BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 11/15/1993

Action Nissan

Phone: (615) 834-8244Fax: (615) 834-6186

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints9

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (9)
05/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I experienced poor customer service literally from the very moment I signed the contracts and finalized my purchase.
Re: Vin 5N1AR2MN3DCXXXXXX Nissan Pathfinder purchase 3/3/2014
Upon a 3 hrs notice (plus enroute notice) I was coming to look at two Pathfinders, they were covered with ice and not warmed up upon my arrival, plus I fell on ice at the front door as I entered the main showroom. No one apologized for this; although, I was told I should have entered another door. My sales experience lasted 4 1/2 hours, many times being left by myself for up to 45 minutes at a time. However, my main complaint stems from the treatment I received beginning on the 2nd day after my purchase for which I was scheduled to bring the car back to attain some after-market add-ons. Note: on 3/4, I emailed my Salesman, **** ******* to let him know that there were 2 huge scrapes found on the front bumper that went unnoticed upon inspection/purchase on 3/3 due to the lack of the "promised" detailing. Upon my arrival 3/5 (to drop off the vehicle), I sought out & requested the sales manager, ***** ******* take a look at the bumper scrapes since I didn\'t receive a response from ****\' email. The manager\'s response was "there\'s no room in the budget to fix anything." I continued to request of him to take a look. With his hands up in the air, I informed him I was still within my 3 days to cancel the deal. He then agreed to go look at it. I reported to **** ************** office to complete my trade-in paperwork in which I also stated we may not need to continue the paperwork since I was within my 3 days to cancel due to ***** *********** reaction. For which he stated "you got this car below asking price as it is," which I stated NO I did not get a discount. At any rate, ***** ****** returned with the announcement that the bumper scrapes were on the prior lessee\'s return/damage report therefore the lessee was to pay for the repair. Next, ***** stated an extra day would be needed in order to get this bumper fixed. So proceeding with the process, my car would be ready late Monday 3/10. **** gave me ***** ********* business card and told me he would be my contact. On 3/10, I called ***** several times and finally reached him to ask if I could pick up my car after work (coming from work/Spring Hill). ***** stated he would call me back. NO RESPONSE EVER CAME. Finally, I reached **** ****** via text and he called me back and stated that my car was not ready. Next, at the end of the day 3/11, I called again - ***** ****** left a message, no one returned my call. Then I tracked down **** ****** again via text for him to respond & he stated that my car was not ready again. That evening at 5:30pm, a man named **** ******** left a voice mail stating my car was not ready. Next day on 3/12, (ONE FULL WEEK LATER), I attempted to contact someone beginning at 11am - calling *****, **** ******** (but the receptionist didn\'t know him but finally reached ****), & ****. Finally, after several attempts, I was able to get ahold of **** ****** via text (on his off day) who replied to say YES, my car was ready but didn\'t know where I should pick it up. I called him back to say I needed it to be detailed (as previously promised), fueled up and waiting for me in the Service Bay so I wouldn\'t be inconvenienced any further. Also, upon getting the car home, I noticed the promised XM Radio for 3 months free had still not been turned on. After texting **** ******* he responded after checking into it, stating for me to contact XM Radio to sign up which I replied "is this free." No response has been given to date. And one last issue, I was notified by mail this week that I needed to get Emissions testing done. I had been told by **** that this process would be done/or already completed by their dealership. Finally, any GOOD company would be forthright & notify a customer in advance of delays of work, just to keep the customer apprised. Also, unkept promises are unprofessional plus the inconvenience of the emissions is absurd. It\'s discourteousness treatment all the way around period.

Desired Settlement
Since there\'s nothing left for Action Nissan to do for me except obtain my Tag Registration for WILLIAMSON COUNTY (not Davidson Co) in a timely manner (I mailed the emissions coupon to them on 3/24), the unkept promise of the free 3 month subscription of XM radio should be replaced with 12 months free for all of these crude inconveniences I experienced.

Business Response
Playing phone tag with the customer, but am more than happy to help her out with the 3 month xm set up. The tag's are in process and should be done with in the allowed amount of time.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
A voice mail from ******** was left on my phone on 3/27 at 2:56pm, requesting my return call. I called back on 3/28 at 10:21am but couldn't understand the female due to the phone signal. After several attempts trying to hear ******** repeat herself, she stated she was the General Manager but was in the hospital so her phone signal wasn't clear. She said she would call me back (which has not happened). I thought she was calling in reference to the forgotten request that forced me to obtain the Emissions testing (after the sale) but as I continued to ask what she had called in reference to, she stated she was the General Manager. I told her I couldn't hear her. THERE HASN'T BEEN ANY PHONE TAG WHATSOEVER. This is seriously the worst customer service I have ever experienced, especially now involving the supposed General Manager. I request 12 months free of XM Radio for all the inconveniences, poor communication, and effort this company has caused me.

Final Business Response
We sent Ms ******* 3 XM Gift Cards directly from **** *** Online totaling ***** We have confirmation from **** *** that they have been shipped and that Ms ******* has recieved them.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
To add to the continued poor customer service & additional "salt in the wound," I was contacted by Action's receptionist, ***** on 3/28/14 who informed me that my plate/tag had come in. I requested **** mail it to me. Eight days later on 4/5/14, I called and spoke to ***** explaining that my tag had not arrived (plus my temporary tag had expired on 4/2) for which all she could say was she didn't have it in her stack anymore. I then requested to speak to someone for assistance for which she transferred me to *** ********* voice mail. On Mon, 4/7 no return call had come so at 10am, I again called & reached *** ******* She said my tag had been FedEx'd on Fri 4/4. Seriously, does it take ONE FULL WEEK to walk a plate/tag from the receptionist desk to *** ********* office for mailing? *****The service I have experienced with Action is so poor, and continues to be extremely poor. So in response to Action's offer I will not give my credit card number to XM Radio and then WAIT for the "hope" of a reimbursement and further drawn out poor communication with them...as I know this dealership can provide one year of XM Radio at their own doing.

04/29/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a used vehicle from them that they never disclosed that it was a Canadian vehicle purchased from auction.
I purchased a 2013 Ram 1500 from their used lot and the truck had a chip in the tailgate caused by their mechanic that the sales rep said would be replaced for free until the day i was going to sign my papers. We then had that resolved and they did do it for free only to have to replace the windshield 3 months later because of "pitting." NOW the truck had an issue electrically that i was told was caused by a recalled ORC Module but after replacing that and not fixing the issue the dodge dealership finds water damage and electrical issues that are causing the short. Dodge called it an electrical nightmare. Plus the truck was still registered to someone in Canada 4 months after I bought it! I had to talk to someone at Dodge Customer service in Canada to register it in my name! The truck was also XXXXX miles over due for a spark plug change and 8000 miles over due from a fuel line flush from when I purchased the vehicle 6000 miles ago.

Now we are waiting to hear what they are going to do to make it right by *** the sales manager has talked down to myself and my wife. But I'm more upset in the manner in which he has talked to my wife today hence the submission.

Desired Settlement
I no longer want the Dodge if there is this big of electrical issues. At the minimum I want the full value that I paid for the truck back in a credit or a brand new truck of equal or greater features inside from nissan.

Business Response
The consumer and Action Nissan have come to an agreement to trade them out of the Dodge Ram. We have located a New Titan for them and have come to an agreement on figures for the new truck. We will be wrapping this deal up this week.

04/19/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased a vehicle from Action Nissan under false pretenses that the vehicle was returned from a lease when it was an auction vehicle with rust.
On XX-XX-XX my husband & I went to Action Nissan in
Nashville to search for a vehicle. We met a salesman by the name of ******** who showed us our 2013 Nissan Pathfinder. We were told it was just returned from a lease and that it was just serviced and had no problems. We decided on a price and purchased the vehicle. 2 months later we were still waiting on our tags to come in .. Didn't really think much of it, but did question the finance manager **** who assured us nothing was wrong and they would get us the tags soon. When we purchased the vehicle we had to sign an arbitration agreement for some reason .. We also purchased a extended warranties and an oil change package.
When time came due for my first oil change I took my vehicle to the nearest dealership to me, in Columbia, and was asked if I used to live in Canada ???!!
Of course I said, NO ! He explained to me that the mileage on the vehicle in the system is in Canadian mileage and has to be converted from kilometers to miles as well as EACH TIME I have my car serviced from here on out .. Causing alarm to anyone who sees that .. He then informed me that my car was indeed NOT BACK FROM A LEASE, but
PURCHASED FROM AN AUTO AUCTION & it came from CANADA !
I had my car in for a routine oil change as well as for them to look at problems with the transmission and a problem with squealing brakes. They checked them out and could not repair them. Stating that this is common with Nissan products !!!
I called a local company in Lewisburg a few days later for him to lift my car to look for rust underneath that could be causing the constant squeal .. Sure enough.. RUST UNDER THE PATHFINDER!! This makes sense why we had to sign an arbitration agreement!! I know of other people who have purchased used vehicles from THIS company & they did NOT have to sign one.
We went back to Action Nissan on X-XX-XX to talk to them about getting our money back, but all they wanted to do was to put us in a new Pathfinder that day ! Of course.. That would benefit them and they would not lose any money!! With all the trouble we had with this one and the lies we had been told I was not ready to do that and really wanted to get my money back. They were not having any parts of that. Now this was March that we were there, but I had no idea of this until I was due my first oil change and the other dealership that I took it to for services was HONEST with me and upfront or we would have addressed this right away !!
While we were at Action Nissan in March, the manager asked if we read the carfax that was given to us ?? We WERE NOT GIVEN ONE .. And to my knowledge it is not OUR responsibility to get that ?? He even went as far to ask me "what does the carfax commercial say?" .. "It says not to buy a car without getting one?" REALLY ?? Is that how to run a business?? Based on ANOTHER BUSINESS ?
As we were waiting for him to return we heard other salesmen off to the side laughing and saying, "Yeh, I'm going to drive a car for a year and then return it !" RUDE !!
All we want is our money returned to us as they have deceived us from the very beginning! In the event we have to sell this vehicle for any reason who will want to pay the fair price for a car with Canadian mileage in the system & RUST under the car .. If we were rightfully told the truth from the beginning we would have purchased a vehicle from them anyway as there were 2 other vehicles that we were debating between! I just don't like being lied to at our expense!! My husband served 20 years in the Air Force .. they knew that and that is Still how they treated us ??!!

10-10-15 VIN#*************XXXX
Purchase price 29,994.
Maintenance plan 899.
Security plus 2567.
Processing fee 699.
Taxes 2284.64
Trade in allowance +3100.
Gap ins 600.
TOTAL .. 40,143.64 for a car with RUST & problems!

Financed with ******** *****

Desired Settlement
We want to have our money refunded to us from Action Nissan. We feel we have been deceived from the very beginning and are not comfortable purchasing another vehicle from that establishment. It is very sad that they treated us this way as we were debating between 2 other vehicles that very day.. So it is not as if they were not going to earn our business. However now, after the lying and the way we have been treated, we would not return. We are not asking at this time for extra money, just what we have paid.

Business Response
I have reviewed this deal. This unit was sold as a CPO unit, which is a certified purchase. This gives the vehicle a limited warranty for 84 months up to 100,000 miles. The consumer also purchased an extended service contract to cover any other issues. The consumer brought the vehicle in March of 2016. We reviewed the mileage and it was correct on the odometer, Carfax, and Nissan. We attempted to trade with the consumer but we were unable to come to agreeable figures. At this time Action Nissan feels like we have tried to resolve this issue with the consumer.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No where did they address the deceit of selling the vehicle without disclosing the fact that it came from Canada and that it already had rust under it !!
As far as wanting to trade the vehicle with them, they NEVER discussed any numbers with us at all when we returned to talk to them. All they wanted was to put us in a new vehicle that day because that was the only way "WE" could possibly get our money back thru rebates !! Thus meaning they were not going to lose any money for their deceit or mistake .. WE WERE !! We were not comfortable purchasing yet another vehicle from a dealership who had lied about a vehicle to lose money again ... WOULD YOU ???

So NO ..we do NOT accept their response and this case is NOT YET RESOLVED.

Final Business Response
We responded to the BBB complaint. The consumer is seeking other avenues to resolve the issue.

04/29/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Was told I would receive a $250 rebate for using Nissan financing and I did not receive the rebate.
Salesman quoted me a total price on a car of $22,800 with me using my own financing. I went to the dealership and was asked b y the salesman if I would like to save another $250 rebate and possible get a lower interest rate if I used their financing. I said I would if I could save that additional money. They ran my credit and approved me. I did not notice until the next day that the dealer kept the $250 rebate and I still paid $22,800 for my car. When I called the salesman said I got a great deal on the car and seems to think that somehow I did save the additional $250.00. $22,800 - $250. does not equal $22,800. Then he told me I should have caught it before signing the paperwork and since I didn't I should not be upset.

Desired Settlement
I would like the deal I was promised. A $250 rebate for using their financing.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** ***
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *******@****************
I have reviewed the **** **** file and have found that the customer recieved the correct rebates in the amounts of $500.00 Customer Cash and $250.00 NMAC financing cash for a total of $750. The $250 NMAC cash was included in the deal as promised. All Rebates have been reviewed and approve by the customer at the time of the deal. The customer also signed all required Nissan Rebate forms at the time of the deal as well. If the customer would like to review these forms with myself I would be more than happy to do so.
Thank You

***** ******


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The agreed upon NET price using the financing I had set up with BANK OF AMERICA was $23,800 including a $500 rebate. I was told if I applied for the Nissan financing I would receive and ADDITIONAL $250 rebate. The deal was already in place before that with me paying $23,800 and I was talked into applying for financing that I did not need, I could have saved a hit on my credit but using the already in place BANK OF AMERICA financing. The ONLY REASON I applied was that I was told that I would save $250 MORE. I did not catch the deception in the paperwork, but when I looked it over with a clear mind the next day I caught it. I thought it was a mistake in the paperwork but I now see that it was intentional deception. The dealer got the $250 and I paid the same NET amount that I would have if I had used my BANK OF AMERICA financing. I was deceived and the DEALERSHIP got to keep the $250 "rebate" that was due to me.

Final Business Response
After reviewing the documents in the deal $23,800 was not an agreed upon figure out the door until the NMAC financing was approved from the customer. The customer wanted to be at $23,800 but we were not willing to meet that figure unless the customer used NMAC to do the financing and we could use the extra rebate to meet the consumers offer. I have all documents to support this if needed. NMAC also provided a more competive interest rate than the customer provided from Bank of America. All details of the deal were presented and approved by the customer, with a signature. We pride ourselves on doing business the right way. Every deal we do is Clear and Transparent.

04/20/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They changed my windshield wiper fluid with a mixture that was cut with water. My tank froze and I was unable to use my fluid while driving.
I went to the dealership on 2/11/2015 around 3:45 p.m. I was using my service maintenance contract with the Nissan dealerships for a routine oil change. I then was driving through unsafe conditions (snow and ice) and I was unable to use my fluid because it was frozen in my tank. When I called on 2/12/2015 ****** ******* told me that they use a fluid mixed with 50% water. I asked why he would put that in my car when it was going to be below freezing for the next two weeks in Nashville. I told me that it is what he uses in his car and I should not complain about it. He gave no resolution to this, such as bringing my car in to have it drained and refilled with correct fluid or if my tank did crack (which I asked about) he said that they would not be at fault.

Desired Settlement
I want a refund for the money that I had to pay to get new fluid for my car.

Business Response
To Whom It May Concern,
I(****** ************** to Mrs.******** about her concern and i did tell her our washer fluid we use is actual washer fluid and that all washer fluid has a mixture of water in it. I also told customer i was not for sure what the freezing temperature was for our washer fluid all i know is its a winter blend, i also said i would look into the matter and let customer know what i found out. i do not recall the customer mentioning her washer jug being cracked. I did find out our washer fluid we get from *** *** *** gets down -20 deg before freezing. It has a mixture of water and ethanol (Winter Blend has more ethanol). When we do an oil change we top off all fluid levels, i have no idea what may have been in her washer jug prior to us filling the jug with our fluid. when trying to explain to customer she started cussing so i let her vent then she hung up on me and i have not heard from again. I had no contact infromation on customer to call her back. i do not know how much the customer is seeking reinbursment for , but i will help her in anyway i can.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept the response because Nissan drained my washer fluid and filled it up with fluid. There was no additional fluid in the tank that could have caused the freezing problem. As you see in the picture it is a mixture of ice in my washer tank. I would like a free oil change added to my Nissan account.

Final Business Response
customer request free oil & filter change please bring in mon - sat at no charge to you thanks *** ***** / action nissan

03/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
BOUTGHT A CAR AND THEY DIDNT INFORM ME THAT THE CAR WINDOWS TINTS WERE ILLEGAL I GOT A TICKET I ASK BEFORE BUYING IT IF IT WAS LEGAL THEY TOLD ME YES.
I PURCHED A CAR ABOUT TWO WEEKS AGO FROM NISSAN. I CLEARLY ASK THE DEALER IF THE CAR WINDOW TINT WAS WITH INT THE LEGAL STANDARDS THEY ANSWER YES.I HAPPEN TO GET PULLED OVER DURING DAY LIGHT FOR ONE COULDNT SEE THE TEMP PLATES SINCE TINT TO DARK SO OFFICER ASKED WHERE WAS MY PLATES AND HE TOLD ME MY TINT TO DARK AND THAN HE TEST THE WINDOW MY CAR WAS IN 16% WHEN LEGAL IS 36 OFFICER GAVE ME A TICKET AND ALSO ADVISE TO GET IT FIX ASAP SINCE IT ILLEGAL TO DRIVE WITH THOSE WINDOWS SO DARK. I CALLED THE GUY WHO SOLD ME MY CAR HE SAID ALL HE COULD DO IS REFFERAL ME TO SOME ONE WHO COULD FIX WHEN I TOLD HIM WHY DID YOU LIE TO ME AND TOLD ME IT WAS WITHIN LEGAL STANDARDS HE DIDNT RESPOND BUT SAID THAT WEIRD THEN I WENT TO THE DEALERSHIP WITH ONE OF MY OLDER SISTERS AND ADVISE THEM TO FIX TINT TO NORMAL STANDARDS AND PAY FOR TICKET AND TO GIVE A CAR TO DRIVE MEAN WHILE THEY FIX THE WINDOW IN MY CAR THEY SAID NO TO GIVING ME CAR AND ALSO THEY LAUGHED AT MY SISTER FACE FOR ONE THATS DISRESPECTFUL AND SECOND ITS NOT MY FAULT THEY SOLD ME A ILLEGAL CAR THAT HAS ILLEGAL TINT WINDOW WHEN I CLEARLY ASK THEM IF IT WAS LEGAL. SO THEY LIED TO ME JUST TO SELL THE CAR. NOW I HAVE A TICKET AND I HAVE TO GET A CLASS SO IT WONT AFFECT I WONT GET IT IN MY RECORD WHICH I FEEL THEY SHOULD PAY FOR ALL THAT. THEY WAS DISRESPECTFUL AND I DIDNT HAVE TO GO THROUGH THIS IF THEY WOULD HAVE DONE THERE JOB AND CHECKED EVERYTHING WAS LEGAL. WHAT TYPE OF BUSSINESS ARE THEY RUNNING WHAT OTHER ILLEGAL ACTIVTY IS GOING? MAKING IT SEEM IT WASNT A BIG THING WELL IT WAS BIG ENOUGH TO GET A TICKET AND NOW I HAVE TO GO TO COURT AND PAY COURT FEES AND EVERYTHING

Desired Settlement
I WANT THEM TO MAKE MY WINDOWS TINT LEGAL I STILL WANT THE TINT IN MY WINDOWS DUE TO THATS BEING THE REASON WHY I BOUGHT IT BUT I WANT IT IN LEGAL STANDARDS.I WANT THEM TO PAY COURT FEE AND TICKET FOR THE WINDOW TINT TICKET AND TO GET ME REFUND ME FOR GAS MONEY SINCE I HAVE TO DRIVE ALL THE WAY TO NASHVILLE FROM SMYRNA IT WAS NESSARY FOR ME TO WASTE MY GAS MONEY ON FIXING A PROBLEM THAT I SHOULDNT HAVE SINCE THEY DIDNT DO THERE JOB BY CHECKING THE LEGAL STANDARDS OF THE WINDOW TINT AND FOR THE HOURS I HAVE TO TAKE OUT OF WORK TO GO FIX THIS PROBLEM

Business Response
I have contacted the customer and told her that we will remove the tint for her and install new tint.

Page 1 of 2

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.