BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/11/2013

Hyundai of Cookeville

(931) 520-7200View Additional Phone Numbers931 S Willow Ave, CookevilleTN 38501-4105 Send email to Hyundai of Cookeville

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the sale of new and pre-owned vehicles, service, repairs and parts.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/11/2013

BBB has determined that Hyundai of Cookeville meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Hyundai of Cookeville include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Hyundai of Cookeville

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
05/10/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We were nervous about purchasing our first car, and the salesman made promises not kept after purchase.
We went to Hyundai to look at a 2003 Town and Country van. It was test driven, and seemed fine except for bumping at low speed. The salesman told us it was a belt in the tire. We noticed the check engine light was on, and we were going to walk away, but ****** ****** the salesman said it was only an O2 sensor. It was going to be our first purchase as a family. We didn't want to make a mistake. I asked Mr. ****** if he was wrong, and the vehicle stopped working what would we do. He said "Our mechanics have looked this *** over, and it's in top shape. We are a big time dealership, and we don't sell junk. We send the junk to those buy here pay here lots you've been looking at. We have a reputation to uphold and won't sell something that is in bad condition." I told him I understood that, but what if it was junk and did tear up. He said "We would make it right. We aren't going to do you like that. You could bring it up here and we'd make it right. " Reluctantly we trusted him. In our contract we were also promised tires at their cost to cover the front end bump. The *** started having trouble the next day. When we called to arrange tires to be put on we explained that the van was not working right. Mr. Morgan brushed us of and quoted a price for the tires, they were high and certainly not at cost. Within a little over two weeks the van wouldn't even run. My husband called *** ****** and explained or situation expecting him to uphold our agreement. Unfortunately he said it was our responsibility and the lemon Law wouldn't help us.

Desired Settlement
I think they should fix the vehicle to be in the condition they promised us it was when we purchased it.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* CONTROLLER
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@HYUNDAIOFCOOKEVILLE.COM
Mr. and Mrs. ***** bought a 2003 Chrysler Town and Country *** with XXXXXX miles for ***** on 2/20/16. This *** is thirteen years old and they signed an "as-is condition". Anyone that buys a thirteen year old vehicle is well aware of the risks and the high mileage. With that said, we did tell her mother we would pay up to $300. That wasn't good enough, she was mad about the tow fee. After that we didn't hear from them until two weeks ago. We told her we'd pay half, the bill was ******** She then said her husband was mechanically inclined and he would install the alternator. We agreed to buy it. The conditions to us buying the alternator, since we legally have no liability here, was to remove the two negative google reviews and this BBB claim. She hasn't done either and hasn't picked up the part. We've not heard from her.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First of all we paid ***** and not ***** for the lemon we purchased at Hyundai. We knew how "old" the *** was, which was why we were going to pass ** it. The salesman assured us it was in excellent condition, and if we had any problems we could bring it back and they would make it right. Hyundai doesn't stand behind their word. Speaking with our family is not communicating with us whatsoever. I had no idea a member of our family was even trying to resolve the situation. After we spoke to an actual manager we were told to have the van towed up to the dealership and they would "work with us". We spent the money to have it towed and were then told diagnosis was all they were willing to do, even though we had discovered many issues ourselves. After pleading with several people we were told Hyundai would buy an alternator if we'd put it on. I didn't realize if we did it ourselves the part wouldn't be under warranty. We were forced to yet again have the vehicle towed, this time to our mechanic who is going to inspect the vehicle before continuing with our attorney. I have not removed the reviews as they are very true. Hyundai is liable and not allowed to commit consumer fraud. I am not satisfied. Not once have they addressed the salesman and repercussions for his actions. Part of our contract included tires at cost. We were quoted a price if *** a tire and the Hyundai website had them listed for **** We're fairly certain they earn more than ** per tire. Even that was a lie. If Hyundai would like to resolve the situation correctly before it escalates we would appreciate that. Their supposed "efforts" have been very stressful to our family and not helpful whatsoever. Our children are sweating in a small car with no air conditioning as a result.

Final Business Response
I'm very sorry for the inconvenience and stressful nature you have experienced. Your mother and father have called the dealership many times and spoken with several different people. We assumed they were acting on your behalf. I'm shocked you were not aware. The sales price of the vehicle was ***** plus TTL. You financed ****** but your sales price was ********* As for your conversation with the salesman, I can't confirm or deny what was said. He is no longer employed here. I looked up your "We Owe" form for the tires, there wasn't anything listed. This is the first I have heard about tires. I went and talked to several people trying to figure out the tire issue. One of our employees said she discussed tires with you. She wasn't aware of it being part of your deal either, but you did tell her you found them cheaper at Wal-**** by half. I'm trying to understand the problem on the tires if you found them that much cheaper than our cost. Your big bulk stores will always be able to buy cheaper because they are buying in bulk, we do not. We said we would buy the alternator, the offer still stands. I am terribly sorry this has happened to you. We'd love for all of our used cars to never have any problems, but it isn't realistic. They are machines and will need maintenance like all equipment. Again, we are very sorry you're having problems.

Final Consumer Response
***Document ***********

09/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
car was sold with faulty brakes all around.
unsafe condition to drive.
brake pads,rotors,and discs all subsafe.
company refuses to refund/respond.
purchased 2009 acadia /gmc from this dealership.
drove from Nashville to Cookville approx...80 miles to complete transaction.
upon the deal being made requested to have the dealer check car to make sure all was well with it,prior to driving back another 80 miles to Nashville.
was told car checked out fine.
drove back to Nashville and within 2-3 days following took in for diagnostics and possible recall of any items at Freeland GMC/antioch.;
was told the brakes were bad,and needed replacing.
repair was to be approx...$850 plus tax.
communicated the report to dealer...was not resolved...dealer was willing to give $100 for pads only.
Took car for second opinion at another shop.
car was evaluated as unsafe to drive.
brakes needed discs/rotors/pads.
amount of rewpair was $947 approx..after tax.
communicated the bill to dealer.
no response...no resolution.
placed 5-6 phone calls to various management personnel...no response.
the condition of the brakes being unsafe or in immediate need of replacing needed to be disclosed.
it is encumbent on any reputable dealer to ascertain the car is safe to drive,especially sending a customer on a trip of 80 miles on the highways.
no customer service...no follow up...no care.
communicated the report

Desired Settlement
refund in full for the brake repair..per invoice.
certified funds.

Business Response
we sold Mr ****** a 2009 acadia on july 29th 2014 with XXXXX miles he later called and said the brakes was shot and needed $800 to fix them we offered to him to bring it in we would pay for half the bill and we could do it a lot less than $ 800 we tried calling him back and telling him $673 would be worst case so half of that would $336 dollars max out of his pocket next thing he sends a bill that was $850 and shows that the brakes still have %40 of brakes left looks like the only thing wrong was a caliber sticking but he chose to go ahead and put new brakes on a used car with still %40 of brake life left so we did offer to save him money on the repair even though he bought as is no warranty he paid way to much to get brakes put on and really was unnecessary with that much brakes left I have the copy of his invoice from where he got the repair showing still that much left on brakes which is still way above safety requirements on used cars thx **** *****

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
if a GMC dealer tells me the brakes are not safe,and the pads are only a part of the repair needed,on top of discs and calipers,and whatever else is rusted or compromised,I take it seriously.
when a second repair shop that worked on my vehicles before,and are unbiased,tells me the car should NOT be driven in its present state of brakes,I am not going to take an 80 mile highway drive in tha car and put myself at risk to save the dealer money,just because they wish to conduct the repair at their shop.
A reputable dealer would be happy to see their customer safe,and appeased with a scenario like this,which stems out of negligence,and shear desire to just save a buck.
I believe they do owe the repair fee in full.
both shops quoted the sum of $850 plus tax.
this cookeville dealer is the only one quoting $673....the only reason they are cheaper then 2 reputable repair shops is their use of substandard matterials, non gmc parts,and compromised labor.

Final Business Response
I have inspect every used car before the sale and the acadia he bought passed *** specs and I sent it to ****** chevy to get work done it also and they are a certified gmc dealer and they inspected the car and made no mention of it needing brakes I can forward the repair order from our service and ****** chevy but as we told him worst case would have been half of $673 which would have been $336.50 max out of his pocket is way less than $850plus taxes if he felt unsafe to drive he could have had it towed here for around a $100 which would have put hi, max $446.50 out of pocket is still way less than $850 I hate hes not happy but it past our safety inspection and ****** chevy made no mention of any kind of brake problems most used cars with over XXXXX m,iles are not going to come with brand new gmc brakes that you buy at a Hyundai dealership but for customer to drive over 80 miles and pass ******** dealers he must have felt he got a great deal on his purchase and as with any used car the customer signed as is also signed form that reads Dealer STRONGLY RECOMOMMEDS that buyer take this vehicle for an independent inspection by a garage or mechanic of buyers choice , and buyer has done so, or has decided against such an inspection also signed buyer agrees to not hold dealer responsible should this vehicle fail to meet buyers expectations after its purchase by buyer as a bbb member in great standing I fell I offered a more than fair deal to pay half of repair on used car sold as is that had past inspection and consider this matter closed thx

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
this is nothing more then a "he said she said".on the part of the dealer.
if this dealer reads the repair that was needed on this car.. it clearly refers to rusted out and frozen parts that play a part in the functioning of the overall brakes.
this dealer indicated that they spent too much money on the car as it is,and destined it to go to auction,as the rules would be different at dealers auction.
they simply had enough of the car,and just unloaded it under the claim of as is,which in no way should mean that they can withhold an issue relating to its safety,much less,not fixing it.
since they are so proud of their price,I will accept the sum of $673 in full,and thus have incurred almost $300 out of pocket...
the insinuation that I would expend the money I did was because the car was a great buy is absolutely idiotic...no one would spend almost $1000 on a repair within a week of buying a car,unless it was needed...
and in conclusion,why would I pay to tow a car for 80 miles to have repairs done at a facility that just misled me..?

12/17/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
HYUNDAI VEHICLES ARE SOLD WITH TIRES THAT ARE STRICTLY MADE AND BOUGHT IN BULK AND ARE SO POORLY MANUFACTURED THEY GET VERY LIMITED MILEAGE.
I PURCHASED A 2013 HYUNDAI VELOSTER IN NOVEMBER 2012. I HAVE HAD ISSUES WITH THE TIRES WEARING UNEVEN AND CUPING SO BADLY THAT THE CAR PULLS INTO TRAFFIC. WITH HARDLY 20K MILES I AM ALREADY HVING TO REPLACE THE TIRES. THEY ARE SO LOUD AND DANGEROUS I AM SCARED TO DRIVE THE SPEE LIMIT. HYUNDAI AND KUMHO HAVE NOT OFFERED ANY COMPENSATION OR ASSISTANCE TO ME. I PURCHASED A HYUNDAI FOR THE

WARRANTY AND I AM REGRETFUL THAT I WENT WITH HYUNDAI NOW. KUMHO ADMITTED THEY WOULDNT BE ABLE TO SELL THE TIRES THAT HYUNDAI USES ANY OTHER WAY THEY ARE STRICTLY LIMITED MILEAGE TIRES MADE FOR GETTING THE CAR SOLD.



WOULD NEVER HAVE IMAGINED A QUALITY CAR COMPANY LIKE HYUNDAI WOULD PLACE SUCH A BAG PRODUCT ON THEIR


VEHICLES.





Desired Settlement
I WANT TOTAL REPLACEMENT OF ALL FOUR KUMHO TIRES. THE RATING FOR THE KUMHO TIRES I CURRENTLY HAVE IS A 2.1 UNACCEPTABLE RATING. I WANT A 8.0 OR BETTER PLACEMENT FOR MY CAR.

Business Response
I personally had not heard a complaint until last week. Customer didn't notify us until last week about this issue. Customer hasn't brought vehicle in for service since purchasing 13 months ago. Vehicle now has over XXXXX miles and the tires are the only thing on the vehicle that Hyundai doesn't warranty. It is a separate warranty with the tire manufacturer. At the time she purchased the new Hyundai she was given a separate warranty manual on the tires themselves. Not sure if the customer has had tires rotated and balanced at recommended maintenance schedule. We did offer a $50 discount per tire to try to help customer, but the customer wasn't satisfied with that and wanted them free and said she was going to her boyfriend at channel 2 news. We at Hyundai of Cookeville have no control of the tire manufacturer warranty. We would love to try and help but know of nothing else to do at this point. thx **** *****

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The car has been properly maintained and I have a copy of all the service. I live in Nashville & purchased the car in Cookeville because I grew up there and wanted to give them business. I have all my service done in the area I live in. I provided information that that tires are cupped and have been checked by a certified professional and found to be defective and dangerous. When I returned to the dealership I was offered no help. The tire they offered was at a cost of more than double what they retail for and they offered a $50 credit with the purchase of a $300 tire each! I at NO TIME asked for a free tire! I wanted to be compensated for the defective tire with some sort of assistance in getting them off my vehicle and replaced with a different brand. **** ***** & Hyundai of Cookeville do not care about their customers. They were arrogant and rude. I think anyone would expect to get more than 20k out of a set of tires especially when they were properly maintained. I want consumers to know what lies ahead of them when they purchase a Hyundai vehicle. They can expect to have a rough riding vehicle after about 3k miles and to have constant vibration and to have the expense of replacement way ahead of a normal tire replacement. This is wrong.

01/08/2016Problems with Product / Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/12/2011Business started: 05/23/2011
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Tennessee Motor Vehicle Commission
500 James Robertson Pkwy., 2nd Floor
Nashville, TN 37243
(615) 741-2711
http://www.tn.gov/regboards/mvc/index.shtml

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 2011, TN

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Mike Rezi (General Manager)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
TT of H. Cookeville, Inc.
Industry Tips
Automobile Financing
Automobile - Repair

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Hyundai of Cookeville has received 3.5 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Hyundai of Cookeville

931 S Willow Ave

Cookeville, TN 38501-4105

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 931 S Willow Ave 

    Cookeville, TN 38501-4105(931) 520-7200
    (888) 363-1778
    (888) 372-0470

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Hyundai of Cookeville is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 363-1778
  • (888) 372-0470
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

Automobile Financing
Automobile - Repair
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.