BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/20/1991

Hallmark Volkswagen Mitsubishi

Phone: (615) 859-3200Fax: (615) 859-32572431 Gallatin Road, N., MadisonTN 37115 Send email to Hallmark Volkswagen Mitsubishi

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/20/1991

BBB has determined that Hallmark Volkswagen Mitsubishi meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Hallmark Volkswagen Mitsubishi's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Hallmark Volkswagen Mitsubishi

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
03/31/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This dealership took in my car for repairs to a major leak they had it for WEEKS when I picked it up it was worse they overcharged me for shoddy work!
*Dropped off car for repairs 1st week Dec '13
*took them more than 25 days to supposedly "FIX" my severe roof leak in my convertible top
*Jan '14 picked up car it leaked worse than before I dropped it off causing me to purchase a tarp! After I paid over $800 in parts and labor... They would not give refund but I agreed to let them fix it AGAIN this time it took another 35 days to get it fixed and returned to me. Then charged me another 500 dollars when they should have made it right with the 1st 800 dollars I paid. A service was rendered and paid bit the service was ****! So I demand a refund of possible they ripped me off! The 500 they can keep I want the 1st 800 back since it was for NOTHING I have witnesses to back this story up! I will never use them again!

Desired Settlement
You can keep the 2nd transaction of 500 dollars and some change. But the first transaction of over around 800 dollars I want that back because the service was not honored and I paid that amount for nothing.

Business Response
Service Manager states that he had personal conversations with ******** ****** concerning the fact that the vehicle has mileage in excees of 160,000. He states that he explained how water will follow the path of least resistance and that the header seal was no guarantee of future leaks. The age of the seals are a concern. He feels he went above and beyond by giving ******** a vehicle to drive as well as writing off labor charges. The Technician states he water tested the vehicle after the repair was finished and no leak was present. ******** did not return to the dealership with more leaks until 21 days later.

Everytime ******** came to our Service Department and we kept her car, we gave her a vehicle to drive. Hallmark feels that we have taken very good care of a customer with a vehicle with 169,000. At no time did we have to give out tranportation or waive labor charges. A ten year old convertible regardless of mileage will have weather stripping issues due to dry rot and Hallmark does not feel there is any innapropriate behavior or process at this time.

Hallmark understand the position ******** is in and is willing to offer $100 in goodwill which is the cost of the labor to install the weather stripping on February 5.

04/05/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My 2008 VW Eos engine went out at 75K, even after regular maintenance; covered by extended warranty, yet no acceptable resolution after one month.
My 2008 Eos engine needs to be replaced due to VW defect in this model. Many problems noted on the internet. This car has only been serviced by the dealership and was maintained more frequently than recommended, yet there are metal shavings in the oil pan from the engine block (which has been a noted problem with consumer complaints listed on the internet). Although covered by an extended warranty purchased through the VW dealership when I purchased the car, we are being offered a used 2008 engine replacement with 40K miles. This is unacceptable. If we meticulously maintained our engine and it went out at 75K, what confidence do we have in a used engine of the same type with 40K and we have no idea how this engine was maintained. I feel that VW should get with CareGuard (the extended warranty co.) and replace our engine with a re-manufactured engine, not a used engine with a suspect history; yet CareGuard and VW of America said that we would have to pay approximately 7-8 Thousand Dollars for a re-manufactured engine. VW of America has only offered to give us "a good deal" if we want to trade into a new Eos.

Desired Settlement
We want a re-manufactured engine, not a used engine at no cost to us, other than our deductible listed in our extended warranty agreement.

Business' Initial Response
We are in communication with the ****** almost everyday. They have been presented with the latest option. We are waiting to hear back from them.

03/18/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Head gasket was blown and I was not notified by the dealership. Dealer has refused to call me back regarding the matter.
I purchased the vehicle in the first week of February and informed the dealership I would be using the vehicle for my side job of adjusting claims. After using the car under a month and for about 1,000 miles it started overheating.

I spoke with a fellow adjuster who handles mechanical losses who stated the head gasket was blown and needed to be replaced; I also contacted a mechanic to confirm his diagnosis.

The dealership felt since it was over 75k miles they had no obligation; however I do feel that they should have known the issue before this vehicle was sold. This is the reason I purchased from a dealer and not an individual. The dealership has refused to return any calls regarding the matter.

I feel they misrepresented the product and failed to do their duty as professionals in the car business.

Desired Settlement
I want the dealership to reimburse me for the cost of replacement of the head gasket.

Business' Initial Response
I have reviewed Mr. ******'s paperwork and have found the following documents signed by Mr. ******.

Acknowledgement Of AS-IS Sale
This document specifically states the dealership assumes no responsibilty for repairs to the vehicle. The customer bears all the risk.

Powertrain Warranty
Mr. ****** declined to purchase a Powertrain Warranty on the Honda that may have covered the head gasket repair.

The Honda had 95,000 miles on it at time of sale. Hallmark will not be responsible for repairs on high mileage vehicles after they leave the lot.

It is unfortunate that this has happend to Mr. ******. Hallmark had no prior knowledge that the head gasket was getting ready to need repair. It lasted for 1000 miles after the sale. At what point does Hallmark hand over reponsibilty to the customer? In this instance, it was at time of sale. We understand that vehicles break and that is why we offer extended warranties.

Hallmark is not offering any assistance at this time based on the documentation and the refusal to purchase an extended warranty.

08/07/2012Problems with Product / Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/05/1990Business started: 01/01/1989Business started locally: 01/26/1989
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Tennessee Motor Vehicle Commission
500 James Robertson Pkwy., 2nd Floor
Nashville, TN37243
(615) 741-2711
http://www.tn.gov/regboards/mvc/index.shtml

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1989, TN

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rocky Hendrickson (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Glenn Krueger (General Manager)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

This company offers the sale and service of new and used automobiles and parts.

Industry Tips
Automobile Financing

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Hallmark Volkswagen Mitsubishi

2431 Gallatin Road, N.

Madison, TN 37115

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2431 Gallatin Road, N. 

    Madison, TN 37115

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Hallmark Volkswagen Mitsubishi is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Automobile Financing
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.