BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Serving 45 counties in Middle Tennessee and Southern Kentucky

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/10/1996

Cumberland Auto Center

(931) 526-5600View Additional Phone Numbers1540 Interstate Dr, CookevilleTN 38501-4125 Send email to Cumberland Auto Center

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

The company offers the sale of new and pre-owned vehicles. In addition to service, repairs, parts and collision repairs.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/10/1996

BBB has determined that Cumberland Auto Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Cumberland Auto Center's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Other1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
01/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Vehicle was brought to this shop for repairs after an auto accident. Upon arrival to pick up vehicle, immediately saw scratches and swirl marks not only on the new bumper and panel that were replaced, but also on the rest of the vehicle. Aside from minor swirl marks due to normal washing of this vehicle, there was not a scratch or major swirl mark on it. This is a year old car kept in show condition. The interior which had no damage from the accident and was pristine, was returned with dirt and marks all throughout the interior. There were also dirty rags thrown and left inside the back seat of the vehicle.Vehicle is a 2012 Dodge Challenger.

Initial Business Response
**** ************ THE BODY SHOP MANAGER, WALKED AROUND THE CAR WITH THE CUSTOMER AT THE TIME OF DELIVERY, CUSTOMER POINTED OUT SWIRL MARKS ON THE LEFT SIDE, WHICH WAS NOT THE SIDE OF THE REPAIR. HE THEN HAD THE LEFT SIDE WAXED AND BROUGHT AROUND AGAIN FOR INSPECTION. THE CUSTOMER AGREED THAT IT LOOKED GREAT AND THE GIECO INSURANCCE REP., **** ********* ALSO APPROVED, MR *********** HELPED THE CUSTOMER MOVE HER BELONGING BACK INTO HER CAR AND LEFT HAPPY. THE CLAIM HAS SINCED BEEN PAID BY THE INSURANCE COMPANY AND CLOSED. THE CUSTOMER ONLY PAID HER DEDUCTIBLE OUT OF HER POCKET , NOT THE AMOUNT STATED, AS HER INSURANCE COVERED THE EXPENSE. THANK YOU FOR CLOSING THIS CASE.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This response is totally inaccurate. I did not leave happy nor satisfied. And in regards to what I paid and what the insurance company paid, who cares? I pay for my insurance and they received full payment for a terrible job. The cars exterior is ruined along with the interior. What kind of professional shop destroys a perfect paint job not to mention leaves the interior a disgrace full of stains, leaves, and dirty rags. This is exactly the response I expected from them and **** pursue it through other means if no settlement is reached. I do seriously hope future customers read this and heed the warning if they truly appreciate their vehicle.

Final Business Response
THE BODY SHOP MANAGER HAS STATED THAT THE CUSTOMER SHOULD CONTACT ***** FOR AN INSPECTION AS RECOMMENDED BY OUR ***** REP, **** *********** ***** SEES THAT ANY OTHER REPAIRS NEED TO BE DONE OR THAT ANYTHING WAS DAMAGED BY OUR SHOP THEY, ****** **** PROCEED FURTHER WITH THE CLAIM. ALSO, **** *********** DISCOUNTED THE CUSTOMERS DEDUCTIBLE TO $400 (LESS $100) AS A GOOD **** GESTURE AND THAT THE CUSTOMER **** ACTUALLY BE RECEIVING A REFUND FROM ***** FOR THE $500 DEDUCTIBLE. ONCE AGAIN, WE FEEL THAT NOTHING WAS DAMAGED FROM OUR SHOP.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

09/13/2013 | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:
To Whom It May Concern:

I wish to file a complaint against Cumberland Auto Center, 1040 Interstate Drive, Cookeville, TN.

I purchased a new 2014 Grand Cherokee Jeep April 30, 2013. I notified the service department at Cumberland Auto of a problem with my Sirius Satellite radio system soon after my purchase. I have made two trips to Colorado since my purchase so I have had to deal with the dealership on multiple recurring times since I purchased the Jeep for this problem.

The problem is that I lose the radio signal throughout my drives. An example is I lose the signal while driving from my home to the dealership and while returning home from the dealership. My wife has a Jeep Liberty and while driving the exact same route there is not any loss of signal. Also the 2011 Ford
F-150 I traded in also did not lose the signal. I would expect a new 2014 Grand Cherokee to do the same.

I also lose the signal while driving on 70N from Monterey to Crossville. Another place I lose signal is on I-40 between exist 317 and 322 going to Fair-Field Glade. This is not just a second of two of no service (signal). It in some cases it lasts for up to 1/4 of a mile or more.

Multiple trips to the dealership resulted in the dealership replacing the antenna. The problem still existed. The dealership had one of their mechanics ride with me and he verified I was losing the signal. Their service advisor, , told me this was not supposed to happen. They even took another new 2014 vehicle and it had the problem. told me it was a problem but there was not anything further he could do because it was a Sirius radio problem. So he told me to call a 1-800 number to have the problem resolved.

Two weeks ago I returned from my last trip and talked to the r about the problem. He said he had talked to about the problem. He was going to Alabama the next day and he would ask how to resolve the problem. He said he would call me the next afternoon. He did not call. I talked to Danny the day after he said he would call. He said he was not going to do anything to fix the problem and "I had better get used to it".

I then called the dealership and asked to speak with the owner, Mr. He was out of town, but his son called within the next hour and talked to me. He said he would get back to me. It has been over a week. No follow up. So I guess even the son just blows off customers of the dealership.

So after spending $45,000 at the dealership, I get told to call a 1-800 number to solve a problem with a new Jeep they sold me. This appears to me that once they sell a vehicle they are not willing to continue resolving problems unless it is covered by a warranty issue where they can charge their time to a work order. So my warranty problem is not their problem because they cannot charge the time to help me against some repair procedure. Since when did the dealership not expect to help on a warranty problem until resolved?

So any dealership where the Service Director tells me "I had better get used to it", the son of the owner does not call, and I am expected to call a 1-800 number is one I will never recommend to anyone else.

Initial Business Response
Customer loses satellite signal at same spot on I-40. We took vehicle and drove it to Monterey to verify it lost signal for a few seconds at the same spot, and it did. We then replaced the sat antenna and drove it back, it still lost signal. We then drove another 2014 Grand Cherokee to the same spot and it also lost its signal. Chrysler's technical assistance was involved in this repair attempt. After we drove the other Jeep up there, Chrysler told us to NOT make any further repairs, that it was a characteristic of the vehicle. Chrysler, NOT Cumberland makes the call and paying for repairs (& attempts).



As for (some of) "un-truthy") letter to the BBB. I told him I was leaving on a Monday afternoon to go to a Chrysler meeting in Birmingham, that I would speak to the DM & the tech advisor there on his behalf (which I did). I told him I would call him back on Wednesday (not Tuesday) when I returned, which I did. even said he talked to me Wednesday (because I called him like I told him I would). Also anyone that knows me, KNOWS I would never tell a customer, "I had better get used to it". This comment by is a straight up "LIE".



In defense; I know he spoke to because called me about him.



Chrysler told us to NOT make any further repair attempts. Customer doesn't like these findings (even though we went out of our way for him), and seems to want to blame Cumberland for a characteristic of the vehicle.



Danny


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This response is the first indication Cumberland Jeep notified Chrysler Corporation of the problems I have been experiencing with my 2014 Grand Cherokee I have received. As I explained in my initial letter to the BBB, I was told to contact Chrysler myself.

The problem of the satellite radio cutting out in the immediate area and also on my trips to Colorado did not occur with my 2011 Ford F150 and does not happen in my wife's 2007 Jeep Liberty. Obviously, if this is a problem specific to the 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee and Chrysler Corp. is aware of the problem as Cumberland management suggests, a solution to the problem should most certainly be forthcoming.

I find it totally unacceptable that I have purchased one of Cumberland Jeep's top of the line models and am expected to be content with a substandard product.

As for the personal innuendo included in Cumberland Jeep's response, I will refrain from commenting as it is not pertinent to a resolution to this matter.

Ralph J. Taylor


Final Business Response
WE HAVE NOTHING ELSE TO DISCUSS OM THIS CASE. OUR REP HAS INFORMED US THERE ARE NO OTHER REPAIRS TO MAKE CONCERNING THIS MATTER. THIS A CORP DECISION NOT A DEALER DECISION.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

02/28/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The vehicle we purchased was missing the driver's floor mat and owner's manual. Two months later we received a dirty floor mat but no manual.
Our experience began great! When we left the dealership, we had written proof that they owed us a floor mat; however, we didn't realize that the owner's manual was missing. The next day I contacted our salesman about the owner's manual. He told us they would get both of our products to us. At one point during the next few weeks, our salesman told me that Toyota would have to purchase a new set of floormats because they weren't able to purchase the one we needed. As for the owner's manual, supposedly it had to come from another company which would take longer. Almost two months after our purchase, we were told that the floormat was ready for us to pick up. I was shocked to see a dirty, very used floor mat. Obviously ordering a new set didn't happen! It looks like it was pulled from a used vehicle. We bought a gently used 2012 Sienna. This floormat doesn't match the newness of our others. As for the owner's manual, I am now wondering if that will ever arrive. Surely, a Toyota dealership would be able to get one quicker than two months! Our enjoyable experience and trust in Cumberland Toyota has been tainted. I am disappointed and frustrated with the lack of clear communication and disregard for the customer.

Business' Initial Response
THE OWNERS MANUAL IS STILL ON BACK ORDER. WE HAVE HAD IT ORDERED SINCE THE DAY THE CUSTOMER REQUESTED. WE HAVE BEEN IN CONTACT WITH THE CUSTOMER AND WILL CONTINUE TO UPDATE THE CUSTOMER OF THE MANUALS STATUS. WE WILL ORDER A NEW MAT FOR THE CUSTOMER. THE UNIT PURCHASED WAS A PRE OWNED SIENNA WITH 32,000 MILES. WE STEAM CLEANED THE MAT THAT WAS PROVIDED. THE SALES ASSOCIATE WITH CONTINUE TO BE IN CONTACT TO FOLLOW UP WITH ANY OTHER MATTERS CONCERNING THE OWNERS MANUAL OR THE FLOOR MAT

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I am pleased that we are receiving a new floor mat. I only wished they had ordered a new one the day we bought our Sienna instead of waiting around hoping to find a used one to give us.

The owner's manual continues to mystify me! In my opinion, there should not be such a long delay in Toyota's ability to meet a customer's needs. It's just an owner's manual. It shouldn't take "an act of Congress" to get one.

We had a great experience purchasing our Sienna and would gladly do business again with our salesman, **************.

05/25/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/26/1991Business started: 10/01/1987
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Tennessee Motor Vehicle Commission
500 James Robertson Pkwy., 2nd Floor
Nashville, TN37243
(615) 741-2711
http://www.tn.gov/regboards/

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: May 2000, TN

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Brandon Hall (General Sales Manager)
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Jeremy Whitson Mrs. Vicki Moore (Customer Relations Manager)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Cumberland Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Cumberland South, Cumberland Toyota, Dunn Company #3, Inc., Cumberland KIA
Industry Tips
Automobile Financing

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Cumberland Auto Center

1540 Interstate Dr

Cookeville, TN 38501-4125

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1540 Interstate Dr 

    Cookeville, TN 38501-4125(931) 526-5600

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Cumberland Auto Center is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (931) 528-2277
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Automobile Financing
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.