BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/22/2012

Auto Masters of West Nashville, LLC

Phone: (615) 915-4496Fax: (615) 331-8895View Additional Phone Numbers5501 Charlotte Avenue, NashvilleTN 37209 Send email to Auto Masters of West Nashville, LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the sale of pre-owned vehicles.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/22/2012

BBB has determined that Auto Masters of West Nashville, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Auto Masters of West Nashville, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Auto Masters of West Nashville, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
06/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Agreed to fix vehicle in "We Owe" when I purchased vehicle. Negative results 5 months later!
When I test drove the vehicle, I noticed the air pressure sensor warning light was on and the retractable power mirrors did not work. When you pushed the button, a loud humming sound throughout the vehicle would start for about 30 seconds. I agreed to purchase the vehicle at a price of $15,999 if both of the issues were handled. The salesman and manager agreed to do so. I left and came back after making the decision to purchase and the manager told me the owner changed the price to $17,900. After looking at value to see that Kelly Blue Book valued it at $16,300 I still agreed to put $3,000 down and purchase the vehicle. After 4 hours of sitting in the dealership waiting, the owner again changed his price to $20,900 and wanted $4,000 down. Out of desperation of needing a vehicle and needing it that night I still purchased it and was told within 6 months I could return and trade it for another vehicle. I was given a "We Owe" with the repairs I ask for promised by the dealership. After about 2 weeks I was told to take the vehicle 52 miles, over 1 hour away to drop it off to be repaired. After taking off work to do this, they kept my vehicle for 3 days and told me it was ready to come pick up. When I arrived to pick it up, the low air pressure warning lights were still on and the mirrors were still NOT fixed. They washed the vehicle and put gas in it. I took the vehicle to have the tire gauges replaced myself and paid out of my pocket, the manager told me the mirrors were to expensive to fix and gave me the number to the shop that I took it to. I called the shop several times and got no return calls back. I have had the vehicle 5 months, the mirrors are still broke, I have tried trading it in and they advised me there was to much owed on it and I just found out today the vehicle has not been reported on my credit report as promised. I pay my payment bi-weekly and normally pay a week or two early to stay in good standings. Its hard to rebuild your credit as they promise you when they are not even reporting. Seems a lot of promises made by this company are broken. I have lived up to my obligations and feel this company has misled me in so many ways. I was also told by "********" (Management) that I was chose to receive a extended warranty but never received anything on the warranty.

Desired Settlement
I would first like my mirrors fixed as promised, I would like a refund on my 4 wheel sensors I purchased that they promised, I would like my account reported to ALL 3 major credit bureaus as promised and as impossible as I know it is because they buried me in the truck after knowing it wasn't what I wanted or needed, but settled because of promises made, I would like to trade out of the vehicle into what I originally wanted and was told would be possible and now IS NOT!

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***************@*****************
The company made its attempts to help this customer fix its issues. The vehicle was as-is, and they still tried. When a cutomer is set up at a 3rd party service center, it is the job of the vehicle owner to keep up with, and follow up with their service. No different if anyone took their vehicle to Firestone. If the place didnt do the job, people have to be imformed of that info so, something else can be done. The way a we owe works, we pay the bill, you pick up your vehicle, in efforts for both parties to get what they paid for. Not communicating that info doesnt help resolve. Most of this complaint is mostly unverified claims, raher than facts. We report, no question there. It does take time to trade in a unit, unless you have cash to off set the value and balance of a vehicle loan, a yr is not that long, and a better offer than any other other there. And agreeing to fix something is a solid offer, the customer just must help us with the quality of the work. We can only go by way we are told. If we are issued a invoice to be paid, we are only to assumne, the job has been done. And as far as front end of the deal, a purchase agreement was made, so, certain both parties had work to do to ensure comfortability. You much qualify for your request.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The information provided by ***** ********* (Automasters) is 100% false. I followed up as directed, the vehicle was taken by me to Automasters in Smyrna Tn. which is 59 miles from my residence. I was then issued a rental car that was completely falling apart for 3 days. I was told the electric mirrors and tire monitors would be replaced as agreed upon when the vehicle was purchased as agreed upon by Mr. ***** *********. After 3 days passed, I was told to come pick my vehicle back up. Upon my arrival, the tire monitors were still not working nor the mirrors. They advised me they detailed the vehicle and filled it up with gas for me. I contacted Mr. ***** ********* and he told me that his garage stated the mirrors were to "expensive" to fix AND that this was NOT the first time this had happened. He did tell me he had a friend that was out of town but would come look at them to fix it and that he would contact me to let me know when to bring it back. Every time I made a payment I mentioned that I had to pay for the tire monitors that cost me $120 out of my pocket, in which I was told to bring a receipt for and they would try to get me reimbursed for OR to simply bring in a few gas receipts that equaled the balance of what I paid. I NEVER did do that because it already seemed as if I was being lied to, and when the mirror issue would come up I heard statements such as "the guys in our shop don't know what they are doing" " the company don't want to pay for any larger repairs" and other negative comments. They have now agreed to take the truck back after 7 months and "pretend" the deal never happened but of course ME losing the $4,000 I put down and $510 per month I paid, calling all of that a major loss. NOTHING reported to any of the credit bureaus at all, as promised as well. I plan to file suit because I have been lied to and I would suggest no one buy a vehicle from this location. The Automasters in Hermitage is owned by another gentleman that will stand behind his cars and does what he tells you he will do.

05/31/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased a car with a down payment. Less than 24 hr went by and decided that I could not afford vehicle.
On April 18,2013 I went to Auto Master West Nashville location with a 800.00 down payment to purchase a 2007 Chev Impala, which was deducted from my bank account with the use of my debit card. I drove the car off the lot I live less than 6 miles form the car lot. I placed only 30 miles on the car overnight. The time frame for this was 1pm. The next morning at 9am I go back to Auto Master reason being I had left work to go get the car and was gone too long and lost my job for being off the clock too long. The reason I went to go get the car I have a car but it was giving me some issues this particular day and I was gonna need a car to go get my kids from school, time was of the essence at that moment so I needed a car. But as I stated that I returned the car back to Auto Master the following morning to see what I needed to do because now I could not afford the car with no job so I was needed to see what the next steps were. I understand that when I drove off the lot with the car that I would be responsible for the at least the miles that were put on the vehicle I was willing to pay for those, but I felt like the car lot should have gave me part of my down payment since they did not have to come get the car or anything. In the contract no where were there anything talking about a refund. The West Nashville location stated that I would have to speak with the head man at the Smyrna location by the name of Mitch or Steve I have left several messages for both but not yet have had the oppurtunity to speak with neither. Laura, which is the secratary at the Smyrna locaction stated that I could get a store credit, but store credit is not what I want because I will never go buy another car from them at all. And I was also told that I have 12 months to use store credit or it's a lost. I don't feel that this is fair to me or noone. All I want is some of my money back 600.00 is better that losing all 800.00.

Desired Settlement
All I asked is some if not all of my money back. Also when I took the car back the secretary at the Smyrna location told the salesman at the West Nashville location to void out the contract so that it looks like I never brought a car from them, but if you delete the transation, doesn't that mean refund all my money like I never walked in your store. I think so, but I guess not in their sight.

Business' Initial Response
At Auto Masters down payments are non-refundable. The customer was aware of contractual obligations before entering into the contract and later decided it wasn't affordable. The customer was offered store credit to purchase another vehicle at a lower price, or another vehicle in the future. Auto Masters has relieved the customer of all contractual obligations, however the down payment is again, non-refundable.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
no one stated to me the return policy or it was in nothing i signed about their policy on returning or refund i was only told i would have to go through steve or mitch at the smyra location since thats the head location and which they never was willing to contact me back after several messages i left for them

Business' Final Response
The refund policies can be found on the second page of the Buyers Order under the Agreement to Purchase section. Additional information can also be found on page three of the Retail Installment Contract under the Default and Remedies section. There is also a sign posted in the lobby of the dealership stating that all down payments are non-refundable.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/22/2012Business started: 01/01/1996
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Tennessee Motor Vehicle Commission
500 James Robertson Pkwy., 2nd Floor
Nashville, TN 37243
(615) 741-2711
http://www.tn.gov/regboards/mvc/index.shtml

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Pentecost Mr. Ron Janbash (Owner)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Industry Tips
Automobile Financing

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Auto Masters of West Nashville, LLC

5501 Charlotte Avenue

Nashville, TN 37209

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5501 Charlotte Avenue 

    Nashville, TN 37209(615) 915-4496

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Auto Masters of West Nashville, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (615) 331-8899
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Automobile Financing
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.