service said no, we don't cover that. So I asked to speak to a manager. ******* called me at about 9:30 on Wed, 5/8. He told me that was not his policy to replace a window and they would only fix it if it had a small chip. I told him that is not what **** told me and I had specifically asked him several times to verify the information I was receiving was correct. ******* said he was going to go speak with **** and then call me back.

At 10:30 ******* called me back with **** on speakerphone. **** said that I had called and said "I had a starfish chip on my window". I told him I didn't even know what that meant, so how could I have possibly said that. I repeated exactly what he told me the night before and asked him to verify that I asked him SEVERAL times to repeat the information. He said yes you did ask several times. ******* interrupted immediately and said "well that is not our policy so I am sorry". I said that I was sorry if he gave me incorrect information but that is why I asked him to verify several times. I said even if he did quote me the wrong information, good business would honor what their employee said. ******* then told me that his employee would never say that and that I was a liar. He then took it further to say "do you think we would honestly replace a window? Does that sound like good business sense? I can't help your poor driving habits and if you want to drive too close to a dump truck with rocks, then that is your own fault". I was absolutely shocked that a business would let a MANAGER speak to customers like that.

I asked to speak to a higher manager, *******. I explained the situation and he said his employees would never say such a thing. I explained that **** did and that I asked him to verify several times to make sure information was correct. ******* was very sarcastic also and told me that "if I got into an accident that I wouldn't call and ask him to replace my car would I?" I explained that I was sorry if his employee said the wrong thing, but **** even said that I repeated it to him several times to verify information. And as a good business owner, customers expect that a manager will stand by what an employee tells a customer. He just kept telling me it was not his problem and that I needed to call my insurance. There was a miscommunication and that he is not going to do anything about it.

I did call Gary Matthews Chrysler where his dad used to work before retirement. I talked to their customer service (*****), who was wonderful. They also tried to call Nissan to resolve the issue, with no success. ***** was VERY helpful and told me that if it was a Chrysler car she would take care of the issue, but since it wasn't, there was not much she could do. She at least offered to find a glass place and give me a discount. I didn't even receive that at Nissan when I just bought a $40,000 car there a month ago.

Desired Settlement
I would like my window replaced like the employee **** told me would happen. When ***** called them to try and resolve the issue, they quoted her around $200 for a new windshield.

I am just floored and shocked that a business would treat a customer like this, and all it would cost them would be $200 to replace.

Business' Initial Response
We have received correspondence from Ms. ******** ****** via your agency. After investigating this complaint, I am responding on behalf of Mathews Nissan.
Ms. ****** bought a 2013 Nissan Altima from us in March of 2013. Ms. ****** took delivery of the vehicle in new condition. All of our new cars come with a 90 day protection package that covers instances such the repair of a star type windshield chip. This particular service is offered to keep the vehicle's appearance pristine, as well as, keep the chip from becoming a major crack in the windshield. Ms. ****** was entitled to have the repair on her Altima.
According to Ms. ******, she spoke with a ***** We do not have an employee named ***** but from what I can deduce, she must have mistaken the name **** for a salesman named **** who works here at Mathews Nissan.
**** told Ms. ****** about the windshield repair, but in no way promised to replace it. Furthermore, a sales person is not authorized to make this type of decision. When asked by my sales manager, ****** **** adamantly denied promising to replace the customer's windshield. ***** and **** spoke with Ms. ****** via speaker phone. Ms. ******'s recollection of the conversation is very accurate with the exception that ***** insists he did not call Ms. ****** a "liar." Name calling is unprofessional and is not acceptable in this establishment.
It is our opinion that Ms. ****** must have misunderstood our policy. The reasonable person knows replacing a windshield that has been cracked by rock or debris while driving is an insurance matter. Once the customer has purchased the vehicle we, nor most other dealers, would replace a windshield that had been damaged as a result of the customer's driving or activity on the road.
***** from Gary Mathews Motors called and spoke with me. She asked for an estimated price for a windshield. I told her around $200. However, per our Service Department assistant manager, the cost of replacing a 2013 Nissan Altima's windshield would be around $600, $300 and up if using an aftermarket product.
We regret that this misunderstanding took place, but ask that Ms. ****** consider her request for a moment and recognize that is in fact an insurance matter. If she feels she was talked to inappropriately, I would like to apologize profusely on behalf of ******* Nissan.
Since she is still within the 90 day purchase period, we will be happy to repair a star chip or other small chip in her windshield.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am not satisfied because as good business practice when an employee states the wrong information, the business should honor what the employee says. Then go back and fix that problem so the employee does not quote incorrect information again. As you quoted "Ms. ******'s recollection of the conversation is very accurate with the exception that ***** insists he did not call Ms. ****** a "liar." , even says recollection of the comversation was very accurate as I asked "****" to repeat the information SEVERAL times to ensure I was getting the accurate information. It obviously seems there was a misunderstanding but not on my end. When I asked repeatedly about the crack, **** should have made sure the information he was giving out was accurate. Every business I have spoken to about this matter agreed with me in saying that if wrong information is given then they stand by that. Of course it is not something a company wants to do, but they don't belittle the customer and talk down to them. As ***** the MANAGER told me that I have poor driving skills and it is my fault if I want to drive to close to a dump truck. As any reasonable person knows, that's not how managers should treat their customers. My other concern is that when ***** from Gary Matthews Chrysler called Nissan to ask about the windshield they said $200. Now they are saying $600? So they are now quoting incorrect information again and not to me. $400 is a big difference. I just wonder how many times customers are misquoted information from Nissan. As stated above that this was an insurance issue. As the owner ******* stated to me "if I crashed my car I wouldn't come back to Nissan and asked them to replace it?" Another sarcastic remark from the highest person I can speak with about the matter. The unprofessionalism here at Nissan continues to amaze me. I just spent $40,000 on a car to be treated like this? I understand that people make mistakes and information is sometimes wrongly stated. But when a customer asks to clarify numerous times that becomes my issue. Instead of management just apologizing for the issue, they instead insulted my driving capabilities and said I basically made everything up. The managers were very rude and sarcastic to me and had me in tears several times. So yes I am UNsatisfied with their response. I am pretty sure every business would agree that no one likes to lose out on money but when an employee quotes information incorrectly, they stand up for the mistake and make it right to the customer and not hold them at fault. The manager at Nissan would not even recommend a place for me to get it fixed. When I asked if there was anything he could do he said "No, there is nothing I will do for you". I would still like my windshield replaced due to the fact that is what I was originally stated and the unprofessional manner in which numerous of the managers treated me.

Business' Final Response
As a business, we have certain responsibility to our customers. Being courteous and professional is certainly among those obligations. So, again, I apologize repeatedly for any mistreatment Ms. ****** feels she received from our managers. With that said, we still have to recommend she contact her insurance agency for this matter. As Ms. ****** saw in her paperwork, we do offer free repair to windshield stars and minor chips. Unfortunately, **** (who no longer works at ******* Nissan) who gave Ms. ****** this information was not a manager and could in no way promise a customer something as major as a new windshield, especially after the sale of the vehicle.
Per our service manager, a new Nissan windshield and labor for it would be $659.00. He stated we could possibly put in an inexpensive after-market windshield for a little over $220. So, it makes sense to me that she file this through insurance and get the Nissan windshield.
Again, I regret that Ms. ****** is not happy and that she felt insulted by my staff. I have spoken with them and reiterated any sort of belittling of a customer is unacceptable.

******* Hall
GSM

07/18/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was unable to get finance through any of Mathew Nissan Finance Companies and the want to keep my deposit of $1500.00.
On March 27, 2013 I was told by ****** ***** I would be financed through ****** *********** I put a $1500.00 as down payment for a Black 2003 Dodge Durango, which has major mechanical problems. All payments were set up on auto draft and coming out of my account as agreed. About a month later I became unemployed. I was then contacted by the Boss ***** ******* he said I needed to come by to the lot and look at getting something else. I got to the lot on May 8, 2013. At that time they wanted to do paperwork to go to another company. I informed them that the current company have been receiving my payments and I was unaware that they never approved me. it became to confusing and the truck has issues with it anyway, so I asked if I could just get my money back since they were unable to get me finaced and of course the truck really wasn't running properly anyways. They then told me I couldn't get my money back and that I owed they $1758.00 for having the truck for so long. *** **** told me he would keep the $1500.00 and wash the remaining $258.00. I informed him that I was unaware of any laws like this and that I am entitled to my down payment because they told me I was approved, did the contacted, started taking payments from my account, and a little over a month later tell me I'm not approved. Its was just to confusing to me and I just want to get my money back and try another dealer. *** **** then stated that if he couldn't get me approved he has to charge me as if the truck were a rental and that's why I can't get my money back. I asked him why was that never covered and why is it not stated in the contract anywhere. He then stated that "that's just how it is". I then asked to speak with his supervisor and he said he is the boss of Mathews Nissan and that there was no one else I could speak with. Its not my fault the finance company could not finance me. *** **** and ****** ***** had me leave the lot with the assumption I was approved and everything was good to go. We did a contact, I made a down payment of $1500.00, and was making payments on time in the amount of $122.30 every 1st and 15th of the month not to mention automobile insurance which as cost me a little $300.00.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking my down payment back in the amount of $1500.00, and also my payments made to the finance company. I would also like them to inform the Insurance company that I no longer have the truck so that they can send me any moneys left from me making payments.

Business' Initial Response
We have received correspondence from ****** ***** via your organization. Ms. ***** came to purchase a 2003 Dodge Durango from Mathews Nissan on Febuary 27, 2013. In order to get her financed, we needed a $1500.00 down payment. With this, ****** ********** would lend Ms. ***** the money to pay for the remainder of the price of the vehicle.
Through no fault of Mathews Nissan, ****** ********** dropped the loan agreement. It is my understanding that ****** ********** should be refunding Ms. ***** of anything she paid them.
Ms. ***** did not seek alternate funding through us and opted to return the vehicle (on her own accord) three months after she originally took delivery. Since she nor ****** ********** paid us for the vehicle, we charged her as we would any customer who drove our vehicle as a rental. We drew up the paperwork to show her the rental amount on a car from us would be $1758.00 for three months' use. Instead of seeking the entire amount, we agreed to keep the $1500 down payment to settle the debt.
We regret that Ms. ***** is unsatisfied. We met our end of the bargain and worked with her to purchase this vehicle. I am happy to address any other questions or concerns she may have at this time.

******* ****
General Sales Manager

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I would have never giving a deposit if I wasn't told by the sales man that I was approved for the truck. I would have never agreed to spending my hard earned money on a rental until I was approved. I made a 1500.00 down payment and two additional payments because I was told that I was approved for the vehicle not a maybe, wait and see, or anything like that. if iwas not approved before leaving they should have told me and I would have never giving them a down payment. all I am asking for is my money back. it was not my fault I was only going off what I was told by the dealership and when they told me I was not approved over two months later I returned the vehicle as they asked me to. now I am due my down payment and two additional payments back.

Business' Final Response
****** ********** informed us after we sold Ms. ***** the car and agreed on loan terms with them that Ms. ***** quit her job. That is why they had to deny financing at that point. ****** ********** is responsible for reimbursing Ms. ***** the two payments she made to them. To my knowledge, they still plan to do so.

Again, due to the mileage added to the vehicle over three months' time and Ms. *****'s decision not to seek alternate funding with us to keep the vehicle, we only charged her $1500 for use of the vehicle when she chose to return it.

******* ****
GSM

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/14/1988Business started: 10/01/1972
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Tennessee Motor Vehicle Commission
500 James Robertson Pkwy., 2nd Floor
Nashville, TN37243
(615) 741-2711
http://www.tn.gov/regboards/mvc/index.shtml

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Business Management
Principal: Mrs. Brittnye Tranberg (Business Development Manager)Mr. Chris Bagwell (General Manager)
Contact Information
Mr. Gary Mathews (Owner)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Dealers - Online, Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles, Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repair & Service

Products & Services

This company is engaged in the sale and service of new and used vehicles.

Industry Tips
Automobile Financing
Automobile - Repair

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Mathews Nissan

185 Highway 76

Clarksville, TN 37043

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Mathews Nissan is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 268-4962
  • (877) 342-4381
  • (931) 522-7555

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (931) 552-7313
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Automobile Financing
Automobile - Repair
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.