BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 05/27/2011

Dixie Motors, Inc.

Phone: (615) 256-2277

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
11/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They sold me a jeep with a cracked cylinder head. Said they didn't know.
I purchased a 2002 Jeep Wrangler from Dixie Motors on August 31st. Flew down there to Nashville from *** *****. Their Salesman told me the jeep was in great condition, however, during my drive home from Nashville to *** ***** it started to overheat. Was able to make it to Midas in *** ***** where they replaced the fan clutch, the water pump, and thermostat to see if that would fix it. Dixie Motors claimed they knew nothing. They said it was sold as is. Said they know the previous owner personally and that they never had an issue. Said that they knew the radiator was replaced just before they traded it in at Dixie motors. Dixie Motors agreed to pay for half the cost of the repair, $300.00 and under the condition I sign a waiver stating that I will not pursue them for any additional repairs. After these items were changed out, ***** also flushed the coolant system numerous times. Jeep ran fine for about a week or so. Then started to overheat again. ***** couldn't figure it out. Now have taken it to Jeep Dealer. They found that the cylinder head is cracked. Said that this is most probably the cause of the overheating from the very beginning. They suspect the previous owner had the radiator changed out because of the problem in effort to fix but when it didn't decided to trade it in. I believe Dixie Motors should stand behind their sales. I spent 14,500 for the jeep. Had another $300 out of my pocket, and will have to spend yet another $2300.00 to get the cylinder head replaced. I will never do business with Dixie Motors again. I believe that even if you sell something AS-IS that you disclose everything about the vehicle. I was sold by the salesman that it is a great vehicle. Was told if I didn't buy it he had two others right behind me. He knows the former owners personally and they took great care of the jeep. The sales rep is **** ********* He even had the audacity to send me an email saying he would've sold this jeep to his mother and how could I really think that I would send me home with the jeep knowing there was something wrong with it. Bottomline, there is something wrong with it. I believe they knew it, and when Midas only approached them with minor items, they saw an opportunity to get me to sign their document so I wouldn't come back to them when I finally found out the real problem. I don't expect them to do anything but I will be posting bad reviews all over the place. If they want to fix it, then I will take my bad reviews down.

Desired Settlement
Simply pay my repair bills and give me a warranty for the next 3,000 miles so I know the problems are fixed.

Business Response
I sold ******* a 2000 Jeep, not 2002, at the end of August. I had owned this vehicle twice before, sold it to a very good friend about 4 years ago, he traded it back to me and then sold to another friend whom his wife became pregnant and couldn't get in Jeep so he traded back to me too. I had taken several long distance hunting trips in the Jeep myself and new it's condition well. I also had it serviced, inspected as I do with all my vehicles, before ******* purchased. It never had a overheat problem with either owner, I called after ******* had informed me of his problem. I had driven the Jeep myself approx. 200 miles here locally and no problems before selling it to *******.
When ******* called me, he stated it started overheating a little ways out before he got home. It's approx. 320 miles to his home from here, I will guess he drove approx. 275 or so without issue. He says he did not stop to check it out, he continued to drive watching to make sure it didn't run to hot. (Heat is what causes heads to crack most all times) He said he had cousin who worked in ***** shop and was going to let them check it out. They diagnosed the problem and I agreed to pay for half of the bill. In doing so I had him sign release papers as is our company policy, for future liability, if not the law says that we are implying a extended warranty by helping out. All was good after that repair as far as I knew. I owed ******* a winch cable controller, part of purchase agreement, I bought one and had it shipped directly to him, so I called to let him know it had been ordered. He said his son loved the Jeep all was good except his son had just called and said it was running hot. I told him to have it looked at and let me know, he said they would run back to ***** and have them flush it again, no big deal. I assumed all was good, never heard anything, until this complaint.
******* bought a 14 year old Jeep with almost 100k miles on it, I had it checked out best I could, fresh service, inspection, the works. I, myself drove Jeep around several days, as it was good weather, and had no problems. I picked him up at airport in the Jeep and sent him down the road in good faith that all was good. He was happy with Jeep as I had described it very well over phone and condition was as good or better than expected.
He and his 16 year old son have driving this Jeep hot, not pointing fingers but that is in all probability what cracked the head. I worked to agreeable terms with ******* on a 14 year old vehicle that he declined an extended warranty on, have his signature on form, and had no way of knowing what else happened afterwards because he never communicated with me about anything else. I would never send a customer out on a 300 plus mile road trip in a vehicle knowing it had an issue. Why, just so they could break down and call me on the side of the road. We are a high end dealership who sells over 300 cars a month, and yet we are Top Sellers on ***** with 100% positive feedback something that means a lot when you sell so much, and in excellent standing with you (BBB). WE take pride in our reputation, not many dealerships have that kind of background after 40 plus years. I tried to help *******, I stepped up when I really didn't have too and then all was quiet, I figured all was good. I hate how things have turned out, but I had no control of things and even though I helped when I could, don't feel I deserve these kind's of threats or response.

11/18/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
breech of contract
Dixie motors offered a Red 2009 Mercedes Benz C63 AMG or sale on Auto Trader (INTENT). The posted sale price was $46,900 (OFFER). I made a counteroffer of $43,000 and an equal split of transportation costs from Nashville to Portland, Oregon. I have emails to support their agreement to this deal (ACCEPTANCE). Literally moments prior to leaving my office to wire funds (CONSIDERATION) to conclude this transaction, salesman ******* ***** told me that he would not be honoring our previously agreed upon arrangement. Again, emails can be shown that support every element of my statement.

Desired Settlement
I would like Dixie Motors to fulfill their contractual agreement.

Business Response
OCTOBER 29, 2013

RESPONSE TO CASE ******** (******* *****)


ON OCTOBER X XXXX MR ***** RESPONDED TO A INTERNET AD CONCERNING
A 2009 MERCEDES. THIS VEHICLE IS OWNED BY ******* ****** MR ***** IS
A INDEPENDENT BROKER THAT WORKS THRU DIXIE MOTORS. MR *****
IS RESPONSABLE FOR THE PURCHASE ,RECONDITIONING,DETAIL CLEANUP,
ADVERTISING OF THESE VEHICLES AND MAKES THE DETERMINATION OF
THE FINAL SALE PRICE.

BETWEEN OCT 9TH AND OCT 15 MR ***** AND MR ***** COMMUNICATED
SEVERAL TIMES BY PHONE AND EMAIL AS TO THE SALE PRICE OF THE 2009
MERCEDES. AT THIS TIME MR ***** WANTED TO CLARIFY A FEW ITEMS AS TO SALES TAX,TITLE FEES,SHIPPING COST AND INSURANCE WHILE IN TRANSIT.

MR ***** EXPLAINED THAT ANY FEES, TAXES,SHIPPING COST AND INSURANCE
WOULD BE MR *****'S RESPONSIBLITY. HOWEVER AS A SHOW OF GOOD FAITH
MR ***** OFFERED TO REDUCE THE SALE PRICE BY HALF OF THE FINAL
SHIPPING COST AND THAT ONCE THE TRANSPORT COMPANY SELECTED BY
MR ***** PICKED UP THE VEHICLE DIXIE MOTORS INC HAD NO OTHER
LIABILITY FOR THE VEHICLE. MR ***** AGREED .

ON OCTOBER XX XXXX MR ***** AGREED TO THE FINAL PRICE BUT OBJECTED
TO THE DOCUMENTARY FEE. THIS FEE WAS CLEARLY STATED IN THE ORIGINAL
INTERNET AD. AT THIS TIME MR ***** DECIDED THAT HE HAD MADE ENOUGH
CONSESSIONS ON THIS TRANSACTION AND ELECTED NOT TO SALE THIS VEHICLE.
HE INFORMED MR ***** OF THIS DETERMINATION AND ASK HIM NOT TO WIRE
ANY FUNDS.

AT THIS POINT MR ***** THREATEND LEGAL ACTION, SINCE NO FUNDS WERE
EVER RECEIVED BY DIXIE MOTORS INC WE FEEL NO NEED TO COMMUNICATE WITH
MR ***** ANY FURTHER.



**** ********
GENERAL MANAGER

07/15/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Dixie Motors sold me a vehicle that doesn't meet the standard they promised. I have spent a lot of money on repairs since owning it.
I bought this vehicle at the end of November of last year. Ever since I bought it, it has been in the shop getting repairs to it. First, I bought tires for it. The front end was still pulling real hard to the left, so I took it for a front end alignment. The front end had to be replace costing $1,600. In December I noticed a ticking that had developed on the drivers side under the hood. I took it in to the shop and they had to replace the exhaust manifold, $476.00 that costed. At the end of December, I opened the rear passengers door and the handle came off, that costed another $87.00. In Feburary, i take off the skid plate from the front end and I noticed that there was a lot of grease and oil on it. I take it to the shop and they inform me that the 4 whhel drive is broken and will require new axles, approx. $2,500. In April of 2013, the air ride suspension light is now going off and they tell me it will be approx. $2,000 to repair it. As you see, it is one thing after another with this vehicle. I call the General Manager and he tells me I can trade it in if I want to. Why would I buy another vehicle from these people. I paid $20,000 for it and have put severl more into it. I feel they took advantage of me and it isn't right.

Desired Settlement
It is simple, just finish making the needed repairs. Have them do what is right, that's all I ask.

Business' Initial Response
JULY 02,2013

RESPONSE TO COMPLAINT CASE # XXXXXXXX

IN DECEMBER 2012 MR. ***** ****** PURCHASED FROM DIXIE MOTORS INC. A 2005 H2 HUMMER WITH XXXXX MILES ON IT. LIKE ALL DIXIE MOTORS RETAIL CUSTOMERS MR. ****** WAS GIVEN THE OPTION OF HAVING THE VEHICLE INSPECTED BY A MECHANIC OF HIS CHOICE, HE CHOSE NOT TO DO THIS.

AT THE TIME OF DELIVERY MR. ****** WAS GIVE THE OPTION TO PURCHASE A MECHANICAL SERVICE CONTRACT HE ALSO DECLINED THIS OPTION.

SINCE MR. ****** HAS HAD THIS VEHICLE IN EXCESS OF SIX MONTHS AND DRIVEN IT UNKNOWN MILES AND UNKNOWN CONDITIONS DIXIE MOTORS INC SEES NO NEED TO RESPOND FURTHER.

COPY OF DELIVERY LETTER AND ODOMETER STATEMENT TO BE SENT LATER.

**** ********
GENERAL MANAGER

07/29/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Dixie mortors sold me a used car that has many issues without infromig me about these issues as they took it to a repair shop to check its conistions
During the test drive the car puffed some smoke from the muffler; the dealer said that is unusual as he has been driving the car for about couple of weeks with no issues at all. He said he will get the car checked to make sure everything is running fine. He called me after couple of days and said the shop found no major issues with the car and they replaced the PCV valve. He also told me that the car will have additional warranty for 60000 mile and I do not have to worry about anything. After only 3 weeks of driving the vehicle, the engine started blowing smoke in a stop and go traffic. I called the warranty company "Preferred Warranties Inc.". They recommended couple of shops they deal with. I took the car to one of the shops they recommended. The shop ran diagnosis on the car. They found major issues that will cost $5100 to fix. The warranty company said they are only responsible for around $800. That will leave me paying $4300 to get the car fixed. I feel cheated by the dealer and the warranty company. I would like to sue them to recover these expenses.

Desired Settlement
The warranty compay would not pay more than $800. Dixie motors should be responsible for the rest of the repair cost $4300. They lied when they said they took it to the shop and everything is fine with the car.

Business' Initial Response
RE: ******* *******

I write this response to Mr. ****'s complaint.

Mr **** bought a 2006 BMW 750li with 84,068 miles on May 29, 2013. He also purchased the best warranty we can offer on that car. Due to the age, miles, and brand of the car,--this car qualified for a stated components contract and not a bumper to bumper product. The listed components on this warranty are extensive and very inclusive but not everything is covered. We go over that at point of sale and the customer has every opportunity to do his or hers due diligence.

In addressing nuances of the sale to Mr. ****, I would like to cover the events as than unfolded. Mr **** came in and attempted to purchase this car on Friday May 24, 2013. At the very end of the sales process but prior to him having signed any papers we started the car to review something and the car did "puff" smoke. Mr **** was understandably curious and concerned but still wanted to buy the car as long as I could guaranty that I would fix the problem. I told him that I could not and would not do so because I did not know the cause of the smoke and that when he did take delivery he would be signing papers saying he was buying the car "as is no warranty." I was unwilling to give him an open ended guarantee on car---especially a car of this complexity.

The weekend this occurred happened to be Memorial Day weekend so the mechanic shop we use most prevalently was closed until Tuesday May 28,2013. I told Mr **** that I would get the car over to the shop first thing Tuesday the 28th and that I would let him know their diagnosis. He agreed that that was a good approach and so that is what we did. On Tuesday the 28th the diagnosis that the mechanic shop came back with was that the car needed two vacuum diaphragms--they apparently have something to do with the PVC valves and it is a pretty common problem that would cause the "puff of smoke" issue. I called Mr. **** with the news and he communicated that that is what his internet research on the BMW forums/boards had told him the issue probably was.

Additionally/Apparently Mr **** went by the shop to check up on the status of the car and to talk to the owner of the shop. I do not blame him for doing so and feel that I would have done the same sort of due diligence myself if I were in his position. Based on his visit, Mr. **** seems to have gotten comfortable enough with the shop, Dixie Motors, myself and therefore "the deal" to move forward with the purchase without sending the car to the BMW dealer or another mechanic to further analyze the car. He had that right and privilege and chose not to exercise it.

When we did the delivery on this car, we did what we always do. We went through a full disclosure of all the documents pertaining to the deal and made sure to cover the fact that this purchase was AS IS NO WARRANTY as it pertains to Dixie Motors. Due to the issue and process discussed above we made sure to be explicit when covering the required documents that needed signature. We have a signed copy of the Buyers Guide saying as much. This is one reason Mr. **** bought the warranty.

Mr **** has now chosen to get a refund on the warranty because he is not pleased with it not covering portions of his needed repair. The refund has been issued and his loan has been 100% credited for the full price of the warranty. As an aside, the warranty company called us on this deal because the stated incident occurred within the first 30 days and that triggers certain alerts within their system calling for extra due diligence. They had the opportunity to void the warranty or deny claim if they felt that Dixie Motors had acted inappropriately in the sale of a warranty with a pre-existing problem. They found that we had not and that is why they were willing to spend the $800.00 to fix the items that were covered under the warranty.

Mr **** bought one of the most expensive BMWs they built in 2006. We showed him this car has great service history documented in CarFax and showed him that it was even a BMW Certified Pre Owned unit at one time. We also showed him that it was in a "minor accident" in September of 2010. We showed him that we had spent approximately $1700.00 in repairs/maintenance to get it ready for resale. We showed him everything we had done and he participated in the process by doing his own research and due diligence. We did our best to provide a good product at a fair price and Mr. **** shows evidence that he agreed by his purchase of the car even after the "puff of smoke" incident.

We are very disappointed that Mr. **** has had these problems and certainly wish they had not occurred. Mr **** states in his letter to you that he drove the car for 3 weeks prior to this issue manifesting. At the time of delivery he was satisfied that the mechanical work we had done was appropriate and satisfactory. He confirmed by signature that he realized Dixie Motors was selling the car AS IS. This car is a 7 year old 84,000 mile BMW that cost over $80,000.00 when new and he paid $23,,200.00.That is a lot of bang for the buck but it does come with risks. This car is very complex and not cheap to fix. We are sorry this has happened.

Dixie Motors has been in business in Nashville since 1958. We have a great rating at the Better Business Bureau and have a very strong track record of positive business practices. We are meticulous with our paper work and disclosures and feel strongly that we have done what is not only required by the State of Tennessee but have exercised good business ethics.

Thank you for your time and attention in this matter. Let us know what other information you may require.


Kindest Regards,

**** ****
Dixie Motors


**** ********
Dixie Motors General Manager

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
All what says is a lie. Dixie Motors do not do business in a good faith. This is my first time to hear that the car was in a minor accident. They never showed me any car fax. I hope they go out of business as they keep cheating customers. He is saying the price of the car is a bang of the buck but forgot to mention that the car needs over $5000 reparis after couple of weeks of purchase. I asked them after couple of weeks to take the car back and give me my Dodge charger back, they refused. These people are typical car salesmen. They have no regard to customers as long as they complete the sale. I am sure he knew about the costly repairs of the cars. He did not mention that at all. They typical liers.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.