BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1984

James Corlew Chevrolet, Inc.

Phone: (931) 552-2020Fax: (931) 245-3269

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues6
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints10

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (10)
07/31/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Disregard for consumer satisfaction with no response to three follow-up inquiries; hard sell on extended warranty with misleading information.
My general complaint is their disregard for customer satisfaction despite all their overtures to the contrary. I received three follow-up inquiries regarding my experience in buying a vehicle and my satisfaction with the dealership including a personal letter from the owner dated May 26 and received June 11. All of them expressed concern over my satisfaction level and asked that before I fill out the survey sent from Chevrolet I contact the dealership to discuss any issues. In almost a month ago I have not received a single reply to any of my responses.
I came for my appointment and was met by the designated salesperson. He said he was busy and passed me to another salesperson. The next salesperson arrived and he said he was busy and passed to a third. It got late so I went back the next afternoon to complete the deal. After agreeing on a price the next step was to see the finance manager and fill out all the paperwork. The first thing the finance manager did was to engage in a hard sell for the highest priced extended warranty. He went to great lengths to stress all the things that could go wrong with the vehicle and how much it would be to fix it. He made it sound like the vehicle would fall apart after the initial factory warranty. I told him I wasn't interested. He then said he could apply some coupons and dropped the price. He continued with his salesmanship. He said I could cancel the extended warranty within 30 days and get all my money back except for the substantial sales tax. The warranty is treated as product. Why is it that if I return a product to a store I get the sales tax back? He said that just wasn't so in this case and gave no further explanation. I asked if I had to buy the warranty that evening. He said if I didn't it would cost a lot more later. What he failed to tell me is that I could have bought it for the same price up to about 10,000 miles or so on the new vehicle. I also asked if there was a cheaper warranty. It seems that there was but he failed to mention it. In any event I told him I wasn't interested. He went on with his pitch to say that all the electronics on the vehicle were expensive to fix and if the screen went out my air conditioning wouldn't work. So I had been at the dealership for over 3 hours and it was 6:30 in the evening. I am 71 years old. I was too tired to resist any more so agreed to the higher priced warranty.
Since it was late I did not take possession of the truck. I felt really stressed and frustrated over the bullying hard-sell tactics of the finance manager and that I had given in to him. I went back the next day intending to cancel the deal. I talked to an overall manager who was sympathetic to my condition and said I could walk away from the deal or that I had 30 days to cancel the warranty. Still, I wanted the truck but didn't want to go through all the paperwork again, so I finally agreed to take possession of the truck, thinking I could cancel the extended warranty at a later time. I later shopped around for other extended warranties and decided that if I was to get one the GM warranty would probably be the best. I did find out that I could buy the same exact warranty for this vehicle from other Chevy dealers for over $1000 less! However I also found out that if you cancel the warranty you cannot rebuy it. Something the finance manager neglected to mention. Thus I was stuck with the price I had agreed to.
So here is the source of my frustration and stress. A big part of it is the way I was treated. In buying over a dozen new vehicles over my lifetime, this was the hardest pitch I have ever received. Twice I refused the warranty and still was hammered. Then, to add financial injury to insult was the fact that I had paid way too much for the warranty. I would certainly have refused the extended warranty had 1. I not been led to believe I needed to buy it when buying the vehicle; and 2. that I could not rebuy it again if I cancelled it.

Desired Settlement
So what do I want? I would like to know why the dealership and owner show so much concern for my satisfaction yet do not follow up when I reply to their endearments. I would like an apology from the finance manager for not being more forthcoming and for persisting in pushing a product when it was twice refused. I would like the dealership to split the cost of the warranty had I had a chance to purchase it later from another dealer. The dealer would still make money on it and at least I would have the satisfaction of some compensation for what I consider to be a questionable selling practice. Finally, if this complaint is available online, other buyers can be a bit more prepared to a miserable experience.

Business Response
This is ***** ******, **** please have the customer contact me directly at XXX-XXXX ext **** I'd be happy to try and bring us to a resolution. Sincerely, *****

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I was contacted by the owner who agreed that I had a legitimate complaint. He apologized on behalf of the employees who were responsible for my dissatisfaction and we worked out a mutually satisfactory plan to rectify the issues.

09/11/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We went to the lot and told the salesman we were for a 4x4 Silverado. We thought it was a 4x4 until 2 days later we realized it was 2 wheel drive.
We went James Corlew Buick Chevrolet dealership in Clarksville, TN on 29 AUG 2014 and a salesman came out by the name of **** ********** We told him we were looking for a 4x4 Silverado 1500. The purchase date was 30 AUG 2014 for a 2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500. The problem date was 31 AUG 2014; that was the day we realized it was 2 wheel drive and the sticker was folded up in the glove box. We never even got a chance to look at the sticker. **** brought out the keys right away and had us take a test drive in it. He also rode with us to the bank and to let our dog out at our house; which we did not find appropriate. We put $4000.00 down through a cashiers check on the truck and financed $28,860.00 through **** ******* ****** ****** My wife, ******* ******** went to the dealership to address the issue on 2 SEP 2014 @ 3PM and told them that we were under the impression that we were getting a 4x4 Silverado not a 4x2 Silverado. They told her they were on the phone with the bank most of the time and said it was the bank that wouldn't allow them to fix the problem for us. She then went up to **** ******* ****** ***** in Clarksville, TN and spoke the assistant manager, she said they had nothing to do with that. My wife was there until 815PM and all they told her she could do was to get the truck appraised and attempt to trade it in. She was going to let them appraise the truck around 5PM and gave **** ********** the keys. He came back to her at 815PM and said their machines were down and they would call in the morning. **** ********** also told my wife that **** ********* had made multiple mistakes before and he should have went though all of the features with us in the bay; which he did not do.The Sales Managers and **** ********** were very against getting the General Manager involved. They told us that the General Manager would be no help to us. We received no call. We sent an e-mail on 4 SEP 2014 regarding the issue and there was no reply. I called and talked to the sales manager Mr. York at 1257PM on 6 SEP 2014 about the e-mail. He told me he would call back in a few hours to see what he could do. I received no call back. I left 2 voicemails on his phone the same day: one at 4PM and one at 530pm. We still received no call back. As of Sunday, SEP 8,2014, there was still no call to us.

Desired Settlement
Since the mistake was on their behalf, we feel that they should take the 2 wheel drive truck back and give us a XXXX Xx4 Silverado. We put $4000.00 of our life savings into something we wanted to keep for life if it was a 4 wheel drive.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** **********
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ***************@jamescorlew.com
Mr. and Mrs. ******** visited our dealership on Friday 8/29/2014, they reviewed our inventory and started looking at a 4x4 Truck we had for sale. After reviewing the inventory they selected another Truck we had on the lot, this vehicle was 2 wheel drive. They processed paperwork to get a loan with one of our lenders. After reviewing our approval, the ******** elected to go home, and pursue outside financing. They returned the next day and obtained outside financing. They processed the paperwork on 8/30/2014 at about 1pm. The vehicle purchase process worked over the course of 2 days.
The ******** drove the vehicle over the weekend (holiday weekend) and Mrs. ******** returned in on Tuesday 9/02/2014. She explained she thought she had bought a 4x4 truck. I asked her if anyone told it was 4x4, at which she replied "no". She said she thought it was because that's what they had originally came in to look for. I explained many consumers change back and forth while in the buying process. I also informed her that once the process for the vehicle she had already purchased was clear I would assist her and husband in getting a vehicle they preferred.
She called and left a message for our general manager, Mr. **** on 9/08/2014. Mr. **** asked me about the purchase process and I informed him of the facts listed above. We called Mrs. ******** back at approximately 4pm on 9/08/2014, and informed her that we would meet with her to trade her existing truck in for another truck that was 4x4. She set up an appointment to meet me on Wednesday at 930am, 9/10/2014.
She is here now for her appointment to purchase the next vehicle. I have asked why the need for the BBB complaint she says she was just concerned because of the time involved. I expressed to her again that this process would be a bit longer because of registrations and fund transferals that would need to take place before this new trade could be done.
I have spoken with the customer over this complaint and she said she was in the process of cancelling it.


***** **********
SALES MANAGER
JAMES CORLEW CHEVROLET - CADILLAC
(XXX) XXX-XXXX


Consumer Response


09/04/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The business supposedly performed a diagnostic on my vehicle for noise in the vehicle's front end. The diagnostic was erroneous or not not performed.
On 19 August 2014, I took my vehicle to the James Corlew service department. I explained to the service representative that the vehicle was producing a knocking sound when I turned the steering wheel. I left the car with them at 9am and return at 5 pm that evening. Upon my arrival, no one in the service department knew the whereabouts of my vehicle. I waited for 30 minutes when finally a gentleman approached me to explain that the noise was produced by both front axles and warped rotors. The total estimate for this repair was $1839 plus tax and shop fees. I was reluctant to follow this advise and decided to take the vehicle to another business for a second look and opinion. The second business diagnose the issue as the front struts within 30 minutes of my arrival, replace them and explained to me that the rotors and axles were in satisfactory conditions. The total price was $912.00 for the legitimate repairs.

Desired Settlement
I want a full refund of the diagnosis fee in the amount of $98.50. The diagnosis that I was provided was deceiving or not performed at all, thus no reason for the charge.

Business Response
Called customer to talk with him about repairs and give him his diagnosis fee back.Would like customer to bring his car back for us to show him the issuse with the axles and rotors.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I am satisfied with the conversation and action taken by the service department manager to address my disagreement. Thank you sir for understanding and addressing my concerns.

04/25/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
vehicle internet sale price is $2,888 ...and james corlew will not sell it for said price.
on april 12th 2016 I went into James curlew located at 722 college street to purchase a 2015 GMC sierra that was posted on there internet preowned section for $2,888. They said they can not sell it to me for that price because that was not the real price of said vehicle, they said the real price was $27,888 which was not the price that was posted on the internet sales website.

Desired Settlement
I'm still trying to purchase the 2015 GMC SIERRA for $2,888 which was the said purchase posted on there internet sales. This is false advertisement if James Corlew is not trying to sell it to me for said price.

Business Response
*****-
This was a data entry error and we have corrected it. Pricing is subject to manager's authorization and this was obviously an innocent mistake. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you and I'd be glad to meet with you and reimburse you your gas expense for the drive down. Please call or email me if I may be of any further assistance. Sincerely, James Corlew

03/09/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My car stopped working and required a repair. The repair was performed by James Corlew. However, my car is still having the same problem as before.
On 1/5/16 my car stopped and would not move/drive in any gear. I had the car towed to James Corlew to be repaired. I called on 1/6/16 and spoke with ***** ********** whom said he would have to put the car on the machine in order to diagnosis the problem and would call me back. He called back and stated the problem was a stub shaft and a broken right axial. I gave my consent to fix the car. The car was ready for pick up on 1/11/16 at which time I paid $875.86 using a master card (debit card) for this repair. I drove the car every day from that date and on 1/16/16 I was in Alabama and the car exhibited the same exact problem. On 1/19/16 I went to James Corlew to speak to the manager ***** ******* and discuss the problem with the car. I expressed to ***** that I felt there was an underlying problem. He stated they only fixed what was wrong with the car. However, I do believe there was another issues and this business perform patch work on my car not fixing the correct problem. My car is still not performing correctly; I cannot drive it because it is very unsafe and will stop at any point while driving.

Desired Settlement
The resolution I am seeking from the business is a refund due to inability to drive my car.

Business Response
On 1/6/2016 Mrs. ****** towed her 2009 Cobalt in to are shop stating vehicle will not move in any gear. We found right front axle disengaged from transmission. Our Tech stated he could not tell if there was internal transmission damage. We replaced right front axle shaft and road tested, the transmission shifted fine. Our Tech also noted on customer invoice if customer had further issues with the transmission slipping, they may have ran it too long with low transmission fluid.

On 1/19/2016 Mrs. ****** came by to see ***** *******, our service manager. He pulled her repair order and reviewed it with her and explained, if the transmission had been slipping upon the test-drive she would have been given her an estimate on replacing the transmission.

We would like to offer another diagnosis and estimate free of charge to help resolve this concern for our customer. Mrs. ****** may call XXX-XXX-XXXX and ask for ***** ******* set up the appointment.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No, I do not accept the response from the business. I do not accept their response due to the inability to drive my car at this time to their business due to car stalling out when I drive it.

Final Business Response
Ms. ******-
We have documented and only charged for work performed. We also follow General Motors procedures to diagnose and repair vehicles. A refund does not resolve the fact that the vehicle is not operating correctly. We have offered to diagnose the vehicle at no charge in hopes of resolving this matter. We will also discount any work that may need to be done. If you wish for us to arrange the tow of the vehicle we will pick it up at no charge. I can be reached at XXX-XXXX ext 202. Sincerely, ***** ******

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Yes, you have charged for work performed however, the work performed did not resolve the problem with the vehicle performing correctly. As I stated in the initial complaint the car stopped in Huntsville, Alabama. At which time I had my car towed to ******* ******* ********* and their repairs depart reports that there is a problem with the transmission. I am seeking the return of monies because they have stated there is a transmission problem and your company states they found an axial problem. The vehicle was left in Huntsville, AL due to the inability to drive the car.

12/15/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Was told by the sales rep that my other vehicle was traded in. Weeks after turning the car in the other car lot started calling stating different.
The sales rep lied to my wife and I about the trade in. The vehicle bought from James Corlew was a 2009 Chevy Silverado. The trade in was a 2002 Ford Explorer. The new payment with trade in was $1000.

Desired Settlement
To pay the trade in off like I was told.

Business Response
Please have Mr. ***** call me and will try and resolve his concerns. We are not showing a trade in on any of our paperwork whatsoever. Thanks, *****

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was told one thing by the sales rep and have all the text messages and paperwork he sent the other car lot.

Final Business Response
****** ***** and ********* ***** purchased the 2003 Chevrolet Silverado on September 3, 2015. A trade-in was not indicated on the purchase agreement or any other paperwork that was signed by Mr. ***** and Ms. ****** We did not know there was a problem until we received the BBB complaint on 11-25-2015, almost 3 months later. If we had been told sooner, we may have been able to do something, but they did not notify us. As a gesture of goodwill, James Corlew will provide 4 free oil changes and one tank of gas to Mr. *****.

11/09/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Recently purchased a vehicle with a supposed clear car fax that turned out to in fact be a wrecked repair vehicle.
I recently purchased a Cadilac SRX that supposedly had a clean and clear car fax. As it turned out upon inspecting the vehicle the next day it was in fact a badly damaged and wrecked vehicle with significant repairs made to the rear of the vehicle. The original owner purchased the vehicle through James Corlew and all service records showed having been performed by this dealership as well. This raises the question as to why this very important information wasn't disclosed. I was under the impression that I was purchasing a vehicle with no prior damage as stated by the dealership. This is not the case.

Desired Settlement
I will be returning the Cadilac SRX for a refund and return of my trade in or possible exchange for another vehicle of equal or greater value. I sincerely hope that this matter can be resolved efficiently.

Initial Bus***ss Response
Jim P*** addressed Mr. *****' concerns and found resolution. We found another vehicle for him.

01/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Service dept. lied to me, failed to do correct job, twisted the facts, covered up evedence, threatened me if I did not stop, converted the truth.
I told the service Dept. to perform a leakdown test and specifically check the head gaskets. When I went to pick up the vehicle, I was told by ***** ******* the service ***. that my all issues were resolved and my head gaskets were checked and in great condition, I was good to go. That my vehicle had great compression. After leaving from ***** ****** I took the vehicle to an ASE certified transmission shop to get a new transmission put in. After that work was completed I got it and drove to Colorado. In between the time from getting the car from ***** ****** to driving to Co. About 150 or so miles was put on the car. While driving to Co.The car then over heated and destroyed the engine from blown head gaskets. Another Chevy dealer in Co. confirmed the issues. The dealer in Co. stated that this had been happening for awhile.

Desired Settlement
I want a full replacement of head gaskets. I want the car fixed and back to being driveable. I need my vehicle to be trustworthy. Iwould like for the truth and facts that ***** ****** has twisted to make the situation look good for them. Because ***** ****** Chev has lied, covered up evedence, attempted to silence me, twisted the facts, threatened legeal actions against me, failed to do the correct job, diluted the truth. ***** ****** Chevrolet has taken every truth and fact and found a way to twist it to make it fit what they want or need to look good for them.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* Ser.Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX (XXX)
Contact Email: ************@jamescorlew.com
On 11/10/2014 Mr. ***** brought his 2001 Cadillac Deville into ***** ****** Chevrolet - Cadillac service department stating that at times his vehicle overheats and requested a leak down test. At which time we performed a coolant system leak down test and found the coolant crossover gaskets leaking. Customer approved for us to replace coolant crossover gaskets,waterpump cover gasket and coolant nipple.After gaskets were replaced vehicle still getting hot.We found thermostat to be stuck closed and engine full of stop leak.We replaced thermostat and refilled with coolant.Vehicle operating properly at this time.We also found transmission to have codes for internal issues and engine to be leaking oil.We recommonenend a transmission and complete engine reseal,at which customer declined.We also performed some maintenance on vehicle such as spark plugs,a/c belt and fuel system service.The last job we performed was changed the oil and filter.If the headgaskets were blown the coolant would have been mixing with the oil.On 12/16/2014 Mr. ***** called and stated he in Denver and his vehicle overheated.He was advised to get the vehicle checked out to see what was wrong with his vehicle, which he then carried it to John Elway Chevrolet.They checked his vehicle and advised him the head gaskets where leaking.In my 17 years as a service manager i have never seen any vehicle able to be driven 1,000 plus miles with a blown head gasket.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
He stated that when he changed the oil and radiator fluid he would have seen then that the head gasket was blown. The head gasket is blown, it is leaking exhaust fliud into the radiator. There are different forms of a blown head gasket. This is where I state that they are bending the facts to suite what they need to match to avoid the truth. In all of his 17 exp. he needs to know that it will and can be done. They are being completely unreasonable.

Final Business Response
From: ***** ****
Sent: Tuesday, January 13, XXXX X:XX PM
Subject: RE: Business rebuttal

On 11/10/2014 Mr. ***** brought his 2001 Cadillac Deville into ***** ****** Chevrolet-Cadillac service department stating that at times his vehicle overheats and requested a leak down test. At which time we performed a coolant system leak down test and found the coolant crossover gaskets leaking. Customer approved for us to replace coolant crossover gaskets, water pump cover gasket and coolant nipple. After gaskets were replaced the vehicle was still getting hot. We found the thermostat to be stuck closed and the engine full of stop leak. We replaced the thermostat and refilled with coolant. Vehicle was operating properly at this time. We also found transmission to have codes for internal issues and engine to be leaking oil. We recommended a transmission and complete engine reseal, in which the customer declined. We also performed some maintenance on the vehicle such as spark plugs, a/c belt and fuel system service. The last job performed was changing the oil and filter. If the head gaskets were blown the coolant would have been mixing with the oil. ON 12/16/2014, Mr. ***** called and stated he was in Denver and his vehicle had overheated. He was advised to get the vehicle checked out to see what was wrong with his vehicle. He then took his vehicle to **** ***** Chevrolet. They checked his vehicle and advised him that the head gaskets were leaking. In my 17 years as a Service Manager, I have never seen any vehicle able to be driven 1,000 plus miles with a blown head gasket. I have attached copies of the invoice. At this point, ***** ****** Chevrolet- Cadillac has decided and is willing to purchase a rebuilt motor at Mr. ***** cost and install the motor(labor) at Mr. ***** cost. We will not "mark-up" or increase the cost for these services which Mr. ***** would have to pay for "up-front" and funds be verified before the work(job) is performed. If, there are any other questions or information needed please don't hesitate to contact me, ***** **** - GM @ XXX-XXX-XXXX. Thanks.

***** W. ****
General Manager


Final Consumer Response
From: ******** ***** (mailto:************@gmail.com)
Sent: Thursday, January 15, XXXX X:XX PM
Subject: ***** ****** unfair business practices

I do not accept the offer that ***** Colew/General manger has offered. I find it to be a disrespectful way to rub salt in an open wound. I have attached copies of what a leak down test really is. This what I asked for, what i expected to be done, and what i was told was done. Directly out of the mouth of the person that I spoke to at the counter was that my heads had great compression, "I was good to go." I feel ***** ****** is continueing to be unreasonable to even put an offer like that toward me and think that it is a good way to conduct business. I will gladly give you the audio recording from the 26th of Dec where you can hear the General manager ***** **** attempt to initiate an argument with me and state that my story keeps changing. 30 minutes later on the phone he says that he did not say that. This is proof if not for sure evedence to prove that they are willing to lie when necessary to get their way.
Links to what a leak down test really is- http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leak-down tester

Page 1 of 2

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.