BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/28/2010

Auto Masters of Nashville, LLC

Find a Location

(615) 331-88994601 Nolensville Rd, NashvilleTN 37211-5205 Send email to Auto Masters of Nashville, LLCView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers the sale of pre-owned automobiles and trucks.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/28/2010

BBB has determined that Auto Masters of Nashville, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Auto Masters of Nashville, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 35 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

35 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 12 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues12
Problems with Product / Service21
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 35

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Auto Masters of Nashville, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (35)
10/12/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Car had problems since I bought it. Dealership says not there problem.
In this year in March I purchased at 328i 2007 from Auto Masters. With in this same mouth I had a service soon light and the driver side actuator go off. I had also told then I heard a strange clicking sound from the car that would you would hear off and on. When I told them about the issue I was having with the car they said they could have a mechanical shop they work with look at it and see what they can do. So I took to the car where they refured me to they said they rest the computer and the door needed a new actuator. They also said the noise the car was making was nothing wrong with the car other then the actuator they did not hear a noise.The total they gave me was around 500$ . so I kept calling auto Masters into they referred me at *** he filled the complaint talk to his higher up and see what they can do to help fix the problem. When I finally got an answer back they said they were not going to pay for it. After been told this I demanded that I talk to his higher up so they then transferred me to his higher up. I then explain machanithat I had not even had this car for a mouth and a had a 500$ bill. Also that the mechanical shop had reset the computer to fix the light on my dash. I was then told that I had already sign the papers and that its not there problem they can pay 100$ toward the repair out of curtacy but they don't have to pay anything. I once again reminded him I had the car for only a month and that did not give me any problems when they took my 6000$ down payment and that I'm a customer that was sold a car that had problems already. I did not get the door fix bc I was so mad and did not have the money for bc I just bought a car. Now 3months later of the car just not driving right and me just taking there word for it that there nothing wrong with the car. The car starts over heating I check everything (water anti freeze) and it seem seen ok. Until the car brakes down and won't start. So I call the warrant I bought through BMW and they tow it to my house where it sat in my drive way for about 1 1/2 months until I had the money to have it looked at. At the end of august I had the car taken to ******* at XXXXX ************** ************ XXXXX. Where they did an engine diagnostic and electrical evaluation. They fond the starter was cost So I pay for a new starter that cost around 1100$. I ran through my warranty so out of pocket I pay 661.11. When try to run the water pump thermasta and actuator through my insurance they suggest that I take it through BMW to get a full evaluation of the car a second apenion and it would be cheaper. So I did and I got 3pages of problems with the car and a 4369.78$ bill. On a car I drove for about 3 months at the most and had just pay the 5th month payment. II then called auto Masters and explain to them again that there major issues with the car. That there is no was no way in a total of 5months and of only using the car for about 3 months and me putting a new starter and keeping up with maintlants of the car and having problems with in the same month of buy the car that I'm responsible for these repairs. Which are water pump, thermostat, driver lock actuator, belt tensioner and beld, and oil filter housing gasket. I went through the same process as the first time I was referred to ***** *********. Whome seem concerned and informed me that he have to talk to his higher up and let me know. I explain I had warranty and I felt like they should pay the different. He told me he could not garanty me that it not up to him. I then received a call from *** same guy from the first issue and I was told the same thing that there not gonna pay for anything that its not there problem and there not pay for anything.

Desired Settlement
Im seeking the cost of the repairs for the car. An exchange for another car. A credit to my account for the repairs. Or a full refund of the car.

Business Response
Customer has a warranty. She purchased the warranty with BMW on this vehicle, which is good of any consumer to do. The warranty is a separate entity. We have no control over the rate of deductable. She has had repairs made with BMW. The BMW dealer is not being help accountable for the repairs made, and the customer needing more. She also received a 2nd opinion that was nearly two thousand dollars higher than BMW bid. The customer is mis directing blame. The BMW dealer should be able to accommodate her with the repairs and get it right and should honor the warranty and not make this complicated for her. We value all of our customer, and do everything we can to help. The warranty should honor her agreement and repair the vehicle without red tape and issuing blame to the seller.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The company clearly mis understood the complaint. I put blame toward Auto Master because when I purchased the car it had problems already. Now if I purchased the car from BMW directly then I would not be writing this but since I made the horrible mistake of buy it from Auto Master and they won't take any responsibility that they sold he a bad car. The warranty that I bought is because Auto Master refused take any responsibility and just tell me its not there problem within the first 30day I bought the car and now. Weather I have warranty or not is beside the point I was sold a car that had problems from the beginning. Thank you.

10/08/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

False information
I bought a toyota corolla from automaster and had issues wasnt being helped so i did a voluntary repo i did receive a letter stating if i wanted the car back it gave me the information i never received a letter stating i owed money so i figured i didnt i did a credit check and automaster was there stating i owed around $11000 so today i called automaster and spoke with *** i explain to her i was trying to find out if i owed any money and if i do i would like a letter stating my balance she tells me shes not allowed to issue a letter so i asked if she can tell me what was owed she stated according to her computer i owed $249 i said if i owed that why on my credit report shows alot more she said she was going to check into it and she ask my number but i was at work so i told her ill call back 2hrs later i call back and spoke with ******** and she transfer me to her line ex3308 no answer was transfered back to ******** i told her can i speak with anyone in that department and no answer i called another 2hrs later and same thing ******** started to have an attitude so now im being denied of any proof there system is completely different then my credit report

Desired Settlement
I want the right information because its damaging my credit more and im trying to fix it

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *********
The contractual payment amount and overall charge off balance is different. If customer called regarding how many the payments would be to continue to pay their obligation that would be a different amount. The full charge off balance has been available to the customer. Not certain what happened with the inquiry via phone, however; we offer extensive phone customer service to all customers, regardless of account status. This response can serve an invitation to the customers to come in the business and speak to account management for purposes of positive resolve, and account info.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Basically if a customer calls wanting to know if they owe any money to automasters they would have to be very pacific instead of just letting them know there balance it should be in the same system since automasters is there own bank as advertised and also if a customer states he or she never received an charge off letter you tell your employees there not allowed to resend that letter why is that the purpose of me calling is i cant go there so im taking this since i cant go to you business you are brushing me off its simple all i wanted is a letter stating cars was sold for x amount and you have a balance of x amount of dollars is that so hard unless theres a reason its hard for you to provide me this

Final Business Response
The customer will owe the charge off balance, and there will be a balance for the difference in repossession. Information has never been withheld from this customer or any other in this situation. Stating they have been unable to receive info via phone is hear say. And if customer didn't receive anything via mail that could be on the end of not having updated mailing info, their local post office etc. Many reasons that are of no fault or intentions of our business. The repossession letter, account balance and all information regarding has always been available in person at the branch of purchase. Getting the charge off balance is not something we would keep from a customer. No creditor would hinder a customer from attempting to pay their balance, or have an understanding of what is owed. People have experiences that are sometimes out of their control, we are mindful of that in a position of repossession and do the best we can to make the customer feel comfortable. We have had customers redeem their purchase in that situation, and others that have returned and made a completely different purchase when back on their feet. Repossession doesn't make this customer exempt from us still providing customer service. Any information customer needs, and is entitle too, they are more than welcome to come to the Branch of purchase and speak with an account manager and they will be glad to help and answer any remaining questions.

09/15/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

The temp tag I have now is expired and they refuse to send out my tags and licence plate. I paid all fees and my first and second truck payment .
I've called several times.its been over a month since I purchased vehicle and I still have my first temp tag that's been expired for a few weeks and I called to tell them about it and they've done nothing but lie to me. They told me to make sure my payments are paid up . I paid them up and paid the $5.00 fee online to get them to send another temp tag . I called today and they told me they couldn't and there wasn't a manager there to help . This is the third attempt . They are basically refusing to send it to me because I moved to another state AFTER a couple weeks after I purchased the vehicle. I told them I was moving and even gave them my new address and now they are refusing to send me anything . So now I'm driving around with expired temp tags and have 4 children I take to and from school ! I don't know what else to do. Is there anything legal I can do to get my tags ?

Desired Settlement
I want either temp tags or my license plate to be mailed off ASAP !!!!!

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *********
This issue is not intentional. Clearly. We help several people per month and the tag process is always the same. The plates are processed the customer picks them up. We do not hold tags, nor do we find a reason to do so. Every company has their process and we are not attempting to inconvenience any customer with our tag issuing process. We do not mail them to ensure they make it to the correct party. If a tag gets lost, it's a major process, and we feel our process is a prevention step to secure the plates and get them into the right hands, and on the right vehicle. We have had customers move early in the deal, and they have picked up their tag with no issue. There is no rule against a customer moving and they are entitled to their plate. However; protocol must be followed.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I told auto masters the day I purchased the vehicle that I would be moving to ******* 2 weeks later . They said ok no problem what will the address be and I gave it to them . They have told me that they would be mailing them off if I paid them $45.00 . After my 8th call to them I finally got in touch with the manager who told me the tags as license plate were there and he said let me figure out what's going in and I will call you right back. It's been a week later with no phone call back and I call today for the customer service manager to tell me he wasn't in and won't be until Monday and when I asked her about the plates she said she didn't know where they were and there was nothing in the system so she couldn't tell me. I've called them 2 to 3 times a week since my first temp tags were expired and they have not sent out a second temp tag nor my plates which the manager said they had . They have lied to me and have gave me the run around and after 2 months of purchase of the Suburban I can't get my plates mailed off because nobody seems to know what is going on. As far as them saying they don't mail anything off , that is NOT what they told me. I told them several times that I moved to another state , ******* , and gave them my new address and they tried to charge me $45.00 to send out the tags/plates after 2 months !!!!! They knew I moved so them saying they don't mail those things out is a straight up lie because they told me if I did it that I'd be the one having to pay ! They always say I'll call you back and they never do ! How hard is it to mail out a loyal customer's tags and plated ?! I'm driving my kids to and from school and going to work on an expired temp tag and have been for the last 2 months because auto masters does not have their business in order ! So unprofessional and their attitudes are no care attitudes . I'd like my paperwork tags/plates please !!!!!! Below is a picture of the EXPIRED temp tags that are currently on my vehicle . They told me they would mail everything out and they haven't and I'm having to fight to get them !! HELP !

Final Business Response
The resolution to this issue is very simple and can fixed with positive compliance from the customer. No one is attempting to hold tags, or force someone to be on bad tags. We have lots of customers and our process is the same. We do not mail tags. We have an obligation to ensure the plates make it into the correct hands. All the customer has to do is the same as all customers. Come and pick up their plates. Update their info with consistent and legit data, and everything will be fine. It's disappointing the customer does not see that we do value their loyalty and we appreciate their business with us. A bigger issue occurs when you deviate from protocol. Such as lost or stolen plate. We do not want to be liable in that event. It's ok if a customer moves. We have no issue with that. We have customer in several different states. They lived in different states at point of sale. We lend and sale to a broad radius. However; even those customers living in a different state, at point of sale are aware, they must pick up their plate. And all customers are made aware, in their contract; we must be updated with correct address data. That is no different for any other nationwide lender. We would like to resolve this by customer picking up their plate, and being happy the way it's intended. These plates MUST be placed in the correct hands to avoid any liability on our end. We are not prepared to deviate from what we know works, and what we feel to be best for both parties involved. We wish the customer would see this is for their protection and best interest as well. The customer moving is not the issue. The customer is more than welcomed to continue purchasing from us, regardless of current resident area. The plates must be issued to the consumer. Not 1 of 3 addresses issued. That's a risk we are not willing to take. Please understand, and help us, help you.

07/02/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Erroneous Fees and Over-billing account
For several months, I have had issues with Automasters charging late fees and improperly crediting my account. This results in a delinquent account status and they refuse to review the account information to confirm the information I've submitted. They have also neglected to submit documentation to substantiate their claims. They are also guilty of false advertising as they show pictures of vehicles as they appear in new dealer status, but when you get to the Automasters dealership, the vehicles are in far worse shape than depicted.
I'm okay with the fact that I purchased a lemon from them, as I will NOT make any other purchases from them, no will I refer any buyers to them. They have consistently overbilled my account and have threatened to pull my car for a payment THEY misapplied. For several weeks, I requested the information and didn't receive it until June 11. I have text messages in my phone to prove this. When I looked at the account statement they finally sent me on June 11, I could see the error they made. They also told me that I had a 36 month contract. I found out last summer it was 42 months instead of 36. Automasters has very questionable and unscrupulous practices, and all I want is for them to correct my account and stop harassing me! I have told them that for several months we couldn't even drive the car because it was in such bad shape, so it sat in the driveway while I continued to make payments. I was in layoff status last summer and they didn't care. The payment would never have fallen behind if we didn't have to buy another car from Chevrolet because the Sonata we purchased from them was in such need of repairs. Overall, this was the worst car-buying experience I've ever had, and I will never purchase from the again.

Desired Settlement
Automasters needs to correct my account as well as correct their reporting to the credit bureaus. I also prefer they stop contacting me regarding this account.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***************@*****************
On file is a clear cut and signed finance contract. Terms & conditions were explained and agreed on at point of sale. Not only was the contract signed, but there are initials next to terms and conditions stating length of contract, amount, and scheduled due dates. Fees can not be added by us. They are systematical, and based upon due date, and explained. If the account is not paid as agreed, there will be fees. The contract is not contingent upon job loss, or lay offs. Of couse a company cares. No one wants to loss customers, but, the contract must be enforced, and there is only so much that can be done. Contract can not be changed by either party, and we must stick with the contract, and be fair to all customers. As far as vehicle status. A vehicle must be maintained, and is no longer in our care. Every vehicle owner has the responsibility to maintain the performance of their vehicle, just as every other vehicle owner has too. And we have no way of knowing what condition a persons vehicle is in, when sitting in their driveway. The fact the agreement is still open, and the vehicle is still in the customers possession is proof we worked with the customer, even when not fully following contract to the point of incurring fees, and the agreement not being paid on the scheduled due date.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
That is a bunch of bull. I have every email and text message this company sent to me during the time of my unemployment vowing to assist. They did NOTHING but harass me during this entire time. But that is neither here nor there! They have the option of correcting this account, and they had to correct it before. That information is input by a human, and as one who works on computers EVERYDAY, there is nothing that cannot be changed or corrected. The car was delivered to me in horrible condition. The tires were bad, and some of the electrical and mechanical components were inoperable. Technically, I purchased a lemon. The car was not cleaned, and looked nothing like the one I saw on the Automasters Website. As I was waiting for them to prepare my paperwork, another customer came into the store complaining how her car stopped on her before she even made it to the interstate. It appears the dealer delivers cars to poor, unsuspecting people who are in desperate need of transportation, who don't even consider the possibility they are being taken advantage of.

My contract states that my payment is due on the 7th of each month, with a grace period that extends to the 14th of each month. The statement they sent me clearly shows the payment was applied to my account on April 14th, BEFORE late charges are incurred. They have billed my account late ever since, resulting in a cumulative late charge which has thrown my account in past due status. They did the same thing over a year ago, and my representative had to go to their office to help them correct their error. I won't do this again. I have one payment left, and that is ALL I will pay. I am not the only person to have this issue with Automasters, and I'm sure I won't be the last. But they will never get any referrals from me, and I will never purchase from them again. Their late fees are exorbitant and the contract is unconscionable. Someone needs to take a closer look at the company's financials. When I was making my payments in person - IN CASH, there were no problems and I was never charged a late fee regardless when payment was made. I will make ONE FINAL payment in the amount of $340.00 and expect Automasters to mail my title to my address of record immediately thereafter. I can fax a copy of my contract and send copies of the text messages I received last year and this year, if needed.

I am very disgusted with this organization and the manner in which my account has been handled.

06/19/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Dealership requires the addition of a GPS tracker on each car they sell. They attached the GPS tracker to my sunroof drain resulting in water leaking
Upon purchase of the vehicle, the company required that their service department install a gps tracker on each vehicle. They attached the gps tracker around the sunroof drain tube that runs down the side of the car. That negligence resulted in water leaking into the car and ruining the floor board, dvd player, and headliner. Further damages are unknown. They refuse to help in any way.

Desired Settlement
I would like the resulting damages to my vehicle to be fixed.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***************
Customer has been set up with a service facility to have this issue evaluated to verify claim, and to be fixed if the account is valid. Customer has been called by 2 different parties in efforts to get this resolved. Customer has refused to simnply take the vehicle so that it can be resolved. The reported issue much be verified. Customer has also made several demands that he wants to happen before he will bring vehicle in. This is a time sensitive matter, and we simply have no co opperation on his end. An additional call was made to him just today, and he still insist he will not take it, and stated several times he doesnt have time, and if it will not be done his way he will not take the vehicle to the shop in place. We can not help anyone fix anything if they will not take the vehicle in for validation of issue and repair once validated. This could be resolved very simply if he would just accept the help and offer made. The offer of resolve still stands, and we hope the customer will take it. We want him happy, and that will happen if he will allow.

Page 1 of 7

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 06/01/2009Business started: 01/01/1995
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Tennessee Motor Vehicle Commission
500 James Robertson Pkwy., 2nd Floor
Nashville, TN 37243
(615) 741-2711

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Business Management
Principal: Mr. James Pentecost
Contact Information
Ms. Sandra May (Controller)Mr. Steven Piper (CFO)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Auto Masters - Harding, Auto Masters - Woodbine, Auto Masters - Haywood
Industry Tips
Automobile Financing

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Auto Masters of Nashville, LLC has received 4.34 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Auto Masters of Nashville, LLC

4601 Nolensville Rd

Nashville, TN 37211-5205

To | From


3 Locations

  • 3101 Nolensville Rd 

    Nashville, TN 37211-2930(615) 833-1199

  • 3920 Nolensville Rd 

    Nashville, TN 37211-4250(615) 844-3800

  • 4601 Nolensville Rd 

    Nashville, TN 37211-5205(615) 331-8899

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Auto Masters of Nashville, LLC is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Web Addresses


Additional Email Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Automobile Financing

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.