BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/22/2012

Auto Masters of Madison, LLC

Phone: (615) 425-3227Fax: (615) 425-3227View Additional Phone Numbers712 Gallatin Pike N, MadisonTN 37115-2811 Send email to Auto Masters of Madison, LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the sale of pre-owned vehicles.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/22/2012

BBB has determined that Auto Masters of Madison, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Auto Masters of Madison, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Auto Masters of Madison, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
07/07/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I recieved a car from automasters of madison in march which did not pass emissions some work had to done. And throughout the year same problem ocurrs.
I receive my car in march from automasters of madison and tge check engine light was on car did not pass emissions for me to get tags it went to automasters shop in Smyrna throughout the year the car has never properly worked the car had over 114,000 miles which i was aware of the car has been to automasters shop over 5 times where 3 diffrent mechanics were supposed to fix the car as well as them sending the car to a chevy dealer still check engine light on car never being properly fix and now warranty up and its my responsibility to get the transmission fixed Cadillac converters purge system and ignition switch replace on a car i. Have had less than a year and these are the same problems from the day i recieved the car they give me the run around. Not to mention i was hit in the car be cause the engine power reduced on the interstate leaveing me to go 10 miles an hour from the car not being properly serviced from Automasters they do not car for the customer they just want to make a sale my safety and life is not important just paying my car note is all that matters.

Desired Settlement
I just want to give them there vehicle back with out it being reported on my credit because i did not have a reliable car i owe 11,000 left on the vehicle and 5,ooo worth work needs to be done on the car its not far and no intergity was put in this deal.

Business Response
Customer purchased this vehicle on 3/23/2015. All of our vehicles are sold as is and come with a 90-day power-train warranty. In September 2015, Automasters replaced the catalytic converter, spark plugs, exhaust manifold, and oxygen sensor at no cost to the customer. We also replaced the purge solenoid on the fuel tank at no cost to the customer. Car was out of warranty at the time of the work. Customer voluntarily gave the car back to Automasters and it has to be reported as a charge off, however, Automasters will not pursue the customer for any deficiency balance that may accrue.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

02/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Vehicle purchased from location has check engine light on in first week. Location refused to return down payment.
I purchased the vehicle, a 2002 Chrysler 300m, on 11/14/2013. I waited until 11/15 to pick up car from Smyrna location. Drove car home and one week later the check engine light came on. Informed location and was told to contact service center as car was still under 90 day warranty. I made an appointment at the service center in Smyrna were I was told to drop off car. Appointment was for 12/12/13. i took the car to the location on that day and after waiting a few hours was told to bring car back on Monday, 12/16/13. I was told it would take two days.
Two days came and passed and car was still not fixed. I called consistently to check status of car and was told everything from they are awaiting parts to machinery in shop was awaiting repair. I was also told that it was transferred to the dealership that deal with Chrysler vehicles and they did not fix the issue either. I was then told by a representative at the car repair shop that is contracted for auto masters that it would be a few more days and they don't know what is wrong with car. This was right after Christmas. I then called the collections agent to begin the process of a refund. I was told that they would speak with the owner and to call back on 12/30. The situation was so stressful it lead to an extreme anxiety attack to occur on 12/29/13.
I returned the phone call to the collections representative on 12/30 twice during that day with no response.I decided to visit the Madison location on 12/30/13 and had representative call the shop while I was standing there. I was then told that it was at the dealership and will be fixed by 1/2/14. I was called that day and told that it would be transferred again to the dealership (Beaman Chrysler of Mufreesboro). Today, 1/8/2014, I had to visit the dealership in Mufreesboro to get an item I needed from the car. I was told by the mechanic over all the cars from Automasters that the issue was a mechanical one and they have emailed them and awaiting their response. I called the Madison location 1/8/14 and spoke with Steve about a refund. I was advised to call and speak with Eddie at the Smyrna location. I left a message and have not heard a response.
While I understand that some issues take longer than others to fix in regards to automobiles, it is my sincere belief that the Automasters dealership willingly sold me a car that had significant issues. I have been more than patient in dealing with this issue. I refuse to, however, deal with them any longer.

Desired Settlement
I believe that I should not only be refunded the 700.00 down payment that I paid but also the payment of 182.00 that I made on 12/12/13. In addition, I will also require a reimbursement of gas mileage for traveling to the following locations:
Beaman Dodge Chrysler of Mufreesboro-36 miles
Automasters of Smyrna (two trips)-32 miles each total of 64 miles.

Considering that gas is an average of 2.95 per gallon and the vehicle I made those trips in average 26 miles per gallon,
I am owed 147.50

Total amount expected: 1029.50
This is the total amount that is owed to me and will be required to make up for the loss of monetary value. While it in NO way compensates for the onset of an acute anxiety disorder that this situation brought on, I believe this is a fair amount considering.

Business Response
The vehicle was purchased as is. The company made efforts to help the customer with the issue. The customer took it upon themselves to shop repairs else where, and stated that themselves in their own statement. We do what we can for customers, but, customers have to be reasonable in their request, and take responsibitly for their unit.

Final Consumer Response
I didn't shop for repairs elsewhere. I brought the car back to the dealership. It is now being resolved.

02/29/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Poor customer service, does not uphold agreements, management rude, does not return calls, dishonest, they tell lies.
I purchased a Chrysler 300 Hundred from the Madison store. The check engine light was on when I took the vehicle and they promised to repair because it's still under warranty. I didn't want to take the car that way, but I was assured the matter would be handled. I'm now three months into getting drive out tags because I'm not able to go through mortar to get the tags I've already paid for. I've contacted the Smyrna store where I was told it had to go for repair. I was given an appointment a month later for service. I picked the vehicle up after they said it was repaired, and the next day the check engine light was still on. The car was filthy when I got it back and the tires I was promised were not put on it. I contacted again and was told to take it to ******* **** to see if they get the same codes. I did that and the codes were the same as theirs. I then realized that all they did was change the gas cap. I was then given another appointment for two weeks later. I live in Madison, it's an forty five minute drive one way. I asked that the car be picked up, they refused. I kept the next appointment, took the car in the day before the appointment. I contacted them because no one will return a call or let you know what's going on. That Friday I called to see if the car was ready and was told it was and they were driving it to be sure it was ok. I was going to pick it up but they said they wanted to clean it up, so I told them I would get it Saturday. I picked the car up, again, it was filty, they hadn't cleaned it up as they said, which is why I left it til the next day. I dropped my dog home, attempted to go to the store, the check engine light is on again. I had just picked it up from servicing. I called them again, no one returned my calls. I called both locations and kept getting a run around. Finally I spoke with someone a couple of days later with no results. I have been without a vehicle since I purchased it. They wanted me to bring the car back to Smyrna for service again. I then could not get into the car for two days because the key wouldn't work. I was never given a keypad for the car. After speaking with several different people, being lied to, and spoken to in a rude way by the General Manager, ***** ****** decided to file this complaint. I asked for a loaner car until the figure out what the problem is and was refused. I asked that the car be exchanged for another I saw at a different location and was refused. In the beginning of all of this, ***** ***** told my husband they would make adjustments to the car note, that hasn't been done either. I finally got them to have the car towed, after threatening to contact BBB. However, no one contacted me to say what the problem is, how long they'll keep the car, nothing. I finally tried to speak with the owner and was lied to many times, needless to say, still have not gotten a call back. ****** said that he would be calling me that same day, nothing. I spoke with her again, no results. And ***** ***** needs to be fired, he has no customer service mentality. You don't tell a customer who has a problem with their product, that if you miss the service man's call, he won't call again. I was sold a bad vehicle! It's my right to better service and to be treated as a paying client.I finally got a call from the service manager saying the car had to go back to the dealership because they cannot fix the problem there. Now I have no vehicle, paying a car note and don't have a car, can't get the owner or anyone with integrity to speak to me, and I'm missing work. Today is January 13th, I'm going out there and demand a loaner car. It is not my fault that they sold a vehicle that legally they could not sell because it can't pass mortar.However, I have been inconvenience, spoken to rudely, ignored as a customer, and both my husband and I have missed work dealing with this problem.

Desired Settlement
I want the adjustment to the car payment as ***** ***** stated to my husband. I want the vehicle repaired to standards, it's still under warranty. Or do an exchange of the vehicle, or just void the contract totally and reimburse all money paid to them, the down payment, the tags, and the note already paid. I refuse to make another payment until I have a vehicle I can drive without concerns.

Business Response
This customer did not purchase with our locations. That location is a Franchise location under different ownership & management. However; I suggest that the customer contact the management of that branch and see what agreement they can come to and make them fully aware of the issues that have occurred. If the repairs are covered, the customer should read their warranty guidelines and have an understanding of their coverage.

11/10/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was sold a truck with no tags and almost 5 months later I still do not have tags.
On March 14, 2015 I purchased a 2006 Dodge ram pick up from Auto Masters of Madison. *** ******** **** *******, ** XXXXX. I have had to temporary tags and my license plates which I have already paid for have been sent and are lost in the mail. I specifically asked the office girl to hold on to my tag so I could pick them up. After all these months I am being told that it is no longer there responsibility and it is my responsibility to find my tags. Basically I am driving a truck around that does not have tags. My job depends on me driving every day and my kids depend on me working every day. I cannot afford to be pulled over. At the moment I am in no financial situation to just turn the truck back in.

Desired Settlement
I would like to have tags for my truck. I want to come and pick them up. ASAP
if they are not able to get my tags to me then I need to be reimbursed for all the thousands of dollars I have paid for this truck. I am more than willing to turn the truck back in as long as they pay me all my money back if not they need to do what they have agreed to do and supply me with tags for my vehicle .

Business Response
The Responsibility of lost or stolen tags are of the customer. Not because that's the way we want it, there are laws and procedures that must be followed. If the customer works with us, and follows the proper steps this can be resolved in a positive manor. Somehow, the mailing of the tags were a miss communication. However; going forward to correct the issue is the key. If the customer will call us, and allow us to guide them to the proper channels, we would love to help, as we do all customers. We value our customer and will do anything we can to help. However; we have an obligation to everyone to follow the law, and the tag process put in place via state guidelines on issuing a replacement tag.

03/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have contacted this location several times about the leaking Of water in my car since I have bought the car almost a year and nothing has been done.
I have come out to the service location in Smyrna 3 times for the same issues if the car leaking, a squeaky noise from under the hood,the trunk being stuck and hard to open, and the check engine light (which I had checked to find out that it was the fuel sensor) each time they had reassured me that the issues where fixed and I had a good car! Low and behold I am back here again with the same issues and no one will take responsibility for any because it's been close to a year for the same issues I brought to their attention from the day I bought the car. Now one of the managers ****** ********** tell me that he will only fix the one issue of the leaking and nothing else. I take full responsibility for losing my temper when speaking with him but due to the nature of the issue I had every right to be upset! The madison location only tells me that their hands are tide even though that was where I originally purchased the vehicle. I had even asked with in a week of purchasing the car to let me just bring it back and I would get a different car and pay the difference, but I was denied. I need your help in a resolution in this matter

Desired Settlement
I have come out to the service location in Smyrna 3 times for the same issues if the car leaking, a squeaky noise from under the hood,the trunk being stuck and hard to open, and the check engine light (which I had checked to find out that it was the fuel sensor) each time they had reassured me that the issues where fixed and I had a good car! Low and behold I am back here again with the same issues and no one will take responsibility for any because it's been close to a year for the same issues I brought to their attention from the day I bought the car. Now one of the managers ****** ********** tell me that he will only fix the one issue of the leaking and nothing else. I take full responsibility for losing my temper when speaking with him but due to the nature of the issue I had every right to be upset! The madison location only tells me that their hands are tide even though that was where I originally purchased the vehicle. I had even asked with in a week of purchasing the car to let me just bring it back and I would get a different car and pay the difference, but I was denied. I need your help in a resolution in this matter

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***************@*****************
This customer has had the vehicle for some time. Made mention of that herself. The vehicle was sold as is. The fact we have taken measure to even help is above and beyond the agreement. We can not do it all. The customer has close to continue to drive the vehicle, potentially inflicting even more damage, with no effort on their part to get these items adjusted. If the location was attempting to help, and they ere not happy with the result, it is her vehicle, and choice to shop additional options. This customer has had the vehicle, driving it, the entire time, and stated that very fact. If what offers that have been made doesn't suit the customer, there are places of the customers choice to take the vehicle, and have take vehicle and have the repairs made. It is unreasonable to not take responsibly for the vehicle. Not to mention, the general maintenance needed.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/11/2007Business started: 01/01/1996
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Tennessee Motor Vehicle Commission
500 James Robertson Pkwy., 2nd Floor
Nashville, TN 37243
(615) 741-2711
http://www.tn.gov/regboards/mvc/index.shtml

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Business Management
Mr. James Pentecost
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dannie Hannah (General Manager)Mr. Ron Janbakhsh (Co-Owner)Mr. Tim McBride (Sales Mgr.)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Industry Tips
Automobile Financing

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Auto Masters of Madison, LLC

712 Gallatin Pike N

Madison, TN 37115-2811

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 712 Gallatin Pike N 

    Madison, TN 37115-2811(615) 425-3227
    (615) 331-8899
    Fax: (615) 425-3227

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Auto Masters of Madison, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (615) 331-8899
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Automobile Financing
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.