BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 08/20/1991

Hallmark Volkswagen Mitsubishi

Phone: (615) 859-3200Fax: (615) 859-3257

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
04/12/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bought a car on March 17rh that I am pretty sure had a chip on the hood that goes through the primer to metal.
Took car in on April 1st as they said they would be able to fill the chip. To be completely honest the fill looks like junk. I was watching videos about filling chips and it shows using primer and buffing so it doesn't rust and so it will also blend in but it doesn't look like that was done. I can still see partial metal from the fill.

Desired Settlement
I would like for the chip to be buffed properly so it doesn't look like someone just slapped some paint on it that could possibly rust ot chip in the near future.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* GM
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ************@HALLMARKAUTO.COM
We are more than happy to buff on the paint repair to try and resolve the issue. Please contact ***** ******* to schedule a time through the detail shop. Thank you.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Email has been sent to ***** as of 4-7-16 and am awaiting a reponse. I would like to keep this open until we can come to a resolution. Thanks.

Final Consumer Response
I got a response and have a date to go in.

10/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hallmark replaced steering rack, steering rack was defective, when we took car back to have the problem fixed, we were told we would have to pay again
On 5/6/15 we had our car towed to Hallmark VW to have it looked at for several problems. One major issue was overheating the other major issue was a vibration on the passenger side when the car accelerated. On 5/14/15 we were sent an e-mail itemizing the individual problems and the costs associated with repairing each one. We elected to have the major problems repaired by Hallmark and decided that I would do the minor ones myself. It was in this e-mail dated 5/14/15 that I was told that we had no choice in regards to replacement parts to repair the steering rack, we were told that Volkswagen no longer made that particular item and we were forced to use "aftermarket" parts, we reluctantly agreed since we were under the assumption that we had no choice. The repairs were finished on 5/23/15, we actually picked the car up on 5/29/15. Approximately 3 days after I brought the car home, I noticed that the power steering reservoir was empty, I filled it back up and gave Hallmark the benefit of the doubt that maybe they had just forgotten to top it off after the repair. But, in the ensuing weeks we had to repeat filling the reservoir off about every 3 days. This went on for about a month, I thought perhaps it was a leak that might seal itself up if given enough time. On 7/8/15 I notified Hallmark that there was a leak and that it was coming from the steering rack that they installed, they responded on 7/9/15, telling me to bring the car back and they would look at it. This is where the real problems started. Due to the fact that we only have two cars, we could not take it back to Hallmark until 7/30/15, it was then that we were notified that the new steering rack that was installed was defective, we were told that the steering rack would be replaced at no additional cost, but that since we "elected" to use aftermarket parts, that we would have to pay for the labor to have the rack replaced. It was then that I communicated with the General Manager, **** ******** of my dissatisfaction with this situation and I felt that we should not have to pay for the labor. He explained to me that since we, (Hallmark and us), were "forced" to use aftermarket parts that we would have to pay for the labor, he did however agree to split the cost with me. We were told that it would take some time to get the replacement rack in so it wasn't until 8/26/15 that we took the car back to them. Since then we have been told by Hallmark that they have done this rack replacement procedure 2 times, each time the aftermarket rack has been defective and that we would potentially be liable for paying labor for each time this procedure was done. On or about 9/10/15, it was suggested by **** ******** Service Manager for Hallmark that we take our car to ***** ****** to have them do the work. Since the aftermarket part was from them, if they did the work, we would not continue to accrue labor charges. On 9/14/15 I spoke with **** ******* about this issue and what my options were. It was then that he informed me that if we wanted to, we could have the actual OEM/VW part put in, but is would take "some time" to get it in and that it would cost around $900 for the part. It was then that I told him that if we had known that the OEM part was obtainable, we would have elected to use it instead of aftermarket parts, but that we were told by them that we had no choice, that we had to use aftermarket parts. As of today, 9/17/15, they have had our car for 23 days, during this time we have had to rent a car for 8 days and borrow a car for the balance of that time. When we had the rental car, we called repeatedly to try to get a status on the car, but they would never get back to us. If we had not been told at the beginning that we had to use aftermarket parts, we would have used OEM parts and would not be in this predicament. They led us down this path with erroneous information. We were told we had no choice and now they don't even want to do the work. Is this fair?

Desired Settlement
I want Hallmark to be accountable for their employees. I want them to repair our car using the OEM parts which we were deceived into not buying to begin with, and up to the standard that we expect from a dealer. Basically, I am seeking that they do the job that we have already paid them for and for us not to accrue any more costs associated with this repair.

Business Response
Hallmark takes these complaints very seriously. We want satisfied customers and we recognize that mediation and having an open mind are sometimes a part of that process.

OEM parts have not always been available for this vehicle. The customer was given an original estimate with aftermarket parts because there were no OEM parts in the country and nothing scheduled at that time to produce that part. Aftermarket parts from *** **** were used to get the car back on the road.
The aftermarket parts come with a parts warranty but not a labor warranty. The customer is clear on this issue. So as the part fails, the customer will have to continue to pay labor charges. However, if the customer takes the vehicle to PEP Boys and performs the repair there, Pep Boys will warranty the parts AND the labor.

In the course of resolving this repair issue we have communicated with Volkswagen and it is true there are no parts in the United States or Canada. However, Volkswagen is under the belief that this part may be produced soon in Germany. We have told the customer that this part may take 60-90 days to receive.

It is Hallmark's opinion that we have discounted previous charges to the customer as well as offered numerous alternatives to completing this repair. Our alternatives include waiving all charges, other than car rental, and sending the repair to *** ***** The customer will have to pay labor to replace the part at either facility, might as well go to Pep Boys so the labor will be warrantied.

We are happy to perform the work for the customer, but it doesn't make financial sense for the customer to continue paying labor charges. We think *** **** is the best long term option for the customer. If the customer decides to go with the OEM part, we will cross our fingers and hope that it comes in.

Please let us know how to proceed.





07/24/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bad service and bad repair. Price gouging at its worst.
I took my mom's car to Hallmark VW in *******, TN 2 weeks ago for repair. It was not running and we ended up getting it towed to their auto repair shop. They diagnosed my mom's 2002 VW Passat as having a faulty "throttle body" and said that it was an unusual repair. The VW service guy said they would need to order the part and that it would cost over $1000. The total repair including the labor would be approx. $1700. We were shocked at the repair especially since the problem literally happened all of a sudden. We were in no position to pay that type of money but we ended up agreeing to the repairs.


***** assured us that the repairs would fix the problem and we would be satisfied with the repair. I even asked if a 2002 Passat was worth this type of financial investment. "Is this repair worth it?" ***** told us that he would perform the same repair on his car as he owns a similar make and model. The repairs took nearly a week and on Thursday the following week, ***** called and said the repairs were complete and the car was ready for us to pick up.


We returned to Hallmark VW and met with *****. He explained that everything went well and the car was working as it should. We paid the money and he gave us the keys. AS SOON AS WE DROVE OFF THE LOT, the car started shaking and came to a stop. The check engine light came on. Dismayed, we turned around and pulled back into the VW parking lot. We met with ***** and told him what just happened. He seemed dumbfounded and agreed to take the car back to examine again. Because my mom had been out of a car for over a week at this point, he agreed to give her a "loaner" while they review the repairs on my mom's car.


The next week, ***** calls and says that the wiring on the car is bad and further repairs would be needed. We couldn't believe it. We were just told our car would be working fine and now everything is messed up again? We didn't even really drive it! To top it off, ***** says the further repairs would amount to over $3000!!!. This is after we just paid $1700 for repairs that they said would fix the car! Needless to say, my mom and I are very upset with Hallmark. I am not sure how they can expect us to pay this ridiculous amount of money for something they said was already fixed! I starting to believe they messed up the wiring because there was no "wiring" issue when we dropped off the car. Another thought is they are probably trying to take advantage of us because we are women. I'm not sure but I would love News Channel 5's help to get to the bottom of this. There is no telling how many people they may have taken advantage of with this same nonsense. Please help if you can. I just want my mom's $1700 back. Nothing was done and they only made the problem worse. Please help! Thanks.


Desired Settlement
I would like my $1700 back for the initial repair and an admission of wrongdoing for further damaging my mom's car.

Business Response
Sorry for the delay, but I was out of the office last week. My Service Manager and your Mother have been conversing and it appears everything has been worked out. If you need anything else, please let us know.

03/31/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This dealership took in my car for repairs to a major leak they had it for WEEKS when I picked it up it was worse they overcharged me for shoddy work!
*Dropped off car for repairs 1st week Dec '13
*took them more than 25 days to supposedly "FIX" my severe roof leak in my convertible top
*Jan '14 picked up car it leaked worse than before I dropped it off causing me to purchase a tarp! After I paid over $800 in parts and labor... They would not give refund but I agreed to let them fix it AGAIN this time it took another 35 days to get it fixed and returned to me. Then charged me another 500 dollars when they should have made it right with the 1st 800 dollars I paid. A service was rendered and paid bit the service was ****! So I demand a refund of possible they ripped me off! The 500 they can keep I want the 1st 800 back since it was for NOTHING I have witnesses to back this story up! I will never use them again!

Desired Settlement
You can keep the 2nd transaction of 500 dollars and some change. But the first transaction of over around 800 dollars I want that back because the service was not honored and I paid that amount for nothing.

Business Response
Service Manager states that he had personal conversations with ******** ****** concerning the fact that the vehicle has mileage in excees of 160,000. He states that he explained how water will follow the path of least resistance and that the header seal was no guarantee of future leaks. The age of the seals are a concern. He feels he went above and beyond by giving ******** a vehicle to drive as well as writing off labor charges. The Technician states he water tested the vehicle after the repair was finished and no leak was present. ******** did not return to the dealership with more leaks until 21 days later.

Everytime ******** came to our Service Department and we kept her car, we gave her a vehicle to drive. Hallmark feels that we have taken very good care of a customer with a vehicle with 169,000. At no time did we have to give out tranportation or waive labor charges. A ten year old convertible regardless of mileage will have weather stripping issues due to dry rot and Hallmark does not feel there is any innapropriate behavior or process at this time.

Hallmark understand the position ******** is in and is willing to offer $100 in goodwill which is the cost of the labor to install the weather stripping on February 5.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.