BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 04/23/2013

Ford Lincoln of Cookeville

Phone: (931) 526-3325

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues6
Problems with Product / Service6
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints12

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (12)
01/05/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
2012 **** F350 Dually purchased October 24, 2015 with check engine light - EGR value cleaning of exhaust system. Claimed it had been serviced.
On October 24, 2015 we purchased a 2012 **** F350 Dually with 96,230 miles. It was approximately 7:30 or 8:00 pm when we finally drove off the lot. The dealership had agreed to fix the cracked windshield for us which took approximately 1 1/2 weeks to install. We purchased the Perma Plate coating ($ 700.00); First Mile Maintenance Plan Plus ($ 1,700.00); BaseCARE Extended Warranty ($ 2,800.00) to ensure that we would covered if anything were to happen to the truck. We were told that the truck had been through your service department (new oil, new oil filter and that everything was working properly and "good to go"). We drove off the lot at night and about eight of the running lights on the truck were not working. We called our salesman, ******* ****** and he asked the Used Car Manager if he would replace them and we were told "NO". After about a week and a half we were called to come down and replace the windshield. At that time we showed ******* ****** that the interior of the vehicle had about an inch of dust of the dashboard this meaning there was no way that the service department had Perma Plate the vehicle. ******* ****** personally took to the truck to service and had them redo the truck. In which we were thankful. When we picked the truck up the next day, the check engine light was on. **** in service came out and had a **** mechanic bring his tester, "something with the air flow", **** replaced the air filter for us that was extremely dirty. At that time he mentioned did we know anything about the newer diesels exhaust system, we stated "NO". He explained that if the "cleaning exhaust service light comes on that we had to keep driving the truck until the cleaning process is finished. He stated that it would last approximately 20 to 30 minutes. We said "Thank you and that we would make sure and do that". The check engine went off. Within two days, the check engine light was on again. My wife brought the truck in on Tuesday, November 18th to get an oil change and to check to see what the check engine light was on for again. We also requested a check the back passenger *** tires because their was a bouncing action. **** called at 11:30 and said that the bouncing of the tires was probably due to the six new Firestone tires we had purchased in Clark Range, TN. We stated that we would go back to ******* **** Company and deal with that situation. **** then informed my wife that the EGR value on the exhaust cleaning system was clogged and the entire cleaning system needed to be cleaned. This was going to cost $ 1,400.00. My wife stated that we had purchased the extended warranty and maintenance warranty that it should be covered. **** informed her that it was not going to be covered. We went back to the dealership and talked to ***** in Finance and **** in service and asked if there was anyway the dealership could take care of this due to the fact that we had been told everything was fine. Layne and **** both requested that we not trade it at Cookeville Honda until they we were able to talk to Lewis the next day. We agreed. **** called my wife and left a message on the 18th, I called **** back and he informed me that this repair was not covering to be covered by the warranties or the dealership. It saddened me that this is how they chose to deal with this situation. Like my wife told ***, "if the check engine light had been on, your dealership would have fixed the problem or we would not have purchased this truck". My wife has emailed **** ********, General Manager of Cookeville **** ******* on the November 18 explaining the situation and requesting if any assistance could be provided. We have purchased three vehicles in the past year, (2015 **** Escape; 2015 **** Mustang; and 2012 **** F350). I would hope that your dealership would want to save this relationship.

Desired Settlement
Service repair on 2012 **** F350 Dually EGR value replaced and exhaust system completely cleaned.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@fordlincolnofcookeville.com
Mrs. ******** came to the dealership 12/29/2015 and all purchase issues have been resolved. The EGR valve is being replaced and exhaust cleaned at no cost to Mr and Mrs ********

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
**** **** with **** ******* of Cookeville handled the repairs on the 2012 Ford F350. She was extremely sadden by the way we had been treated and assured us it would not happen again. For this we are thankful.

05/26/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Would not take responsibility for damage they caused while repairing SUV (Broken Spark Plug)
We just got our Ford Expedition back from Ford of Cookeville after a month of working on it. The big trouble was they broke a spark plug off and instead of excepting the responsibility of there error like everyone I talked to thought they should, they would have charged us over $6,000.00 but agreed on $4,500.00 and after we complained they denied that it was there fault the spark plug broke but lowered our bill to $3,807.89 (we had other work done to but intentionally was only $1,400.00)

Bottom line is, I agreed to paying the $4,500.00 believing they would take off the $3,000.00 for there mistake. I was very wrong. We were told that after they broke the spark plug that we could have had our car towed off somewhere else. BE CAREFUL WHAT YOU AGREE TO AND TALK OUT YOU OPTIONS. Also BE AWARE THAT A BUSINESS CAN SELL YOUR CAR TO COLLECT FOR WORK DONE. Ford of Cookeville, after 6 years of faithful loyalty would not allow us to have any access to our car until we reached an agreement for payment.

Desired Settlement
$2,000.00 that we paid them

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ********
Contact Phone: (XXX)XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *********@fordlincolnofcookeville.com
The customer brought the vehicle in for some routine maintenance. After performing a courtesy vehicle inspection we advised the customer they were due for spark plug replacement. We gave them an original estimate of 1400.00 on April 6th, 2015. At the time the customer was advised that the spark plugs on a 5.4l engine in this year model can seize in the cylinder head and it was an additional charge to remove them in the event it did not come out. We as do all Ford Dealers price this when performing spark plug replacement due to the issue with the plugs seizing in the head. It was not an issue where a technician broke a component, it was seized or stuck in the cylinder head. This particular plug was seized beyond the point of extraction via normal means. The service advisor called the customer on the following day to advise him the head would have to be removed and sent to a machine shop to be extracted. the customer was given an estimate for repair at that time of 4,000.00 and approved the repair. Once we removed the head and the machine shop received it we were notified by the machine shop it could not be removed without damaging the head. The machine shop advised us they could get a reman replacement for 500.00. The service advisor then called the customer and the customer approved the additional repairs for a total of 500.00. The head took about a week to arrive, once installed we found the head had an internal oil flow issue and the machine shop that supplied the head could not provide us with another. We ended up having to purchase a head from ford which is 1700.00 additional and installing it and repaired the issue. I personally spoke with the customer and they were well aware of the cost of repair. We covered the additional repair cost and rental the entire length of repair. This repair without us helping the customer would have been close to $8,000. I feel we went above and beyond by absorbing all these additional cost and providing a customer with a rental throughout the process. Sometimes vehicle repairs can be tricky and on older vehicles things seize, rust, etc.. If the customer would not have approved the repairs we would not have performed them. This particular repair cost the dealership thousands of dollars and I feel what we have done is more than adequate.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
1, I believe if we were told hat there is a chance of the replacing spark-plugs would cost us $4,000.00 we would have never agreed to it as our "truck" is not worth much more than that amount. 2,ND I don't think anything being broken under someone else care should be my responsibility. I understand what the FORD of cookville is saying and I really appreciate what they have done but FORD the national Co. should pick up the slack NOT THE COSTUMER. 3rd, I ask that in the future that FORD should go beyond a phone call and verbal agreements, make sure that the customer knows they are agreeing to the amount and not just the service.
I understand what Ford is saying and again I appreciate everything they have done but I wished someone else would have paid for the broken part. Where is the responsibility and PLEASE MAKE SURE OTHERS KNOW IN THE FUTURE THAT THE COSTUMER IS RESPONSIBLE IF FORD BRAKES SOMETHING!!!!!! BECAUSE FORD CLAIMS NO RESPONSIBILITY!
Sorry we were so learned about their practices and I apologize to Ford of cookville for their trouble I may have caused them I am just learning that NO ONE is responsible for what they do anymore!

01/28/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I think ********** ford should fix my jeep and reimburse me 75.00 dollars tow bill.
On October 31 my wife and I bought a 2011 jeep ******** from this dealership. We were told this vehicle had gone through their shop, inspected,and serviced. The first time my wife and I took it out it stranded us. This was less than 30 days. We had it towed back to Cookeville ford. This was on a sunday two weeks later, still less than 30 days. We called them the Monday and told them what happened. They told us real quick it was our problem. I asked *** ****** didn't he think they should take care of it because it had been less than 30 days. He did't think so. I found him to be hateful and arrogant! I think this dealership needs to be more upfront with the customer. We were led to believe that if we had a problem with this jeep or it wasn't what they said it was they would make it right. WRONG!! I would hate to see anyone else get treated the way me and my wife got treated. I want it on record I'm not happy with this dealership and I think there very dishonest!!!

Desired Settlement
I think they owe me 75.00 dollars tow bill and fix the jeep!!

Business Response
Vehicle was towed to dealership customer was informed there would be a fee for diagnosis. Customer didn't want us to diagnose vehicle, but was told that what the problem sounded like it would have to go to Dodge dealership(they have the correct computer to reprogram it) Customer didn't want us to diagnose and send to Dodge if there was any kind of fee. We do not feel the dealership did anything wrong and will not pay for the tow bill.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I would not have expected any thing of this dealership but this! They sell you a vehicle and less than 40 miles after it leaves their lot it breaks down and they say they did nothing wrong! REALLY!!! Feel free to post this on any site you think may warn other people about this dealership. They need to know how these people operate and what LIARS they are. I've never been treated any worse by any business than these people! To this dealership I will say.... YOU KNOW WHAT THEY SAY ABOUT KARMA!!! JUST WISH I WAS AROUND TO SEE IT. To anyone thinking about doing business with these people get everything they promise you in writeing and beware of that double talking bs'er *** ********** As far as them saying I was told it probably needed to go to dodge dealership that was a OUT AN OUT PURE LIE!!! I don't think these people know how to tell the truth. I BET COOKEVILLE **** DOESNT PUT THIS POST ON THEIR COMMET SECTION!!!! Proves how dishonest they are... if you don't sing our praises we BURY YOU!! BUYER BEWARE!!!!!!!!!

01/11/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I feel this company committed false advertisement in print form ****** ******* local newspaper. I also was not allowed to purchase a vehicle on line
I saw an advertisement in my local newspaper ****** ******** It stated Free with every new and used purchase - 55 inch tv ,$1000 gift card, $1000 gas card, Lifetime Warranty, Lifetime Car Wash offer expires November 28. No fine print. I went on line found a used vehicle 1994 Honda Accord 4 DoorSedan XE price was advertised at ****** I called the location and was transferred to a sales person named ***** he informed they had the vehicle that it was a vehicle that could be driven and that price was accurate Stock # ******* VIN # 5N1BV28U15NXXXXXX. I asked it that was the full amount he said it would have tax title and license fee added. I asked him if he could give me a total price so I could bring that amount of money he took my number and said he would call me back. I also mentioned the advertisement that I intended on using. I never received a call back. I called back asking to speak with ****** They took a message. I went to the business with the paper advertisement and the on line advertisement. I was told by Kevin they could not do the advertised deal on that vehicle. I asked why he said I could speak to the manager. The manager told me he would not honor the advertisement because that vehicle could not be financed. I said I don't need financing I want buy it at the advertised amount. He then told me the vehicle was not for sale because of a blown engine. I mentioned that I still wanted to purchase the vehicle and I had been told earlier in the day that the vehicle could be driven. I again pointed to the advertisement that stated no fine print or qualifying conditions and asked why he would not honor this advertisement he mentioned something to affect of financing over ******** I said the advertisement states none of this or even eludes to any conditions. I want them to honor their advertisement and allow me to purchase this vehicle or a similar one at the on line advertised amount

Desired Settlement
I want them to honor the on line price allow me to pay that amount and give me the items advertised when making my "used purchase" as stated in advertisement. Free 55 inch TV , $1000 gift card, $1000 gas card, Lifetime Warranty, Lifetime car washes

Business Response
Vehicle was on the internet for sale. When it went through the used car inspection, it was found to have a blown (bad) motor and **** ******* of Cookeville will not sell a vehicle in that condition. Mr ****** didn't want any other vehicle than the 1994 ***** that was not safe to drive or sell. Mr ****** is more than welcome to purchase any vehicle listed on our website that is safe to drive, and will be eligible for all promotions at the time of purchase.

06/22/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Informed a vehicle of interest was sold before we arrived after calling to say it was still on the lot. Then when i emailed they asked me to setup ap.
Was xalled at 9:30 am to confirm test drive appt for a 2003 Yukon listed at $9,881. When we arrived we were told it just sold and the salesperson tried to get us to look at a newer Yukon listed for $35,0000.As we left upset, another salesperson run after us and stood in front of my car trying to intimidate us while we were trying to leave. An hour later I looked on their web site about the vehicle and emaiked interested to see what they would say. I received an email that the 2003 Yukon was still available and to schedule a test drive. They lied to us not 1 time but 2 times and i am assuming posting fraudulent ads is illegal.

Desired Settlement
Find us a vehicle like the one they listed for the same price and bring that vehicle to us to look at or fund us $75 for gas and time for driving that distance for being lied to.

Business Response


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There is no response. **** ******* of Cookeville did nothing to resolve the complaint. No phone call, follow up, etc. They did finally take the ad off of the internet but who is to say they have not posted more false ads.

Final Business Response
The only way to guarantee the vehicle is still on the lot for an appointment is to put a refundable deposit on that vehicle. Mr **** **** (customer) didn't want to put a deposit on the vehicle prior to his appt. We would be more than happy to refund Mr **** $25.00 to compensate for the gas used.

06/02/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I gave a $500 deposit and copy of my driver license to reserve a vehicle. The dealership sold the vehicle to someone else.
On 04/07/15, I gave a $500 deposit and a copy of my driver license to sales representative Jaden Flynn to reserve a 2006 Lincoln Town Car until I received insurance payment to use as down payment. ***** ***** parked the vehicle to the rear of the dealership and placed a "SOLD" sign in the windshield. Mr. ***** stated he would check with me periodically regarding the insurance money, and I told Mr. ***** I would call him as soon as I knew the amount insurance would pay. On 04/09/15, when ***** ***** was off work that day, the dealership sold the car to someone else. On 4/10/15, Used Car Sales Manager, **** ******** advised me he was aware I had put a deposit down on the vehicle, but a buyer came on the lot ready to buy the vehicle, so the dealership sold it to that buyer. He stated the dealership's policy is to only hold a vehicle for 2 to 3 days, so they sold the vehicle to that buyer. Mr. ******* stated he understood that I was upset over the situation, but that was what they decided to do. That afternoon, I met with the General Manager, **** ********, who admitted that the dealership should have called me before selling the vehicle, but the dealership can sell to whomever they please. Mr. ******** also stated that a deposit given on a vehicle is to hold the price of the vehicle, not the vehicle itself. Mr. ******** stated that I needed to view the situation from the standpoint of the dealership, who receives deposits all the time from people who want to negotiate the price of the car or decide not to purchase. I told Mr. ******** I was going to report the incident to the Better Business Bureau. His reply was that the dealership receives numerous positive reviews with Better Business Bureau and my report would be viewed as "everyone has a bad day". Mr. ******** also stated that he knows he provides excellent customer service because he is a General Manager at 29 years old, and there are very few General Managers at that age.

Desired Settlement
Ford Corporation or the owner of Ford Lincoln of Cookeville take disciplinary action as deemed necessary against General Manager **** ******** and Used Car Sales Manager **** ******* to correct their poor customer service attitude and unethical business practice in their failure to honor an agreement when I placed a deposit on the vehicle and the dealership accepted it. I would like a response directly from either Ford Motor Corporation or the owner of Ford Lincoln of Cookeville on what measures they took to correct this issue for future consumers. Credibility and honoring an agreement, verbal or otherwise, still means something today.

Business Response
customer stated she totaled her vehicle and came in on the internet price of the Towncar, and stated that her insurance would be paying for it when she got the check. Mgmt decided to take a deposit to hold the vehicle. Vehicles are only held for 3-4days. Customer called in and wanted to re-negotiate price after price had already been agreed to. Approx a week after deposit was taken and a few days after customer wanted to re-negotiate price another customer came in and wanted to purchase the vehicle. customer came in 1 day after the car sold and was mad we weren't still holding it until the insurance check came in. We did hold the car for many days past the 3-4 days. There were no contracts signed making the customer stated the owner of the car.

01/21/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
didn't honored internet price. Sold a truck to us a full retail price, to compensate the extra money we asked for our trade in.
We found this 2014 ********* truck at Autotrader.com listed for ******** On 11/11/2014 we came to the dealer. Got a loan aproval, but the offer for our trade was very low; it was a 2009 Ford Escape, they ofered us $3,000; and the terms of the loan were not ideal for us either. We asked for ******* and to reduce the lenght of the loan as well as the APR. He talked to two more salemen, and couln't come to an agreement Finally got to talked to a man named "Bud" (don't remember his last name) I think he was the "deal closer" He agreed to give us 8,500 for our vehicle and reduce the loan to 63 months instead of 72, and keep the monthly pmt. where we wanted it; I will like to mention that we had another truck on the same block we wanted to see, but they were not willing to let us go. Got to the business office, went thru all the paperwork and signed everything, we had been in there ALL morning long. Came back home( we drove 3.5 hrs. from NC to get this truck, because it was a good looking one.) We came home late and didn't get a chance to review everything, I finally did this morning, and notice on the bill of sale they charged us ******* for their truck and not ******* I called them right away, got transfered to two different guys and finally I talked to "***". He said that he had to sell his vehicle a full retail or he will loose money, that my vehicle wasn't worth ****** He talked to his supervisor, and called me back and said that they could redo the paperwork and drop the price of the truck to the internet listed price, but he could only give me 3,000 for my Escape. We would wind up paying the very same amount, it wouln't make any difference, he said that was all he could do.



Desired Settlement
Honor the Internet price that was ****** less that the price we got charged for.

Final Consumer Response
Hi. As of today, we haven't been contacted by the company involve in case # XXXXXXXX. we haven't call them back either so, I don't have any more information to provide. Thanks Mrs. Smith, please keep us informed and we will sure let you know if something comes up.

Page 1 of 2

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.