BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/02/2013

Stan McNabb Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram

Find a Location

Phone: (931) 455-1155Fax: (931) 454-2356View Additional Phone Numbers1200 E Carroll St, TullahomaTN 37388-3838 Send email to Stan McNabb Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and pre-owned auto sales, service, parts and collision repairs.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/02/2013

BBB has determined that Stan McNabb Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Stan McNabb Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Stan McNabb Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
04/01/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Dealership sold a vehicle with severe, impending and concealed safety issues and have met me with an attitude of non-responsibility and non-response.
A previous truck stopped running, and I needed another for work and general purposes. I called an ad in my local newspaper, but the vehicle in question had been sold. I started shopping around, including on the internet.

I saw a truck on **** ******'s website that appeared nice, and sent them an email asking about it. Salesperson ************* called me shortly thereafter, and told me that someone else was interested in the truck, and was coming over to look at it. She called me back about 1-2 hours later and said the guy's financing didn't go through, and asked if I was still interested. I told her yes, I still needed transportation, and we scheduled a Saturday evening meeting at the dealership - close to 500 miles away.

I rented a car Saturday morning, January 10, 2014, and got there after 8pm - with the dealership closing at 9pm - and was bumped ahead another customer who had been waiting for her. I took the truck for a short test drive, came back and looked over the interior, and noticed they had a vehicle lift. I requested that the truck be put on the lift and they check underneath the vehicle for me before purchase. Both, ********* and another salesman understood this. ********* told me the dealership's normally closed on Sunday, but she would make an exception to meet me and I left to find a motel room for the night.

The next morning, I arrived an was given no report of what was later discovered to be a severely rusted undercarriage - specifically, brakes. The emergency/parking brake did not work at all because of rusted out parts. Even the service brake lines were just a layer of rust from giving away.

In September 2014, I noticed a puddle of liquid near the driver side rear tire, which turned out to be brake fluid. I took the truck to a local service shop and the technician told me he had never seen a case of rust so severe. He said they would not attempt repair, and suggested I take it to the dealer for inspection/repair. The dealer inspected it, but declared the vehicle unsafe and said also they would not attempt a repair. I found 1 shop that might have attempted, but they did not want to put a top end on an estimate.

All in all, estimates have ranged from $2400-$5000 for a complete tear down and replacement of perhaps all brake related parts. I have tried to be as flexible as possible with the **** ****** dealership on this, but they have not been too responsive and now have stopped answering my emails. **** ******, speaking for the dealership, has even tried to say the serious rust must have developed since I had the truck. I have had certified technicians to say there's no way that could be possible - it had to have existed when sold to me.

The **** ****** dealership had to have known about the severe rusting of the brake systems, including the cause for inoperative emergency brakes. The truck cannot be driven and without brakes, has no value other than scrap metal. Selling a used vehicle needing routine maintenance is one thing, but having a licensed dealer selling one without functional brakes is another.

If the **** ****** dealership had told me the results of the undercarriage inspection rather than concealing them, I would never have driven away in this vehicle knowing myself, my passengers *** everyone traveling the busy roadways of Tennessee, Mississippi and Louisiana were constantly in an impending, unpredictable state of danger.

Desired Settlement
Total refund of costs. This includes the cash paid buying price plus taxes, handling and licensing fees.

Vehicle replacement for total of costs.

Costs of bringing the brake systems to safe, operational levels with a service center in my local area, if one can be found that will attempt the possible extensive repair.

I would settle for the most economical charges for labor and replacement parts, so long as safety conditions are met.

Alternatively, the dealership could perform repairs at a location of their choosing, as long as safety conditions are met and towing arrangements are made.




Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ****@stanmcnabb.com
Mr. ******* contacted me in September 2014 regarding a brake issue he was having. He believed the brake lines needed to be replaced. He owned the 2000 Silverado for about 8 months and in this time put about 9,000 miles on it. We always try to take care of our customers, so as a good faith offer, I offered to pay $300 towards the brake lines. Mr. ******* wanted to check with a repair shop on Monday and he was going to call me back the next day. After two weeks went by with no response from Mr. *******, I assumed the issue was resolved and closed.

We inspect all safety concerns on the vehicles we sell. The vehicle he purchased received new tires and fog lamps, an oil and filter change, new wiper blades , new air filter, and a through inspection from our certified service technicians. There was no indication of any problems when we serviced the truck.

Mr. ******* also knew that he was purchasing the truck AS-IS, with no warranty with 178,319 miles on it. He signed all the documents stating that.

I am very sorry that Mr. ******* is having trouble with his truck. On numerous occasions, Mr. ******* sent emails regarding his truck. I asked him to call me several times after the initial time we talked, however he did not. I want to reiterate that it is our goal to take care of our customers as much as we can, a mission that has kept us in business for over 26 years. Unfortunately Mr. ******* and I do not see eye to eye on this matter.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did not "believe," as Mr. ****** says, that my brakes needed to be replaced. I told him that after inspections at several certified repair facilities, each had told me so.

The findings were so obvious, it is very hard to imagine a scenario where **** ****** service personnel could have missed them. After spending $7000 - their asking price - I expected a better quality vehicle.

There is a separation between routine "As-Is" maintenance issues not needing immediate attention, and bad/no brakes that are an immediate, behind-the-wheel, off-the-lot danger. Especially, when concealed by pretty sheet metal and a dealership who seemingly saw me only as numbers.

I beg to differ with Mr. ****** on the thoroughness of the company's safety inspection. If his service technicians are willing to submit their pre-sale inspection documents on this truck, perhaps we could become a step closer to agreeing. I have certified technicians who are willing to clarify their opinions on this very important matter.

Also, I have no control over inspection appointments and can only get them when available. But this seems not to have been in accordance with Mr. ******'s liking or deadline. Besides, I told him via email that there was no need to carry on our telephone conversations with such disagreements in solution.

As mentioned prior, the parking/emergency brakes never worked:

On a particular weekend, feeling they only needed adjusting, I planned to check the adjustments and pads. I found the brake drums so hard to remove, I gave up and took the truck to have someone else do the work.

This service person has been working on automobiles for years, is trusted and could also say how difficult it was to remove those emergency drums. They were frozen on by rust and everything else had pretty much eaten away. This, by the way, was sooner inside the eight month referenced period.

For Mr. ****** to call the $300 "offer of assistance" a reasonable amount of concern for selling a known dangerous vehicle is falling far short of the dealership's obligation to the public.

If the **** ****** dealership wants to boast about a 27th year, then "customer service" needs to become a reality here rather than a claim which hides behind documents.

I have more specifics I would like to reserve in case a court of law becomes necessary. Still, I am open to the Bureau's guidance through its process.

Final Business Response
Mr. ******* purchased the 2000 Silverado with 178,319 miles and put around 9,000 miles on it and then emailed me with a brake issue. I offered him $300 assistance as a goodwill gesture towards it and did not hear back from him. That offer still stands.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The brake issue was there before I drove their truck off the lot. It simply took a while before **** ******'s area of concealment and nondisclosure presented itself.

The brakes on this vehicle could have just as well given out as soon as I drove off their lot or one to two weeks later. The brakes were inoperative, precariously dangerous, and I would like to know if Mr. ****** would have felt any more remorse or regret had the brakes gone out sooner...

If he feels $300 would have been an amount sufficient to present to my next-of-kin. Thank goodness, this rusted brake system ruptured in my driveway rather than on the road. Still, it is a very scary thought that in just moments, I would have been traveling at a higher speed.

**** ******, the **** ****** dealerships and corporate offices and service departments have all conspired to sell this ticking time-bomb to an unsuspecting consumer. That this dealership knowingly sold a vehicle with severely rusted service brakes and no emergency brakes was in total disregard to my safety and that of a traveling public.

Though I do not feel that I should compromise in my position, if Mr. ****** and/or the ****** dealerships would offer $2000 for part replacements, I would see about performing some/all of the labor myself.

If this has to proceed further, more documents will be presented and this offer to settle would change.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/17/2003Business started: 01/01/1988
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Tennessee Motor Vehicle Commission
500 James Robertson Pkwy., 2nd Floor
Nashville, TN 37243
(615) 741-2711
http://www.tn.gov/regboards/mvc/index.shtml

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: August 1988, TN

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Trey McNabb (General Manager)Mr. Stan McNabb (Owner)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Transmissions - Automobile, Radiators - Automotive, Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto, Tire Dealers, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Electric Service, Auto Air Conditioning, Brake Service, Lubricating Service - Automotive, Auto Services - Oil & Lube, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Stan McNabb Automotive, Stan McNabb CDJR, Inc.
Industry Tips
Automobiles - Buying Used
Automobile Financing
Automobile - Repair
Automobile - Transmission

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Stan McNabb Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram has received 5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Stan McNabb Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram

1200 E Carroll St

Tullahoma, TN 37388-3838

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 1200 E Carroll St 

    Tullahoma, TN 37388-3838

  • PO Box 110 

    Tullahoma, TN 37388-0110

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Stan McNabb Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (931) 455-3451
  • (866) 534-4236

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (931) 359-3544
  • (931) 455-6027
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.