BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/04/1997

Jenkins & Wynne Ford/Lincoln/Mercury

Phone: (931) 647-3353Fax: (931) 553-5056View Additional Phone Numbers328 College St, ClarksvilleTN 37040-3226 Send email to Jenkins & Wynne Ford/Lincoln/Mercury

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/04/1997

BBB has determined that Jenkins & Wynne Ford/Lincoln/Mercury meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Jenkins & Wynne Ford/Lincoln/Mercury's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Jenkins & Wynne Ford/Lincoln/Mercury

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
02/11/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Repairs to vehicle caused a brake line leak which resulted in failed brakes and almost cause a serious car accident.
I went to Jenkins and Wynne Honda for an oil change on February 3, 2016 and they recommended new brake pads and a tire rotation which I agreed to. After paying for the service and leaving the location I had issues with the brakes working. After driving a few miles the brakes went out completely and I was forced to run a red light due to the brakes not slowing the car. After having a panic attack and fearing for my life I coasted to a stop by taking several turns and eventually putting my car in park once I slowed enough that I felt comfortable doing so. There was a huge leak from the rear driver side brake line which resulted in a puddle of brake fluid on the road under my car. After calming myself down enough to be able to speak on the phone I called Honda and explained what happened. ***** ****** asked me to drive the vehicle back to the shop, which I refused stating that the car is not safe to drive. He then asked for me to get it towed to the shop, when I refused and said it was their responsibility they finally agreed to have it towed back to them. Once they received the vehicle they claimed the line was rusted and that is the cause for leak. They gave me an estimate of close to 400$ for parks and another 400$ in labor with a two-three day wait to get the car fixed. I told them to go ahead with the repairs because I need my vehicle as I have no other means for transportation right now. After talking to several different people on the phone, they continuously apologized for the problem but refused to take reaposibility. On initial inspection they wrote that I would need the rear drum serviced but did not find it necessary at the moment. This is the repairs they are doing currently because they are much worse than they led me to believe. They also marked that the brake lines were fine, which is false considering the major leak that occurred that put my life and others around me in danger. ***** did not show any need for me to have the other repairs to the vehicle done at time of service so I felt that those repairs that were recommended were not necessary.

Desired Settlement
I would like for Honda to repair the brake line and cover the cost for the rest of the repairs due to damage to my car they caused and failed to warn me about as well as emotional damage

Business Response
service director **** ******* contacted ms.***** and offered to repay for part of repair totaling 387.29 customer agreed and thanked me for refund.we are processing and sending check out as of 2/10/16

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I feel they are compensating me for the damage accrued to my vehicle.

12/05/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
damage done to rear passager side seat.
On Nov 22,2013 I took my honda ridgeline in for oil change. while there I asked the clerk if they could take a look at the driver side rear seat, because when it is in the raised position the bar stays up instead of folding down. I also explained to her that the passager side rear seat was working fine. No problems with it in the raised position. The bar folded down just like it was suppose to. She said so you having problems with the back seat? I said only the driver side not the passager. he made notes. When I was called to the service dept I was told it would cost over $900.00 to fix the seat. I paid for oil change and left. When leaving noticed that now both seat bars were up. I immediately returned to the service dept. and asked what happened. Why is the passager side bar up?. There was nothing wrong with that side. Two clerks begin to tell me that one side could not be repaired without the other. Again I told them that there was nothing wrong with the passager side when I got there. And I refuse to leave until the rear passager seat was fully operational as it was when I brought the truck in for service. Then the male clerk went outside with me to look at the seat. I was then told by him that they would have to order a part in order to fix the seat. And that they would ONLY be repairing the passager side. WOW! Just minutes ago inside I was told repairing one side was not an option. It would seem that I was being taken an advantage of, but why? If the seat was damaged during inspection they should have just said so. What is really going on here? I have been bringing my vehicle here since my purchase. This icident is both troubling and worrisome. I am filing this complaint because I don't know if the service dept at Jenkins & Wynne can be trusted to keep their word and make the repairs

Desired Settlement
back seat working properly.

Business Response
we have repaired the side of the set that the customer stated we damaged on dec.2nd at no cost to the customer. if the customer wishes the other side repaired we will do so at their expense.

Final Consumer Response
On Monday Nov. 2nd, 2013, repairs were made to the rear passenger seat. It appears to be working at this time. This incident has left me skeptical and wondering how many additional repairs have I had to pay for as a result of service dept. error. In the future, If I am ever asked about Jenkins and Wynne I will have no problem sharing the details of this incident. Thank you for your assistance in this matter.

Sincerely,
***** *****

06/01/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Will not honor advertised price
I viewed a vehicle on their website 4-11-15 that was priced 22,991 a 2013 Ford F150 stk#506387a. I go to the dealership the very same day and they tell me the price is 29,991. Spoke with several managers and they will not honor the price that is on their website. Spoke with owner and internet manager ***** ******* on 4-13-15 and she will not honor the price. And the website still states the same sale price as of 4-13-15 1:28pm

Desired Settlement
Honor the advertised price.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** *******
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *********@hotmail.com
The price entered on the website was incorrect. The price was supposed to be $29,991. There was a typo and the price of $22991 was entered by mistake. This was purely human error. My daughter, ****** was called at home on Sat the 11th and told of the problem. She contacted the company that posts our prices on Mon the 13th. The price was changed Mon the 13th at midnight when this 3rd party internet company normally updates our prices. This price was changed as soon as possible to not inconvenience another customer.

We price our used vehicles with a sticker that is posted on the window of each used vehicle and it always reflects the internet price. The price on the window of this 2013 F150 was 29,991. There was no intent to bait and switch. This was purely human error and was corrected as soon as possible. We offered MS. ****** a discounted price from the internet price to make up for the error since we couldn't have sold the vehicle for the mistaken internet price. She opted not to take advantage of the discounted price we could sell it for.

You can look at our record and see that this was a random happening. We are sorry for the error, but corrected it as soon as our 3rd party internet price posting company could change it. We have earned Ford's President's Award for customer satisfaction for 10 out of the last 11 years and been voted best place to buy a vehicle in Clarksville for 14 years in a row. We certainly couldn't have earned these awards without solid customer satisfaction. A mistake was made and then corrected as soon as possible. ***** ******* has talked to Ms. ****** about this error several times and has offered to find her a vehicle that is in her price range and also offered the discounted price on the 2013 F150.

We are sorry for the error and have done our best to satisfy Ms. ****** and will continue to try to find a vehicle that will fit her budget.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Unfortunately, this mistake did happen. And, I understand the dilemma that it may have placed you within. But, as a business that prides themselves on honoring their word and standing behind their reputation and products, I would've believed that would have stood behind this error as well.

Please know that when I allowed you to continue to find me a vehicle I believed that you would make it seamless, and your intentions was to correct the mistake you made and truly "earn my business", as ***** said. But I soon realized that was not the case, as I was given the run-a-round, and pricing that did not appear to be a gesture of goodwill due to the surrounding circumstances. Therefore, I let my saleswoman know that I would be searching elsewhere for a vehicle.

As I read your response, it further makes me question your integrity, intentions, and word due to the fact that you have addressed myself by 2 different names; (Ms. ******) and in several other places under another name, (Ms ******* - which is not my name. (Another "human" error, I'm sure.) Or, you probably cut and past this response and didn't proof read or make the proper corrections.

I was able to find a newer and better priced vehicle at another local dealer (2014 F150 XLT Supercrew Cab). Thank you for standing in the way of making the wrong purchase.

Final Business Response
I'm sorry we could not honor the $7000 error in the sales price for MS. ******. We will perform any warranty work for her on her 14 F150 that she pruchased and try to create a service relationship with her. I regret the pricing error happened.

04/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Rear Moon window on passenger side presented with a stress crack noticed by myself the salesman and a friend prior to sell during demo of the vehical.
Sales rep ******** *******" ***** ******* assured me that the damage would be repaired along with the DVD package and roof rack installed upon the deal completion. We took possesion of the vehical as we were excited to take it on our vacation with the understanding the repairs and additions would be completed upo our return. I brought the vehical back 3/31/2014 and was called on 4/1 to pick it up. Our salesman explained to us that since the damage upon our return was greater than what it was when sold to the moon roof we would have to get it fixed via our insurance. The car also freaked out electronically twice resulting in me rebooting the system twice by resetting the battery. This is something they had no answer for but would investigate.The Panel of glass we are talking about was to be replaced anyway because it was damaged you should expect further damage. The dealership did not take pictures or document the damage a fact they are holding us liable for in refusing to make the repairs.

Desired Settlement
I only seek that the the dealership stand behind the deal and repair the glass they were on hook for and get the DVD and roof rack package installed as promised!

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** *** *** ***
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **********@hotmail.com
Mr. ****** purchased a 2014 Ford Flex on 3/21/14. Mr. ****** had a small blemish on his panoramic vista roof. There appeared to be a tear in the plastic between the two glass panels. Mr. ****** was going out of town on vacation. He did not have time for us to contact Ford and send any supporting documentation, ie pictures. When Mr. ****** returned from vacation his vehicle has sustained $3036.60 worth of damage. The front windshield was broken, the panoramic roof was shattered and two sizable dents on the roof. We advised Mr. ****** to turn the damage into his insurance company. We told him that the insurance company would subfregate with Ford if they felt they had any liability. Our general manager made an appointment with Mr. ****** to go over the damage. Mr. ****** did not make the appointment. We ordered a DVD headrest at the time of sale which is here and scheduled an appointment with Mr. ****** to install. The roof racks are not available, which we discussed with Mr. ****** at the time of sale. The roof racks accessory that are available clamp on the door, they are not like the factory roof rack. We think that Mr. ****** installed a temporary roof rack to haul his luggage while on vacation and it possibly came loose and did all of this damage. Thank you, ***** ******* . (a copy of the body shop damage estimate is available upon request)

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/21/1982Business started: 02/05/1959
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Tennessee Motor Vehicle Commission
500 James Robertson Pkwy., 2nd Floor
Nashville, TN 37243
(615) 741-2711
http://www.tn.gov/regboards/mvc/index.shtml

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Don Jenkins (President)Mr. Jeff Bateman (Parts & Service Director)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

This company is engaged in the sale of new and used vehicles.

Alternate Business Names
Jenkins & Wynne Ford, Inc., Jenkins & Wynne Motor Co.
Industry Tips
Automobile Financing

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Jenkins & Wynne Ford/Lincoln/Mercury has received 3.5 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Jenkins & Wynne Ford/Lincoln/Mercury

328 College St

Clarksville, TN 37040-3226

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 328 College St 

    Clarksville, TN 37040-3226

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Jenkins & Wynne Ford/Lincoln/Mercury is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (931) 431-3593
  • (615) 242-0728
  • (615) 431-3593
  • (615) 553-5056
  • (615) 647-3353
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Automobile Financing
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.