BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/29/2010

Wilson County Chevrolet, Buick, GMC

(615) 444-9642View Additional Phone Numbers903 S Hartmann Dr, LebanonTN 37090-4048 Send email to Wilson County Chevrolet, Buick, GMC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers the sale and repair of new and used cars, trucks, suv's, commercial vehicles and vans.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/29/2010

BBB has determined that Wilson County Chevrolet, Buick, GMC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Wilson County Chevrolet, Buick, GMC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 3 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
08/01/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

the dealershipo ran my credit through 8 different loan companies and banks
I went to finance my first vehicle from this Wilson County Motors on May 27th around 6 PM. After the John ***** ran my credit he advised he was only going to submit my application to a certain bank because he was positive they would accept it (In which they did) due to how high my credit score was. After a few weeks i started receiving denial letters from multiple lenders, and was very confused because of the comment that was made by John. In all i have now received 8 denial letters, and my credit score has decreased by 20 points. I contacted the dealership by email on June 30th and John told me he would have his business manager call me, I did not receive a call so I called John and he was surprised to hear I had not been contacted. I then received a call from the business manager, he advised he would get back with me after he figures out what happened. I have yet to receive a phone call and that was 2 weeks ago. In order to dispute the inquires that i was not aware of, i am having to spend a significant amount of time writing letters to all of the companies requesting for them to remove the hard inquires.

Desired Settlement
For the Dealership to contact each lender they submitted my applicatoin to and have them remove they inquiry from my credit.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Mitchel ****
Contact Phone: 615.***.****
Contact Email: *******
Ms. ********

I apologize if someone did not follow your instructions when submitting your credit information for financing. That is not what our team should have done. You have my word that we will retrain our staff and such a lapse will not happen in the future.

It is common for any dealership to submit a customer's information to multiple banks to ensure we get them the best deal - not just a deal. ******** states, "Lenders recognize that shopping for only one car or mortgage does not mean you are trying to open multiple new accounts. Credit scoring systems have been designed to account for that practice and include rules such as counting the same type of inquiry as only one inquiry as long as they are made within a short period of time. This enables you to shop for the best rates for a car or home loan without your credit scores being impacted as a result of multiple inquiries."

You can read more about it on ********'s blog at ******************************************************************************************** and at the Washington Post at http:********************************************************************************

If there has been a change in your credit score, it is most likely due to the fact that you added debt with the purchase of a vehicle.

That does not excuse any of our team from not following your wishes. I appreciate you bringing this to our attention so that we can prevent it from happening again.

Very sincerely,

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Thank you for your reponse; however, it is not that my wishes were not followed. The salesman advised he was ONLY going to run my application through Old Hickory Credit Union because of my Credit Score. He proceeded to run it through several different lenders the Friday night i was in the office.

Please contact each lender you submitted my applicatoin to and have them remove the inquiry from my credit report.

***** ******

Final Business Response
Ms. ******,

I understand. We will contact the credit agencies on your behalf and ask them to remove the credit pulls. However, it is completely their decision whether or not to do so.

Please note you can always contact me directly at the dealership if you have questions or concerns. Our guests' satisfaction is our number one priority.

Very sincerely,

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Good Afternoon,

Can you please provide a letter stating which companies you will be contacting requesting for removal?

Thank you,

06/30/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Purchased a used 2008 ford edge that was in my possession for 2 weeks before the vehicle would not shift out of 2nd gear.
Purchased the vehicle on 4/24/2016, made my 1st payment yesterday. I took the vehicle to a mechanics shop after the sales rep (Doug) tells me he can now sell me a $1500 extended warranty and wait 30 days to make a claim. This was never offered during the sale. Now Wilson county motors has had the vehicle almost a week and replaced a wiring harness and now saying something is wrong with the transmission and they are not going to do anything about it. I spent $400 at my mechanic after he was told by Ford 2 sensors needed to be replaced, they was replaced and actually made it worse. Purchasing a vehicle from a big name dealership I would expect more compassion and assistance.

Desired Settlement
For them to find the problem going on with the car and fix the issue

Business Response

I am glad we were able trade you out of that vehicle at the amount you put into it. Few things please us more than taking unforeseeable situations and turning them right around.

Thank you again for your business.

Very sincerely,

Consumer Response
Wilson County Motors owner & sales manager worked with me to get my family & I into another vehicle. Thank you for meeting the expectations I had in a big name company. Company did respond within 10 days and stayed in contact almost daily while trying to work this out.
Thank you for making an extremely stressful situation as this go quickly & doing everything to make the consumer happy!

11/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Dealership has failed to correct mechanical issues on vehicle even though ownership assured me they would be taken care of. I have emails proving it
2007 Saturn Outlook XR was purchased 8/22. Service department was already closed so we could not have the vehicle checked out. My wife noticed a clicking noise in the steering wheel and a squeak in the brake pedal during the test drive. I contacted dealership the following week and they told me to bring the vehicle in. I live 160 miles round trip so I took it. It was looked over and I was told parts would be ordered. My wife returned later that week to have those parts installed. My wife arrives and we find out wrong parts were ordered. They reordered correct parts and we have to make another 160 mile round trip. I contacted the dealership and told them I thought a 3rd trip was asking a little much of us so they sent a loaner vehicle and picked ours up. I was pleased with that. The vehicle picked up on a Friday and not returned until the following Friday. We received it back dirty and completely empty of gas. The clicking in the steering wheel had not been repaired. The squeak in the brake pedal had not been repaired. The air bag warning light had been repaired. The vehicle should have never been listed for sale on the lot with a faulty air bag and we had to repeatedly tell them that when a passenger sat in the seat that the air bag light would not switch to the "on" position.

At this point I contacted one of the owners of the dealership. He was in ***** but responded almost immediately and seemed willing to help. He gave me another owner's name who was stateside and that could help. I emailed this owner. He contacted me by phone and told me he would have a resolution by the following morning. I was never contacted back by anyone after that contact. I emailed the original owner I contacted multiple times and have not heard from him again.

The dealership lost the title of my trade in and grossly miscalculated the taxes on the trade/purchase. I have had one issue after another and I gave them ample opportunity and time to address my problems. I just want them to do what they told me they would do. I don't want anything for free and I don't expect preferential treatment. Just stand behind what you told me you would do.

Desired Settlement
I want the clicking in the steering column repaired and the squeaking in the brake pedal fixed. I emailed the technical service bulletin to the dealership to tell them how to address the squeaking brake pedal and also the instructions on how to repair the steering wheel clicking noise. Both of these items are known issues with this make/model vehicle.

Final Consumer Response
The issue I have been having has been addressed multiple times by the service department. The vehicle has made 3 trips back to be serviced over the course of the last 3 weeks. ***** ******* has been fantastic in working with us and genuinely trying to figure out the issues. I still have a small noise in the steering but it is hardly noticeable and much better than it previously was. They have made every effort to make this right.

08/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

The 2011 Ford Ranger that was bought and the touch up job and all the other problems that wasn't fixed after the third time being there.
I just recently purchased a 2011 Ford Ranger used. They was supposed to fix the scratches,notice it has a dent, the didn't fix the shaking in the rear end, and it still pulls to the left. The used car sales manager. **** did the touch up job. He used an off white that looks like a cream color. The didn't fix the bed liner problem either. All I want is to get fixed. I am fixing to pay for it for 5 yrs. it only has 70,000 miles on it. I talked to Ally bank. They won't do nothing even though they have the title. They said I need to go back to the dealership again. So, I'm filing complaint because I am very unhappy about the situation. I just want it fixed and done right. They gave us a loaner that the manager didn't know they had. It smelled like dirty socks, didn't run right. They called me and told me it was fixed only to tell me when I got down there that they hadn't finished yet. I have tried to contact ***** ****. The owner of the dealership. He still hasn't returned my call. I owe $16,000! I expect it to be in good shape and fixed right! That's all I ask!! They told me and my fiance that if we had problems to bring it back. third time they made me mad! I would greatly appreciate it if someone would stand up for us consumers who want it done right!. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I purchased it on 7/18/2014. Have had problems since. the .I talked to ***** ******,****** *****,**** and a few other people down there. I traded a 95 Nissan 200sx SE with brand new $500.00 set of tires,$300.00 struts, and an expensive Kenwood radio! Me and fiance just want it done right! I hope to get it resolved very soon!

Desired Settlement
I am wanting it fixed. The damaged paint, the other scratches and chips that aren't fixed. The spots on the bed rail, the bed liner itself where it moves up and down, the steering where it pulls the left, and the vibration in the rear end. I expect it to be in good shape. I am going to be paying for it for 5 yrs. at $272.45 a mo. It has a little dent in the bed if they pop it out or fill it in and patch it! I would be happy. The engine shakes a little bit when you first start it up. The rear end shakes harder the faster you go. I have gone 60-70 mph down the interstate and its shakes bad. at 30 mph it shakes. Let go the steering wheel on a level straight road and the it pulls the left. And I want a clean loaner while they are fixing it! One that I know I want be afraid to start it up! The last one that was loaned to me made some funny noises when started and running the ac. The car also smelled like dirty socks and stunk! I just want it done right! That all I ask!

Final Consumer Response
Well, they finally got it fixed right. I talked to ***** ****, the owner of the dealership last Thursday. I got the truck back on Monday evening. The paint is in good shape. They touched all the places up right. The fixed the pulling and the bouncing in the rear end. He replaced the two rear tires with new ones.

I am pleased that we finally come to a resolution and want to say thank you!!!!!!
All the problems was fixed successfully this time!

tHaNK YOU! B.B.B.!

04/10/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues
03/01/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

I waited for 6 hours and no deal in my price range after being promised it would be.
I entered wilson county motors 1130 am and spoke with sales Adam cannon and explained the payment range I wanted and he gave me trucks that would fit that criteria. I test drive a 2008 gmc and was prepared to purchase this vehicle but they were not able to follow up on this promise and presented me with another 3 vehicle selection. I made my choice and test drive a 2009 gmc at 230pm and I was prepared to purchase this vehicle. Finally at 430 pm they told me the financing was done and to look over the loan. The payment they came up with was 614 a month which doubled what I had told them was my highest payment I could pay. I walked out and behold I got a text message from Adam cannon the sales rep that read " I apologize for the sticker shock price we can still get you at your payment range with 72 month financing" this is false advertisment and I will push this as far as I legally can.

Desired Settlement
I want the truck I was looking at for 6 hours in the payment range I told them I was looking for.

Business Response
Mr. ******,

I am terribly disappointed that we could not secure the payment you wanted on the truck you selected. As I explained, a customer's interest rate, term and payment are dictated by the banks based largely on his or her individual credit history. I believed that we were on the same page that I could not tell you what your payment would be since we knew going in that we needed a six-year note and good interest rate to get such an expensive vehicle down to your desired payment. Unfortunately, n*** of the banks we submitted the deal to offered the terms you and I hoped to get. When we spoke last, you stated that you understood that and I believed we were still working together. I sincerely apologize if I was in any way unclear and wish you had told me that you were upset. I would truly like to find you that perfect truck that fits your needs and budget with your permission.

Very sincerely,
Adam C*****

Mr. ******,

You have my deepest apologies. We strive every day to provide an unmatched automotive buying experience. If you feel we failed in anyway, that is not acceptable. If you will allow us, I will personally work with you and Adam to get you the truck you need and ensure that you are completely satisfied.

Very sincerely,
******* B***, Owner

Additional Information

Wilson County Motors was a 2016 recipient of the Better Business Bureau's Torch Award for Marketplace Ethics for the large business employer category. Torch Awards are given by the Better Business Bureau to recognize businesses and executives exhibiting integrity in the marketplace and exemplary dedication to advancing trust between businesses and consumers.

BBB file opened: 04/07/2004Business started: 01/01/1927
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Tennessee Motor Vehicle Commission
500 James Robertson Pkwy., 2nd Floor
Nashville, TN 37243
(615) 741-2711

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Business Management
Customer Contact: Mr. Mitchel Bone (General Manager, Wilson County Chevy, GMC)
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. W.P. Bone (Owner)Mr. Paine Bone (General Manager, Hyundai)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Truck Bedliner, Wheel Align, Frame & Axle Service Equipment & Supplies, Tire Changing Equipment, Auto Lube & Oil - Mobile, Auto Service - Sound Systems Sales & Service, Auto Repair - Windshield, Glass Shops, Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto, Transmissions - Automobile, Radiators - Automotive, Mufflers & Exhaust Systems, Lubricating Service - Automotive, Engines - Rebuild & Exchange, Brake Service, Auto Repairing - Foreign, Auto Repair & Service - Diesel, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Electric Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Accessories, Auto Air Conditioning, Windshield Wipers, Truck accessories, Tire Dealers, Tire Additives & Sealants, Speedometers, Shock Absorbers, Auto Radios & Stereos - Sales & Repair, Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Starters - Engine

Alternate Business Names
Wilson County Auto, Wilson County Motors, LLC
Industry Tips
Automobile Financing
Automobile - Repair
Automobile - Transmission

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Wilson County Chevrolet, Buick, GMC has received 4.6 out of 5 stars based on 3 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Wilson County Chevrolet, Buick, GMC

903 S Hartmann Dr

Lebanon, TN 37090-4048

To | From


1 Locations

  • 903 S Hartmann Dr 

    Lebanon, TN 37090-4048

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Wilson County Chevrolet, Buick, GMC is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (615) 444-5564

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.