BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Toyota of Murfreesboro

Phone: (615) 890-1500

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues5
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints10

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (10)
11/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased my vehicle on 9/22 and now 10/26/15 I still don't have my vehicle. I believe this is a breech of contract.

My wife and I went to the location looking for a very specific truck on September 21. The salesman, Blake, approached us and helped us find the truck we were looking for. During the test drive, we noticed the truck was pulling to the right VERY BADLY. Blake told us it just needed an alignment and was no issue. We were unhappy with the way we were treated and ended up leaving that day. We searched further for the truck we wanted and decided to go back to the location on September 22. That day we purchased the truck we had looked at with the agreement, in writing, that the pulling be fixed and the paint on the bumper and both front doors be fixed. I am very well convinced that Blake can't speak without lying as he has done nothing but lie from minute one. He has been a disappointment at every point of contact since that day.

Because of the pulling, we could not drive our truck and it sat in our driveway until September 29, when we had an appointment with both the service shop and then the body shop immediately after. The service shop told us it wasn't an issue with the alignment as we had been told by Blake and we would need to bring it back for them to further decide what the issue was. We left, upset as we still wouldn't be able to drive our truck, and went to the body shop for paint. Once there we were told the paint issue was more than a touch up and that until the dealership approved the paint job, they could do nothing. I immediately called Blake who told me the body shop manager "was new and didn't know anything" and they would set up for the mobile paint guy to work on it when we came in the next time for the pulling issue.

So, on October 9 we once again took off work and brought the truck in for the pulling and paint. We left the truck at 9 am and were told we could pick it up about 3. We got there at 3 to pick it up and waited until 5 for Mike to tell us the pulling was fixed but paint hadn't been touched. In fact, Blake had never contacted him at all! I was understandably furious! We left and immediately called Mike as the pulling was STILL not fixed, nor was there any change, at all. He did not return our calls.

On October 12 we once again brought the truck to the service center and told them to call us when they fixed everything. We didn't hear anything for 4 days when we decided to come check on the truck. While the pulling FINALLY been fixed, the paint was a complete mess and looked like the painter had used white out! They finally agreed to allow the body shop to fix the paint. We were told to expect the car be done by the next Wednesday.

On Thursday October 21 my wife went to the body shop as it was after the expected completion date and the manager told her that our truck had just been delivered on Wednesday and would not be ready until at least the next Monday. It's now Monday and my truck is STILL NOT DONE!! So, here we are, over a month from my purchase date and I still have no truck. In my opinion this is breach of contract and I should not be expected to make my auto payment as I have no truck. I have been unable to use my vehicle since the date I purchased it. I find this to be highly unacceptable and the worst purchase experience of my life.

Desired Settlement
I expect my truck to be finished and would like the dealership to pay my first month payment as I have been unable to drive my truck for the month, with no end in sight.

Business Response
This is being handled by the owner and he is personal work with cust

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
**** (the owner) has resloved this issue. We still believe that this experience was horrible and will never return to this dealership, but are satisfied with the resolution.

06/25/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I did not receive the correct prorated refund amount for the additional packages I purchased with my vehicle.
Problem Date: 22 Jun 15
Purchase Date: 13 Jul 13
Traded in Date: 10 Jan 15
Plans Canceled: Dent and Deng Protection, Extended Warranty, Gap Protection, Maintenance Package
Vin Number: ***************** ****** ** 2014)
Finance Rep: Will Thomas
Payment Amount: 1,784.11
Date Payment Received: 22 Jun 15
I did not receive the correct prorated refund amount for the additional packages I purchased with my vehicle. I understand the Dent and Deng Protection, Extended Warranty, and Gap Protection refunds are prorated; however, the vehicle was only in my possession for 18 months. I never used my Maintenance Package because the first 25,000 miles of services were free. I traded my vehicle in before my next oil change was due. The grand total of these packages were $4,456; however, I only received a refund payment of 1,784. I have not contacted the dealership about my prorated refund amount because of the issues I've experience with them in past. I submitted all my documentation for my refund on 18 Jan 15. For reason unknown, the finance representative did not submit my paper for processing until I called Toyota's Corporate Office in Apr.

Desired Settlement
I would like the remaining funds that are due to me and a summary of how my refund amount was calculated.

Business Response
Just spoke with our accounting dept and ask for a break down of cust refund, found out that the 1,784.00 was only for Gap and Service. We are still waiting on the Dent $ Ding and Maint. The cust has my email address and may contact me anytime to discuss this, i have been woking with this and very familiar with this situation.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accept their response now that I have been notified my refund has been processed in two separate transactions. Hopefully this will not take an additional 5 months to receive the remaining funds.

11/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Someone named ***** ********** who claims to be employed by Toyota of M'Boro sending text messages
I purchased a car from Toyota of M'Boro in Aug 2013.
I have now begun receiving text messages to my personal cell phone trying to get me to sell my vehicle. The messages come from a ***** ********** XXX-XXX-XXXX who according to their website does work at that location. This person was not my sales person yet claims she is reviewing my "contract". I have sent an email to the Gen Mgr with no response. My personal information is compromised and apparently being shared which puts me at risk for identity theft

Desired Settlement
Cease and desist with the harassment ....protect my privacy and my personal information

Business Response
We have addressed this issue and do apologize for this. She will be on the do not call list.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accept response conditionally, the condition of no longer contacting me via text / phone with the intent of gaining the possession of my vehicle or other solicitation

05/06/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought a car from Toyota of Murfreesboro in August of 2013, I was also talked into the extended warranty. In January of 2014, I found a dealership that would pay it off and sell me a new car. Since the car was sold, we also cancelled the warranty on it. I was told by dealership the warranty would be processed in just a few weeks. It is now May of 2014 and I haven't heard or received anything on my refund. I called customer service a few months back and the lady was very nice, but told me to call the dealership I got the warranty from. When I called them they told me to call the dealership that cancelled it, and when I call them they tell me to call the original dealership. Obviously I am getting the run around.
Product_Or_Service: Nissan Altima with Warranty

Desired Settlement
I just wish to receive the refund from the cancelled warranty.

Business Response
called and talked with customer, Our finance mgr. didn't know customer wanted to cancell the warranty, Informed customer would have to sign a cancellation form and we got her in the right direction.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Received a very prompt phone call and they helped me resolve the issue. It was never their fault, but they were very happy to help me out anyway. I am completely satisfied with the help I received.

01/29/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a car & was lied when the first payment would by ******** ******* more than once.
In July 2013 my 2009 Toyota was being service and I was looking around the lot and I had two payments left on my current car (July & August). I encountered ******** ******* and looked at a car and got approved. My main concern with him was I could wait to get the car because the approval was good for a extended period of time. I explain to him that I have two payments left on the car I have & not able to make two car notes in one month. He keep on assuring me that my first payment would be due around September 4, 2013. I kept on asking him was he sure and he said yes. I told him I could come back before my approval time was up to get the car. We went on and on about the first payment would be due in September. In August I was getting ready to pay the last payment on the 2009 Toyota and the bill was for the 2013 due 08/18/2013. I was furious and gave Toyota a call first and spoke with a lady there and she was sorry how I was told wrong and there was nothing they can due. I call ******** ******* to voice my concern several times and he kept telling me I will get back to you and he has not to this date. ******** was more concerned with selling me a car than being honest. There was also another person involved, but don't remember his name that also knew about the car payments. Both of them did not provide me with honest customer service.

Desired Settlement
I want them to reimburse me for the car payment that I had to pay in August 2013 for the new vehicle. I also had to pay my mortgage late because I had to make two car payments that month, I incurred a $37.00 late fee as well. I want the $449.00 + $37.00 reimbursed to me to settle this complaint. I feel I was mislead just to get a sale.

Business Response
General Manager is calling the customer personally to try to get this matter resolved. 12/20

Final Consumer Response
I would like to say the Manager **** provide me with a check and I am satisfied with the outcome.

09/11/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Toyota allowed me to drive a car I thought to be financed for over 3 weeks. No Gap valid. Finance Department never contacted me. Backdated.
On 7/29/15- I went to Toyota Scion Of Murfreesboro to trade my car in for a 2015 Toyota Camry. On this day I worked with finance manager Holly. She had stated I was approved through Toyota finance but would like to try my bank ****** first because it was a better deal. She told me she would contact me if they declined the loan and if I needed to come back up there to sign for Toyota Finance...

Well 3 weeks went by and I heard NOTHING from Toyota.

I was still seeing my trade in as fully financed , fearful that I would have two car payments I contacted ****** ******* ****** *****. They had proof that they provided to Toyota that they declined my loan application the same day they received it. I was very upset at this point that Toyota had waited 3 weeks and still HAD NOT contacted me about this and continued to allow to drive the vehicle unfinanced and without GAP (that I thought was financed through ******.

On 8/21/15 I left three messages for Holly in Finance to contact me. These messages were left with the receptionist Jasmine. (NoResponse)

On 8/22/15- I left two messages with Jasmine to have Holly contact me. I also left a voicemail for Will (Finance Manager)...After 3pm, still no responseSo I called back and asked to speak with a manager. Charlene Coleman heard me out and said she would get with Holly and call me back in 45 minutes or "HOWEVER LONG IT WOULD TAKE"..... By 8pm (closing) No response.. I came in on 8/24/15...Holly was not there. So I spoke with Kayleigh Cuff. She explained to me that their reason for not contacting me was because "they sold 30 cars this past weekend and were really busy". Then after being told even a manager could not do anything for me and she even wondered if I was searching for a discount!!!! I was searching for a reason I have been driving an unfinanced car for 3 weeks!!!!! When asked to see a manager she told me the general manager was unavailable and brought in a guy named "Vinnie A****" (Sales Manager)... He proceeded to tell me he was sorry this happened and after hearing me out, he still had excuses after excuses even comparing my profession as a nurse to busy dealerships! First of all Im not a mediocre nurse and I do not understand why a sales manager is discussing my finances with me but thats who she chose.. He told me if I did not want the car anymore, he will give me mine back and he will take theirs back because he doesnt want an unhappy customer.. Kayleigh and Vinnie both admitted to "dropping the ball" Vinnie stated " "You just are one of those unlucky people that we dropped the ball on and overlooked, we messed up. There is nothing we can do about". At this point I was in tears, I just wanted to get out of there. I went through the paperwork with Kayleigh. I signed the papers to the contract terms, got ANOTHER drive out tag..However, when I took them to a legal aid , there was one thing wrong. Today is 8/24/15... They back dated everything to 8/3/15.. After 7/29/15 through 8/24/15 I never was contacted by finance in this dealership... I was not physically in their dealership on 8/3/15. I emailed the general manager in great detail about my experience since he was never available.. I still have not gotten a response from him.

Main Complaints
- Failure to contact me in a timely manner after finance fell through
-Failure to pay off trade in ,in a timely manner because they "overlooked" my situation.
- Failure for management to return phone calls in a timely manner
-Backdating Sales contract to accommodate their failure to contact me in a timely manner.

Desired Settlement
Having already been informed by Vinnie (Sales Manager) and Kayleigh (Finance Manager) that nothing can or will be done. I would like my complaints to be reviewed by the General Manager. Because I received a call from Charlene ( the individual that would not return my phone calls initially) trying to explain to me that she received my email to the general manager and that she would like to discuss with me why the date was 8/3/15 on my contract instead of the actual date I physically signed the contract on 8/24/15.

Business Response
As we can't go into any detail regarding Miss *****'s financial situation, I can say that we did leave messages for her prior to her coming into the dealership on 8/24/2015 to discuss her situation.
On 8/22 Miss ***** called the dealership and spoke with our GSM, Ms. Coleman. Ms. Coleman informed her that our finance manager, Holly, was with customers. Holly finished with the customers about 10:00 pm. and felt as though it would be too late to call Miss ***** back that night.
On 8/24 Miss ***** came back into the dealership and spoke to Kayleigh. Kayleigh apologized and asked what she could do to help. Miss ***** wanted to speak to a manager while she here so Kayleigh brought in Vinnie A****, a sales manager. Vinnie also apologized for any miscommunication. Vinnie offered to take her vehicle back in order to make her happy. He also asked what, if anything, we could do. Kayleigh even gave Miss ***** her cell phone number should she need anything at all.
On 9/1, Holly called Miss ***** and left a detailed voicemail, as well as, sent her an email outlining her willingness to help out in any way possible. Holly also gave Miss ***** her cell phone number in case she needed anything. Once Miss ***** replied to the email, Holly replied within minutes. Holly asked Miss ***** to give her a call to discuss any further issues she may have had, even offering her a tank of gas and detail for her time.
Miss ***** emailed the GM and due to him being unavailable, he forwarded the email to his GSM, Ms. Coleman, and asked that she contact the customer immediately, which she did. Ms. Coleman called and left a message with Miss ***** explaining that she was asked to call by the GM. She also asked that Miss ***** please return the call to discuss any issues, including her personal cell phone number as well. Miss *****, to date, has not responded to the call.
We are very sorry that Miss ***** is upset, however, we believe that we have tried to explain and resolve her issues. We would welcome Miss ***** back to the dealership as to further discuss her situation.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My financial situation has nothing to do with why the company cannot return phone calls in a timely manner. And I can assure you that I was never contacted by anyone regarding my "financial situation" In fact I have informed Holly that I can provide emails from the sales associate I was speaking with in regards what to do because no one had contacted me and I could not get in contact with Holly. I can a also provide phone records to clear up any miscommunication. On 9/1 , yes I finally received a phone call from Holly. First thing said was "I have your lovely better business bureau complaint" and she proceeded to tell me how hard she worked on this and was hurt and the reason the second contract that was signed on 8/24 (dated 8/3) was back dated was because of the rebate ending .She offered to fill my gas tank up on her dime and have my car detailed.I retained this voicemail as well. Will I be going back to discuss anything with this dealership ,absolutely not! I do not want any discounts or services period. All I want is for someone to take responsibility for being negligent and unable to make a phone call that cost me. And to make sure this does not happen to anyone in the near future. No one should be that "unlucky, overlooked person" as Vinnie called it. Good customer service continues even after a sale, a phone call to even say you are working on it would have taken 5 minutes out of your time. So my financial situation has nothing to do with your ability to pick up a phone.

03/09/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
i was told my price for services was going to be 166.93 and when I took my car back to do these services I added services bill was394 over priced
I was told one price for services when I came in for recall work two Saturday's ago when I got the quote of 166.93 I called back and scheduled that Monday for the following Saturday I added oil change and rotation while I was ther expected the price to be no more than 220. My bill was 394 which I feel was a misrepresentation and was taken advantage of due to my lack of knowledge of products. I did get a discount but had to pay to get my car back and told them I would not be back they are a bunch of crooks

Desired Settlement
I feel they should give me thee products for the price quoted but will ever do business with them again they need to not misrepresent the prices of their services.

Business Response
After researching this I seen that there was a call placed with customer to schedule appointment for service that was recommended on visit of 1/31/15. It was discussed that the vehicle needed Serpentine belt @ 166.06, Transmission service @ 189.95 and that we could give a 10% discount if done. Customer agreed. That does come to a total of $356.01 plus tax. Still have to add in the oil change and rotate. And looking at the paper work the services was done. There are also notes on our paper work of the prices when customer was in on 1/31 and the $166.06 was just for the Serpentine belt.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
****** miss quoted me I was never given a total of 356 if I had I would not have scheduled services. Other ******* are fair and forth wright with the pricing and will get my family business from now on.

Final Business Response
The services on 1/31/15 were for recall, and looking at the Repair order the tech recommended several repairs and documented the repairs on the paper work. Our Service Advisors has to go over service that is recommended by the tech.The Serpentine belt $166.06 and the transmission service for the price of $189.95. The person that made the appointment also made notes of these services upon making appointment and offered customer 10% discount. I apologize that the customer feels we miss quoted her, but the $166 is only for the one service.

01/23/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On December 6 we bought a 2013 Toyota Corolla at the Toyota dealer in Murfreesboro. All 2015 models were ruled out because my wife did not like their "fish-mouth" looks. We were shown only two cars, a new 2014 Camry and a 2013 Corolla with more than 40,00 miles on the odometer. The Camry was rejected by my wife because she feared that its dark color would cause the car to heat up excessively when parked outside during the summer. The only lighter-color car we were shown was the Corolla.
I thought it was part of a protocol on the part of trained sales personnel to have a prospective customer (1) be given a wider choice of vehicles and (2) be offered to test drive at least one of them before a deal is closed. None of this happened. Instead I was kept busy with endless talk about spectacular warranties that came with the drive train of all Toyota cars.
Meanwhile, it had become dark outside and it was rapidly turning colder. But when I suggested that we return home at that point and continue in daylight on the following Monday, both salespersons, ******** and ***** protested vigorously. At previous car purchases, it had always been the salespersons who had taken charge of the sales protocol. That included their insistence that I drive one or several vehicles prior to closing a deal on one of them. As already mentioned, at this dealership I was kept busy looking at all sorts of written explanations and forms. Besides, increasing fatigue prevented me from keeping close track of all proceedings.
Thus it happened that the first time I sat in the car was when I drove it home after paying for it in full. Had I driven the car earlier, I would never have considered buying it. Compared to the excellently equipped 2009 Kia Optima that we had traded in (for a sum of $6,000), the Corolla was a simplistic and, on the road, a very noisy vehicle. Incidentally, we wanted to trade off the Optima, because we were getting tired of driving to Nashville to have it serviced.
Another disappointment at this dealership was that during the negotiations Mr. ***** the chief salesperson, had orally priced the Corolla at $14,000. I thought that was on the high side, but Omar's glib sales talk rapidly turned to other topics, leaving in their trail my intent to negotiate a reduction to #13,000. Recent eye surgery kept me from checking all the numbers that were faintly printed on the forms that were later handed to us. I trusted, however, that a reputable dealership would not fudge the numbers that had previously been cited. I was therefore all the more surprised as well as angered, when later at home I studied the numbers in greater detail and discovered that the price of the car had been raised to $14,598.

Despite our dissatisfaction with the car and the unpleasant surprise regarding its price, we resigned ourselves to our fate and decided keep the car for a while, perhaps two or three years. But we no longer saw a need for the two extended warranties that I had bought on the day of the purchase, totaling close to $2,300. Less than two weeks after the purchase I returned to the dealership to cancel the warranties and to request a return of the amounts paid, minus stipulated fees totaling $75 (leaving, as I recall, more than $2,200). My only wish was to take care of this matter and get out of the dealership as soon as possible.

But events took a turn in an unexpected direction. A higher-ranking salesperson (I only remember his first name, ***** had heard that we were not especially satisfied with the purchase we had made. Adopting a very chummy attitude, by putting an arm around my shoulder, he offered that I could take home and check out a car I had looked at while I was waiting, a 2014 low-mileage Camry. It was not as well equipped as our Optima, but it was a great deal quieter than the Corolla. Still another employee had written down some numbers that would make a switch from the Corolla to the Camry possible. I was offered $12,000 for a car I had purchased just a few days earlier for over $14.5K. Besides, I would have to pay for a second time a $598 "processing fee." In other words, additionally to the approximately $2,400 price difference between the two vehicles plus the taxes for this difference, they wanted us to pay another $3,000 plus. I am a pensioner and this is a large sum for us. It is especially aggravating to us that any additional payment could have been avoided had the salespersons at the first encounter shown us more vevicles, including this used 2014 Camry. I would have gladly paid the Camry's price, had they shown me the car the first time I was in their office. We had gone there specifically to look for Camries.

**** then performed with great rapidity some seemingly skillful but difficult to follow calculations, accompanied by exclamations of "I will lose money on this deal" and "I doubt the boss will approve this." He reduced our direct "losses" on the Corolla first to about $1,500 and, upon my protests, to $1,000 (on this $1,000 I had to pay sales taxes for the second time). Moreover, it was either a rule or a law (I can't remember his exact words) that required payment for a second time of the $598 "processing fee."
All this took a long time and I finally gave in, mainly due to sheer fatigue.

Upon further reflection, I have to admit that I cannot exempt myself of some criticism regarding the outcome of the described events. We are too mild-manneredor not sufficiently brazento walk out from negotiations moving into an unwanted direction. Furthermore, I am 86 years old and have greater difficulty than I had in earlier years following when someone reels off a complex list of data and large numbers.

Nevertheless, I take liberty of raising a few questions with your office about the specific actions of the Murfreesboro Toyota dealership.
First, when offering a dissatisfied customer a trade to higher-priced car on the lot, should a customer-friendly dealer not be willing to settle for the price and tax difference between the two cars and let it go at that, especially when the main cause of the dissatisfaction can be traced to the same dealer's previous lack of professionalism? After all, when I spend more than $10,000 in cash, could I not expect to deal with well-trained professionals?
Second, is there indeed a law in Tennessee that requires dealers to charge the steep processing fee for the second time when a just-purchased vehicle is traded for a newer and more expensive one?

I would greatly appreciate receiving a brief reply to these two questions. Of course, I would also value any additional comments and explanations regarding the car-purchasing experience described in the paragraphs above.

Yours respectfully,

**** * *******

Desired Settlement
Requested Resolution:
*In calculating the amount owed on the 2014 Camry, the entire value we paid for the 2013 Corolla, or $14,598, should have been listed, not an estimated $13,565.79 trade-in value. The main reason is that the Toyota salesperson failed to have me test-drive the car (I was the one who led the negotiations on our side and I made the payment). It is an important reason. For had I been behind the car's wheel before, that purchase would never have taken place.
* Returning to us the sales tax on the difference between the value we paid and the estimated trade-in value.
*Returning to us the $598.00 "Processing Fee" that we paid for the second time, when the exchange of the vehicles took place, plus the state sales tax paid on this amount. Because the Corolla was sold to us by dealer employees who failed to follow proper procedures, I consider the second transaction a continuation of the first. There was therefore no justification for making us pay that processing fee for a second time.
*A set of new rear tires. It is hard to believe that a large dealership sets the price of a car with heavily worn tires at $17,000.00.
*A CARFAX, or equivalent document, certifying that the 2014 Camry has not been involved in any major accident.

Business Response
Worked with customer after his purchased of the Corolla. After speeking with customer about complaint of overcharge and that we never offered customer test drive. I spoke with our Sales team as this in not our procedure (every customer is offered test drive)they said they did offer test drive to the customer's wife and she didn't want to that they knew all about the car and didn't need to. And that the total cost of vehicle was discussed the customer and he agreed to price and signed Contract. Customer also said vehicle had bad vibration and rode rough. Offered customer to come in and let our Service Dept look at vehicle and he didn't accept offer. When i mentioned that our Sales team did offer his wife the test drive he agreed that this did happen. The customer came in and talk with our Sales and did agree to trade in Corolla for Camry. Our Sales team did work with customer because they knew he was unhappy with Corolla and worked the numbers to Satisify both, the customer and Sales Mgr. Customer agreed.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As I expected, the Murfreesboro Toyota dealer replied to my complaint in a manner that was extremely laconic and high-handed but lacking in accuracy and completeness. In fact it seems they did not even bother to read all of my complaint or my suggested resolution.

Point 1: "the total cost of vehicle was discussed the customer and he agreed to price .."
Obviously, the person who wrote the reply was not present at the negotiation. Guided by the principle "the customer is always wrong and my sales staff tells nothing but the truth" he disputed my version of events and credits that of his salespeople. I found the Corolla price I was orally given at the negotiations, $14,000, on the high side and intended to bargain it down to $13,000. I also told the Toyota lead person, Mr. ***** that I found the trade-in value conceded on our Kia Optima, $6,000, very much on the low side. Mr. **** then launched an extended explanation of the warranties coming with the purchase of Toyota cars. Following my wife's intervention, the conversation moved to food specialties of Syria and Egyptthe respective home countries of the two salesmen. Subsequently we all moved outside to look at the Corolla, but due to health problems with my feet I soon went inside again to sit down at a table. Nevertheless, the price of $14,000 "stuck in my throat," because I had been unable to bargain it down. When it came to loud and forceful oration, I was no match for the Toyota salesmen. The $14,000 was the price to which I had reluctantly agreed. Assuming this to be a reputable dealership I was fully confident that this would be the price printed on the form I signed, not the higher one I later discovered. Besides, as I explained in my complaint, recent surgery on both my eyes made it difficult for me to make out many numbers printed weakly on the colored paper of the forms I signed. It was only on the following day that I was able to study all the detail printed on the various documents.

Point 2: Although I was not very effective, I was after all the chief business negotiator on our side and I also signed the two checks in payment for the car. Furthermore, in the Reply, the dealership clearly confirms that "every customer is offered test drive". Was I not considered a customer? These are sufficient reasons why the test-drive offer should not have been limited to my wife. As I indicated in my complaint, had I been given a chance to drive this vehicle, we would never have considered purchasing it. In two respectssmoothness of handling in traffic and noise penetrating from the engine department to the insidethe Corolla's performance was significantly below that of my 2011 Ford Focus. In other words, the test-drive offer, which the Toyota salesmen evidently took very lightly, was the most crucial and decisive segment of the negotiations.
Moreover, the main reason why my wife declined the test-drive offer was not the one stated in the Reply. It was that she felt very cold, because she was not dressed for the rapidly declining temperature. In fact, she suggested to the salesmen that it would be best to interrupt the negotiations and continue in daylight on the following Monday. Unfortunately, she yielded to the vigorous protests of the salesmen regarding the time and gasoline that would be wasted driving home and back to the dealership again.
Much of the following time was taken up with clearing out the many items my wife was carrying around in the Optima and putting them on a bench outside. This activity distracted me from bringing up the test-drive question which was my intention at an earlier point but which I had suppressed because I felt it was the professional responsibility of salespeople to go through the sales protocol and that they would think I tried to tell them what their duties were.

Other Points raised in the Reply:
The offer, alleged in the Reply, to have their Service Department check out the Corolla: It was never made to me either orally or in writing. Perhaps there was a breakdown somewhere in their internal lines of communication.
The trade-up from the 2013 Corolla to a 2014 Camry: As I explained at length in my complaint this deal was presented to me as an effort on their part to "make good" on my dissatisfaction with the Corolla purchase. I thought this meant a straight trade-up that would require us to pay the price differential between the two cars plus the sales tax on that difference. My assumption turned out to be incorrect. This was mainly an effort to wrest additional large sums out of my budget. I managed to whittle down those sums to about $1,600, but gave up at that point partially due to utter fatigue on my part but also because I wanted my wife to have a car that was better than the Corolla.
The upshot of our deals with the Toyota dealership is that we paid over $16,500 in cash and gave up a well-equipped 2009 car with about 70,000 miles on the odometer which the dealer undervalued at $6,000. That is a total of $22,500 for a used, moderately equipped Camry driven 28,000 miles with worn tires that will have to be replaced before the end of the year.
In the suggested Resolution I made, among other requests, two rather modest ones (modest in relation to the total we paid) that the dealer replace the more heavily worm rear tires and that the dealer provide proof that the Camry had not been involved in a major accident. The dealer's Reply disregarded these requests.
I cannot escape a final overall conclusion regarding our experience with the Murfreesboro Toyota dealership: nurturing customer goodwill is what they preach, customer exploitation is what they practice.


Final Business Response
I do apologize for this but it is my understanding that when customer traded out of the Corolla that all previous complaints was resolved.
Our Sales team offered to let customer drive Camry home just to make sure that this was what he wanted. Customer was given ample time for the purchase just to make sure he wanted Camry. Again customer agreed to the purchase and prices.
Unfortunately we will not be able to return any sales tax or processing fee. As this was discussed during negotiation.
We put tires on used cars when the tread depth requires us to. And if tires were put on our used vehicle it would change the price of vehicle. So this vehicle did not meet the requirements.
We have the Carfax and the customer can come by any time to pick this up.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
What is striking is the large volume of words Toyota sales people can deliver per minute and, in contrast, the extreme brevity of their written reply to a complaint. But because this brevity omits essential detail, it furnished a flawed account of the events leading to this case.
I told the Toyota sales person **** repeatedly that it was their previous unprofessionalism (no test-drive) that made me wish to trade to a better vehicle. This was the reason, in my view, why there was no justification for offering me less for the Corolla than what I had paid them a few days before and to charge a second time the $598 processing fee. I therefore "agreed to the purchase and prices" of the Camry UNDER PROTEST, as I did not really have any options other than stay with the very unsatisfactory vehicle they had previously sold me.
I understand why they may not be able to return any of the sales tax. They give no reason, however, for their inability to return the processing fee they charged for a second time. When I argued this point during the negotiation they gave me a speech about this being a requirement. It certainly is not a legal requirement, as an official of the Tennessee Motor Vehicle Commission assured me. Nor should they be unable to return the more than $1,000 by which they reduced the value of the Corolla, when they priced it as a trade-in. This is a more than $1,600 "penalty" which they exacted for the favor they did me for going along with the trade-up.

"We put tires on used cars when the tread depth requires us to"
As I have pointed out a number of times, it is the rear tires about which I am mainly concerned. The low remaining tread depth on these tires makes it unsafe to drive this vehicle for any extended period.
And finally, if they have the Carfax for the Camry, would it be asking too much that they mail it to me? Moreover, why was it not given to me when I purchased the car?

A last comment: It is evident from this exchange that the Murfreesboro Toyota dealer is:
(1) totally obtuse to nearly all the points I raised;
(2) adhering to the typical small-town lawyer's position of pointing to my signature under their documents, disregarding my observations that my eyesight is impaired andassuming this was a reputable dealerI had believed the numbers given me orally by one of their salesman;
(3) entirely unconcerned about the ethics of their conduct. I am 86 years old and not at all experienced in dealing with fast-talking and unscrupulous persons. They can pat themselves on their shoulders now for having wrested out of me more than $22,500 for a used car, of the lower-trim rank, and with worn rear tires. But few observers would classify the conduct leading to this result as highly ethical.

04/09/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My wife and I purchased a new car from ****** of ************ in early ********* ***** online ad suggested they would match downpayment to ***
They wouldn't match our downpayment up to $****, although their online ad said they would.

Desired Settlement
** wife wrote a check for *** as a downpayment, we only want what their ad declared, a match up to ****

Business Response
Customer first bought a *** owned car and the discount would of applied to the *** owned vehicle, but customer traded in for a *** vehicle and that discount didn't apply

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

****** of *************** website said we could return the used vehicle within an alloted time which we did. *** offer I'm referring to was on new vehicles. The salesman didn't know what the offer was on the website, I didn't argue with him, thinking I would complain to someone who would listen. Their website advertized, buy a used vehicle, bring it back, no questions asked. I followed the advertizement to the letter. They were angered that I returned the car. I realized that the amount that I would be paying for the used car, I should buy a new car and at least I would have a warranty for a much longer period of time than I would for the used car at about the same cost as a new car. You can probably go to their website and see the truth for yourself, unless they have changed the wording. Thanks for listening.

07/05/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We drove from Jacksonville, Florida to Murfreesboro Tn to purchased a 2004 Chevy SSR on June 7, 2013. Only two hours into our trip home in the pouring rain, we noticed the auto lights would not come on. We called the dealership. I have tried several times and many phone calls to work this out. This is a copy of a letter my wife sent to **** ****** and Copied the General Manager **** ********* I spoke with the GM **** on June 14 and he said he would get back with me on Monday June 17. Of course that has not happened. I have called and left voice mails with no return calls. Still today June 19 NO CALL! The dealership made a comment that they would have never taken this vehicle on trade if the guage cluster was broken. I sent **** pictures as proof that this was broken. He said to go get an estimate. The repair cost will be $581.00 I also asked **** to email me a copy of the 160 point inspection that was done. I have never received that either!

******
I can't tell you how disappointed and frustrated that I am with Toyota of Murfreesboro. After additional research into this matter, it's very obvious in the posted pictures on the internet that the gear shift indicator light was not working. This is supposed to be after a quality 160-point inspection. This was definitely overlooked. I feel that this is a misrepresentation in the biggest way possible. I did not want to make a purchase like this from an individual owner. So after many hours of research and reading all of the online reviews I narrowed it down to your dealership. After keeping this surprise from *** for over five days, and driving over nine hours to purchase this vehicle that he has wanted since they came out in 2003. This has been a big headache! I called you from Tennessee, only three hours into our ride home to inform you about the auto lights not working. (Only the High Beams) Your response did not sit well with me, that I did not purchase an extended warranty, and that they were working earlier. (I know that was not true either) We stopped at ******* ****** in ******* to ask them if they knew anything about the lighting system in the SSR, they did not. So we drove home with just the high beams. In the morning when my husband was showing off the SSR to our daughter, she said how can you tell if it's in drive or park? When he called and spoke with you about this, you said it was working earlier. (I don't know why it's still not working in the internet picture) I realize that I did not purchase an extended warranty on this vehicle, I took everyone's word that this was in mint condition with only 20,000 miles but I thought that it actually went through a 160-point inspection. It's amazing what you tell prospective customers to get them to purchase a vehicle. If I had a problem a week from now I would say, I have to get it fixed, but to have issues and only hours old is a different issue. I was really hoping that Toyota of Murfreesboro would do the right thing, step up to the plate and take care of this.

Thank you for letting me vent my frustrations,
****** *******
XXX-XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like Toyota of Murfreesboro to step up to the plate and pay for the repair for the Guage Cluster for $581.00. This vehicle was presented as MINT condition with only 20,000.00 miles on it. This was to have already gone through a 160 point inspection. Only two hours into a nine hour trip home we were having issues, and called the dealership. The dealership said all was working when it left the lot and it was purchased as is. That was not true. After much research I found that the guage cluster was not working in the advertised internet pictures. This vehicle was mis represented in the biggest way possible. I beleive that this is Mateial Misrepresentation which resulted in us purchasing this truck, which we normally would not have done.

Business' Initial Response
Spoke with GM and he informed me that this was good willed on 6/20/13

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.